$112 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Mar 30, 2015 Check-out: Mar 31, 2015

Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington

4 stars
View map of Scarsdale Place Kensington, Kensington, London, W8 5SR

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
189 reviews
Great value hotel

Our second visit this time to celebrate sons birthday. Great location near shops and... See full review

  • Alison C.
  • Feb 23, 2015
Fantastic stay

The Copthorne Tara is bright, clean and well placed in a fine neighborhood. The staff are polite,... See full review

  • Linda R.
  • Feb 21, 2015
Popular 4-star hotel in the Royal Borough of Kensington and Chelsea

The Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington is tucked away in a quiet corner of the Royal Borough of Kensington and Chelsea. The hotel is one of the city's most well known 4-star properties and is equally suitable for both business and leisure travelers. The Copthorne Tara Hotel boasts more than 800 rooms appointed with contemporary furnishings and amenities. The hotel also features two restaurants, a bar, café, 24-hour room service, high-speed Internet and a fitness center.

Highlights
  • Several on-site dining options
  • On-site coffee shop
  • Complimentary fitness center
Rooms

Rooms have been carefully designed to maximize natural daylight, with light wood and soothing shades that offer a quiet retreat at the end of the day. All rooms include private facilities and include satellite TV and pay-per-view, Internet (fees apply), hairdryer, tea and coffee making facilities, mini-fridge and direct dial telephone with voicemail. Club room guests enjoy complimentary access to the Copthorne Club Lounge, which offers free continental breakfast, newspaper, Internet access, tea and coffee throughout the day and drinks in the evening.

Features

The Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington is located in a quiet area of Kensington, just a short walk to the shops and museums of Kensington and Knightsbridge. The hotel is a contemporary and stylish 4-star hotel and is the ideal base for both leisure and business pursuits.

Dining

The hotel boasts a variety of on-site dining and drinking options: Artist Corner offers a la carte dining options in a relaxed setting; Cafexpress serves coffee drinks and sandwiches; and Bugis Street serves a tantalizing array of Singaporean, Malaysian and Cantonese cuisine. Additionally, the Brasserie Restaurant & Bar serves a wide selection of drinks and an all-day menu featuring typical pub fare.

 

The hotel offers a fitness room with cross trainers, treadmills, dumbbells and a stretching area. On-site parking is available, too (fees apply).

Transportation
  • High Street Kensington tube stations (1 minute walking)
  • Heathrow Airport (24 minutes)
  • Gatwick Airport (1 hour, 6 minutes)
Attractions
  • Hyde Park (1.7 mi./2.86 km)
  • Kensington Palace (0.36 mi./0.59 km)
  • Portobello Road Market (1.47 mi./2.37 km)
  • Royal Albert Hall (0.61 mi./0.99 km)
Business
  • Business center
  • Computer stations with Internet (fee applies) and color printers
  • Meeting rooms for 2 to 280 people

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5

Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington Rooms

Superior Room
The bedding option for the room is one double bed or one twin bed. Room offers Air conditioning, Alarm clock, Cable / Satellite TV, Disabled facilities, Hairdryer, Heating, Broadband Internet access, Modem / data port connection, Non-smoking rooms, Pay-per-view movies, Refrigerator, 24-hour Room service, Tea and coffee making facilities and Telephone.
Club Room
The bedding option for the room is one double bed. Room facilities include all those featured in the Superior rooms. In addition, Club guests benefit from complimentary access to the Copthorne Club Lounge, offering: Complimentary Continental breakfast, Newspapers, Tea & coffee throughout the day, Internet access and Evening drinks between 6.45pm - 8.15pm.
Superior plus Double Room
This Room Type includes complimentary WIFI, complimentary full English breakfast served in the restaurant

