$102 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Dec 24, 2014 Check-out: Dec 27, 2014

Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington

4 stars
Scarsdale Place Kensington, Kensington, London, W8 5SR
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
175 reviews
Perfect!

This hotel was amazing! The hotel staff went above and beyond. We happened to be staying during the... See full review

  • Jasmine2014
  • Jan 18, 2014
An excellent capital stay

We couldn't have wished for a better stay at the Copthorne Tara. The location is right in the heart... See full review

  • smartiemart
  • Nov 17, 2013
Popular 4-star hotel in the Royal Borough of Kensington and Chelsea

The Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington is tucked away in a quiet corner of the Royal Borough of Kensington and Chelsea. The hotel is one of the city's most well known 4-star properties and is equally suitable for both business and leisure travelers. The Copthorne Tara Hotel boasts more than 800 rooms appointed with contemporary furnishings and amenities. The hotel also features two restaurants, a bar, café, 24-hour room service, high-speed Internet and a fitness center.

Highlights
  • Several on-site dining options
  • On-site coffee shop
  • Complimentary fitness center
Rooms

Rooms have been carefully designed to maximize natural daylight, with light wood and soothing shades that offer a quiet retreat at the end of the day. All rooms include private facilities and include satellite TV and pay-per-view, Internet (fees apply), hairdryer, tea and coffee making facilities, mini-fridge and direct dial telephone with voicemail. Club room guests enjoy complimentary access to the Copthorne Club Lounge, which offers free continental breakfast, newspaper, Internet access, tea and coffee throughout the day and drinks in the evening.

Features

The Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington is located in a quiet area of Kensington, just a short walk to the shops and museums of Kensington and Knightsbridge. The hotel is a contemporary and stylish 4-star hotel and is the ideal base for both leisure and business pursuits.

Dining

The hotel boasts a variety of on-site dining and drinking options: Artist Corner offers a la carte dining options in a relaxed setting; Cafexpress serves coffee drinks and sandwiches; and Bugis Street serves a tantalizing array of Singaporean, Malaysian and Cantonese cuisine. Additionally, the Brasserie Restaurant & Bar serves a wide selection of drinks and an all-day menu featuring typical pub fare.

 

The hotel offers a fitness room with cross trainers, treadmills, dumbbells and a stretching area. On-site parking is available, too (fees apply).

Transportation
  • High Street Kensington tube stations (1 minute walking)
  • Heathrow Airport (24 minutes)
  • Gatwick Airport (1 hour, 6 minutes)
Attractions
  • Hyde Park (1.7 mi./2.86 km)
  • Kensington Palace (0.36 mi./0.59 km)
  • Portobello Road Market (1.47 mi./2.37 km)
  • Royal Albert Hall (0.61 mi./0.99 km)
Business
  • Business center
  • Computer stations with Internet (fee applies) and color printers
  • Meeting rooms for 2 to 280 people

