$113 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 19, 2015 Check-out: Apr 20, 2015

Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington

4 stars
View map of Scarsdale Place Kensington, Kensington, London, W8 5SR

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
193 out of 193
Amenities:
3.6
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.8

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Godric
Saudi Arabia , Riyadh
Oct 30, 2012

Great service with a great place !

This hotel has surpassed my expectations, i stayed for 6 night. The place is perfect , as you can walk to the Hyde park with less than 5 minutes . What made it better is that you're only 2 minutes far away from the station , which will save you time . The staff is great & they're so cooperative , the service was so good in general as i wouldn't ask for more . I would hardly suggest this hotel for anyone who's visiting London whether it was for a long vacation or a business trip , it was perfect

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Hyde park

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Jaffacake
Business
Lincolnshire
Dec 24, 2014

Family Christmas shopping

Hotel was great; but a £15 additional charge for parking at the hotel for 2 1/2 hours after my checkout time made me feel a little aggrieved.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Go to Westfield

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
godot
Business
N/A
Dec 16, 2014

exrtaordinay hotel

T his was my third stay at this hotel this year....nine days each visit.This is an indication of my high regard for it.Excellent location on a quiet cul-de-sac and a stone's throw from the tube station .Fine, charming, helpful staff .Breakfast remains a fantastic exercise.It is amazing how the staff feeds so many guests with extraordinary speed and efficiency.A great value for the money.Highly recommended.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Bosley1485
Business
Henley In Arden
Dec 15, 2014

Great Location / Great Hotel

Despite an initially shakey start (extra bed not in room), this proved to be an excellent choice. Very close to nearest Tube if you're doing the sites, and plenty of shops / cafes in the immediate area. The hotel restaurant was excellent, and although we didn't try the Chinese restaurant it looked excellent. Useful little shop in the hotel + excellent Coffee grab & Go counter to kick start & end the day! We found this to be a perfect base for a superb weekend in the City! The 'Ask Alfred' package for a little one, is great - good quality teddy in a Queens Guard uniform + activity/tour book + carry bag. My six year old thought it was brilliant!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

If your doing the London Eye, get your tickets up front - the queue for the Eye is OK, but the queue for the tickets can huge!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
bluebaiano
Business
Belgium
Dec 4, 2014

Good value, great location

Room was a little 'tired' and ready for a refit but was clean, bed was very comfortable and shower powerful so that's the main boxes ticked. Location is convenient to get to west-end or the city and price is reasonable for hotel in London. Staff very friendly. Would recommend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

If you arrive at High Street Kensington tube station you can exit towards hotel via Boots store. Cuts a big corner.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
TX Dad
Business
Dallas, TX
Dec 3, 2014

Close to tube.

I just stayed here for one night but it was a great value and close to the District and Circle lines. Just a 5 minute walk to the station. Great location in Kensington, so it is close to the Natural History Museum and Kensington Palace. Real good value considering the location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Starlight 2
Business
Cornwall, UK
Nov 23, 2014

Good location

Excellent cooked breakfast. Although the tube station and bus routes are very nearby for sightseeing and shopping, the hotel is in a quiet location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

The wine is expensive.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dizzy's Dad
Business
Bristol
Nov 19, 2014

Convenient location

This is a large, busy hotel in an excellent quiet location. It is within walking distance to Hyde Park, Royal Albert Hall and Kensington Museums. Good tube access to Central London and major train stations. Staff are friendly and helpful. There is also a convenient bar/restaurant. We would stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

It is a short walk to Kensington High St and about a 20 min walk to the Royal Albert Hall.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
World Traveller 301
Business
USA
Oct 21, 2014

Convenient location and friendly atmosphere

We spent three nights at the the Copthorne Tara while on vacation in UK. The location is within a short distance from High Street Kensington underground station. The lobby area looks nice. The room was clean. It was quiet, the bed was comfortable, but the room furniture is old. The staff was friendly and polite. We elected a stay without breakfast and it was the right decision since there are less expensive, breakfast places close by. We will stay again because of the location and polite, friendly staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Buy a day ticket or a 7-day ticket from an underground station and use a combination of train and buses for travel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
TX Dad
Business
Dallas
Oct 6, 2014

Good value for the location

Good but not great, I'd actually give it a 3.5. The rooms could have used an update, but were not totally disgusting or anything. Cheapest price in Kensington area for sure, so you get what you pay for. Great location, close to the underground. The tracks were right outside my room (I had the 9th floor) but they did a good job of double insulating the windows so you could not hear any outside noise. It was a bit hot, but not uncomfortable - I could not get the air conditioner to cool the room down to the freezing level that I like. Overall a good value, especially if you are not going to spend a lot of time in your room anyway, except to sleep and shower. I did not try the restaurant or lounge, but they looked nice. Close to shops and museums.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Crows
Business
Newcastle England
Jun 28, 2014

Clean good location for wimbledon

First impressions are important and sadly check in took far too long. We arrived around 4:40pm with only a few in front of us but the reception staff asks you to fill in forms after forms eventually got to our supposed DOUBLE ROOM at around 5:10pm to find a TWIN room. Rang reception (15 mins) to get through to be told no double beds left but he would send house keeping to push the twin bed together and zip them. Inconvenient but in the this was fine. No safety deposit box so don't take valuables. Rooms are very dated but clean, we literally on slept in the room as we were out and about so served its purpose.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top