$122 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 27, 2015 Check-out: Sep 28, 2015

Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington

4 stars
View map of Scarsdale Place Kensington, Kensington, London, W8 5SR

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
189 reviews
Awesome first trip to London

I had a great stay at Copthorne Kensington which is my first trip to London. Love the not too... See full review

  • Mona M.
  • May 26, 2015
Always Stay there

I always stay at the Copthorne Tara, has a great, safe location. See full review

  • danyg13
  • Apr 10, 2015

The hotel boasts a variety of on-site dining and drinking options: Artist Corner offers a la carte dining options in a relaxed setting; Cafexpress serves coffee drinks and sandwiches; and Bugis Street serves a tantalizing array of Singaporean, Malaysian and Cantonese cuisine. Additionally, the Brasserie Restaurant & Bar serves a wide selection of drinks and an all-day menu featuring typical pub fare.

 

The hotel offers a fitness room with cross trainers, treadmills, dumbbells and a stretching area. On-site parking is available, too (fees apply).

General
  • High Street Kensington tube stations (1 minute walking)
  • Heathrow Airport (24 minutes)
  • Gatwick Airport (1 hour, 6 minutes)
Location

The Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington is tucked away in a quiet corner of the Royal Borough of Kensington and Chelsea. The hotel is one of the city's most well known 4-star properties and is equally suitable for both business and leisure travelers. The Copthorne Tara Hotel boasts more than 800 rooms appointed with contemporary furnishings and amenities. The hotel also features two restaurants, a bar, café, 24-hour room service, high-speed Internet and a fitness center.

Dining
  • Hyde Park (1.7 mi./2.86 km)
  • Kensington Palace (0.36 mi./0.59 km)
  • Portobello Road Market (1.47 mi./2.37 km)
  • Royal Albert Hall (0.61 mi./0.99 km)
Rooms

Rooms have been carefully designed to maximize natural daylight, with light wood and soothing shades that offer a quiet retreat at the end of the day. All rooms include private facilities and include satellite TV and pay-per-view, Internet (fees apply), hairdryer, tea and coffee making facilities, mini-fridge and direct dial telephone with voicemail. Club room guests enjoy complimentary access to the Copthorne Club Lounge, which offers free continental breakfast, newspaper, Internet access, tea and coffee throughout the day and drinks in the evening.

Property features

Stylish sophistication in the Royal Borough of Kensington and Chelsea

Highlights
  • Several on-site dining options
  • On-site coffee shop
  • Complimentary fitness center
Nearby attractions
  • Business center
  • Computer stations with Internet (fee applies) and color printers
  • Meeting rooms for 2 to 280 people
Business
  • Business center
  • Computer stations with Internet (fee applies) and color printers
  • Meeting rooms for 2 to 280 people
Transportation
  • Several on-site dining options
  • On-site coffee shop
  • Complimentary fitness center

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington also booked these hotels.

★★★★
$130
4.0 / 5 117 reviews
★★★★
$174
4.1 / 5 11 reviews
★★★★
$111
3.8 / 5 143 reviews
★★★★
$139
4.0 / 5 55 reviews
★★★★
$129
4.0 / 5 58 reviews
★★★
$74
3.0 / 5 27 reviews
★★★★
$125
3.9 / 5 85 reviews
★★★★
$140
4.0 / 5 62 reviews
★★★★
$232
4.0 / 5 88 reviews

Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington Rooms

Superior Room
The bedding option for the room is one double bed or one twin bed. Room offers Air conditioning, Alarm clock, Cable / Satellite TV, Disabled facilities, Hairdryer, Heating, Broadband Internet access, Modem / data port connection, Non-smoking rooms, Pay-per-view movies, Refrigerator, 24-hour Room service, Tea and coffee making facilities and Telephone.
Club Room
The bedding option for the room is one double bed. Room facilities include all those featured in the Superior rooms. In addition, Club guests benefit from complimentary access to the Copthorne Club Lounge, offering: Complimentary Continental breakfast, Newspapers, Tea & coffee throughout the day, Internet access and Evening drinks between 6.45pm - 8.15pm.
Superior plus Double Room
This Room Type includes complimentary WIFI, complimentary full English breakfast served in the restaurant

