$112 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 15, 2014 Check-out: Dec 16, 2014

Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington

4 stars
Scarsdale Place Kensington, Kensington, London, W8 5SR
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
174 reviews
Perfect!

This hotel was amazing! The hotel staff went above and beyond. We happened to be staying during the... See full review

  • Jasmine2014
  • Jan 18, 2014
An excellent capital stay

We couldn't have wished for a better stay at the Copthorne Tara. The location is right in the heart... See full review

  • smartiemart
  • Nov 17, 2013
Popular 4-star hotel in the Royal Borough of Kensington and Chelsea

The Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington is tucked away in a quiet corner of the Royal Borough of Kensington and Chelsea. The hotel is one of the city's most well known 4-star properties and is equally suitable for both business and leisure travelers. The Copthorne Tara Hotel boasts more than 800 rooms appointed with contemporary furnishings and amenities. The hotel also features two restaurants, a bar, café, 24-hour room service, high-speed Internet and a fitness center.

Highlights
  • Several on-site dining options
  • On-site coffee shop
  • Complimentary fitness center
Rooms

Rooms have been carefully designed to maximize natural daylight, with light wood and soothing shades that offer a quiet retreat at the end of the day. All rooms include private facilities and include satellite TV and pay-per-view, Internet (fees apply), hairdryer, tea and coffee making facilities, mini-fridge and direct dial telephone with voicemail. Club room guests enjoy complimentary access to the Copthorne Club Lounge, which offers free continental breakfast, newspaper, Internet access, tea and coffee throughout the day and drinks in the evening.

Features

The Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington is located in a quiet area of Kensington, just a short walk to the shops and museums of Kensington and Knightsbridge. The hotel is a contemporary and stylish 4-star hotel and is the ideal base for both leisure and business pursuits.

Dining

The hotel boasts a variety of on-site dining and drinking options: Artist Corner offers a la carte dining options in a relaxed setting; Cafexpress serves coffee drinks and sandwiches; and Bugis Street serves a tantalizing array of Singaporean, Malaysian and Cantonese cuisine. Additionally, the Brasserie Restaurant & Bar serves a wide selection of drinks and an all-day menu featuring typical pub fare.

 

The hotel offers a fitness room with cross trainers, treadmills, dumbbells and a stretching area. On-site parking is available, too (fees apply).

Transportation
  • High Street Kensington tube stations (1 minute walking)
  • Heathrow Airport (24 minutes)
  • Gatwick Airport (1 hour, 6 minutes)
Attractions
  • Hyde Park (1.7 mi./2.86 km)
  • Kensington Palace (0.36 mi./0.59 km)
  • Portobello Road Market (1.47 mi./2.37 km)
  • Royal Albert Hall (0.61 mi./0.99 km)
Business
  • Business center
  • Computer stations with Internet (fee applies) and color printers
  • Meeting rooms for 2 to 280 people

Hotel Map

51.4989 -0.1912
Area served
London.
Nearby airports
London Heathrow International Airport.
Area description
Located in a residential area of Kensington within walking distance of the High Street- buses and underground station, close to Earls Court and Olympia Exhibition Centres. Easy access by car or tube from Heathrow airport, minutes away from the shops and museums of Kensington and Knightsbridge/Harrods, 20 minutes to the West End/Oxford Street and Theatreland.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5

Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington Rooms

Superior plus Double Room
This Room Type includes complimentary WIFI, complimentary full English breakfast served in the restaurant
Superior Room
The bedding option for the room is one double bed or one twin bed. Room offers Air conditioning, Alarm clock, Cable / Satellite TV, Disabled facilities, Hairdryer, Heating, Broadband Internet access, Modem / data port connection, Non-smoking rooms, Pay-per-view movies, Refrigerator, 24-hour Room service, Tea and coffee making facilities and Telephone.
Club Room
The bedding option for the room is one double bed. Room facilities include all those featured in the Superior rooms. In addition, Club guests benefit from complimentary access to the Copthorne Club Lounge, offering: Complimentary Continental breakfast, Newspapers, Tea & coffee throughout the day, Internet access and Evening drinks between 6.45pm - 8.15pm.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • High Street Kensington: 0.2 mi
  • Kensington Palace: 0.4 mi
  • Gloucester Road: 0.4 mi
  • Baden-Powell House Exhibition: 0.6 mi
  • Royal Albert Hall: 0.6 mi
  • Royal College of Music Archives and Museum of Instruments: 0.6 mi
  • Albert Memorial : 0.6 mi
  • Earls Court Exhibition Centre: 0.6 mi
  • Natural History Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Imperial College London: 0.7 mi
  • Science Museum London: 0.7 mi
  • Kensington Gardens: 0.7 mi
  • Polish Institute and Sikorski Museum: 0.8 mi
  • National Art Library: 0.8 mi
  • Victoria and Albert Museum: 0.8 mi
  • High Street Kensington: 0.2 mi
  • Kensington Palace: 0.4 mi
  • Gloucester Road: 0.4 mi
  • Baden-Powell House Exhibition: 0.6 mi
  • Royal Albert Hall: 0.6 mi
  • Royal College of Music Archives and Museum of Instruments: 0.6 mi
  • Albert Memorial : 0.6 mi
  • Earls Court Exhibition Centre: 0.6 mi
  • Natural History Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Imperial College London: 0.7 mi
  • Science Museum London: 0.7 mi
  • Kensington Gardens: 0.7 mi
  • Polish Institute and Sikorski Museum: 0.8 mi
  • National Art Library: 0.8 mi
  • Victoria and Albert Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Queensway: 1 mi
  • Lancaster Gate: 1 mi
  • Whiteleys Shopping Centre : 1.1 mi
  • Harrods: 1.2 mi
  • Stamford Bridge: 1.2 mi
  • Knightsbridge: 1.2 mi
  • King's Road: 1.2 mi
  • Royal Institute of British Architects Collections: 1.3 mi
  • Paddington Station: 1.4 mi
  • Westfield Shopping Centre : 1.5 mi
  • City of Westminster: 1.5 mi
  • Cadogan Hall: 1.5 mi
  • Broadway Shopping Centre : 1.5 mi
  • Notting Hill: 1.5 mi
  • Saatchi Gallery: 1.5 mi
  • Sloane Square: 1.5 mi
  • Couper Collection: 1.6 mi
  • Hyde Park: 1.6 mi
  • Hammersmith Apollo: 1.7 mi
  • King's Mall Shopping Centre : 1.7 mi
  • Hyde Park Corner: 1.7 mi
  • Royal Hospital Chelsea Museum: 1.7 mi
  • Marble Arch: 1.7 mi
  • Portobello Market: 1.7 mi
  • Park Lane: 1.7 mi
  • Portobello Road: 1.7 mi
  • Wellington Arch: 1.8 mi
  • Showroom Gallery: 1.9 mi
  • Selfridges: 2 mi
  • Victoria Place Shopping Centre : 2 mi

Dining

Bugis Street
Offers a delightful selection of authentic Singaporean, Malaysian and Chinese cuisine.
Cafexpress
Serving a selection of coffees/ teas and a wide range of home-made sandwiches, salads and delicious snacks either to enjoy in or to take away.
The Brasserie
It (restaurant & bar) is located on the ground floor of the hotel and offers an informal and very relaxed atmosphere. The venue offers casual dining in the restaurant, serving an 'A la Carte' menu with predominantly British cuisine, and an 'all day' snack menu in the Bar area from 11am .

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (174)

Ratings and reviews for Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
174 out of 174
Amenities:
3.6
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3.9
Room comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.8

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Watsonville, CA
May 31, 2009

Very nice in every way!

Concierge service was excellent! Location was convenient to the Tube system. I had "Club" membership included and it was great...internet access, breakfast..very convenient. Of all the places I've stayed in my several trips to UK & Ireland this was, by far, the best hotel I've stayed in.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Use the London underground for transportation...saves lots of money and is easy to use when getting to attactions.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Go Cubs
Business
Chicago, IL
May 28, 2009

If you ever have a chance here...pass.

My wife and I could sleep anywhere, as we were on holiday in London to see sights, not to lounge in a hotel room. So with the nice reviews, I decided to spend a little extra to get this one. But this hotel made me cringe, and inspired me to write the first review EVER, on a hotel room. The receptionist, at a polite request to stay on a floor with our travel mates, put us on a different floor, all while being quite unfriendly. The walls were paper thin. While falling asleep one night my wife and I could swear there was a man talking right behind us. This is the first hotel I have been at that I could understand a normal-sounding conversation of a person in the next room. I'm not being sarcastic either. Additionally, the hotel is right next to the train tracks and the soundproofing sucked, to say the least. Later, we stayed in an another hotel next to numerous jumbo jets at heathrow throttling up to take off, and that hotel was much, much, MUCH quieter than Copthorne Tara. The hotel room was a little dusty, had and old TV, and had a dirty coffee-maker with free coffee. I passed on the free coffee. The water was the only thing that was decent, as it didn't taste like the typical hotel-water. And it included a fridge, which was nice. If I had a chance to stay here again for $40/night, I'd pass and stay at a travelodge for $75. I seriously cannot understand the people who gave this a good review...they must have have King bed suites or something...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Lots of good shopping and eating around this area.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York, NY
May 27, 2009

