$115 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 17, 2014 Check-out: Aug 18, 2014

Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington

4 stars
Scarsdale Place Kensington, Kensington, London, W8 5SR
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
242 reviews
Perfect!

This hotel was amazing! The hotel staff went above and beyond. We happened to be staying during the... See full review

  • Jasmine2014
  • Jan 18, 2014
An excellent capital stay

We couldn't have wished for a better stay at the Copthorne Tara. The location is right in the heart... See full review

  • smartiemart
  • Nov 17, 2013
Popular 4-star hotel in the Royal Borough of Kensington and Chelsea

The Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington is tucked away in a quiet corner of the Royal Borough of Kensington and Chelsea. The hotel is one of the city's most well known 4-star properties and is equally suitable for both business and leisure travelers. The Copthorne Tara Hotel boasts more than 800 rooms appointed with contemporary furnishings and amenities. The hotel also features two restaurants, a bar, café, 24-hour room service, high-speed Internet and a fitness center.

Highlights
  • Several on-site dining options
  • On-site coffee shop
  • Complimentary fitness center
Rooms

Rooms have been carefully designed to maximize natural daylight, with light wood and soothing shades that offer a quiet retreat at the end of the day. All rooms include private facilities and include satellite TV and pay-per-view, Internet (fees apply), hairdryer, tea and coffee making facilities, mini-fridge and direct dial telephone with voicemail. Club room guests enjoy complimentary access to the Copthorne Club Lounge, which offers free continental breakfast, newspaper, Internet access, tea and coffee throughout the day and drinks in the evening.

Features

The Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington is located in a quiet area of Kensington, just a short walk to the shops and museums of Kensington and Knightsbridge. The hotel is a contemporary and stylish 4-star hotel and is the ideal base for both leisure and business pursuits.

Dining

The hotel boasts a variety of on-site dining and drinking options: Artist Corner offers a la carte dining options in a relaxed setting; Cafexpress serves coffee drinks and sandwiches; and Bugis Street serves a tantalizing array of Singaporean, Malaysian and Cantonese cuisine. Additionally, the Brasserie Restaurant & Bar serves a wide selection of drinks and an all-day menu featuring typical pub fare.

 

The hotel offers a fitness room with cross trainers, treadmills, dumbbells and a stretching area. On-site parking is available, too (fees apply).

Transportation
  • High Street Kensington tube stations (1 minute walking)
  • Heathrow Airport (24 minutes)
  • Gatwick Airport (1 hour, 6 minutes)
Attractions
  • Hyde Park (1.7 mi./2.86 km)
  • Kensington Palace (0.36 mi./0.59 km)
  • Portobello Road Market (1.47 mi./2.37 km)
  • Royal Albert Hall (0.61 mi./0.99 km)
Business
  • Business center
  • Computer stations with Internet (fee applies) and color printers
  • Meeting rooms for 2 to 280 people

Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington Rooms

Superior plus Double Room
This Room Type includes complimentary WIFI, complimentary full English breakfast served in the restaurant
Superior Room
The bedding option for the room is one double bed or one twin bed. Room offers Air conditioning, Alarm clock, Cable / Satellite TV, Disabled facilities, Hairdryer, Heating, Broadband Internet access, Modem / data port connection, Non-smoking rooms, Pay-per-view movies, Refrigerator, 24-hour Room service, Tea and coffee making facilities and Telephone.
Club Room
The bedding option for the room is one double bed. Room facilities include all those featured in the Superior rooms. In addition, Club guests benefit from complimentary access to the Copthorne Club Lounge, offering: Complimentary Continental breakfast, Newspapers, Tea & coffee throughout the day, Internet access and Evening drinks between 6.45pm - 8.15pm.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5

Hotel Map

51.4989 -0.1912
Area served
London.
Nearby airports
London Heathrow International Airport.
Area description
Located in a residential area of Kensington within walking distance of the High Street- buses and underground station, close to Earls Court and Olympia Exhibition Centres. Easy access by car or tube from Heathrow airport, minutes away from the shops and museums of Kensington and Knightsbridge/Harrods, 20 minutes to the West End/Oxford Street and Theatreland.

