$101 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jan 11, 2015 Check-out: Jan 12, 2015

Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington

4 stars
Scarsdale Place Kensington, Kensington, London, W8 5SR
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
181 reviews
Perfect!

This hotel was amazing! The hotel staff went above and beyond. We happened to be staying during the... See full review

  • Jasmine2014
  • Jan 18, 2014
An excellent capital stay

We couldn't have wished for a better stay at the Copthorne Tara. The location is right in the heart... See full review

  • smartiemart
  • Nov 17, 2013
Popular 4-star hotel in the Royal Borough of Kensington and Chelsea

The Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington is tucked away in a quiet corner of the Royal Borough of Kensington and Chelsea. The hotel is one of the city's most well known 4-star properties and is equally suitable for both business and leisure travelers. The Copthorne Tara Hotel boasts more than 800 rooms appointed with contemporary furnishings and amenities. The hotel also features two restaurants, a bar, café, 24-hour room service, high-speed Internet and a fitness center.

Highlights
  • Several on-site dining options
  • On-site coffee shop
  • Complimentary fitness center
Rooms

Rooms have been carefully designed to maximize natural daylight, with light wood and soothing shades that offer a quiet retreat at the end of the day. All rooms include private facilities and include satellite TV and pay-per-view, Internet (fees apply), hairdryer, tea and coffee making facilities, mini-fridge and direct dial telephone with voicemail. Club room guests enjoy complimentary access to the Copthorne Club Lounge, which offers free continental breakfast, newspaper, Internet access, tea and coffee throughout the day and drinks in the evening.

Features

The Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington is located in a quiet area of Kensington, just a short walk to the shops and museums of Kensington and Knightsbridge. The hotel is a contemporary and stylish 4-star hotel and is the ideal base for both leisure and business pursuits.

Dining

The hotel boasts a variety of on-site dining and drinking options: Artist Corner offers a la carte dining options in a relaxed setting; Cafexpress serves coffee drinks and sandwiches; and Bugis Street serves a tantalizing array of Singaporean, Malaysian and Cantonese cuisine. Additionally, the Brasserie Restaurant & Bar serves a wide selection of drinks and an all-day menu featuring typical pub fare.

 

The hotel offers a fitness room with cross trainers, treadmills, dumbbells and a stretching area. On-site parking is available, too (fees apply).

Transportation
  • High Street Kensington tube stations (1 minute walking)
  • Heathrow Airport (24 minutes)
  • Gatwick Airport (1 hour, 6 minutes)
Attractions
  • Hyde Park (1.7 mi./2.86 km)
  • Kensington Palace (0.36 mi./0.59 km)
  • Portobello Road Market (1.47 mi./2.37 km)
  • Royal Albert Hall (0.61 mi./0.99 km)
Business
  • Business center
  • Computer stations with Internet (fee applies) and color printers
  • Meeting rooms for 2 to 280 people

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5

Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington Rooms

Superior Room
The bedding option for the room is one double bed or one twin bed. Room offers Air conditioning, Alarm clock, Cable / Satellite TV, Disabled facilities, Hairdryer, Heating, Broadband Internet access, Modem / data port connection, Non-smoking rooms, Pay-per-view movies, Refrigerator, 24-hour Room service, Tea and coffee making facilities and Telephone.
Club Room
The bedding option for the room is one double bed. Room facilities include all those featured in the Superior rooms. In addition, Club guests benefit from complimentary access to the Copthorne Club Lounge, offering: Complimentary Continental breakfast, Newspapers, Tea & coffee throughout the day, Internet access and Evening drinks between 6.45pm - 8.15pm.
Superior plus Double Room
This Room Type includes complimentary WIFI, complimentary full English breakfast served in the restaurant

