$129 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 17, 2014 Check-out: Aug 18, 2014

Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington

4 stars
Scarsdale Place Kensington, Kensington, London, W8 5SR
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
242 reviews
Perfect!

This hotel was amazing! The hotel staff went above and beyond. We happened to be staying during the... See full review

  • Jasmine2014
  • Jan 18, 2014
An excellent capital stay

We couldn't have wished for a better stay at the Copthorne Tara. The location is right in the heart... See full review

  • smartiemart
  • Nov 17, 2013
Popular 4-star hotel in the Royal Borough of Kensington and Chelsea

The Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington is tucked away in a quiet corner of the Royal Borough of Kensington and Chelsea. The hotel is one of the city's most well known 4-star properties and is equally suitable for both business and leisure travelers. The Copthorne Tara Hotel boasts more than 800 rooms appointed with contemporary furnishings and amenities. The hotel also features two restaurants, a bar, café, 24-hour room service, high-speed Internet and a fitness center.

Highlights
  • Several on-site dining options
  • On-site coffee shop
  • Complimentary fitness center
Rooms

Rooms have been carefully designed to maximize natural daylight, with light wood and soothing shades that offer a quiet retreat at the end of the day. All rooms include private facilities and include satellite TV and pay-per-view, Internet (fees apply), hairdryer, tea and coffee making facilities, mini-fridge and direct dial telephone with voicemail. Club room guests enjoy complimentary access to the Copthorne Club Lounge, which offers free continental breakfast, newspaper, Internet access, tea and coffee throughout the day and drinks in the evening.

Features

The Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington is located in a quiet area of Kensington, just a short walk to the shops and museums of Kensington and Knightsbridge. The hotel is a contemporary and stylish 4-star hotel and is the ideal base for both leisure and business pursuits.

Dining

The hotel boasts a variety of on-site dining and drinking options: Artist Corner offers a la carte dining options in a relaxed setting; Cafexpress serves coffee drinks and sandwiches; and Bugis Street serves a tantalizing array of Singaporean, Malaysian and Cantonese cuisine. Additionally, the Brasserie Restaurant & Bar serves a wide selection of drinks and an all-day menu featuring typical pub fare.

 

The hotel offers a fitness room with cross trainers, treadmills, dumbbells and a stretching area. On-site parking is available, too (fees apply).

Transportation
  • High Street Kensington tube stations (1 minute walking)
  • Heathrow Airport (24 minutes)
  • Gatwick Airport (1 hour, 6 minutes)
Attractions
  • Hyde Park (1.7 mi./2.86 km)
  • Kensington Palace (0.36 mi./0.59 km)
  • Portobello Road Market (1.47 mi./2.37 km)
  • Royal Albert Hall (0.61 mi./0.99 km)
Business
  • Business center
  • Computer stations with Internet (fee applies) and color printers
  • Meeting rooms for 2 to 280 people

Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington Rooms

Superior Room
The bedding option for the room is one double bed or one twin bed. Room offers Air conditioning, Alarm clock, Cable / Satellite TV, Disabled facilities, Hairdryer, Heating, Broadband Internet access, Modem / data port connection, Non-smoking rooms, Pay-per-view movies, Refrigerator, 24-hour Room service, Tea and coffee making facilities and Telephone.
Club Room
The bedding option for the room is one double bed. Room facilities include all those featured in the Superior rooms. In addition, Club guests benefit from complimentary access to the Copthorne Club Lounge, offering: Complimentary Continental breakfast, Newspapers, Tea & coffee throughout the day, Internet access and Evening drinks between 6.45pm - 8.15pm.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5

Hotel Map

51.4989 -0.1912
Area served
London.
Nearby airports
London Heathrow International Airport.
Area description
Located in a residential area of Kensington within walking distance of the High Street- buses and underground station, close to Earls Court and Olympia Exhibition Centres. Easy access by car or tube from Heathrow airport, minutes away from the shops and museums of Kensington and Knightsbridge/Harrods, 20 minutes to the West End/Oxford Street and Theatreland.