Nearby points of interest

  • High Street Kensington: 0.2 mi
  • Kensington Palace: 0.4 mi
  • Gloucester Road: 0.4 mi
  • Baden-Powell House Exhibition: 0.6 mi
  • Royal Albert Hall: 0.6 mi
  • Royal College of Music Archives and Museum of Instruments: 0.6 mi
  • Albert Memorial : 0.6 mi
  • Earls Court Exhibition Centre: 0.6 mi
  • Natural History Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Imperial College London: 0.7 mi
  • Science Museum London: 0.7 mi
  • Kensington Gardens: 0.7 mi
  • Polish Institute and Sikorski Museum: 0.8 mi
  • National Art Library: 0.8 mi
  • Victoria and Albert Museum: 0.8 mi
  • High Street Kensington: 0.2 mi
  • Kensington Palace: 0.4 mi
  • Gloucester Road: 0.4 mi
  • Baden-Powell House Exhibition: 0.6 mi
  • Royal Albert Hall: 0.6 mi
  • Royal College of Music Archives and Museum of Instruments: 0.6 mi
  • Albert Memorial : 0.6 mi
  • Earls Court Exhibition Centre: 0.6 mi
  • Natural History Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Imperial College London: 0.7 mi
  • Science Museum London: 0.7 mi
  • Kensington Gardens: 0.7 mi
  • Polish Institute and Sikorski Museum: 0.8 mi
  • National Art Library: 0.8 mi
  • Victoria and Albert Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Queensway: 1 mi
  • Lancaster Gate: 1 mi
  • Whiteleys Shopping Centre : 1.1 mi
  • Harrods: 1.2 mi
  • Stamford Bridge: 1.2 mi
  • Knightsbridge: 1.2 mi
  • King's Road: 1.2 mi
  • Royal Institute of British Architects Collections: 1.3 mi
  • Chelsea: 1.4 mi
  • Paddington Station: 1.4 mi
  • Westfield Shopping Centre : 1.5 mi
  • City of Westminster: 1.5 mi
  • Cadogan Hall: 1.5 mi
  • Broadway Shopping Centre : 1.5 mi
  • Notting Hill: 1.5 mi
  • Saatchi Gallery: 1.5 mi
  • Sloane Square: 1.5 mi
  • Couper Collection: 1.6 mi
  • Hyde Park: 1.6 mi
  • Hammersmith Apollo: 1.7 mi
  • King's Mall Shopping Centre : 1.7 mi
  • Hyde Park Corner: 1.7 mi
  • Royal Hospital Chelsea Museum: 1.7 mi
  • Marble Arch: 1.7 mi
  • Portobello Market: 1.7 mi
  • Park Lane: 1.7 mi
  • Portobello Road: 1.7 mi
  • Wellington Arch: 1.8 mi
  • Showroom Gallery: 1.9 mi
  • Selfridges: 2 mi

Dining

Bugis Street
Offers a delightful selection of authentic Singaporean, Malaysian and Chinese cuisine.
Cafexpress
Serving a selection of coffees/ teas and a wide range of home-made sandwiches, salads and delicious snacks either to enjoy in or to take away.
The Brasserie
It (restaurant & bar) is located on the ground floor of the hotel and offers an informal and very relaxed atmosphere. The venue offers casual dining in the restaurant, serving an 'A la Carte' menu with predominantly British cuisine, and an 'all day' snack menu in the Bar area from 11am .

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (242)

Ratings and reviews for Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
242 out of 242
Amenities:
3.6
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3.9
Room comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.8

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
FredB
Dublin Ireland
Jul 30, 2012

Friendly Staff, Lovely Hotel, Lovely Location

Staff very friendly and obliging. Lovely room, clean and fresh. Excellent location. Would highly recommend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jay and Bibi
Waxhaw, NC
Jan 11, 2011

First London Visit

Exceeded our expectations. The Tara offers exceptional luxury with the help of an amazing staff. Special mention for Seema at check-in, Kinga at Breakfast in the club lounge, Doorman-[...], Conceirge-[...], Bartender-[...]. The Tara is walking distance to the Underground ( Tube), restaurants, shopping, and Kensington Gardens. From our room we enjoyed a spectacular view of downtowm London and the London Eye. I readily recommend the Tara to anyone visiting London. Best way to get around is with the Oyster Card which includes auto discounted fares.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Travel by the Underground or by bus. Coach tours are a great way for sight-seeing.

Review of Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
OrryBoy
Mexico
Apr 28, 2013

Great Hotel !

