$124 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 26, 2015 Check-out: Jul 27, 2015

Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington

4 stars
View map of Scarsdale Place Kensington, Kensington, London, W8 5SR

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
207 reviews
Awesome first trip to London

I had a great stay at Copthorne Kensington which is my first trip to London. Love the not too... See full review

  • Mona M.
  • May 26, 2015
Always Stay there

I always stay at the Copthorne Tara, has a great, safe location. See full review

  • danyg13
  • Apr 10, 2015

The Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington is tucked away in a quiet corner of the Royal Borough of Kensington and Chelsea. The hotel is one of the city's most well known 4-star properties and is equally suitable for both business and leisure travelers. The Copthorne Tara Hotel boasts more than 800 rooms appointed with contemporary furnishings and amenities. The hotel also features two restaurants, a bar, café, 24-hour room service, high-speed Internet and a fitness center.

Dining

The hotel boasts a variety of on-site dining and drinking options: Artist Corner offers a la carte dining options in a relaxed setting; Cafexpress serves coffee drinks and sandwiches; and Bugis Street serves a tantalizing array of Singaporean, Malaysian and Cantonese cuisine. Additionally, the Brasserie Restaurant & Bar serves a wide selection of drinks and an all-day menu featuring typical pub fare.

 

The hotel offers a fitness room with cross trainers, treadmills, dumbbells and a stretching area. On-site parking is available, too (fees apply).

Rooms

Rooms have been carefully designed to maximize natural daylight, with light wood and soothing shades that offer a quiet retreat at the end of the day. All rooms include private facilities and include satellite TV and pay-per-view, Internet (fees apply), hairdryer, tea and coffee making facilities, mini-fridge and direct dial telephone with voicemail. Club room guests enjoy complimentary access to the Copthorne Club Lounge, which offers free continental breakfast, newspaper, Internet access, tea and coffee throughout the day and drinks in the evening.

Property features

The Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington is located in a quiet area of Kensington, just a short walk to the shops and museums of Kensington and Knightsbridge. The hotel is a contemporary and stylish 4-star hotel and is the ideal base for both leisure and business pursuits.

Highlights
  • Several on-site dining options
  • On-site coffee shop
  • Complimentary fitness center
Nearby attractions
  • Hyde Park (1.7 mi./2.86 km)
  • Kensington Palace (0.36 mi./0.59 km)
  • Portobello Road Market (1.47 mi./2.37 km)
  • Royal Albert Hall (0.61 mi./0.99 km)
Business
  • Business center
  • Computer stations with Internet (fee applies) and color printers
  • Meeting rooms for 2 to 280 people
Transportation
  • High Street Kensington tube stations (1 minute walking)
  • Heathrow Airport (24 minutes)
  • Gatwick Airport (1 hour, 6 minutes)

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5

Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington Rooms

Superior Room
The bedding option for the room is one double bed or one twin bed. Room offers Air conditioning, Alarm clock, Cable / Satellite TV, Disabled facilities, Hairdryer, Heating, Broadband Internet access, Modem / data port connection, Non-smoking rooms, Pay-per-view movies, Refrigerator, 24-hour Room service, Tea and coffee making facilities and Telephone.
Club Room
The bedding option for the room is one double bed. Room facilities include all those featured in the Superior rooms. In addition, Club guests benefit from complimentary access to the Copthorne Club Lounge, offering: Complimentary Continental breakfast, Newspapers, Tea & coffee throughout the day, Internet access and Evening drinks between 6.45pm - 8.15pm.
Superior plus Double Room
This Room Type includes complimentary WIFI, complimentary full English breakfast served in the restaurant