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • High Street Kensington: 0.2 mi
  • Kensington Palace: 0.4 mi
  • Gloucester Road: 0.4 mi
  • Baden-Powell House Exhibition: 0.6 mi
  • Royal Albert Hall: 0.6 mi
  • Royal College of Music Archives and Museum of Instruments: 0.6 mi
  • Albert Memorial : 0.6 mi
  • Earls Court Exhibition Centre: 0.6 mi
  • Natural History Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Imperial College London: 0.7 mi
  • Science Museum London: 0.7 mi
  • Kensington Gardens: 0.7 mi
  • Polish Institute and Sikorski Museum: 0.8 mi
  • National Art Library: 0.8 mi
  • Victoria and Albert Museum: 0.8 mi
  • High Street Kensington: 0.2 mi
  • Kensington Palace: 0.4 mi
  • Gloucester Road: 0.4 mi
  • Baden-Powell House Exhibition: 0.6 mi
  • Royal Albert Hall: 0.6 mi
  • Royal College of Music Archives and Museum of Instruments: 0.6 mi
  • Albert Memorial : 0.6 mi
  • Earls Court Exhibition Centre: 0.6 mi
  • Natural History Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Imperial College London: 0.7 mi
  • Science Museum London: 0.7 mi
  • Kensington Gardens: 0.7 mi
  • Polish Institute and Sikorski Museum: 0.8 mi
  • National Art Library: 0.8 mi
  • Victoria and Albert Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Queensway: 1 mi
  • Lancaster Gate: 1 mi
  • Whiteleys Shopping Centre : 1.1 mi
  • Harrods: 1.2 mi
  • Stamford Bridge: 1.2 mi
  • Knightsbridge: 1.2 mi
  • King's Road: 1.2 mi
  • Royal Institute of British Architects Collections: 1.3 mi
  • Paddington Station: 1.4 mi
  • Westfield Shopping Centre : 1.5 mi
  • City of Westminster: 1.5 mi
  • Cadogan Hall: 1.5 mi
  • Broadway Shopping Centre : 1.5 mi
  • Notting Hill: 1.5 mi
  • Saatchi Gallery: 1.5 mi
  • Sloane Square: 1.5 mi
  • Couper Collection: 1.6 mi
  • Hyde Park: 1.6 mi
  • Hammersmith Apollo: 1.7 mi
  • King's Mall Shopping Centre : 1.7 mi
  • Hyde Park Corner: 1.7 mi
  • Royal Hospital Chelsea Museum: 1.7 mi
  • Marble Arch: 1.7 mi
  • Portobello Market: 1.7 mi
  • Park Lane: 1.7 mi
  • Portobello Road: 1.7 mi
  • Wellington Arch: 1.8 mi
  • Showroom Gallery: 1.9 mi
  • Selfridges: 2 mi
  • Victoria Place Shopping Centre : 2 mi

Dining

Bugis Street
Offers a delightful selection of authentic Singaporean, Malaysian and Chinese cuisine.
Cafexpress
Serving a selection of coffees/ teas and a wide range of home-made sandwiches, salads and delicious snacks either to enjoy in or to take away.
The Brasserie
It (restaurant & bar) is located on the ground floor of the hotel and offers an informal and very relaxed atmosphere. The venue offers casual dining in the restaurant, serving an 'A la Carte' menu with predominantly British cuisine, and an 'all day' snack menu in the Bar area from 11am .

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (181)

Ratings and reviews for Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
181 out of 181
Amenities:
3.6
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3.9
Room comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.8

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Dallas TX
Jul 8, 2009

Definitely Recommed

Extremely well located near Kensington Palace and a three minute walk to the Underground. We were there as first time London vacationers and would definitely stay there again. Our only complaint was there there was no WIFI connection. There was an internet cable hook up in the room [for an extra fee], but we couldn't connect. But who wants to spend time on the internet while in London anyway!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
College Station, Texas
Jun 30, 2009

The Hotel Russell, London

Absolutely great location, around the corner from the Picadilly line of the tube, which goes to Heathrow and connects to everywhere in London. Very quiet area. Will surely go back to the Russell when we return to London. I recommend it without reservation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

The British Museum. It is a jewel. And a short walk from Russell Square, where the hotel is located.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
North Queensland, Australia
Jun 29, 2009

great location, friendly staff

very close to some major sights, museums, Hyde Park. we appreciated proximity to the tube (< 5 min) and the hop on - hop off bus tour ((< 10 min). Would definitely stay here again; minor issue - it took a while to find a family friendly restaurant nearby (but check out the fresh food market on the High St - great stuff)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

fresh food market on the High St

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
IC Mom
Business
Plattsburgh, NY
Jun 25, 2009

First time London traveler

We wanted to go to London 30 years ago on our honeymoon, but our budget wouldn't allow. As true 'empty-nesters' this summer, and a sizable tax refund, London was the perfect way to celebrate our 30th anniversary! This hotel is nothing to look at from the outside, but walk into the lobby and the world changes - totally. The staff was accommodating from the first arrival to helping us connect with the tour we had scheduled before leaving to anything we asked for in our room. We were comfortable, well cared for and it was accessible to the Kensington High Street Station and major bus lines. The only disappointment was the instant coffee (both regular and decaf as well as tea) plus the internet did not connect. There was going to be a fee, which was not disclosed online, of 10 pounds a day - a bit high considering what we are used to when we have to pay in the States. Oh, face cloths were not provided - only towels. So, we found a drug store just up the street and bought one for each of us. All in all, though, we would probably think of staying here again; our 6 nights' stay were very restful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Washington State
Jun 15, 2009

