$98 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Mar 1, 2015 Check-out: Mar 3, 2015

Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington

4 stars
Scarsdale Place Kensington, Kensington, London, W8 5SR
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
185 reviews
Quiet Location

Tara is a block away from High St Kensington Underground, but, is tucked back off the main street,... See full review

  • Kerry C.
  • Jan 17, 2015
Dependable - Old Reliable

Going back to Tara is like visiting the familiar. It changes in small ways from year to year but it... See full review

  • SF BOB
  • Jan 5, 2015
Popular 4-star hotel in the Royal Borough of Kensington and Chelsea

The Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington is tucked away in a quiet corner of the Royal Borough of Kensington and Chelsea. The hotel is one of the city's most well known 4-star properties and is equally suitable for both business and leisure travelers. The Copthorne Tara Hotel boasts more than 800 rooms appointed with contemporary furnishings and amenities. The hotel also features two restaurants, a bar, café, 24-hour room service, high-speed Internet and a fitness center.

Highlights
  • Several on-site dining options
  • On-site coffee shop
  • Complimentary fitness center
Rooms

Rooms have been carefully designed to maximize natural daylight, with light wood and soothing shades that offer a quiet retreat at the end of the day. All rooms include private facilities and include satellite TV and pay-per-view, Internet (fees apply), hairdryer, tea and coffee making facilities, mini-fridge and direct dial telephone with voicemail. Club room guests enjoy complimentary access to the Copthorne Club Lounge, which offers free continental breakfast, newspaper, Internet access, tea and coffee throughout the day and drinks in the evening.

Features

The Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington is located in a quiet area of Kensington, just a short walk to the shops and museums of Kensington and Knightsbridge. The hotel is a contemporary and stylish 4-star hotel and is the ideal base for both leisure and business pursuits.

Dining

The hotel boasts a variety of on-site dining and drinking options: Artist Corner offers a la carte dining options in a relaxed setting; Cafexpress serves coffee drinks and sandwiches; and Bugis Street serves a tantalizing array of Singaporean, Malaysian and Cantonese cuisine. Additionally, the Brasserie Restaurant & Bar serves a wide selection of drinks and an all-day menu featuring typical pub fare.

 

The hotel offers a fitness room with cross trainers, treadmills, dumbbells and a stretching area. On-site parking is available, too (fees apply).

Transportation
  • High Street Kensington tube stations (1 minute walking)
  • Heathrow Airport (24 minutes)
  • Gatwick Airport (1 hour, 6 minutes)
Attractions
  • Hyde Park (1.7 mi./2.86 km)
  • Kensington Palace (0.36 mi./0.59 km)
  • Portobello Road Market (1.47 mi./2.37 km)
  • Royal Albert Hall (0.61 mi./0.99 km)
Business
  • Business center
  • Computer stations with Internet (fee applies) and color printers
  • Meeting rooms for 2 to 280 people

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5

Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington Rooms

Superior Room
The bedding option for the room is one double bed or one twin bed. Room offers Air conditioning, Alarm clock, Cable / Satellite TV, Disabled facilities, Hairdryer, Heating, Broadband Internet access, Modem / data port connection, Non-smoking rooms, Pay-per-view movies, Refrigerator, 24-hour Room service, Tea and coffee making facilities and Telephone.
Club Room
The bedding option for the room is one double bed. Room facilities include all those featured in the Superior rooms. In addition, Club guests benefit from complimentary access to the Copthorne Club Lounge, offering: Complimentary Continental breakfast, Newspapers, Tea & coffee throughout the day, Internet access and Evening drinks between 6.45pm - 8.15pm.
Superior plus Double Room
This Room Type includes complimentary WIFI, complimentary full English breakfast served in the restaurant

