$120 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 9, 2015 Check-out: Aug 10, 2015

Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington

4 stars
View map of Scarsdale Place Kensington, Kensington, London, W8 5SR

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
189 out of 189
Amenities:
3.6
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.9

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
.....
Business
london
Nov 22, 2013

Unhelpful place

It's a hotel in the middle of London, very similar to all the others. But I'll not go back, because my stay was for business, and they refused to issue a receipt when I checked out. (I'm not even sure that's legal?) I chased it through several layers of the staff hierarchy, but I had a meeting to attend, and I couldn't take the time to argue. So I left without the paperwork, and *still* haven''t got it sorted back at work.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mayya G.
Business
Brooklyn NY
Jan 3, 2011

so-so accomodations, but good service

The service is pleasant and friendly. We arrived to the hotel at 1:30 and were not scheduled to check until 4Pm but had no problems checking in early or getting a late checkout. Hotel is conveniently located, 2 blocks from subway station for the circle (central) line, walking distance from posh Notting Hill, Kensington Palace and only 10-15 subway stops away from main shopping/attractions. BUT the rooms are tiny, old decor, cracked/moldy bathroom tiles, dripping faucets, and dirty carpets. rooms are very cold, not well heated. overall good experience, but would have liked for the bathrooms to be cleaner/newer. there is a mini-fridge in the room, very convenient for long-term stays

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

walking distance away from main shopping areas of Notting Hill and Knightsbridge (Harrods)

Review of Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Florida
Oct 27, 2009

Comfortable hotel

Took the tube from Heathrow and a cab to the hotel. Short walk to the tube. Gone touring most of the time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

The tube is MUCH less expensive than taxis.

Review of Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Los Angeles, CA, USA
Aug 29, 2011

Great Location compensates for other weaknesses

Hotel is in a nice part of Kensington and is a 2-3 minute walk from the tube. The room was clean, but tired and small. Their charges for wi-fi were ridiculously high; I'd recommend the ubiquitous Starbucks for free internet access. They are renovating some rooms. If they are able to keep prices low and refresh the property, it would be a great deal.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Visit neighborhood coffee shops for free wi-fi

Review of Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Singapore
Mar 3, 2011

The good & not so good

Though I had put in request for a double-bedded room via [...]as well as a direct email to the hotel just to be sure, request was not acceded. The reply that you will always get when hotels don't want to give you is "subject to availability and there is none at the moment". I think they would rather you booked the room directly, than you stand a better chance of getting what you wanted.The master switch in my room goes on/off in the middle of the night for almost an hour. Help came about half an hour later.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Debswebs!
Business
Pembroke pines, FL
Aug 17, 2009

Unbeatable Location...But...

Hotel was well located in the High Street kensington area, short walk to tube and bus stop and shopping areas. Word to the wise: internet costs 20 pounds for 24 hours... THIS IS NOT A TYPO!! Rooms were quite small and service was average; beware of missed wake up calls; get the name of the person who assists you. The concierge will assist you in discount theater tickets.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Muffin man is a short hop away provides a reasonable breakfast for a good price (3-6 pounds). Specify if you dont want your eggs runny!

Review of Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Shanghai
Oct 6, 2009

good location but room facility

did a lot of work online. generally it's OK.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Qbrik
Business
Springdale, AR, USA
Aug 24, 2011

Where is the King's English?

Price and location is probably the best recommendation for staying at the Copthorne Tara. It's just around the corner from the High Street Underground with lots of nice shops in the vicinity. The rooms are clean and comfortable. Otherwise, there's absolutely nothing special about the Copthorne Tara. And you will pay for everything. My biggest complaint is hotels that advertise High Speed internet but fail to mention that they charge for it. This hotel does so and it is expensive (to me, 8LBS an hour is pricey). Other oddities: if you want ice you have to request it from the bar. The lowest rating is reserved for the staff. They were helpful at Registration but the heady mix of thick foreign accents made for some difficult conversations. Does anyone in London speak the King's English anymore? If I could give the bar staff their own rating, I would award them ONE STAR. Absolutely, the worst I've encountered anywhere. Even when I tipped, the service never improved.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

If you're staying at the Copthorne and don't want to pay 8 pounds per hour for internet, walk down the street to Nero's. It's a Starbucks-inspired coffee shop with Free Wi-Fi.

Review of Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Nancy Torell
Business
Willis, Texas
Nov 8, 2009

Our anniversary getaway

Great Location. Near the tube station. Bathrooms very outdated. Small room. Expensive.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Great little pub down the street from hotel.

Review of Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Az taveler
Business
Arizona
May 10, 2010

Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington

The hotel was nice, but I thought the room was plain and outdated.The pillows were flat or lumpy, The TV was extremely old and did not work to well. The location was nice, close to shopping and Kensington Gardens. The charge for internet was 15 bucks a day. This day and age I think internet should be included for free. Internet is more important to me then any other service a hotel could offer.I was polite and didn't complain about anything but I felt the staff didn't like me because I was American.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

You can get free wifi for a half hr at Pret a Manger (coffee shop) near the tube station Also the Boots store has a good deal for lunch under 4 pounds a sand or salad, a drink, and a snack.

Back to menu Return to top