$103 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 9, 2015 Check-out: Aug 10, 2015

Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington

4 stars
View map of Scarsdale Place Kensington, Kensington, London, W8 5SR

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
189 reviews
Awesome first trip to London

I had a great stay at Copthorne Kensington which is my first trip to London. Love the not too... See full review

  • Mona M.
  • May 26, 2015
Always Stay there

I always stay at the Copthorne Tara, has a great, safe location. See full review

  • danyg13
  • Apr 10, 2015

The hotel boasts a variety of on-site dining and drinking options: Artist Corner offers a la carte dining options in a relaxed setting; Cafexpress serves coffee drinks and sandwiches; and Bugis Street serves a tantalizing array of Singaporean, Malaysian and Cantonese cuisine. Additionally, the Brasserie Restaurant & Bar serves a wide selection of drinks and an all-day menu featuring typical pub fare.

 

The hotel offers a fitness room with cross trainers, treadmills, dumbbells and a stretching area. On-site parking is available, too (fees apply).

General
  • High Street Kensington tube stations (1 minute walking)
  • Heathrow Airport (24 minutes)
  • Gatwick Airport (1 hour, 6 minutes)
Location

The Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington is tucked away in a quiet corner of the Royal Borough of Kensington and Chelsea. The hotel is one of the city's most well known 4-star properties and is equally suitable for both business and leisure travelers. The Copthorne Tara Hotel boasts more than 800 rooms appointed with contemporary furnishings and amenities. The hotel also features two restaurants, a bar, café, 24-hour room service, high-speed Internet and a fitness center.

Dining
  • Hyde Park (1.7 mi./2.86 km)
  • Kensington Palace (0.36 mi./0.59 km)
  • Portobello Road Market (1.47 mi./2.37 km)
  • Royal Albert Hall (0.61 mi./0.99 km)
Rooms

Rooms have been carefully designed to maximize natural daylight, with light wood and soothing shades that offer a quiet retreat at the end of the day. All rooms include private facilities and include satellite TV and pay-per-view, Internet (fees apply), hairdryer, tea and coffee making facilities, mini-fridge and direct dial telephone with voicemail. Club room guests enjoy complimentary access to the Copthorne Club Lounge, which offers free continental breakfast, newspaper, Internet access, tea and coffee throughout the day and drinks in the evening.

Property features

Stylish sophistication in the Royal Borough of Kensington and Chelsea

Highlights
  • Several on-site dining options
  • On-site coffee shop
  • Complimentary fitness center
Nearby attractions
  • Business center
  • Computer stations with Internet (fee applies) and color printers
  • Meeting rooms for 2 to 280 people
Business
  • Business center
  • Computer stations with Internet (fee applies) and color printers
  • Meeting rooms for 2 to 280 people
Transportation
  • Several on-site dining options
  • On-site coffee shop
  • Complimentary fitness center

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington Rooms

Superior Room
The bedding option for the room is one double bed or one twin bed. Room offers Air conditioning, Alarm clock, Cable / Satellite TV, Disabled facilities, Hairdryer, Heating, Broadband Internet access, Modem / data port connection, Non-smoking rooms, Pay-per-view movies, Refrigerator, 24-hour Room service, Tea and coffee making facilities and Telephone.
Club Room
The bedding option for the room is one double bed. Room facilities include all those featured in the Superior rooms. In addition, Club guests benefit from complimentary access to the Copthorne Club Lounge, offering: Complimentary Continental breakfast, Newspapers, Tea & coffee throughout the day, Internet access and Evening drinks between 6.45pm - 8.15pm.
Superior plus Double Room
This Room Type includes complimentary WIFI, complimentary full English breakfast served in the restaurant