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • High Street Kensington: 0.2 mi
  • Kensington Palace: 0.4 mi
  • Gloucester Road: 0.4 mi
  • Baden-Powell House Exhibition: 0.6 mi
  • Royal Albert Hall: 0.6 mi
  • Royal College of Music Archives and Museum of Instruments: 0.6 mi
  • Albert Memorial : 0.6 mi
  • Earls Court Exhibition Centre: 0.6 mi
  • Natural History Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Imperial College London: 0.7 mi
  • Science Museum London: 0.7 mi
  • Kensington Gardens: 0.7 mi
  • Polish Institute and Sikorski Museum: 0.8 mi
  • National Art Library: 0.8 mi
  • Victoria and Albert Museum: 0.8 mi
  • High Street Kensington: 0.2 mi
  • Kensington Palace: 0.4 mi
  • Gloucester Road: 0.4 mi
  • Baden-Powell House Exhibition: 0.6 mi
  • Royal Albert Hall: 0.6 mi
  • Royal College of Music Archives and Museum of Instruments: 0.6 mi
  • Albert Memorial : 0.6 mi
  • Earls Court Exhibition Centre: 0.6 mi
  • Natural History Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Imperial College London: 0.7 mi
  • Science Museum London: 0.7 mi
  • Kensington Gardens: 0.7 mi
  • Polish Institute and Sikorski Museum: 0.8 mi
  • National Art Library: 0.8 mi
  • Victoria and Albert Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Queensway: 1 mi
  • Lancaster Gate: 1 mi
  • Whiteleys Shopping Centre : 1.1 mi
  • Harrods: 1.2 mi
  • Stamford Bridge: 1.2 mi
  • Knightsbridge: 1.2 mi
  • King's Road: 1.2 mi
  • Royal Institute of British Architects Collections: 1.3 mi
  • Paddington Station: 1.4 mi
  • Westfield Shopping Centre : 1.5 mi
  • City of Westminster: 1.5 mi
  • Cadogan Hall: 1.5 mi
  • Broadway Shopping Centre : 1.5 mi
  • Notting Hill: 1.5 mi
  • Saatchi Gallery: 1.5 mi
  • Sloane Square: 1.5 mi
  • Couper Collection: 1.6 mi
  • Hyde Park: 1.6 mi
  • Hammersmith Apollo: 1.7 mi
  • King's Mall Shopping Centre : 1.7 mi
  • Hyde Park Corner: 1.7 mi
  • Royal Hospital Chelsea Museum: 1.7 mi
  • Marble Arch: 1.7 mi
  • Portobello Market: 1.7 mi
  • Park Lane: 1.7 mi
  • Portobello Road: 1.7 mi
  • Wellington Arch: 1.8 mi
  • Showroom Gallery: 1.9 mi
  • Selfridges: 2 mi
  • Victoria Place Shopping Centre : 2 mi

Dining

Bugis Street
Offers a delightful selection of authentic Singaporean, Malaysian and Chinese cuisine.
Cafexpress
Serving a selection of coffees/ teas and a wide range of home-made sandwiches, salads and delicious snacks either to enjoy in or to take away.
The Brasserie
It (restaurant & bar) is located on the ground floor of the hotel and offers an informal and very relaxed atmosphere. The venue offers casual dining in the restaurant, serving an 'A la Carte' menu with predominantly British cuisine, and an 'all day' snack menu in the Bar area from 11am .

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (185)

Ratings and reviews for Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
185 out of 185
Amenities:
3.6
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3.9
Comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.8

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Starlight 2
Business
Cornwall, UK
Nov 23, 2014

Good location

Excellent cooked breakfast. Although the tube station and bus routes are very nearby for sightseeing and shopping, the hotel is in a quiet location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

The wine is expensive.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
TX Dad
Business
Dallas, TX
Dec 3, 2014

Close to tube.

I just stayed here for one night but it was a great value and close to the District and Circle lines. Just a 5 minute walk to the station. Great location in Kensington, so it is close to the Natural History Museum and Kensington Palace. Real good value considering the location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
bluebaiano
Business
Belgium
Dec 4, 2014

Good value, great location

Room was a little 'tired' and ready for a refit but was clean, bed was very comfortable and shower powerful so that's the main boxes ticked. Location is convenient to get to west-end or the city and price is reasonable for hotel in London. Staff very friendly. Would recommend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

If you arrive at High Street Kensington tube station you can exit towards hotel via Boots store. Cuts a big corner.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Bosley1485
Business
Henley In Arden
Dec 15, 2014

Great Location / Great Hotel

Despite an initially shakey start (extra bed not in room), this proved to be an excellent choice. Very close to nearest Tube if you're doing the sites, and plenty of shops / cafes in the immediate area. The hotel restaurant was excellent, and although we didn't try the Chinese restaurant it looked excellent. Useful little shop in the hotel + excellent Coffee grab & Go counter to kick start & end the day! We found this to be a perfect base for a superb weekend in the City! The 'Ask Alfred' package for a little one, is great - good quality teddy in a Queens Guard uniform + activity/tour book + carry bag. My six year old thought it was brilliant!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

