$130 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Oct 5, 2014 Check-out: Oct 6, 2014

Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington

4 stars
Scarsdale Place Kensington, Kensington, London, W8 5SR
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
172 reviews
Perfect!

This hotel was amazing! The hotel staff went above and beyond. We happened to be staying during the... See full review

  • Jasmine2014
  • Jan 18, 2014
An excellent capital stay

We couldn't have wished for a better stay at the Copthorne Tara. The location is right in the heart... See full review

  • smartiemart
  • Nov 17, 2013
Popular 4-star hotel in the Royal Borough of Kensington and Chelsea

The Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington is tucked away in a quiet corner of the Royal Borough of Kensington and Chelsea. The hotel is one of the city's most well known 4-star properties and is equally suitable for both business and leisure travelers. The Copthorne Tara Hotel boasts more than 800 rooms appointed with contemporary furnishings and amenities. The hotel also features two restaurants, a bar, café, 24-hour room service, high-speed Internet and a fitness center.

Highlights
  • Several on-site dining options
  • On-site coffee shop
  • Complimentary fitness center
Rooms

Rooms have been carefully designed to maximize natural daylight, with light wood and soothing shades that offer a quiet retreat at the end of the day. All rooms include private facilities and include satellite TV and pay-per-view, Internet (fees apply), hairdryer, tea and coffee making facilities, mini-fridge and direct dial telephone with voicemail. Club room guests enjoy complimentary access to the Copthorne Club Lounge, which offers free continental breakfast, newspaper, Internet access, tea and coffee throughout the day and drinks in the evening.

Features

The Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington is located in a quiet area of Kensington, just a short walk to the shops and museums of Kensington and Knightsbridge. The hotel is a contemporary and stylish 4-star hotel and is the ideal base for both leisure and business pursuits.

Dining

The hotel boasts a variety of on-site dining and drinking options: Artist Corner offers a la carte dining options in a relaxed setting; Cafexpress serves coffee drinks and sandwiches; and Bugis Street serves a tantalizing array of Singaporean, Malaysian and Cantonese cuisine. Additionally, the Brasserie Restaurant & Bar serves a wide selection of drinks and an all-day menu featuring typical pub fare.

 

The hotel offers a fitness room with cross trainers, treadmills, dumbbells and a stretching area. On-site parking is available, too (fees apply).

Transportation
  • High Street Kensington tube stations (1 minute walking)
  • Heathrow Airport (24 minutes)
  • Gatwick Airport (1 hour, 6 minutes)
Attractions
  • Hyde Park (1.7 mi./2.86 km)
  • Kensington Palace (0.36 mi./0.59 km)
  • Portobello Road Market (1.47 mi./2.37 km)
  • Royal Albert Hall (0.61 mi./0.99 km)
Business
  • Business center
  • Computer stations with Internet (fee applies) and color printers
  • Meeting rooms for 2 to 280 people

Hotel Map

51.4989 -0.1912
Area served
London.
Nearby airports
London Heathrow International Airport.
Area description
Located in a residential area of Kensington within walking distance of the High Street- buses and underground station, close to Earls Court and Olympia Exhibition Centres. Easy access by car or tube from Heathrow airport, minutes away from the shops and museums of Kensington and Knightsbridge/Harrods, 20 minutes to the West End/Oxford Street and Theatreland.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5

Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington Rooms

Superior plus Double Room
This Room Type includes complimentary WIFI, complimentary full English breakfast served in the restaurant
Superior Room
The bedding option for the room is one double bed or one twin bed. Room offers Air conditioning, Alarm clock, Cable / Satellite TV, Disabled facilities, Hairdryer, Heating, Broadband Internet access, Modem / data port connection, Non-smoking rooms, Pay-per-view movies, Refrigerator, 24-hour Room service, Tea and coffee making facilities and Telephone.
Club Room
The bedding option for the room is one double bed. Room facilities include all those featured in the Superior rooms. In addition, Club guests benefit from complimentary access to the Copthorne Club Lounge, offering: Complimentary Continental breakfast, Newspapers, Tea & coffee throughout the day, Internet access and Evening drinks between 6.45pm - 8.15pm.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • High Street Kensington: 0.2 mi
  • Kensington Palace: 0.4 mi
  • Gloucester Road: 0.4 mi
  • Baden-Powell House Exhibition: 0.6 mi
  • Royal Albert Hall: 0.6 mi
  • Royal College of Music Archives and Museum of Instruments: 0.6 mi
  • Albert Memorial : 0.6 mi
  • Earls Court Exhibition Centre: 0.6 mi
  • Natural History Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Imperial College London: 0.7 mi
  • Science Museum London: 0.7 mi
  • Kensington Gardens: 0.7 mi
  • Polish Institute and Sikorski Museum: 0.8 mi
  • National Art Library: 0.8 mi
  • Victoria and Albert Museum: 0.8 mi
  • High Street Kensington: 0.2 mi
  • Kensington Palace: 0.4 mi
  • Gloucester Road: 0.4 mi
  • Baden-Powell House Exhibition: 0.6 mi
  • Royal Albert Hall: 0.6 mi
  • Royal College of Music Archives and Museum of Instruments: 0.6 mi
  • Albert Memorial : 0.6 mi
  • Earls Court Exhibition Centre: 0.6 mi
  • Natural History Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Imperial College London: 0.7 mi
  • Science Museum London: 0.7 mi
  • Kensington Gardens: 0.7 mi
  • Polish Institute and Sikorski Museum: 0.8 mi
  • National Art Library: 0.8 mi
  • Victoria and Albert Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Queensway: 1 mi
  • Lancaster Gate: 1 mi
  • Whiteleys Shopping Centre : 1.1 mi
  • Harrods: 1.2 mi
  • Stamford Bridge: 1.2 mi
  • Knightsbridge: 1.2 mi
  • King's Road: 1.2 mi
  • Royal Institute of British Architects Collections: 1.3 mi
  • Chelsea: 1.4 mi
  • Paddington Station: 1.4 mi
  • Westfield Shopping Centre : 1.5 mi
  • City of Westminster: 1.5 mi
  • Cadogan Hall: 1.5 mi
  • Broadway Shopping Centre : 1.5 mi
  • Notting Hill: 1.5 mi
  • Saatchi Gallery: 1.5 mi
  • Sloane Square: 1.5 mi
  • Couper Collection: 1.6 mi
  • Hyde Park: 1.6 mi
  • Hammersmith Apollo: 1.7 mi
  • King's Mall Shopping Centre : 1.7 mi
  • Hyde Park Corner: 1.7 mi
  • Royal Hospital Chelsea Museum: 1.7 mi
  • Marble Arch: 1.7 mi
  • Portobello Market: 1.7 mi
  • Park Lane: 1.7 mi
  • Portobello Road: 1.7 mi
  • Wellington Arch: 1.8 mi
  • Showroom Gallery: 1.9 mi
  • Selfridges: 2 mi

Dining

Bugis Street
Offers a delightful selection of authentic Singaporean, Malaysian and Chinese cuisine.
Cafexpress
Serving a selection of coffees/ teas and a wide range of home-made sandwiches, salads and delicious snacks either to enjoy in or to take away.
The Brasserie
It (restaurant & bar) is located on the ground floor of the hotel and offers an informal and very relaxed atmosphere. The venue offers casual dining in the restaurant, serving an 'A la Carte' menu with predominantly British cuisine, and an 'all day' snack menu in the Bar area from 11am .

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (172)

Ratings and reviews for Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
172 out of 172
Amenities:
3.6
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3.9
Room comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.8

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
SC mom of 2
Simpsonville, SC
Jul 30, 2012

Great location!

We loved the location. Just a 2-3 minute walk to the High Street Kensington tube station and you could get anywhere. Lots of shopping and restaruants nearby. Would definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
FredB
Dublin Ireland
Jul 30, 2012

Friendly Staff, Lovely Hotel, Lovely Location

Staff very friendly and obliging. Lovely room, clean and fresh. Excellent location. Would highly recommend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sorefoot Sue
American Midwest
Jul 26, 2012