Nearby points of interest

  • High Street Kensington: 0.2 mi
  • Kensington Palace: 0.4 mi
  • Gloucester Road: 0.4 mi
  • Baden-Powell House Exhibition: 0.6 mi
  • Royal Albert Hall: 0.6 mi
  • Royal College of Music Archives and Museum of Instruments: 0.6 mi
  • Albert Memorial : 0.6 mi
  • Earls Court Exhibition Centre: 0.6 mi
  • Natural History Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Imperial College London: 0.7 mi
  • Science Museum London: 0.7 mi
  • Kensington Gardens: 0.7 mi
  • Polish Institute and Sikorski Museum: 0.8 mi
  • National Art Library: 0.8 mi
  • Victoria and Albert Museum: 0.8 mi
  • High Street Kensington: 0.2 mi
  • Kensington Palace: 0.4 mi
  • Gloucester Road: 0.4 mi
  • Baden-Powell House Exhibition: 0.6 mi
  • Royal Albert Hall: 0.6 mi
  • Royal College of Music Archives and Museum of Instruments: 0.6 mi
  • Albert Memorial : 0.6 mi
  • Earls Court Exhibition Centre: 0.6 mi
  • Natural History Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Imperial College London: 0.7 mi
  • Science Museum London: 0.7 mi
  • Kensington Gardens: 0.7 mi
  • Polish Institute and Sikorski Museum: 0.8 mi
  • National Art Library: 0.8 mi
  • Victoria and Albert Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Queensway: 1 mi
  • Lancaster Gate: 1 mi
  • Whiteleys Shopping Centre : 1.1 mi
  • Harrods: 1.2 mi
  • Stamford Bridge: 1.2 mi
  • Knightsbridge: 1.2 mi
  • King's Road: 1.2 mi
  • Royal Institute of British Architects Collections: 1.3 mi
  • Chelsea: 1.4 mi
  • Paddington Station: 1.4 mi
  • Westfield Shopping Centre : 1.5 mi
  • City of Westminster: 1.5 mi
  • Cadogan Hall: 1.5 mi
  • Broadway Shopping Centre : 1.5 mi
  • Notting Hill: 1.5 mi
  • Saatchi Gallery: 1.5 mi
  • Sloane Square: 1.5 mi
  • Couper Collection: 1.6 mi
  • Hyde Park: 1.6 mi
  • Hammersmith Apollo: 1.7 mi
  • King's Mall Shopping Centre : 1.7 mi
  • Hyde Park Corner: 1.7 mi
  • Royal Hospital Chelsea Museum: 1.7 mi
  • Marble Arch: 1.7 mi
  • Portobello Market: 1.7 mi
  • Park Lane: 1.7 mi
  • Portobello Road: 1.7 mi
  • Wellington Arch: 1.8 mi
  • Showroom Gallery: 1.9 mi
  • Selfridges: 2 mi

Dining

Bugis Street
Offers a delightful selection of authentic Singaporean, Malaysian and Chinese cuisine.
Cafexpress
Serving a selection of coffees/ teas and a wide range of home-made sandwiches, salads and delicious snacks either to enjoy in or to take away.
The Brasserie
It (restaurant & bar) is located on the ground floor of the hotel and offers an informal and very relaxed atmosphere. The venue offers casual dining in the restaurant, serving an 'A la Carte' menu with predominantly British cuisine, and an 'all day' snack menu in the Bar area from 11am .

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (242)

Ratings and reviews for Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
242 out of 242
Amenities:
3.6
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3.9
Room comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.8

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Godric
Saudi Arabia , Riyadh
Oct 30, 2012

Great service with a great place !

This hotel has surpassed my expectations, i stayed for 6 night. The place is perfect , as you can walk to the Hyde park with less than 5 minutes . What made it better is that you're only 2 minutes far away from the station , which will save you time . The staff is great & they're so cooperative , the service was so good in general as i wouldn't ask for more . I would hardly suggest this hotel for anyone who's visiting London whether it was for a long vacation or a business trip , it was perfect

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Hyde park

Review of Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
tleon20
Houston, Texas, EEUU
May 28, 2012

Good location, nothing else

I expected mor than i get. it's an old hotel, but location is great, just two blocks from subway.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Vacationer467
Chicago
May 19, 2012

Pretty good hotel for London. A few minuses

My husband and I got a club room which included wifi and complimentary continental breakfast. Hotel is clean and security is good. Staff is attentive. Other big plus is the size and variety of the breakfast, which is the best complimentary b-fast I've experienced in London: pastry, cheese, cold ham, yoghurt, many fresh fruits, cereals, espresso, coffee, tea, and congee (rice porridge) with Asian additions. Easy to eat hearty at b-fast and be good till dinner. Big minuses: while room was nice (mini fridge main plus), the room did have a slight odor upon entering, rather mildewy, which we got used to after a few minutes. But the worst was the mattress--horrible. Soft and lumpy. Sleep was difficult and we woke up achy. Maybe if we were in our 20s we wouldn't have felt it as much. Given the hotel's rather nice level, the bed should have been better. Hotel is on the District and Circle tube lines, but not in the thick of the transport's main hubs. Area pretty good: just off High St Kensington. Nice tea shop-The Muffin Man--near the hotel. Lots of shopping in the area. Hyde Park is wonderful and very close.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Check out Gloucester Rd to the east, and Cromwell to the south for restaurants.