Superb Location

As a single guy, this was a perfect hotel to stay in with friends. The location was great - 1 block from the Tube Stop. As European hotels tend to be slightly different than American hotels, the Copthorne fit the bill. Breakfast was NOT included which would have been nice. Clean rooms, bathroom could use some updating.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Kensignton is more residential but a hop, skip and a jump away from all the tourist attractions. We found the hotel location extremely convenient as the High Street Tube stop was one block away - we were able to access all major Tube Lines quickly; District, Circle, Jubilee etc... The worst part of the hotel was that check-in was not until 3pm. After arriving from an over-night flight, we didn't find the hotel very accommodating.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Salt Lake City, UT
May 26, 2009

Wonderful for a weeks stay

This is a delightful hotel! It is convenient to Kensington, and the Tube gets you anywhere in the city. There is an all-glass coffee shop up the street that is perfect for people watching. The room I was in was a good size, and although my room faced the train tracks, those windows must have some great soundproofing, because I hardly heard a thing. The only thing I would criticize was the service in the bar. They were always very busy, but I was completely ignored on two occasions, even when I called my attention to the staff. But that's small stuff - I will definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Don't pay the outrageous charge for in-room broadband internet access. In the coffee shop are computer terminals that allow you to "pay as you go" in 10 minute chunks. Just pick you time of day so that you aren't competing with kids playing online games.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chino Hills, California
May 21, 2009

A little home away from home

The location is superb! It is a two minute walk to the underground, so you can easily take the underground from Heathrow to the hotel. There are lots of good places to eat close by, as well as several food markets to pick up anything you might need. Everything you may want to see is within easy walking distance if you like to walk. My daughter and I had a two week stay at the Copthorne Tara and were very pleased with our room, the staff, and the food offered at the hotel. I would not hesitate to plan another vacations using the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Muffin Man is a two minute walk from the hotel and has great breakfast, lunch, and tea choices. Sticky Fingers and the Pasta Caffe are also a short walk away (about ten minutes) and the food is quite good at both places. If you like cupcakes, Buttercup Bakery is about a ten minute walk and Hummingbird Bakery is about a twenty minute walk away! Yum!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Smaug
Business
Orem, Utah
May 18, 2009

Quite Nice

Great location. Off the main street, but not too far and very easy walking distance to the Underground station. Near food and shopping. We were very busy sight seeing, so we didn't spend much time at the hotel, but it was quiet at night, the lobby and resturant were nice and the staff was friendly and helpful. Not huge rooms, but for London it was fine. Taking a shower left an inch deep pool on the bathroom floor because the tub wasn't designed to funnel the water into the shower, but drained it on to the floor. We did tell the front desk, but nothing was done. They did clean it up everyday, but that was certainly something I could have done without. As an American, I also found it very odd that there was only one sheet (on the bottom) and a duvet. I'm very used to a top sheet and that was hard to get used to. I also was not expecting the internet connection to cost 10 pounds a day. Still, overall it was a good experience. They did provide a blowdryer and an iron w/ board and a luggage drop off before check in. Everything was clean and fairly new. We would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Very near ATM. There's one in the lobby, but the one just down the street has no charge.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
NYC
May 13, 2009

disgusting hotel - to be avoided

This hotel should be avoided - the rooms were very, very smelly and dusty - when I got to the hotel and did not like the "standard" orbitz room which was pre-paid - I arranged for an upgrade which was a very expensive upgrade - this was not much better that the "standard' room - very disappointing. Also, the hotel room did not have a safe. Nor did they have a reasonable hair-dryer - which all hotels supply upon request for a better hairdryer. THIS IS NOT A FOUR STAR HOTEL AS ADVERTISED.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Carthage, MO
May 13, 2009

Great location!

We had stayed here before and liked the location and the rooms. Nothing really fancy. But would definitely stay here again, and would recommend it to others.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
California, U.S.A.
May 9, 2009

Nice Hotel

Overall a nice hotel. Very comfortable with a touch of English elegance. The service was good, the staff courteous and freindly, and the rooms clean and comfortable. It is in a good location in Kensington, not far from the Kensington High Street tube station, Hyde Park, and a number of local shops and restaurants. The train tracks are located behind the hotel, so there is some noise from the trains, but it is not a major annoyance. The automatic shoe-shine machine is a definite plus for business travelers or those conserned about the appearance of their footwear. Internet connectivity is available, but at a cost. For the price, I would definitely stay there again. I got a nice hotel at a real bargin, especially considering the location!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Oly Girl
Business
Olympia, WA USA
May 6, 2009

Central Location but Quiet

How can you not love being close to Kensington Palace and Park and a tube stop to all of London? Great location. Rooms acceptable. Would have been very nice to have a small, accessible fridge in the room (the only one was the honor bar). Staff, particularly the concieage, were great!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top