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • High Street Kensington: 0.2 mi
  • Kensington Palace: 0.4 mi
  • Gloucester Road: 0.4 mi
  • Baden-Powell House Exhibition: 0.6 mi
  • Royal Albert Hall: 0.6 mi
  • Royal College of Music Archives and Museum of Instruments: 0.6 mi
  • Albert Memorial : 0.6 mi
  • Earls Court Exhibition Centre: 0.6 mi
  • Natural History Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Imperial College London: 0.7 mi
  • Science Museum London: 0.7 mi
  • Kensington Gardens: 0.7 mi
  • Polish Institute and Sikorski Museum: 0.8 mi
  • National Art Library: 0.8 mi
  • Victoria and Albert Museum: 0.8 mi
  • High Street Kensington: 0.2 mi
  • Kensington Palace: 0.4 mi
  • Gloucester Road: 0.4 mi
  • Baden-Powell House Exhibition: 0.6 mi
  • Royal Albert Hall: 0.6 mi
  • Royal College of Music Archives and Museum of Instruments: 0.6 mi
  • Albert Memorial : 0.6 mi
  • Earls Court Exhibition Centre: 0.6 mi
  • Natural History Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Imperial College London: 0.7 mi
  • Science Museum London: 0.7 mi
  • Kensington Gardens: 0.7 mi
  • Polish Institute and Sikorski Museum: 0.8 mi
  • National Art Library: 0.8 mi
  • Victoria and Albert Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Queensway: 1 mi
  • Lancaster Gate: 1 mi
  • Whiteleys Shopping Centre : 1.1 mi
  • Harrods: 1.2 mi
  • Stamford Bridge: 1.2 mi
  • Knightsbridge: 1.2 mi
  • King's Road: 1.2 mi
  • Royal Institute of British Architects Collections: 1.3 mi
  • Paddington Station: 1.4 mi
  • Westfield Shopping Centre : 1.5 mi
  • City of Westminster: 1.5 mi
  • Cadogan Hall: 1.5 mi
  • Broadway Shopping Centre : 1.5 mi
  • Notting Hill: 1.5 mi
  • Saatchi Gallery: 1.5 mi
  • Sloane Square: 1.5 mi
  • Couper Collection: 1.6 mi
  • Hyde Park: 1.6 mi
  • Hammersmith Apollo: 1.7 mi
  • King's Mall Shopping Centre : 1.7 mi
  • Hyde Park Corner: 1.7 mi
  • Royal Hospital Chelsea Museum: 1.7 mi
  • Marble Arch: 1.7 mi
  • Portobello Market: 1.7 mi
  • Park Lane: 1.7 mi
  • Portobello Road: 1.7 mi
  • Wellington Arch: 1.8 mi
  • Showroom Gallery: 1.9 mi
  • Selfridges: 2 mi
  • Victoria Place Shopping Centre : 2 mi

Dining

Bugis Street
Offers a delightful selection of authentic Singaporean, Malaysian and Chinese cuisine.
Cafexpress
Serving a selection of coffees/ teas and a wide range of home-made sandwiches, salads and delicious snacks either to enjoy in or to take away.
The Brasserie
It (restaurant & bar) is located on the ground floor of the hotel and offers an informal and very relaxed atmosphere. The venue offers casual dining in the restaurant, serving an 'A la Carte' menu with predominantly British cuisine, and an 'all day' snack menu in the Bar area from 11am .

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
17 out of 207
Amenities:
3.5
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
3.9
Comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.9

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Linda R.
Business
N/A
Feb 21, 2015

Fantastic stay

The Copthorne Tara is bright, clean and well placed in a fine neighborhood. The staff are polite, very friendly and accommodating. It's a little far away from many of the main attractions but transport is easy to come by. I would definitely stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
The explorers
Business
Queens, New York
May 14, 2014

Great family and charming getaway

I have to said the hotel was very nice clean and charming I feel very happy a about the choice of this hotel for our vacation. It was confusing getting there but after I learn how was fine. I was not happy about they did not have the safe box in the room. The breakfast was the same every day boring after the 2 be day. The staff was friendly and helpful Out all do We have a great time while we where in London oh the god part was the city transportation was not to far and very convenience

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jasmine2014
Business
New England
Jan 18, 2014

Perfect!