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible Rooms/Facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • High Street Kensington: 0.2 mi
  • Kensington Palace: 0.4 mi
  • Gloucester Road: 0.4 mi
  • Baden-Powell House Exhibition: 0.6 mi
  • Royal Albert Hall: 0.6 mi
  • Royal College of Music Archives and Museum of Instruments: 0.6 mi
  • Albert Memorial : 0.6 mi
  • Earls Court Exhibition Centre: 0.6 mi
  • Natural History Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Imperial College London: 0.7 mi
  • Science Museum London: 0.7 mi
  • Kensington Gardens: 0.7 mi
  • Polish Institute and Sikorski Museum: 0.8 mi
  • National Art Library: 0.8 mi
  • Victoria and Albert Museum: 0.8 mi
  • High Street Kensington: 0.2 mi
  • Kensington Palace: 0.4 mi
  • Gloucester Road: 0.4 mi
  • Baden-Powell House Exhibition: 0.6 mi
  • Royal Albert Hall: 0.6 mi
  • Royal College of Music Archives and Museum of Instruments: 0.6 mi
  • Albert Memorial : 0.6 mi
  • Earls Court Exhibition Centre: 0.6 mi
  • Natural History Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Imperial College London: 0.7 mi
  • Science Museum London: 0.7 mi
  • Kensington Gardens: 0.7 mi
  • Polish Institute and Sikorski Museum: 0.8 mi
  • National Art Library: 0.8 mi
  • Victoria and Albert Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Queensway: 1 mi
  • Lancaster Gate: 1 mi
  • Whiteleys Shopping Centre : 1.1 mi
  • Harrods: 1.2 mi
  • Stamford Bridge: 1.2 mi
  • Knightsbridge: 1.2 mi
  • King's Road: 1.2 mi
  • Royal Institute of British Architects Collections: 1.3 mi
  • Paddington Station: 1.4 mi
  • Westfield Shopping Centre : 1.5 mi
  • City of Westminster: 1.5 mi
  • Cadogan Hall: 1.5 mi
  • Broadway Shopping Centre : 1.5 mi
  • Notting Hill: 1.5 mi
  • Saatchi Gallery: 1.5 mi
  • Sloane Square: 1.5 mi
  • Couper Collection: 1.6 mi
  • Hyde Park: 1.6 mi
  • Hammersmith Apollo: 1.7 mi
  • King's Mall Shopping Centre : 1.7 mi
  • Hyde Park Corner: 1.7 mi
  • Royal Hospital Chelsea Museum: 1.7 mi
  • Marble Arch: 1.7 mi
  • Portobello Market: 1.7 mi
  • Park Lane: 1.7 mi
  • Portobello Road: 1.7 mi
  • Wellington Arch: 1.8 mi
  • Showroom Gallery: 1.9 mi
  • Selfridges: 2 mi
  • Victoria Place Shopping Centre : 2 mi

Dining

Bugis Street
Offers a delightful selection of authentic Singaporean, Malaysian and Chinese cuisine.
Cafexpress
Serving a selection of coffees/ teas and a wide range of home-made sandwiches, salads and delicious snacks either to enjoy in or to take away.
The Brasserie
It (restaurant & bar) is located on the ground floor of the hotel and offers an informal and very relaxed atmosphere. The venue offers casual dining in the restaurant, serving an 'A la Carte' menu with predominantly British cuisine, and an 'all day' snack menu in the Bar area from 11am .

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
189 out of 189
Amenities:
3.6
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.9

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Ian hunter
Friends
Dublin
Oct 22, 2012

Pay for wifi in 2012?

Glad I only stayed one night. The room was basic. The staff were not rude but very unhelpful. Asked for directions to a concert venue 2km away(O2 empire sheperds bush) and nobody knew where it was. Asked for 2 pints in the bar and they said the beer I ordered was too strong they only do halves. Then room cleaning woke me up at 0800hrs when I was due to check out at 1100hrs. And for get some coasters in the bar!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Go Cubs
Couples
Chicago, IL
May 28, 2009

If you ever have a chance here...pass.