Good service, good value

We were greatly impressed with the attentiveness and helpfulness of the staff at the Copthorne Tara Hotel. We needed a room with accommodations for the disabled, and the hotel sent us a PDF file describing the rooms in detail so we could be sure that our room would be exactly what we needed. The hotel is in a quiet location and is only two blocks from the High Street Kensington tube station, shopping, and buses. There was a mini-fridge and an electric in the room, so after a hard day's sight-seeing we were able to put up our feet and relax with hot tea and cold drinks and interesting sandwiches that we bought at the nearby food shops. The selection of sandwiches, btw, is best early in the day, so we would get them before we started the day's activities and keep them in the fridge until the evening. We used room service once, and the portions were generous. We ate breakfast at the hotel on our last day. It was set up buffet style. I thought it was overpriced, but there was a lot of food and someone with a bigger appetite might get their twelve pounds' worth. In general and in summary, we were pleased with the hotel, and we would stay there again and we would recommend it to friends.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
São José dos Campos
Jul 23, 2012

Very good hotel

Good hotel, confortable. Near to subway station, very good neighborhood. No free Wi-fi. Clean room, good bathroom. Definitely would stay again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Frequent world traveller
Business
Toronto
Jul 13, 2012

Great value for money

The hotel was in a great location, very close to the subway and shops. The area was safe, upscale and convenient as a base to travel from. The facility itself was somewhat dated and could use some updating. However, it was clean and has all the amenities one would need. The restaurant which served Singapore food was of high quality and very reasonable in price. Would definitely stay there again. Great value for money.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Budget conscious 1
NY, USA
Jul 5, 2012

Surprisingly good deal

Based on what I paid I was surprised to get such a nice hotel. I reserved a room for one and got a huge room meant for two (with two large beds). It's near the Kensington part of London within walking distance of Buckingham Palace (though it would be a long walk). About a block or two away from High Street Kensington underground station. Nearby are a few restaurants which range from Thai to McDonald's to cafes. Con: 10 GBP/day for wifi. It has its own restaurant, but breakfast costs 10-17 GBP (depending on who you believe).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Richard and Not
Beijing China
Jul 1, 2012

Good value/good location

This hotel is close to Kensington High Street tube station. We stayed in the Club rooms, on the 12th floor, big, good bathroom with bath( and never ending hot water) and all facilities incl internet The beds are very comfortable. Also included wasan extensive continental breakfast and free drinks each evening. Staff were great everywhere.. they really go the extra yards re friendly service. No hestitation to recommend. Just ask for rooms facing the river for best outlook. The High street offers loads of shopping opportunities as well as eating. It is only a short walk to Kensington Palace gardens for some tranquility and a comfortable walk to the museums at South kensington. Good tip was to buy the daily tube tickets at 7 pounds each and to do a Bus tour of the city first to get the big picture.The river cruise included is a must and get off at Greenwich and have a look around as it is very interesting.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
NYCcouple123
New York, NY
Jun 26, 2012

decent

Decent hotel in nice location. Close to the tube and park. Staff were friendly. Only complaint is the nickel & dime for stuff like internet (10 pounds a day) & laundry (1-3 pounds per piece), but i guess most hotels do that now.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

type the Muffin shop for good coffee & breakfast.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Gretchen L.
Business
New York
Jun 14, 2012

Good experience

This hotel is in a good location, and the staff is generally very helpful. Close to Kensington High Street tube station. Beds not the most comfortable, but Club room is large for a London hotel. Nice restaurants in the hotel and lots of shopping in the area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Faery Gramma
Los Angeles, CA
Jun 7, 2012

Great Bargain

I was upgraded to 9th floor, odd # room, at desk for no extra charge. Room is well thought out but older. Great tree top view, I was able to see the fireworks after Jubilee Concert. Kensington is my favorite place in London. Lots of towels, lovely tea/coffee set up in room and also a little fridge. The only downside to the room is not fresh air and a stale smell which was allevaited by a/c but I have allergy issues. The staff was GREAT! The hotel has excellent Asian restaurant, gift shop, snack center. The food is very average except for Asian food which was superb. It is very safe, lots of security, and runs smoothly for tourists i.e. post box, money changing center, any kind of guest service you might need. Lovely big lobby. Location cannot be beat, right near busses and Tube.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Take the #9 bus which goes right by Knightsbridge, down Piccadilly and ends at Green Park. It is a short walk to Regent's St. which takes you to the Mall with Buckingham Palace on right and on the left cut through Horse Guard to Westminster. Piccadilly Circus has short cut over to Covent Garden and it is about 7 min walk. AVOID Tube. It is stuffy and crowded. TAKE THE BUS!! I will stay there again. Just wish some fresh air.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search