$120 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 9, 2015 Check-out: Aug 10, 2015

Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington

4 stars
View map of Scarsdale Place Kensington, Kensington, London, W8 5SR

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
189 reviews
Awesome first trip to London

I had a great stay at Copthorne Kensington which is my first trip to London. Love the not too... See full review

  • Mona M.
  • May 26, 2015
Always Stay there

I always stay at the Copthorne Tara, has a great, safe location. See full review

  • danyg13
  • Apr 10, 2015

The hotel boasts a variety of on-site dining and drinking options: Artist Corner offers a la carte dining options in a relaxed setting; Cafexpress serves coffee drinks and sandwiches; and Bugis Street serves a tantalizing array of Singaporean, Malaysian and Cantonese cuisine. Additionally, the Brasserie Restaurant & Bar serves a wide selection of drinks and an all-day menu featuring typical pub fare.

 

The hotel offers a fitness room with cross trainers, treadmills, dumbbells and a stretching area. On-site parking is available, too (fees apply).

General
  • High Street Kensington tube stations (1 minute walking)
  • Heathrow Airport (24 minutes)
  • Gatwick Airport (1 hour, 6 minutes)
Location

The Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington is tucked away in a quiet corner of the Royal Borough of Kensington and Chelsea. The hotel is one of the city's most well known 4-star properties and is equally suitable for both business and leisure travelers. The Copthorne Tara Hotel boasts more than 800 rooms appointed with contemporary furnishings and amenities. The hotel also features two restaurants, a bar, café, 24-hour room service, high-speed Internet and a fitness center.

Dining
  • Hyde Park (1.7 mi./2.86 km)
  • Kensington Palace (0.36 mi./0.59 km)
  • Portobello Road Market (1.47 mi./2.37 km)
  • Royal Albert Hall (0.61 mi./0.99 km)
Rooms

Rooms have been carefully designed to maximize natural daylight, with light wood and soothing shades that offer a quiet retreat at the end of the day. All rooms include private facilities and include satellite TV and pay-per-view, Internet (fees apply), hairdryer, tea and coffee making facilities, mini-fridge and direct dial telephone with voicemail. Club room guests enjoy complimentary access to the Copthorne Club Lounge, which offers free continental breakfast, newspaper, Internet access, tea and coffee throughout the day and drinks in the evening.

Property features

Stylish sophistication in the Royal Borough of Kensington and Chelsea

Highlights
  • Several on-site dining options
  • On-site coffee shop
  • Complimentary fitness center
Nearby attractions
  • Business center
  • Computer stations with Internet (fee applies) and color printers
  • Meeting rooms for 2 to 280 people
Business
  • Business center
  • Computer stations with Internet (fee applies) and color printers
  • Meeting rooms for 2 to 280 people
Transportation
  • Several on-site dining options
  • On-site coffee shop
  • Complimentary fitness center

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington Rooms

Superior Room
The bedding option for the room is one double bed or one twin bed. Room offers Air conditioning, Alarm clock, Cable / Satellite TV, Disabled facilities, Hairdryer, Heating, Broadband Internet access, Modem / data port connection, Non-smoking rooms, Pay-per-view movies, Refrigerator, 24-hour Room service, Tea and coffee making facilities and Telephone.
Club Room
The bedding option for the room is one double bed. Room facilities include all those featured in the Superior rooms. In addition, Club guests benefit from complimentary access to the Copthorne Club Lounge, offering: Complimentary Continental breakfast, Newspapers, Tea & coffee throughout the day, Internet access and Evening drinks between 6.45pm - 8.15pm.
Superior plus Double Room
This Room Type includes complimentary WIFI, complimentary full English breakfast served in the restaurant

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible Rooms/Facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • High Street Kensington: 0.2 mi
  • Kensington Palace: 0.4 mi
  • Gloucester Road: 0.4 mi
  • Baden-Powell House Exhibition: 0.6 mi
  • Royal Albert Hall: 0.6 mi
  • Royal College of Music Archives and Museum of Instruments: 0.6 mi
  • Albert Memorial : 0.6 mi
  • Earls Court Exhibition Centre: 0.6 mi
  • Natural History Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Imperial College London: 0.7 mi
  • Science Museum London: 0.7 mi
  • Kensington Gardens: 0.7 mi
  • Polish Institute and Sikorski Museum: 0.8 mi
  • National Art Library: 0.8 mi
  • Victoria and Albert Museum: 0.8 mi
  • High Street Kensington: 0.2 mi
  • Kensington Palace: 0.4 mi
  • Gloucester Road: 0.4 mi
  • Baden-Powell House Exhibition: 0.6 mi
  • Royal Albert Hall: 0.6 mi
  • Royal College of Music Archives and Museum of Instruments: 0.6 mi
  • Albert Memorial : 0.6 mi
  • Earls Court Exhibition Centre: 0.6 mi
  • Natural History Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Imperial College London: 0.7 mi
  • Science Museum London: 0.7 mi
  • Kensington Gardens: 0.7 mi
  • Polish Institute and Sikorski Museum: 0.8 mi
  • National Art Library: 0.8 mi
  • Victoria and Albert Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Queensway: 1 mi
  • Lancaster Gate: 1 mi
  • Whiteleys Shopping Centre : 1.1 mi
  • Harrods: 1.2 mi
  • Stamford Bridge: 1.2 mi
  • Knightsbridge: 1.2 mi
  • King's Road: 1.2 mi
  • Royal Institute of British Architects Collections: 1.3 mi
  • Paddington Station: 1.4 mi
  • Westfield Shopping Centre : 1.5 mi
  • City of Westminster: 1.5 mi
  • Cadogan Hall: 1.5 mi
  • Broadway Shopping Centre : 1.5 mi
  • Notting Hill: 1.5 mi
  • Saatchi Gallery: 1.5 mi
  • Sloane Square: 1.5 mi
  • Couper Collection: 1.6 mi
  • Hyde Park: 1.6 mi
  • Hammersmith Apollo: 1.7 mi
  • King's Mall Shopping Centre : 1.7 mi
  • Hyde Park Corner: 1.7 mi
  • Royal Hospital Chelsea Museum: 1.7 mi
  • Marble Arch: 1.7 mi
  • Portobello Market: 1.7 mi
  • Park Lane: 1.7 mi
  • Portobello Road: 1.7 mi
  • Wellington Arch: 1.8 mi
  • Showroom Gallery: 1.9 mi
  • Selfridges: 2 mi
  • Victoria Place Shopping Centre : 2 mi

