$123 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 20, 2015 Check-out: Sep 21, 2015

Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington

4 stars
View map of Scarsdale Place Kensington, Kensington, London, W8 5SR

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
189 out of 189
Amenities:
3.6
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.9

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Savageman
Couples
Cordova, TN
Nov 4, 2010

Vacation Stay

Kensington High Street Tube was nearby. Quiet location. Nice room. Easy to get to various vacation sites. Did not eat in the hotel. Wish hotels did not charge for Internet service...did not offer wireless service in the rooms.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Several nice stores in the area...good connections to bus service as well.

Review of Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Columbus, OH
Oct 11, 2010

Great location - close to the tube

1 block from the Tube. Nice location - quite area, close to a variety of stores and restaurants. Great place to just walk around - sites nearby. Would recommend twin bed arrangement for couples.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Muffin Man restaurant(1 Block from hotel) is a small, inexpensive place to eat breakfast.

Review of Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York
Oct 31, 2010

good

excellent

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
Chino Hills, California
May 21, 2009

A little home away from home

The location is superb! It is a two minute walk to the underground, so you can easily take the underground from Heathrow to the hotel. There are lots of good places to eat close by, as well as several food markets to pick up anything you might need. Everything you may want to see is within easy walking distance if you like to walk. My daughter and I had a two week stay at the Copthorne Tara and were very pleased with our room, the staff, and the food offered at the hotel. I would not hesitate to plan another vacations using the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Muffin Man is a two minute walk from the hotel and has great breakfast, lunch, and tea choices. Sticky Fingers and the Pasta Caffe are also a short walk away (about ten minutes) and the food is quite good at both places. If you like cupcakes, Buttercup Bakery is about a ten minute walk and Hummingbird Bakery is about a twenty minute walk away! Yum!

Review of Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
College Station, Texas
Jun 30, 2009

The Hotel Russell, London

Absolutely great location, around the corner from the Picadilly line of the tube, which goes to Heathrow and connects to everywhere in London. Very quiet area. Will surely go back to the Russell when we return to London. I recommend it without reservation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Couples

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

The British Museum. It is a jewel. And a short walk from Russell Square, where the hotel is located.

Review of Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Dallas TX
Jul 8, 2009

Definitely Recommed

Extremely well located near Kensington Palace and a three minute walk to the Underground. We were there as first time London vacationers and would definitely stay there again. Our only complaint was there there was no WIFI connection. There was an internet cable hook up in the room [for an extra fee], but we couldn't connect. But who wants to spend time on the internet while in London anyway!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Micio
Family
Santa Rosa, CA
May 24, 2011

Reasonably good

I liked the use of the club for breakfast and free internet.The service in general was good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
miss ann
Business
Wash.D.C.
Sep 8, 2011

very pleasant, convenient; comfortable

I enjoyed the Copthorne/Tara the price was fair; food very good; I especially enjoyed breakfast; wish I could have had until 10:AM the onstruction across street was a distraction but overall I was satisfied w/accomodations, service/staff etc.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

High St. is over-priced exchange for currency (US dollars is very high

Review of Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Irving, TX
Apr 22, 2009

Copthorne Tara

We visited the museums of London. We had stayed there before but didn't remember it being so noisy. Lots of sport groups for tournaments. Didn't like the fact that we had to wait several hours to check in. The restaurants were very lack luster. When you offer Mexican food, it needs to be Mexican.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Great shopping!

Review of Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Larry S.
Single
Yonkers, NY
Feb 20, 2009

Wonderful stay!

I had a wonderful time at the Copthorne Tara. The room was comfortable and clean. Even though it was facing the underground tracks, it was very quiet (I was on a high floor.) The location was excellent--three short blocks from the High Street Kensington station. The staff was helpful (one exception--I arrived early but had to wait until 3 for check-in--but they kept my bags for me and I had time for sightseeing and lunch.) The people at the concierge's desk were very helpful. The barstaff was especially friendly, courteous and efficient (the bar is open late), and the Bugis Street restaurant was great. Overall I highly recommend this hotel and would stay there again next time I visit London.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Single

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Muffin Man--half a block on the way to the underground--is great for light breakfasts. Thai Terrace restaurant--also half a block--is lovely and classy--my main course was rather bland, but other choices might be better.

Back to menu Return to top