$120 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 9, 2015 Check-out: Aug 10, 2015

Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington

4 stars
View map of Scarsdale Place Kensington, Kensington, London, W8 5SR

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
189 out of 189
Amenities:
3.6
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.9

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Smaug
Business
Orem, Utah
May 18, 2009

Quite Nice

Great location. Off the main street, but not too far and very easy walking distance to the Underground station. Near food and shopping. We were very busy sight seeing, so we didn't spend much time at the hotel, but it was quiet at night, the lobby and resturant were nice and the staff was friendly and helpful. Not huge rooms, but for London it was fine. Taking a shower left an inch deep pool on the bathroom floor because the tub wasn't designed to funnel the water into the shower, but drained it on to the floor. We did tell the front desk, but nothing was done. They did clean it up everyday, but that was certainly something I could have done without. As an American, I also found it very odd that there was only one sheet (on the bottom) and a duvet. I'm very used to a top sheet and that was hard to get used to. I also was not expecting the internet connection to cost 10 pounds a day. Still, overall it was a good experience. They did provide a blowdryer and an iron w/ board and a luggage drop off before check in. Everything was clean and fairly new. We would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Very near ATM. There's one in the lobby, but the one just down the street has no charge.

Review of Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Bellingham, Wa. USA
Jul 11, 2009

Very handy to the underground

Great stay, great food, great service, friendly staff. Our rooms were on the train side of hotel so we got train noise.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

great food right in hotel

Review of Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Holland
Jun 30, 2011

Visit the the Olympia exhibition

The hotel was very comfortable and the offered me an upgrade that included everything I needed for a very reasonable price. I had some trouble with the key thogh as they gave me an upgraded room too and forgot to tell me the new room number. That was solved quickly

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Short walk from the Olymia exhibition centre. Great for business travel.

Review of Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Spikie's Mom
Business
Honolulu, HI
Oct 15, 2009

Highly Recommend

Enjoyed hotel - second time I stayed there. Comfortable, convenient and quiet.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Convenient location. Lots of fast food near by.

Review of Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Amsterdam, NL
Mar 20, 2011

Nice Hotel

It's a great hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
BobnPhyl
Business
State College PA
Jun 20, 2011

Back from London

The hotel was in a very convenient spot in Kensington, very near the subway. The hotel itself was fine. It was comfortable and nice and clean each time we returned in the late afternoon. The beds weren't the most comfortable, but OK. The rooms/bathrrooms are kind of old and worn and could use some updating. We wanted a double bed and got twins (we were warned in advance that this might happen). The staff was friendly and very helpful in giving us directions and restaurant recommendations (which were great) as well as helping us make necessary reservations. We found the food overpriced and not especially good and did not eat there after the first morning. One recommendation - provide face cloths - I hate not having a facecloth. I know some of these things sound a bit negative but overall we were quite happy with the hotel. We would definitely stay at this hotel again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There are several places to choose from to eat breakfast quite close to the hotel, including a nice little tea shop. The concierge recommended a great Italian and Indian restaurants as well as a very nice pub, all within 15 minutes walk. Be sure to ask the concierge for recommendations for whatever kind of food you want.

Review of Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Traveling Deb
Business
Westchester County, NY
Sep 30, 2009

Highly Recommended Hotel

This hotel is in a great location, convenient to everything. It is a little old and showing some signs of age. Staff are friendly, knowledgeable, and extremely attentive. Decent restaurants, though the bar food is a bit pricey. Would stay there again in a heartbeat.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

There are also innumerable restaurants walking distance from the hotel - any and every kind of food you would want.

Review of Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
California, U.S.A.
May 9, 2009

Nice Hotel

Overall a nice hotel. Very comfortable with a touch of English elegance. The service was good, the staff courteous and freindly, and the rooms clean and comfortable. It is in a good location in Kensington, not far from the Kensington High Street tube station, Hyde Park, and a number of local shops and restaurants. The train tracks are located behind the hotel, so there is some noise from the trains, but it is not a major annoyance. The automatic shoe-shine machine is a definite plus for business travelers or those conserned about the appearance of their footwear. Internet connectivity is available, but at a cost. For the price, I would definitely stay there again. I got a nice hotel at a real bargin, especially considering the location!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
OC,CA
Mar 27, 2011

Very good

We visited many of the historical landmarks in London... The best thing about the hotel was That is was two mints away from the subway Station and that is a blessing..... We didn't have To take taxi at all to go anywhere.... I would have Not minded if they had a shuttle service to The airport because some of the train stations Are not travel friendly and they don't have Elevators..... In conclusion the hotel was very clean, the rooms were very comfortable.. If i go back to London, i would stay in the hotel again....

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
mehta
Business
new york
Mar 24, 2011

nice hotel centrally located

went to restaurants , shopping, sightseeing,it was fun because very centrally located

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

nice lounges, good restaurants

Back to menu Return to top