If your doing the London Eye, get your tickets up front - the queue for the Eye is OK, but the queue for the tickets can huge!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
The explorers
Business
Queens, New York
May 14, 2014

Great family and charming getaway

I have to said the hotel was very nice clean and charming I feel very happy a about the choice of this hotel for our vacation. It was confusing getting there but after I learn how was fine. I was not happy about they did not have the safe box in the room. The breakfast was the same every day boring after the 2 be day. The staff was friendly and helpful Out all do We have a great time while we where in London oh the god part was the city transportation was not to far and very convenience

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Washington State
Jun 15, 2009

Great location, rooms need a remodel

We chose this hotel as the base for our exploration of London. Great location a block from High Street in Kensington (a major shopping street), a block from the High Street Kensington Underground (subway) stop, and a 5 minute walk from Kensington Palace and Kensington Gardens. The rooms have air conditioning--which is great during the summer, but could use some refurbishment. The bathtub/shower takes quite a bit of practice to get temperature to (and keep it at) where you want it. Walls are thin and we could often hear the rooms around us. For the price, this is a great hotel, though.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Brittania is a nice residental pub with great food just a few blocks away. There is also Indian food, Italian food, and other foods on High Street.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
PBO1
Business
London
Jan 4, 2012

Transit Visitor

The location is very ideal. The Concierge service is satisfactory. Nonetheless the room is very outdated with worn out carpets and very small pint sized twin beds hardly large enough to sleep on. The bathroom lacked basic amenities. This is certainly not a four star hotel. More like a three star. The location is the main stay of this hotel

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Janey mack
Business
Dublin, Co. Dublin, Ireland
Feb 23, 2012

Weekend away.

Tha hotel was clean but it looks dated and the rooms are in urgent need of an update.When we arrived there was a tray with a kettle tea,coffee etc.in our room.After a long day sightseeing we returned tired and thirsty and i was dying for a cup of tea,the cafe in the lobby was closed so i returned to my room to find that tray with kettle etc. had been removed.The same thing happened in our friends room,its only a small thing but it really annoyed me!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
islandtraveler
Business
Northern California
Mar 7, 2012

Nice place to stay in Kensington, near the Underground

Room was comfortable, clean, and perhaps a bit small. They provide a flat screen TV, and, as a surprise, an empty refrigerator, which can come in handy if one fancies British treats such as Pork Pies from M&S, or Sausage Rolls from West Cornish Pastie co., both in the underground station. They provide a kettle for morning coffee, tea. There is milk provided in little plastic tubes. Shower was the best I've ever encountered in the UK, plenty of water, pressure, and heat. We did not use any of the restaurants in the hotel, we found them pricey. For a good English breakfast, the "Muffin Man" on Wrights Lane just around the corner from the hotel fit the bill, although a bit pricey as well. We did appreciate the double paned windows as it muffled the sound of the underground trains below us at street level. Staff was helpful and friendly, and assisted me with checking in for my return trip and printing boarding passes. We would definitely consider staying here once again on our next trip to the UK, and London in particular.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Buy an Oyster card at the underground station. It guarantees you to pay the lowest price for travel on all buses, trains, and underground. It doesn't restrict you to a particular day of usage.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
bh1234
Business
US
Apr 29, 2012

You could do worse, but...

it certainly isn't as impressive as they would like you to believe. Located just off Kensington High Street, a block from the tube, the Copthorne Tara is well situated. Several attractions and both the Earl's Court and Olympia exhibition venues are within walking distance (about a km). We stayed in a club level room. The room was clean, and the free continental breakfast in the club lounge was actually quite good. The staff was friendly, and tried to be helpful, but seemed very inexperienced. We had issues with internet connections and delays in checking out. The in-hotel restaurants are good. The room itself needed refreshing-- all the furniture was worn. Double bed was barely big enough for two and much softer than I like.The windows were quite dirty. If subway trains bother you (no horns, but track noise), make sure you are not on the back side of the hotel. It can be hard to get a taxi in the morning. Be prepared to walk up to High Street.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top