My wife and I could sleep anywhere, as we were on holiday in London to see sights, not to lounge in a hotel room. So with the nice reviews, I decided to spend a little extra to get this one. But this hotel made me cringe, and inspired me to write the first review EVER, on a hotel room. The receptionist, at a polite request to stay on a floor with our travel mates, put us on a different floor, all while being quite unfriendly. The walls were paper thin. While falling asleep one night my wife and I could swear there was a man talking right behind us. This is the first hotel I have been at that I could understand a normal-sounding conversation of a person in the next room. I'm not being sarcastic either. Additionally, the hotel is right next to the train tracks and the soundproofing sucked, to say the least. Later, we stayed in an another hotel next to numerous jumbo jets at heathrow throttling up to take off, and that hotel was much, much, MUCH quieter than Copthorne Tara. The hotel room was a little dusty, had and old TV, and had a dirty coffee-maker with free coffee. I passed on the free coffee. The water was the only thing that was decent, as it didn't taste like the typical hotel-water. And it included a fridge, which was nice. If I had a chance to stay here again for $40/night, I'd pass and stay at a travelodge for $75. I seriously cannot understand the people who gave this a good review...they must have have King bed suites or something...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Couples

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Lots of good shopping and eating around this area.

Review of Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
norbac
Family
Wheaton, IL
Oct 9, 2009

Avoid at all costs!

Overall, this hotel is grossly over rated. The only good thing I can say about it is its proximity to the subway station--literally a block away. I had a terrible experience here as my video camera memory cards were stolen from my room and the staff refused to conduct an investigation! I even suggested to contact the police but they also refused. In all, ALL my trip memories were lost do to the negligence of this hotel's staff and they seemed to have cared less about it! So, if you're concerned about leaving your personal property in this hotel avoid it at all costs!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
NYC
May 13, 2009

disgusting hotel - to be avoided

This hotel should be avoided - the rooms were very, very smelly and dusty - when I got to the hotel and did not like the "standard" orbitz room which was pre-paid - I arranged for an upgrade which was a very expensive upgrade - this was not much better that the "standard' room - very disappointing. Also, the hotel room did not have a safe. Nor did they have a reasonable hair-dryer - which all hotels supply upon request for a better hairdryer. THIS IS NOT A FOUR STAR HOTEL AS ADVERTISED.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Shansy
Business
Los Angeles, California
Oct 28, 2012

Not quite 4 star hotel

The rooms we're basic, the location was great, but the staff is terrible. I double paid for everything. You'd think a 4 star hotel had free wifi & breakfast - it doesn't. I paid daily for the Internet and parking and then when I went to check out it was still on my bill. I didn't know where the receipts were at the time and I had to catch my flight so I just had to pay again. It's not worth the price. A Holiday Inn is cheaper, has free net, and is closer to the tourist places. I just choose based on 4 star rating, don't fool yourself, 3 stars is just fine.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
swimfan74
Charlotte, nc
Apr 4, 2013

not great, not good

The room was gross, it even had mold in the bathroom.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Review of Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
JenBH
Couples
Boston, MA
Nov 17, 2013

November stay at Copthorne Tara

My husband and I stayed at the Tara for 3 nights during a recent trip to London. We chose it because of the location, the fitness center and the affordable price. The location was good and the fitness center was usable, but I wouldn't recommend it if you want a memorable or romantic trip. The rooms are tired and badly decorated and the hotel is situated adjacent to the Tube, so if train noises bother you, make sure to ask for a QUIET room. We got one and were not bothered at all by the train, but the front desk clerk said it can be an issue. The location was perfect for our needs and staff were fine, so it wasn't horrible. Just not special.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Buy an OYSTER card for the Tube instead of paper tickets--considerable savings.

Review of Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Friends
Blue Point, NY
Jan 4, 2010

dShabby

The comments are correct about this hotel. Great location but shabby rooms. Make sure to ask for a room that does not face the Underground rails. The room was in need of a makeover. The bathroom was a nice size but it was nearly impossible to turn on the shower faucet or make the water turn off. The only reason to stay at this hotel is for the location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
I'm not that picky.
Single
Denver, CO
Jan 5, 2014

Just fine

Everything was good enough to leave me with no complaints, but nothing was great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
antie h
Couples
bristol
Feb 21, 2014

convenient but needs updating

my husband stayed at the tara 3 times a week every week for months when he worked in London that was years ago and we went there for old times sake we were surprised to find it looked exactly the same even the bedrooms hadn't changed it needs a facelift but it was nice to stay there again very nostalgic

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Couples

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

its a good location short taxi ride to the west end theatre's and no congestion charge

Back to menu Return to top