$110 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 17, 2014 Check-out: Aug 18, 2014

Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington

4 stars
Scarsdale Place Kensington, Kensington, London, W8 5SR
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
242 reviews
Perfect!

This hotel was amazing! The hotel staff went above and beyond. We happened to be staying during the... See full review

  • Jasmine2014
  • Jan 18, 2014
An excellent capital stay

We couldn't have wished for a better stay at the Copthorne Tara. The location is right in the heart... See full review

  • smartiemart
  • Nov 17, 2013
The Copthorne Tara Hotel is located in a quiet corner of the Royal Borough of Kensington & Chelsea,an area of enormous historic and architectural interest. Stylish boutiques and fashionable restaurants, as well as significant cultural and entertainment attractions surround it. Whilst it is easily accessible from the M4 with Heathrow Airport only 30 mins. drive, Earls Court and Olympia Exhibition Centres are only a 5-min journey by car or bus. The newly opened Westfield Shopping centre is just 10 mins. away by car. The hotel boasts 833 air-conditioned bedrooms; including Standard rooms, Club rooms on the upper floors which offer city views and access to a private lounge, adapted rooms for the disabled traveller, suites and the Royal Tara suite. Hotel's facilities include: 2 restaurants, bar, Cafexpreess, 24-hour room service, fitness room, broadband Internet in all rooms, beauty salon, on site carparking (fee), 24-hour reception and security. In addition to the above, the hotel boasts 750m2 of flexible meetings and events space.

Hotel Map

51.4989 -0.1912
Area served
London.
Nearby airports
London Heathrow International Airport.
Area description
Located in a residential area of Kensington within walking distance of the High Street- buses and underground station, close to Earls Court and Olympia Exhibition Centres. Easy access by car or tube from Heathrow airport, minutes away from the shops and museums of Kensington and Knightsbridge/Harrods, 20 minutes to the West End/Oxford Street and Theatreland.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5

Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington Rooms

Superior plus Double Room
This Room Type includes complimentary WIFI, complimentary full English breakfast served in the restaurant
Superior Room
The bedding option for the room is one double bed or one twin bed. Room offers Air conditioning, Alarm clock, Cable / Satellite TV, Disabled facilities, Hairdryer, Heating, Broadband Internet access, Modem / data port connection, Non-smoking rooms, Pay-per-view movies, Refrigerator, 24-hour Room service, Tea and coffee making facilities and Telephone.
Club Room
The bedding option for the room is one double bed. Room facilities include all those featured in the Superior rooms. In addition, Club guests benefit from complimentary access to the Copthorne Club Lounge, offering: Complimentary Continental breakfast, Newspapers, Tea & coffee throughout the day, Internet access and Evening drinks between 6.45pm - 8.15pm.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • High Street Kensington: 0.2 mi
  • Kensington Palace: 0.4 mi
  • Gloucester Road: 0.4 mi
  • Baden-Powell House Exhibition: 0.6 mi
  • Royal Albert Hall: 0.6 mi
  • Royal College of Music Archives and Museum of Instruments: 0.6 mi
  • Albert Memorial : 0.6 mi
  • Earls Court Exhibition Centre: 0.6 mi
  • Natural History Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Imperial College London: 0.7 mi
  • Science Museum London: 0.7 mi
  • Kensington Gardens: 0.7 mi
  • Polish Institute and Sikorski Museum: 0.8 mi
  • National Art Library: 0.8 mi
  • Victoria and Albert Museum: 0.8 mi
  • High Street Kensington: 0.2 mi
  • Kensington Palace: 0.4 mi
  • Gloucester Road: 0.4 mi
  • Baden-Powell House Exhibition: 0.6 mi
  • Royal Albert Hall: 0.6 mi
  • Royal College of Music Archives and Museum of Instruments: 0.6 mi
  • Albert Memorial : 0.6 mi
  • Earls Court Exhibition Centre: 0.6 mi
  • Natural History Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Imperial College London: 0.7 mi
  • Science Museum London: 0.7 mi
  • Kensington Gardens: 0.7 mi
  • Polish Institute and Sikorski Museum: 0.8 mi
  • National Art Library: 0.8 mi
  • Victoria and Albert Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Queensway: 1 mi
  • Lancaster Gate: 1 mi
  • Whiteleys Shopping Centre : 1.1 mi
  • Harrods: 1.2 mi
  • Stamford Bridge: 1.2 mi
  • Knightsbridge: 1.2 mi
  • King's Road: 1.2 mi
  • Royal Institute of British Architects Collections: 1.3 mi
  • Chelsea: 1.4 mi
  • Paddington Station: 1.4 mi
  • Westfield Shopping Centre : 1.5 mi
  • City of Westminster: 1.5 mi
  • Cadogan Hall: 1.5 mi
  • Broadway Shopping Centre : 1.5 mi
  • Notting Hill: 1.5 mi
  • Saatchi Gallery: 1.5 mi
  • Sloane Square: 1.5 mi
  • Couper Collection: 1.6 mi
  • Hyde Park: 1.6 mi
  • Hammersmith Apollo: 1.7 mi
  • King's Mall Shopping Centre : 1.7 mi
  • Hyde Park Corner: 1.7 mi
  • Royal Hospital Chelsea Museum: 1.7 mi
  • Marble Arch: 1.7 mi
  • Portobello Market: 1.7 mi
  • Park Lane: 1.7 mi
  • Portobello Road: 1.7 mi
  • Wellington Arch: 1.8 mi
  • Showroom Gallery: 1.9 mi
  • Selfridges: 2 mi