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible Rooms/Facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • High Street Kensington: 0.2 mi
  • Kensington Palace: 0.4 mi
  • Gloucester Road: 0.4 mi
  • Baden-Powell House Exhibition: 0.6 mi
  • Royal Albert Hall: 0.6 mi
  • Royal College of Music Archives and Museum of Instruments: 0.6 mi
  • Albert Memorial : 0.6 mi
  • Earls Court Exhibition Centre: 0.6 mi
  • Natural History Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Imperial College London: 0.7 mi
  • Science Museum London: 0.7 mi
  • Kensington Gardens: 0.7 mi
  • Polish Institute and Sikorski Museum: 0.8 mi
  • National Art Library: 0.8 mi
  • Victoria and Albert Museum: 0.8 mi
  • High Street Kensington: 0.2 mi
  • Kensington Palace: 0.4 mi
  • Gloucester Road: 0.4 mi
  • Baden-Powell House Exhibition: 0.6 mi
  • Royal Albert Hall: 0.6 mi
  • Royal College of Music Archives and Museum of Instruments: 0.6 mi
  • Albert Memorial : 0.6 mi
  • Earls Court Exhibition Centre: 0.6 mi
  • Natural History Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Imperial College London: 0.7 mi
  • Science Museum London: 0.7 mi
  • Kensington Gardens: 0.7 mi
  • Polish Institute and Sikorski Museum: 0.8 mi
  • National Art Library: 0.8 mi
  • Victoria and Albert Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Queensway: 1 mi
  • Lancaster Gate: 1 mi
  • Whiteleys Shopping Centre : 1.1 mi
  • Harrods: 1.2 mi
  • Stamford Bridge: 1.2 mi
  • Knightsbridge: 1.2 mi
  • King's Road: 1.2 mi
  • Royal Institute of British Architects Collections: 1.3 mi
  • Paddington Station: 1.4 mi
  • Westfield Shopping Centre : 1.5 mi
  • City of Westminster: 1.5 mi
  • Cadogan Hall: 1.5 mi
  • Broadway Shopping Centre : 1.5 mi
  • Notting Hill: 1.5 mi
  • Saatchi Gallery: 1.5 mi
  • Sloane Square: 1.5 mi
  • Couper Collection: 1.6 mi
  • Hyde Park: 1.6 mi
  • Hammersmith Apollo: 1.7 mi
  • King's Mall Shopping Centre : 1.7 mi
  • Hyde Park Corner: 1.7 mi
  • Royal Hospital Chelsea Museum: 1.7 mi
  • Marble Arch: 1.7 mi
  • Portobello Market: 1.7 mi
  • Park Lane: 1.7 mi
  • Portobello Road: 1.7 mi
  • Wellington Arch: 1.8 mi
  • Showroom Gallery: 1.9 mi
  • Selfridges: 2 mi
  • Victoria Place Shopping Centre : 2 mi

Dining

Bugis Street
Offers a delightful selection of authentic Singaporean, Malaysian and Chinese cuisine.
Cafexpress
Serving a selection of coffees/ teas and a wide range of home-made sandwiches, salads and delicious snacks either to enjoy in or to take away.
The Brasserie
It (restaurant & bar) is located on the ground floor of the hotel and offers an informal and very relaxed atmosphere. The venue offers casual dining in the restaurant, serving an 'A la Carte' menu with predominantly British cuisine, and an 'all day' snack menu in the Bar area from 11am .

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
189 out of 189
Amenities:
3.6
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.9

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Godric
Saudi Arabia , Riyadh
Oct 30, 2012

Great service with a great place !

This hotel has surpassed my expectations, i stayed for 6 night. The place is perfect , as you can walk to the Hyde park with less than 5 minutes . What made it better is that you're only 2 minutes far away from the station , which will save you time . The staff is great & they're so cooperative , the service was so good in general as i wouldn't ask for more . I would hardly suggest this hotel for anyone who's visiting London whether it was for a long vacation or a business trip , it was perfect

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Hyde park

Review of Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jasmine2014
Business
New England
Jan 18, 2014

Perfect!