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5

Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington Rooms

Superior plus Double Room
This Room Type includes complimentary WIFI, complimentary full English breakfast served in the restaurant
Superior Room
The bedding option for the room is one double bed or one twin bed. Room offers Air conditioning, Alarm clock, Cable / Satellite TV, Disabled facilities, Hairdryer, Heating, Broadband Internet access, Modem / data port connection, Non-smoking rooms, Pay-per-view movies, Refrigerator, 24-hour Room service, Tea and coffee making facilities and Telephone.
Club Room
The bedding option for the room is one double bed. Room facilities include all those featured in the Superior rooms. In addition, Club guests benefit from complimentary access to the Copthorne Club Lounge, offering: Complimentary Continental breakfast, Newspapers, Tea & coffee throughout the day, Internet access and Evening drinks between 6.45pm - 8.15pm.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • High Street Kensington: 0.2 mi
  • Kensington Palace: 0.4 mi
  • Gloucester Road: 0.4 mi
  • Baden-Powell House Exhibition: 0.6 mi
  • Royal Albert Hall: 0.6 mi
  • Royal College of Music Archives and Museum of Instruments: 0.6 mi
  • Albert Memorial : 0.6 mi
  • Earls Court Exhibition Centre: 0.6 mi
  • Natural History Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Imperial College London: 0.7 mi
  • Science Museum London: 0.7 mi
  • Kensington Gardens: 0.7 mi
  • Polish Institute and Sikorski Museum: 0.8 mi
  • National Art Library: 0.8 mi
  • Victoria and Albert Museum: 0.8 mi
  • High Street Kensington: 0.2 mi
  • Kensington Palace: 0.4 mi
  • Gloucester Road: 0.4 mi
  • Baden-Powell House Exhibition: 0.6 mi
  • Royal Albert Hall: 0.6 mi
  • Royal College of Music Archives and Museum of Instruments: 0.6 mi
  • Albert Memorial : 0.6 mi
  • Earls Court Exhibition Centre: 0.6 mi
  • Natural History Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Imperial College London: 0.7 mi
  • Science Museum London: 0.7 mi
  • Kensington Gardens: 0.7 mi
  • Polish Institute and Sikorski Museum: 0.8 mi
  • National Art Library: 0.8 mi
  • Victoria and Albert Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Queensway: 1 mi
  • Lancaster Gate: 1 mi
  • Whiteleys Shopping Centre : 1.1 mi
  • Harrods: 1.2 mi
  • Stamford Bridge: 1.2 mi
  • Knightsbridge: 1.2 mi
  • King's Road: 1.2 mi
  • Royal Institute of British Architects Collections: 1.3 mi
  • Paddington Station: 1.4 mi
  • Westfield Shopping Centre : 1.5 mi
  • City of Westminster: 1.5 mi
  • Cadogan Hall: 1.5 mi
  • Broadway Shopping Centre : 1.5 mi
  • Notting Hill: 1.5 mi
  • Saatchi Gallery: 1.5 mi
  • Sloane Square: 1.5 mi
  • Couper Collection: 1.6 mi
  • Hyde Park: 1.6 mi
  • Hammersmith Apollo: 1.7 mi
  • King's Mall Shopping Centre : 1.7 mi
  • Hyde Park Corner: 1.7 mi
  • Royal Hospital Chelsea Museum: 1.7 mi
  • Marble Arch: 1.7 mi
  • Portobello Market: 1.7 mi
  • Park Lane: 1.7 mi
  • Portobello Road: 1.7 mi
  • Wellington Arch: 1.8 mi
  • Showroom Gallery: 1.9 mi
  • Selfridges: 2 mi
  • Victoria Place Shopping Centre : 2 mi

Dining

Bugis Street
Offers a delightful selection of authentic Singaporean, Malaysian and Chinese cuisine.
Cafexpress
Serving a selection of coffees/ teas and a wide range of home-made sandwiches, salads and delicious snacks either to enjoy in or to take away.
The Brasserie
It (restaurant & bar) is located on the ground floor of the hotel and offers an informal and very relaxed atmosphere. The venue offers casual dining in the restaurant, serving an 'A la Carte' menu with predominantly British cuisine, and an 'all day' snack menu in the Bar area from 11am .

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (175)

Ratings and reviews for Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
175 out of 175
Amenities:
3.6
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3.9
Room comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.8

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Irving, TX
Apr 22, 2009

Copthorne Tara

We visited the museums of London. We had stayed there before but didn't remember it being so noisy. Lots of sport groups for tournaments. Didn't like the fact that we had to wait several hours to check in. The restaurants were very lack luster. When you offer Mexican food, it needs to be Mexican.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Great shopping!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Larry S.
Business
Yonkers, NY
Feb 20, 2009

Wonderful stay!