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • High Street Kensington: 0.2 mi
  • Kensington Palace: 0.4 mi
  • Gloucester Road: 0.4 mi
  • Baden-Powell House Exhibition: 0.6 mi
  • Royal Albert Hall: 0.6 mi
  • Royal College of Music Archives and Museum of Instruments: 0.6 mi
  • Albert Memorial : 0.6 mi
  • Earls Court Exhibition Centre: 0.6 mi
  • Natural History Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Imperial College London: 0.7 mi
  • Science Museum London: 0.7 mi
  • Kensington Gardens: 0.7 mi
  • Polish Institute and Sikorski Museum: 0.8 mi
  • National Art Library: 0.8 mi
  • Victoria and Albert Museum: 0.8 mi
  • High Street Kensington: 0.2 mi
  • Kensington Palace: 0.4 mi
  • Gloucester Road: 0.4 mi
  • Baden-Powell House Exhibition: 0.6 mi
  • Royal Albert Hall: 0.6 mi
  • Royal College of Music Archives and Museum of Instruments: 0.6 mi
  • Albert Memorial : 0.6 mi
  • Earls Court Exhibition Centre: 0.6 mi
  • Natural History Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Imperial College London: 0.7 mi
  • Science Museum London: 0.7 mi
  • Kensington Gardens: 0.7 mi
  • Polish Institute and Sikorski Museum: 0.8 mi
  • National Art Library: 0.8 mi
  • Victoria and Albert Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Queensway: 1 mi
  • Lancaster Gate: 1 mi
  • Whiteleys Shopping Centre : 1.1 mi
  • Harrods: 1.2 mi
  • Stamford Bridge: 1.2 mi
  • Knightsbridge: 1.2 mi
  • King's Road: 1.2 mi
  • Royal Institute of British Architects Collections: 1.3 mi
  • Paddington Station: 1.4 mi
  • Westfield Shopping Centre : 1.5 mi
  • City of Westminster: 1.5 mi
  • Cadogan Hall: 1.5 mi
  • Broadway Shopping Centre : 1.5 mi
  • Notting Hill: 1.5 mi
  • Saatchi Gallery: 1.5 mi
  • Sloane Square: 1.5 mi
  • Couper Collection: 1.6 mi
  • Hyde Park: 1.6 mi
  • Hammersmith Apollo: 1.7 mi
  • King's Mall Shopping Centre : 1.7 mi
  • Hyde Park Corner: 1.7 mi
  • Royal Hospital Chelsea Museum: 1.7 mi
  • Marble Arch: 1.7 mi
  • Portobello Market: 1.7 mi
  • Park Lane: 1.7 mi
  • Portobello Road: 1.7 mi
  • Wellington Arch: 1.8 mi
  • Showroom Gallery: 1.9 mi
  • Selfridges: 2 mi
  • Victoria Place Shopping Centre : 2 mi

Dining

Bugis Street
Offers a delightful selection of authentic Singaporean, Malaysian and Chinese cuisine.
Cafexpress
Serving a selection of coffees/ teas and a wide range of home-made sandwiches, salads and delicious snacks either to enjoy in or to take away.
The Brasserie
It (restaurant & bar) is located on the ground floor of the hotel and offers an informal and very relaxed atmosphere. The venue offers casual dining in the restaurant, serving an 'A la Carte' menu with predominantly British cuisine, and an 'all day' snack menu in the Bar area from 11am .

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (189)

Ratings and reviews for Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
189 out of 189
Amenities:
3.6
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.8

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York
Oct 31, 2010

good

excellent

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chino Hills, California
May 21, 2009

A little home away from home

The location is superb! It is a two minute walk to the underground, so you can easily take the underground from Heathrow to the hotel. There are lots of good places to eat close by, as well as several food markets to pick up anything you might need. Everything you may want to see is within easy walking distance if you like to walk. My daughter and I had a two week stay at the Copthorne Tara and were very pleased with our room, the staff, and the food offered at the hotel. I would not hesitate to plan another vacations using the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Muffin Man is a two minute walk from the hotel and has great breakfast, lunch, and tea choices. Sticky Fingers and the Pasta Caffe are also a short walk away (about ten minutes) and the food is quite good at both places. If you like cupcakes, Buttercup Bakery is about a ten minute walk and Hummingbird Bakery is about a twenty minute walk away! Yum!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
College Station, Texas
Jun 30, 2009