Great location, rooms need a remodel

We chose this hotel as the base for our exploration of London. Great location a block from High Street in Kensington (a major shopping street), a block from the High Street Kensington Underground (subway) stop, and a 5 minute walk from Kensington Palace and Kensington Gardens. The rooms have air conditioning--which is great during the summer, but could use some refurbishment. The bathtub/shower takes quite a bit of practice to get temperature to (and keep it at) where you want it. Walls are thin and we could often hear the rooms around us. For the price, this is a great hotel, though.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Brittania is a nice residental pub with great food just a few blocks away. There is also Indian food, Italian food, and other foods on High Street.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Londoners at Heart
Business
New York, NY
Jun 11, 2009

Great Location - Great Value

Copthorne Tara represents excellent value for the price of the rooms. Super location - one block to Circle Line Tube station - yet peaceful and quiet. Rooms immaculately clean and well equipped. Modern, good sized bathroom too. A welcoming hotel in our favorite part of London and we will definitely stay in this hotel again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
barb&brad
Business
Puyallup, Wa
Jun 8, 2009

great hotel!

We stayed in a club room, this was our retirement celebration trip. The staff was wonderful every day they helped us find our way on metro or arranged tours for us. I needed extra pillows due to a recent surgey and no problems. The club room private lounge with breakfast and wine and beer hour was a nice treat. Great location safe and near park and tubes. Ate at resturants, also good. Rooms large and great veiws. Would stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

buy the historical palace membership for hampton court, tower of london, kenningston palace, kew palace, and banquetting house. It saves money and you do not have to wait in lines. Historic Royal Palaces.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Watsonville, CA
May 31, 2009

Very nice in every way!

Concierge service was excellent! Location was convenient to the Tube system. I had "Club" membership included and it was great...internet access, breakfast..very convenient. Of all the places I've stayed in my several trips to UK & Ireland this was, by far, the best hotel I've stayed in.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Use the London underground for transportation...saves lots of money and is easy to use when getting to attactions.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Go Cubs
Business
Chicago, IL
May 28, 2009

If you ever have a chance here...pass.

My wife and I could sleep anywhere, as we were on holiday in London to see sights, not to lounge in a hotel room. So with the nice reviews, I decided to spend a little extra to get this one. But this hotel made me cringe, and inspired me to write the first review EVER, on a hotel room. The receptionist, at a polite request to stay on a floor with our travel mates, put us on a different floor, all while being quite unfriendly. The walls were paper thin. While falling asleep one night my wife and I could swear there was a man talking right behind us. This is the first hotel I have been at that I could understand a normal-sounding conversation of a person in the next room. I'm not being sarcastic either. Additionally, the hotel is right next to the train tracks and the soundproofing sucked, to say the least. Later, we stayed in an another hotel next to numerous jumbo jets at heathrow throttling up to take off, and that hotel was much, much, MUCH quieter than Copthorne Tara. The hotel room was a little dusty, had and old TV, and had a dirty coffee-maker with free coffee. I passed on the free coffee. The water was the only thing that was decent, as it didn't taste like the typical hotel-water. And it included a fridge, which was nice. If I had a chance to stay here again for $40/night, I'd pass and stay at a travelodge for $75. I seriously cannot understand the people who gave this a good review...they must have have King bed suites or something...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Lots of good shopping and eating around this area.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York, NY
May 27, 2009

Superb Location

As a single guy, this was a perfect hotel to stay in with friends. The location was great - 1 block from the Tube Stop. As European hotels tend to be slightly different than American hotels, the Copthorne fit the bill. Breakfast was NOT included which would have been nice. Clean rooms, bathroom could use some updating.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Kensignton is more residential but a hop, skip and a jump away from all the tourist attractions. We found the hotel location extremely convenient as the High Street Tube stop was one block away - we were able to access all major Tube Lines quickly; District, Circle, Jubilee etc... The worst part of the hotel was that check-in was not until 3pm. After arriving from an over-night flight, we didn't find the hotel very accommodating.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top