Dining

Bugis Street
Offers a delightful selection of authentic Singaporean, Malaysian and Chinese cuisine.
Cafexpress
Serving a selection of coffees/ teas and a wide range of home-made sandwiches, salads and delicious snacks either to enjoy in or to take away.
The Brasserie
It (restaurant & bar) is located on the ground floor of the hotel and offers an informal and very relaxed atmosphere. The venue offers casual dining in the restaurant, serving an 'A la Carte' menu with predominantly British cuisine, and an 'all day' snack menu in the Bar area from 11am .

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (242)

Ratings and reviews for Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
242 out of 242
Amenities:
3.6
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3.9
Room comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.8

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Ian hunter
Dublin
Oct 22, 2012

Pay for wifi in 2012?

Glad I only stayed one night. The room was basic. The staff were not rude but very unhelpful. Asked for directions to a concert venue 2km away(O2 empire sheperds bush) and nobody knew where it was. Asked for 2 pints in the bar and they said the beer I ordered was too strong they only do halves. Then room cleaning woke me up at 0800hrs when I was due to check out at 1100hrs. And for get some coasters in the bar!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Review of Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Wannabe Ex Patriot
Dayton, Ohio
Oct 22, 2012

Very good for a one person trip!

I stayed a week at this hotel during my first trip overseas and it was in a great location! The staff were all very friendly and helpful as I was upgraded when a problem with the room above me was discovered. The rooms are somewhat outtdated and dreary but the location was fantastic with a short walk to the nearest tube station (closed on weekends) on High Street. Taxi's are readily available in the mornings but not really throughout the day so plan accordingly!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Akramhar
Paris
Oct 22, 2012

Nice holiday

It was great opportunity to ennjoy nice atmosphere

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Review of Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Doctor.
Business
Dubai
Oct 19, 2012

M. Fazalullah

It was average, everything is for charge , the intenet and even the breakfast for ten pounds, whereas in many hotels of the same area the british breakfast is included in the ocst. This hotel inspite of charging for 4 star costs does not provide the services of a 4 star hotel. Staff behaviour is acceptable but cannot be rated as excellent. Except for the location there is nothing extraordinary

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Nojokenorm
Louisiana
Oct 13, 2012

Better than expected...

We stayed only 1 nite before going on to Southampton for cruise, so just wanted some place clean & reasonable (the price is really good for London) and got a lovely upscale hotel with accomodating staff & lovely room. Do have the breakfast buffet (not included in our room rate) it was excellent & elegant. WOuld definetely recommend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Sweaty in Miami
CA
Oct 10, 2012

Solo traveler - Hot Room - Low Lighting

I stayed here for 3 nights and in general this hotel is old and needs updating. However, the beds were reasonably comfortable and the shower was actually pretty good. I fail to see how you can get any air in the bathroom and not allow it to steam up because there's no ventilation. The only thing that I have to complain about is that the hotel staff wasn't particularly nice or friendly, or rude in any way, it was pretty average. They didn't take too good care of me after my wallet was stolen and my hotel card with it. Also the room, the A/C does NOT work! It was excessively warm in the room the whole time despite it being cool outside so it really should have been more like heat versus cool but it was super stuffy in the room the whole 3 days.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

High Street Kensington Station is close by

Review of Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Tom and Sheila
Grand Rapids Michigan
Oct 2, 2012

London Vacation

We have stayed at this Hotel five times and we are very satisfied with each visit. The staff are very courteous and helpful especially BILLY. The location is great for shopping and museums etc. and the tube station is just a couple of minutes walk.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Modest lux on a budget
Business
New York
Sep 28, 2012

Great Location, all around good comfort

Location, location, location! In the heart of Kensington, just two blocks from the High Street Kensington Tube. All around good quality of service and the rooms and hotel facilities are in good standard.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Most bucksed
Lagos
Aug 27, 2012

Decent hotel

Good amenities. Friendly staff and excellent location. Nice Asian restaurant. Got a free room upgrade

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Regbea
Santos, Brazil
Aug 2, 2012

stay in London

This is a more expensive hotel than we ordinarily book because of the... Olympics. We enjoyed the stay. The hotel management and staff helped us with a nasty problem. My bag was stolen and for sometime I was ( and felt) without a passaport and one of the credit cards plus 350 pounds. The hotel management was attentive, we could get 2 more nights without previous booking and they helped us reminding us of what we should do as cancelling credit cards etc. We are thankful. It is a big hotel more for groups and conventions than "a cozy, charming place...." We would recommend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Tape your passport to your belly, take more than one credit card and don't expect much of consulates and the like... No money, no documents, no power and you are nothing. It is a personal 1984

Back to menu Return to top