This hotel was amazing! The hotel staff went above and beyond. We happened to be staying during the NFL playoffs and our team was playing the late game here at home (1:15 a.m. in London) and not only did they put the game on for us and let us stay in the bar to watch the game even though it was well after closing time they had it on for us when we walked in from our night out. It was less than a 5 minute walk to the tube station, which the Circle and District lines serviced so it was easy to get to points of interest and it was less than a 10 minute walk to the 24 hour bus stop (which was right next to the tube stop).There was also good shopping in a 5-10 minute walk as the hotel is located right off Kensington High Street! We will definitely be staying here again and recommend it!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Not Applicable

Be warned though if you're American a lot of pubs and bars close at 10:00 at night (even on Friday nights), if you're looking for a place to go later on at night with music it's a club you want. What they call a club is not our idea of a club it's more of a bar/lounge.

Review of Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jane and Annette
Business
UK
Dec 16, 2013

Shopping trip

My friend and I enjoyed our stay with you recently, but we felt that the breakfast dining area was a bit cramped and uncomfortable at times. Probably good value for money though.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Satisfied
Business
Wexford Ireland
Mar 24, 2013

Excellent location for city break

Fabulous location for London city break.Very friendly and efficient staff.Bar food excellent.Rooms could do with a makeover but very clean.Only few minutes walk from tube station and beside taxi rank.Lots of shop and restaurants close by.Will definitely return to the Copthorne Tara Kensington.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Muffin007
Business
Zurich, Switzerland
Dec 8, 2012

Great place

Very comfortable hotel. Good value for money. Located near Underground, major shops, cafés etc. Staff stressed and sometimes very unfriendly. Especially those cashing breakfast buffet: We felt as if we had been here by charity and not as hotel guests! Held a Weetabix in the hand when walking out of restaurant and was shouted at: You're not allowed to take food out of the hotel!!! 1 (one) Weetabix...!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Good restaurant, nice bar.

Review of Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Muffin007
Business
Zurich, Switzerland
Dec 6, 2012

Very adequate value for money!

Comfortable hotel. Reception and guest service staff all in all nice, but wanted to send us away because room wasn't ready - he said. I asked him to check - of course room was ready. Breakfast reception impossible: behaving as if guests were staying on charity basis. Hotel as such very good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Good Restaurant, nice bar, great for shopping 'cause so near High Street Kensington!

Review of Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Gator Rick
Business
Kaiserslautern, Germany
Oct 30, 2012

Patriots Game

The hotel was very nice with a super staff. From the minute I arrived until the minute I left the staff were very attentive. The hotel is located a block or two from the Underground which made it the perfect location for us.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Chelsea Football Club stadium near Fulham Broadway has an excellent tour and lunch spot.

Review of Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Godric
Business
Saudi Arabia , Riyadh
Oct 30, 2012

Great service with a great place !

This hotel has surpassed my expectations, i stayed for 6 night. The place is perfect , as you can walk to the Hyde park with less than 5 minutes . What made it better is that you're only 2 minutes far away from the station , which will save you time . The staff is great & they're so cooperative , the service was so good in general as i wouldn't ask for more . I would hardly suggest this hotel for anyone who's visiting London whether it was for a long vacation or a business trip , it was perfect

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Hyde park

Review of Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Ian hunter
Business
Dublin
Oct 22, 2012

Pay for wifi in 2012?

Glad I only stayed one night. The room was basic. The staff were not rude but very unhelpful. Asked for directions to a concert venue 2km away(O2 empire sheperds bush) and nobody knew where it was. Asked for 2 pints in the bar and they said the beer I ordered was too strong they only do halves. Then room cleaning woke me up at 0800hrs when I was due to check out at 1100hrs. And for get some coasters in the bar!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top