This hotel was amazing! The hotel staff went above and beyond. We happened to be staying during the NFL playoffs and our team was playing the late game here at home (1:15 a.m. in London) and not only did they put the game on for us and let us stay in the bar to watch the game even though it was well after closing time they had it on for us when we walked in from our night out. It was less than a 5 minute walk to the tube station, which the Circle and District lines serviced so it was easy to get to points of interest and it was less than a 10 minute walk to the 24 hour bus stop (which was right next to the tube stop).There was also good shopping in a 5-10 minute walk as the hotel is located right off Kensington High Street! We will definitely be staying here again and recommend it!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Not Applicable

Be warned though if you're American a lot of pubs and bars close at 10:00 at night (even on Friday nights), if you're looking for a place to go later on at night with music it's a club you want. What they call a club is not our idea of a club it's more of a bar/lounge.

Review of Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
FredB
Business
Dublin Ireland
Jul 30, 2012

Friendly Staff, Lovely Hotel, Lovely Location

Staff very friendly and obliging. Lovely room, clean and fresh. Excellent location. Would highly recommend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Spikiesmom
Business
Honolulu, HI,USA
Dec 10, 2012

Perfect Location for the tourist

Been to London two times and stayed at the Copthorne both times and loved it. On my first trip I had problems catching the shuttle to the airport even though I had pre confirmed my status the night before...Thanks to the concierge desk I got to ride the Black London Cab free...I was thrilled to end a dream trip to London on a London cab. The Copthorne is perfectly situated to catch the tube....the perfect hotel for the first time tourist. I plan to return someday.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Study the maps. I walked to Kensington Palace and Buckingham Palace. It's close to the tube and to the buses.

Review of Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Eddy122a
Business
Oxford
Feb 5, 2013

good hotel

Very good hotel and kind stuffs! near to the subway!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
bigthiti
Business
Bangkok
Apr 8, 2013

Fantastic hotel

Very good location not far from bus and tube. Moreover, staffs are very helpful can help me to book everything.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Keiko123
Business
Florida
May 27, 2013

Great value for the area! will stay again

Love this place, location is less than 5 minute walk from tube station Price is outstading for the area. Think "retro", not outdated. Décor is 1970's ish which was probably when it was build. Could care less that it doesn't have free internet Concierge outstanding, restaurant prices decent and room very clean. Was able to leave bag there at 11 am though check out wasn't until 3, they let me check in at 12:30. You are perfectly situated in the middle of everything. Be sure to walk to Kensington Palace about 10 minutes away, and pick up some sandwiches at Marks and Spencer for a picnic in Holland Park, a "don't miss" place also 5 minutes away via walking. The Muffin Man is also a local neighborhood tea shop you don't want to miss.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Holland Park. Wow..you don't want to miss it. great for a picnic!

Review of Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
smartiemart
Business
Leicestershire, UK
Nov 17, 2013

An excellent capital stay

We couldn't have wished for a better stay at the Copthorne Tara. The location is right in the heart of Kensington, only a 5 minute walk away from the tube station. Upgrading to club give you a panoramic skyline view of London and free continental breakfast. The food in the hotel's oriental Bugis Street restaurant was high quality and the staff extremely friendly. With so much choice of accommodation in London it is always difficult to find something that stands out without paying the earth. I can only recommend this hotel to anyone visiting the Big Smoke!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

The Bugis Street restaurant - just try it!

Review of Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Erie, Pennsylvania
Mar 18, 2010

Great hotel with a even better location!

This was our second time at this hotel and we brought friends with us this time. The service was exceptional and we are already planning our next time back in October to stay at the Copthorne

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Every kind of food to choose from!

Review of Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
barb&brad
Business
Puyallup, Wa
Jun 8, 2009

great hotel!

We stayed in a club room, this was our retirement celebration trip. The staff was wonderful every day they helped us find our way on metro or arranged tours for us. I needed extra pillows due to a recent surgey and no problems. The club room private lounge with breakfast and wine and beer hour was a nice treat. Great location safe and near park and tubes. Ate at resturants, also good. Rooms large and great veiws. Would stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

buy the historical palace membership for hampton court, tower of london, kenningston palace, kew palace, and banquetting house. It saves money and you do not have to wait in lines. Historic Royal Palaces.

Back to menu Return to top