Dining

Bugis Street
Offers a delightful selection of authentic Singaporean, Malaysian and Chinese cuisine.
Cafexpress
Serving a selection of coffees/ teas and a wide range of home-made sandwiches, salads and delicious snacks either to enjoy in or to take away.
The Brasserie
It (restaurant & bar) is located on the ground floor of the hotel and offers an informal and very relaxed atmosphere. The venue offers casual dining in the restaurant, serving an 'A la Carte' menu with predominantly British cuisine, and an 'all day' snack menu in the Bar area from 11am .

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
25 out of 189
Amenities:
3.7
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.2

96% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mona M.
Business
WHEATON
May 26, 2015

Awesome first trip to London

I had a great stay at Copthorne Kensington which is my first trip to London. Love the not too tourist atomsphere, felt we safe going back to the hotel at 10pm all nights that I was there. Close to High Street which made is very special & transportation was a breeze. You had the buses, underground & the cabs right at your door step so to speak. For a first timer in London got around very well with maps & directions from people I met along the way. People of London were very accommodating with directions. Will be back for round two sometime this year.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
EW58.
Business
N/A
May 25, 2015

Special night out in town

The hotel was everything I needed. Bed comfortable and huge and the deal was good with breakfast. I didn't use the internet as you had to pay extra and I didn't like that. Staff were pleasant but breakfast staff didn't seem to know what they were doing, We had to ask twice for Tea and Coffee to be served and they tried to give us someone else's change. That said the breakfast was good and nice selection. I would have liked the possibility of booking a carparking space before arrival as I was worried that I might not be able to park the whole journey up. I didnt use any amenities so cannot rate them. It was a good stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Kerry C.
Business
N/A
Jan 17, 2015

Quiet Location

Tara is a block away from High St Kensington Underground, but, is tucked back off the main street, so you don't hear traffic and noise yet have the convenience of train, taxis, shops and restaurants. Staff was very helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
TX Dad
Business
Dallas, TX
Dec 3, 2014

Close to tube.

I just stayed here for one night but it was a great value and close to the District and Circle lines. Just a 5 minute walk to the station. Great location in Kensington, so it is close to the Natural History Museum and Kensington Palace. Real good value considering the location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
TX Dad
Business
Dallas
Oct 6, 2014

Good value for the location

Good but not great, I'd actually give it a 3.5. The rooms could have used an update, but were not totally disgusting or anything. Cheapest price in Kensington area for sure, so you get what you pay for. Great location, close to the underground. The tracks were right outside my room (I had the 9th floor) but they did a good job of double insulating the windows so you could not hear any outside noise. It was a bit hot, but not uncomfortable - I could not get the air conditioner to cool the room down to the freezing level that I like. Overall a good value, especially if you are not going to spend a lot of time in your room anyway, except to sleep and shower. I did not try the restaurant or lounge, but they looked nice. Close to shops and museums.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
I'm not that picky.
Business
Denver, CO
Jan 5, 2014

Just fine

Everything was good enough to leave me with no complaints, but nothing was great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Forest nfc
Business
Mainz, Germany
Feb 22, 2013

Tara

Really great hotel. Perfect location and great value for London. I would stay there again in a second.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JPari
Business
Denver, CO
Jan 7, 2013

Quiet Hotel in Good Location

This hotel in London has the biggest and most clean room I have stayed at thus far. The room was comfortable and was kept quite clean. This is about a 10 minute walk from the High Street Kensington Station and is in a nice peaceful area that allowed me to unwind and relax after a long day out in London. I would definitely stay here again - the money value is worth the stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a rather nice piano bar right on the High St.

Review of Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Spikiesmom
Business
Honolulu, HI,USA
Dec 10, 2012

Perfect Location for the tourist

Been to London two times and stayed at the Copthorne both times and loved it. On my first trip I had problems catching the shuttle to the airport even though I had pre confirmed my status the night before...Thanks to the concierge desk I got to ride the Black London Cab free...I was thrilled to end a dream trip to London on a London cab. The Copthorne is perfectly situated to catch the tube....the perfect hotel for the first time tourist. I plan to return someday.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Study the maps. I walked to Kensington Palace and Buckingham Palace. It's close to the tube and to the buses.

Review of Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Wannabe Ex Patriot
Business
Dayton, Ohio
Oct 22, 2012

Very good for a one person trip!

I stayed a week at this hotel during my first trip overseas and it was in a great location! The staff were all very friendly and helpful as I was upgraded when a problem with the room above me was discovered. The rooms are somewhat outtdated and dreary but the location was fantastic with a short walk to the nearest tube station (closed on weekends) on High Street. Taxi's are readily available in the mornings but not really throughout the day so plan accordingly!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top