I had a wonderful time at the Copthorne Tara. The room was comfortable and clean. Even though it was facing the underground tracks, it was very quiet (I was on a high floor.) The location was excellent--three short blocks from the High Street Kensington station. The staff was helpful (one exception--I arrived early but had to wait until 3 for check-in--but they kept my bags for me and I had time for sightseeing and lunch.) The people at the concierge's desk were very helpful. The barstaff was especially friendly, courteous and efficient (the bar is open late), and the Bugis Street restaurant was great. Overall I highly recommend this hotel and would stay there again next time I visit London.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Muffin Man--half a block on the way to the underground--is great for light breakfasts. Thai Terrace restaurant--also half a block--is lovely and classy--my main course was rather bland, but other choices might be better.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Smaug
Business
Orem, Utah
May 18, 2009

Quite Nice

Great location. Off the main street, but not too far and very easy walking distance to the Underground station. Near food and shopping. We were very busy sight seeing, so we didn't spend much time at the hotel, but it was quiet at night, the lobby and resturant were nice and the staff was friendly and helpful. Not huge rooms, but for London it was fine. Taking a shower left an inch deep pool on the bathroom floor because the tub wasn't designed to funnel the water into the shower, but drained it on to the floor. We did tell the front desk, but nothing was done. They did clean it up everyday, but that was certainly something I could have done without. As an American, I also found it very odd that there was only one sheet (on the bottom) and a duvet. I'm very used to a top sheet and that was hard to get used to. I also was not expecting the internet connection to cost 10 pounds a day. Still, overall it was a good experience. They did provide a blowdryer and an iron w/ board and a luggage drop off before check in. Everything was clean and fairly new. We would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Very near ATM. There's one in the lobby, but the one just down the street has no charge.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Bellingham, Wa. USA
Jul 11, 2009

Very handy to the underground

Great stay, great food, great service, friendly staff. Our rooms were on the train side of hotel so we got train noise.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

great food right in hotel

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Holland
Jun 30, 2011

Visit the the Olympia exhibition

The hotel was very comfortable and the offered me an upgrade that included everything I needed for a very reasonable price. I had some trouble with the key thogh as they gave me an upgraded room too and forgot to tell me the new room number. That was solved quickly

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Short walk from the Olymia exhibition centre. Great for business travel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Spikie's Mom
Business
Honolulu, HI
Oct 15, 2009

Highly Recommend

Enjoyed hotel - second time I stayed there. Comfortable, convenient and quiet.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Convenient location. Lots of fast food near by.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Amsterdam, NL
Mar 20, 2011

Nice Hotel

It's a great hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
BobnPhyl
Business
State College PA
Jun 20, 2011

Back from London

The hotel was in a very convenient spot in Kensington, very near the subway. The hotel itself was fine. It was comfortable and nice and clean each time we returned in the late afternoon. The beds weren't the most comfortable, but OK. The rooms/bathrrooms are kind of old and worn and could use some updating. We wanted a double bed and got twins (we were warned in advance that this might happen). The staff was friendly and very helpful in giving us directions and restaurant recommendations (which were great) as well as helping us make necessary reservations. We found the food overpriced and not especially good and did not eat there after the first morning. One recommendation - provide face cloths - I hate not having a facecloth. I know some of these things sound a bit negative but overall we were quite happy with the hotel. We would definitely stay at this hotel again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There are several places to choose from to eat breakfast quite close to the hotel, including a nice little tea shop. The concierge recommended a great Italian and Indian restaurants as well as a very nice pub, all within 15 minutes walk. Be sure to ask the concierge for recommendations for whatever kind of food you want.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Traveling Deb
Business
Westchester County, NY
Sep 30, 2009

Highly Recommended Hotel

This hotel is in a great location, convenient to everything. It is a little old and showing some signs of age. Staff are friendly, knowledgeable, and extremely attentive. Decent restaurants, though the bar food is a bit pricey. Would stay there again in a heartbeat.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

There are also innumerable restaurants walking distance from the hotel - any and every kind of food you would want.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
California, U.S.A.
May 9, 2009

Nice Hotel

Overall a nice hotel. Very comfortable with a touch of English elegance. The service was good, the staff courteous and freindly, and the rooms clean and comfortable. It is in a good location in Kensington, not far from the Kensington High Street tube station, Hyde Park, and a number of local shops and restaurants. The train tracks are located behind the hotel, so there is some noise from the trains, but it is not a major annoyance. The automatic shoe-shine machine is a definite plus for business travelers or those conserned about the appearance of their footwear. Internet connectivity is available, but at a cost. For the price, I would definitely stay there again. I got a nice hotel at a real bargin, especially considering the location!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top