$123 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jun 7, 2015 Check-out: Jun 8, 2015

Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington

4 stars
View map of Scarsdale Place Kensington, Kensington, London, W8 5SR

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
204 out of 204
Amenities:
3.6
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3.9
Comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.9

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
TX Dad
Business
Dallas
Oct 6, 2014

Good value for the location

Good but not great, I'd actually give it a 3.5. The rooms could have used an update, but were not totally disgusting or anything. Cheapest price in Kensington area for sure, so you get what you pay for. Great location, close to the underground. The tracks were right outside my room (I had the 9th floor) but they did a good job of double insulating the windows so you could not hear any outside noise. It was a bit hot, but not uncomfortable - I could not get the air conditioner to cool the room down to the freezing level that I like. Overall a good value, especially if you are not going to spend a lot of time in your room anyway, except to sleep and shower. I did not try the restaurant or lounge, but they looked nice. Close to shops and museums.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
World Traveller 301
Business
USA
Oct 21, 2014

Convenient location and friendly atmosphere

We spent three nights at the the Copthorne Tara while on vacation in UK. The location is within a short distance from High Street Kensington underground station. The lobby area looks nice. The room was clean. It was quiet, the bed was comfortable, but the room furniture is old. The staff was friendly and polite. We elected a stay without breakfast and it was the right decision since there are less expensive, breakfast places close by. We will stay again because of the location and polite, friendly staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Buy a day ticket or a 7-day ticket from an underground station and use a combination of train and buses for travel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dizzy's Dad
Business
Bristol
Nov 19, 2014

Convenient location

This is a large, busy hotel in an excellent quiet location. It is within walking distance to Hyde Park, Royal Albert Hall and Kensington Museums. Good tube access to Central London and major train stations. Staff are friendly and helpful. There is also a convenient bar/restaurant. We would stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

It is a short walk to Kensington High St and about a 20 min walk to the Royal Albert Hall.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Starlight 2
Business
Cornwall, UK
Nov 23, 2014

Good location

Excellent cooked breakfast. Although the tube station and bus routes are very nearby for sightseeing and shopping, the hotel is in a quiet location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

The wine is expensive.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
TX Dad
Business
Dallas, TX
Dec 3, 2014

Close to tube.

I just stayed here for one night but it was a great value and close to the District and Circle lines. Just a 5 minute walk to the station. Great location in Kensington, so it is close to the Natural History Museum and Kensington Palace. Real good value considering the location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
bluebaiano
Business
Belgium
Dec 4, 2014

Good value, great location

Room was a little 'tired' and ready for a refit but was clean, bed was very comfortable and shower powerful so that's the main boxes ticked. Location is convenient to get to west-end or the city and price is reasonable for hotel in London. Staff very friendly. Would recommend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

If you arrive at High Street Kensington tube station you can exit towards hotel via Boots store. Cuts a big corner.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Bosley1485
Business
Henley In Arden
Dec 15, 2014

Great Location / Great Hotel

Despite an initially shakey start (extra bed not in room), this proved to be an excellent choice. Very close to nearest Tube if you're doing the sites, and plenty of shops / cafes in the immediate area. The hotel restaurant was excellent, and although we didn't try the Chinese restaurant it looked excellent. Useful little shop in the hotel + excellent Coffee grab & Go counter to kick start & end the day! We found this to be a perfect base for a superb weekend in the City! The 'Ask Alfred' package for a little one, is great - good quality teddy in a Queens Guard uniform + activity/tour book + carry bag. My six year old thought it was brilliant!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

If your doing the London Eye, get your tickets up front - the queue for the Eye is OK, but the queue for the tickets can huge!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
The explorers
Business
Queens, New York
May 14, 2014

Great family and charming getaway

I have to said the hotel was very nice clean and charming I feel very happy a about the choice of this hotel for our vacation. It was confusing getting there but after I learn how was fine. I was not happy about they did not have the safe box in the room. The breakfast was the same every day boring after the 2 be day. The staff was friendly and helpful Out all do We have a great time while we where in London oh the god part was the city transportation was not to far and very convenience

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
kevin h.
Business
N/A
Feb 15, 2015

Nice break

We enjoyed our 1 night stay in a superior plus room. The light switch cover fell off when pushed but this was sorted within 15 minutes of reporting it. There was confusion as to whether breakfast was included or not but after showing them the email all was well. The bed was comfortable and roomy enough, the bathroom could do with updating and better cleaning but this did not detract from our visit. Breakfast was excellent with a very good choice and was tasty and plentiful and regularly replenished. We will return here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Andrea T.
Business
N/A
Mar 2, 2015

Perfect for my needs

I booked this last minute and had a great deal. Staff were warm and friendly, Olga one of the receptionists was very polite, efficient and courteous . Breakfast was very good. would stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top