Review of Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JacquieR13
Boston, USA - world traveller
May 18, 2012

Very nice visit

The hotel was very nice. The location was superb. Kensington is a lovely place. everything was in easy walking distance. The hotel staff were all very helpful and friendly. The internet access was not complimentary and quite expensive. Also, room service was a bit expensive as well. They also advertised that they had herbal teas, but when I asked housekeeping to provide packets, they didn't have any. Overall, I thought it was a great hotel and I would definitely go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Maggie Jones and Ffiona's were the best!

Review of Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Yuda
Business
Israel
May 7, 2012

6 nights at the hotel

The hotel is very well located close to public transportation but at quiet residential area. The rooms are of suitable size and are clean. Hotel's stuff are efficient and helpful. It is nice place to stay for business or family travel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
DvG.
Business
Holland
May 4, 2012

Business trip London

Nice hotel but nothing special. Rate more 3 stars rather then 4

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
bh1234
Business
US
Apr 29, 2012

You could do worse, but...

it certainly isn't as impressive as they would like you to believe. Located just off Kensington High Street, a block from the tube, the Copthorne Tara is well situated. Several attractions and both the Earl's Court and Olympia exhibition venues are within walking distance (about a km). We stayed in a club level room. The room was clean, and the free continental breakfast in the club lounge was actually quite good. The staff was friendly, and tried to be helpful, but seemed very inexperienced. We had issues with internet connections and delays in checking out. The in-hotel restaurants are good. The room itself needed refreshing-- all the furniture was worn. Double bed was barely big enough for two and much softer than I like.The windows were quite dirty. If subway trains bother you (no horns, but track noise), make sure you are not on the back side of the hotel. It can be hard to get a taxi in the morning. Be prepared to walk up to High Street.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Rob85
Eagle, CO, USA
Apr 3, 2012

Great place

This hotel was clean and offered anything you could want. It was expensive but you have to expect that when staying in London let alone Kensington. I was comfortable, I slept well, the staff was good and it was a half block from the underground.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There are a great pair of Italian places just west of the Hotel in High Street. Great if you are needing some flavor after the bland British fare.

Review of Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
jenniphiliac
Seattle, WA, USA
Mar 13, 2012

Pretty perfect

This place does the job well. It was clean, comfortable, and quiet, and the staff was friendly. The Kensington-High Street location is excellent... right next to Hyde Park and close to everything (and shopping, if you're into that sort of thing), but not at the tourist epicenter. It's a big place, so maybe not the most ideal if you're looking for a more personalized experience, but perfect for a nice place to stay in a great location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
islandtraveler
Northern California
Mar 7, 2012

Nice place to stay in Kensington, near the Underground

Room was comfortable, clean, and perhaps a bit small. They provide a flat screen TV, and, as a surprise, an empty refrigerator, which can come in handy if one fancies British treats such as Pork Pies from M&S, or Sausage Rolls from West Cornish Pastie co., both in the underground station. They provide a kettle for morning coffee, tea. There is milk provided in little plastic tubes. Shower was the best I've ever encountered in the UK, plenty of water, pressure, and heat. We did not use any of the restaurants in the hotel, we found them pricey. For a good English breakfast, the "Muffin Man" on Wrights Lane just around the corner from the hotel fit the bill, although a bit pricey as well. We did appreciate the double paned windows as it muffled the sound of the underground trains below us at street level. Staff was helpful and friendly, and assisted me with checking in for my return trip and printing boarding passes. We would definitely consider staying here once again on our next trip to the UK, and London in particular.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Buy an Oyster card at the underground station. It guarantees you to pay the lowest price for travel on all buses, trains, and underground. It doesn't restrict you to a particular day of usage.

Review of Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Janey mack
Dublin, Co. Dublin, Ireland
Feb 23, 2012

Weekend away.

Tha hotel was clean but it looks dated and the rooms are in urgent need of an update.When we arrived there was a tray with a kettle tea,coffee etc.in our room.After a long day sightseeing we returned tired and thirsty and i was dying for a cup of tea,the cafe in the lobby was closed so i returned to my room to find that tray with kettle etc. had been removed.The same thing happened in our friends room,its only a small thing but it really annoyed me!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Back to menu Return to top