I stayed here to visit London and it was perfect ! Walking distance to subway, great room service, stores, cafes and pharmacy in front of the hotel. Alse there are some sightseeing spots within walking distance. Book a Tour in the Lobby they were very friendly and helpful

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Take the Subway/Tube from the airport

Review of Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jay and Bibi
Waxhaw, NC
Jan 11, 2011

First London Visit

Exceeded our expectations. The Tara offers exceptional luxury with the help of an amazing staff. Special mention for Seema at check-in, Kinga at Breakfast in the club lounge, Doorman-[...], Conceirge-[...], Bartender-[...]. The Tara is walking distance to the Underground ( Tube), restaurants, shopping, and Kensington Gardens. From our room we enjoyed a spectacular view of downtowm London and the London Eye. I readily recommend the Tara to anyone visiting London. Best way to get around is with the Oyster Card which includes auto discounted fares.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Travel by the Underground or by bus. Coach tours are a great way for sight-seeing.

Review of Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Carthage, MO
May 13, 2009

Great location!

We had stayed here before and liked the location and the rooms. Nothing really fancy. But would definitely stay here again, and would recommend it to others.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Spikiesmom
Honolulu, HI,USA
Dec 10, 2012

Perfect Location for the tourist

Been to London two times and stayed at the Copthorne both times and loved it. On my first trip I had problems catching the shuttle to the airport even though I had pre confirmed my status the night before...Thanks to the concierge desk I got to ride the Black London Cab free...I was thrilled to end a dream trip to London on a London cab. The Copthorne is perfectly situated to catch the tube....the perfect hotel for the first time tourist. I plan to return someday.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Study the maps. I walked to Kensington Palace and Buckingham Palace. It's close to the tube and to the buses.

Review of Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
barb&brad
Puyallup, Wa
Jun 8, 2009

great hotel!

We stayed in a club room, this was our retirement celebration trip. The staff was wonderful every day they helped us find our way on metro or arranged tours for us. I needed extra pillows due to a recent surgey and no problems. The club room private lounge with breakfast and wine and beer hour was a nice treat. Great location safe and near park and tubes. Ate at resturants, also good. Rooms large and great veiws. Would stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

buy the historical palace membership for hampton court, tower of london, kenningston palace, kew palace, and banquetting house. It saves money and you do not have to wait in lines. Historic Royal Palaces.

Review of Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Carthage, MO
May 13, 2009

Great location!

We had stayed here before and liked the location and the rooms. Nothing really fancy. But would definitely stay here again, and would recommend it to others.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Keiko123
Business
Florida
May 27, 2013

Great value for the area! will stay again

Love this place, location is less than 5 minute walk from tube station Price is outstading for the area. Think "retro", not outdated. Décor is 1970's ish which was probably when it was build. Could care less that it doesn't have free internet Concierge outstanding, restaurant prices decent and room very clean. Was able to leave bag there at 11 am though check out wasn't until 3, they let me check in at 12:30. You are perfectly situated in the middle of everything. Be sure to walk to Kensington Palace about 10 minutes away, and pick up some sandwiches at Marks and Spencer for a picnic in Holland Park, a "don't miss" place also 5 minutes away via walking. The Muffin Man is also a local neighborhood tea shop you don't want to miss.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Holland Park. Wow..you don't want to miss it. great for a picnic!

Review of Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
FredB
Dublin Ireland
Jul 30, 2012

Friendly Staff, Lovely Hotel, Lovely Location

Staff very friendly and obliging. Lovely room, clean and fresh. Excellent location. Would highly recommend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jasmine2014
New England
Jan 18, 2014

Perfect!

This hotel was amazing! The hotel staff went above and beyond. We happened to be staying during the NFL playoffs and our team was playing the late game here at home (1:15 a.m. in London) and not only did they put the game on for us and let us stay in the bar to watch the game even though it was well after closing time they had it on for us when we walked in from our night out. It was less than a 5 minute walk to the tube station, which the Circle and District lines serviced so it was easy to get to points of interest and it was less than a 10 minute walk to the 24 hour bus stop (which was right next to the tube stop).There was also good shopping in a 5-10 minute walk as the hotel is located right off Kensington High Street! We will definitely be staying here again and recommend it!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Nightlife tip: Not Applicable

Be warned though if you're American a lot of pubs and bars close at 10:00 at night (even on Friday nights), if you're looking for a place to go later on at night with music it's a club you want. What they call a club is not our idea of a club it's more of a bar/lounge.

Back to menu Return to top