The Hotel Russell, London

Absolutely great location, around the corner from the Picadilly line of the tube, which goes to Heathrow and connects to everywhere in London. Very quiet area. Will surely go back to the Russell when we return to London. I recommend it without reservation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

The British Museum. It is a jewel. And a short walk from Russell Square, where the hotel is located.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Dallas TX
Jul 8, 2009

Definitely Recommed

Extremely well located near Kensington Palace and a three minute walk to the Underground. We were there as first time London vacationers and would definitely stay there again. Our only complaint was there there was no WIFI connection. There was an internet cable hook up in the room [for an extra fee], but we couldn't connect. But who wants to spend time on the internet while in London anyway!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Micio
Business
Santa Rosa, CA
May 24, 2011

Reasonably good

I liked the use of the club for breakfast and free internet.The service in general was good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
miss ann
Business
Wash.D.C.
Sep 8, 2011

very pleasant, convenient; comfortable

I enjoyed the Copthorne/Tara the price was fair; food very good; I especially enjoyed breakfast; wish I could have had until 10:AM the onstruction across street was a distraction but overall I was satisfied w/accomodations, service/staff etc.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

High St. is over-priced exchange for currency (US dollars is very high

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Irving, TX
Apr 22, 2009

Copthorne Tara

We visited the museums of London. We had stayed there before but didn't remember it being so noisy. Lots of sport groups for tournaments. Didn't like the fact that we had to wait several hours to check in. The restaurants were very lack luster. When you offer Mexican food, it needs to be Mexican.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Great shopping!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Larry S.
Business
Yonkers, NY
Feb 20, 2009

Wonderful stay!

I had a wonderful time at the Copthorne Tara. The room was comfortable and clean. Even though it was facing the underground tracks, it was very quiet (I was on a high floor.) The location was excellent--three short blocks from the High Street Kensington station. The staff was helpful (one exception--I arrived early but had to wait until 3 for check-in--but they kept my bags for me and I had time for sightseeing and lunch.) The people at the concierge's desk were very helpful. The barstaff was especially friendly, courteous and efficient (the bar is open late), and the Bugis Street restaurant was great. Overall I highly recommend this hotel and would stay there again next time I visit London.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Muffin Man--half a block on the way to the underground--is great for light breakfasts. Thai Terrace restaurant--also half a block--is lovely and classy--my main course was rather bland, but other choices might be better.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Smaug
Business
Orem, Utah
May 18, 2009

Quite Nice

Great location. Off the main street, but not too far and very easy walking distance to the Underground station. Near food and shopping. We were very busy sight seeing, so we didn't spend much time at the hotel, but it was quiet at night, the lobby and resturant were nice and the staff was friendly and helpful. Not huge rooms, but for London it was fine. Taking a shower left an inch deep pool on the bathroom floor because the tub wasn't designed to funnel the water into the shower, but drained it on to the floor. We did tell the front desk, but nothing was done. They did clean it up everyday, but that was certainly something I could have done without. As an American, I also found it very odd that there was only one sheet (on the bottom) and a duvet. I'm very used to a top sheet and that was hard to get used to. I also was not expecting the internet connection to cost 10 pounds a day. Still, overall it was a good experience. They did provide a blowdryer and an iron w/ board and a luggage drop off before check in. Everything was clean and fairly new. We would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Very near ATM. There's one in the lobby, but the one just down the street has no charge.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Bellingham, Wa. USA
Jul 11, 2009

Very handy to the underground

Great stay, great food, great service, friendly staff. Our rooms were on the train side of hotel so we got train noise.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

great food right in hotel

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top