$101 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jan 3, 2015 Check-out: Jan 5, 2015

Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington

4 stars
Scarsdale Place Kensington, Kensington, London, W8 5SR
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
181 reviews
Perfect!

This hotel was amazing! The hotel staff went above and beyond. We happened to be staying during the... See full review

  • Jasmine2014
  • Jan 18, 2014
An excellent capital stay

We couldn't have wished for a better stay at the Copthorne Tara. The location is right in the heart... See full review

  • smartiemart
  • Nov 17, 2013
Popular 4-star hotel in the Royal Borough of Kensington and Chelsea

The Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington is tucked away in a quiet corner of the Royal Borough of Kensington and Chelsea. The hotel is one of the city's most well known 4-star properties and is equally suitable for both business and leisure travelers. The Copthorne Tara Hotel boasts more than 800 rooms appointed with contemporary furnishings and amenities. The hotel also features two restaurants, a bar, café, 24-hour room service, high-speed Internet and a fitness center.

Highlights
  • Several on-site dining options
  • On-site coffee shop
  • Complimentary fitness center
Rooms

Rooms have been carefully designed to maximize natural daylight, with light wood and soothing shades that offer a quiet retreat at the end of the day. All rooms include private facilities and include satellite TV and pay-per-view, Internet (fees apply), hairdryer, tea and coffee making facilities, mini-fridge and direct dial telephone with voicemail. Club room guests enjoy complimentary access to the Copthorne Club Lounge, which offers free continental breakfast, newspaper, Internet access, tea and coffee throughout the day and drinks in the evening.

Features

The Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington is located in a quiet area of Kensington, just a short walk to the shops and museums of Kensington and Knightsbridge. The hotel is a contemporary and stylish 4-star hotel and is the ideal base for both leisure and business pursuits.

Dining

The hotel boasts a variety of on-site dining and drinking options: Artist Corner offers a la carte dining options in a relaxed setting; Cafexpress serves coffee drinks and sandwiches; and Bugis Street serves a tantalizing array of Singaporean, Malaysian and Cantonese cuisine. Additionally, the Brasserie Restaurant & Bar serves a wide selection of drinks and an all-day menu featuring typical pub fare.

 

The hotel offers a fitness room with cross trainers, treadmills, dumbbells and a stretching area. On-site parking is available, too (fees apply).

Transportation
  • High Street Kensington tube stations (1 minute walking)
  • Heathrow Airport (24 minutes)
  • Gatwick Airport (1 hour, 6 minutes)
Attractions
  • Hyde Park (1.7 mi./2.86 km)
  • Kensington Palace (0.36 mi./0.59 km)
  • Portobello Road Market (1.47 mi./2.37 km)
  • Royal Albert Hall (0.61 mi./0.99 km)
Business
  • Business center
  • Computer stations with Internet (fee applies) and color printers
  • Meeting rooms for 2 to 280 people

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5

Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington Rooms

Superior Room
The bedding option for the room is one double bed or one twin bed. Room offers Air conditioning, Alarm clock, Cable / Satellite TV, Disabled facilities, Hairdryer, Heating, Broadband Internet access, Modem / data port connection, Non-smoking rooms, Pay-per-view movies, Refrigerator, 24-hour Room service, Tea and coffee making facilities and Telephone.
Club Room
The bedding option for the room is one double bed. Room facilities include all those featured in the Superior rooms. In addition, Club guests benefit from complimentary access to the Copthorne Club Lounge, offering: Complimentary Continental breakfast, Newspapers, Tea & coffee throughout the day, Internet access and Evening drinks between 6.45pm - 8.15pm.
Superior plus Double Room
This Room Type includes complimentary WIFI, complimentary full English breakfast served in the restaurant

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • High Street Kensington: 0.2 mi
  • Kensington Palace: 0.4 mi
  • Gloucester Road: 0.4 mi
  • Baden-Powell House Exhibition: 0.6 mi
  • Royal Albert Hall: 0.6 mi
  • Royal College of Music Archives and Museum of Instruments: 0.6 mi
  • Albert Memorial : 0.6 mi
  • Earls Court Exhibition Centre: 0.6 mi
  • Natural History Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Imperial College London: 0.7 mi
  • Science Museum London: 0.7 mi
  • Kensington Gardens: 0.7 mi
  • Polish Institute and Sikorski Museum: 0.8 mi
  • National Art Library: 0.8 mi
  • Victoria and Albert Museum: 0.8 mi
  • High Street Kensington: 0.2 mi
  • Kensington Palace: 0.4 mi
  • Gloucester Road: 0.4 mi
  • Baden-Powell House Exhibition: 0.6 mi
  • Royal Albert Hall: 0.6 mi
  • Royal College of Music Archives and Museum of Instruments: 0.6 mi
  • Albert Memorial : 0.6 mi
  • Earls Court Exhibition Centre: 0.6 mi
  • Natural History Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Imperial College London: 0.7 mi
  • Science Museum London: 0.7 mi
  • Kensington Gardens: 0.7 mi
  • Polish Institute and Sikorski Museum: 0.8 mi
  • National Art Library: 0.8 mi
  • Victoria and Albert Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Queensway: 1 mi
  • Lancaster Gate: 1 mi
  • Whiteleys Shopping Centre : 1.1 mi
  • Harrods: 1.2 mi
  • Stamford Bridge: 1.2 mi
  • Knightsbridge: 1.2 mi
  • King's Road: 1.2 mi
  • Royal Institute of British Architects Collections: 1.3 mi
  • Paddington Station: 1.4 mi
  • Westfield Shopping Centre : 1.5 mi
  • City of Westminster: 1.5 mi
  • Cadogan Hall: 1.5 mi
  • Broadway Shopping Centre : 1.5 mi
  • Notting Hill: 1.5 mi
  • Saatchi Gallery: 1.5 mi
  • Sloane Square: 1.5 mi
  • Couper Collection: 1.6 mi
  • Hyde Park: 1.6 mi
  • Hammersmith Apollo: 1.7 mi
  • King's Mall Shopping Centre : 1.7 mi
  • Hyde Park Corner: 1.7 mi
  • Royal Hospital Chelsea Museum: 1.7 mi
  • Marble Arch: 1.7 mi
  • Portobello Market: 1.7 mi
  • Park Lane: 1.7 mi
  • Portobello Road: 1.7 mi
  • Wellington Arch: 1.8 mi
  • Showroom Gallery: 1.9 mi
  • Selfridges: 2 mi
  • Victoria Place Shopping Centre : 2 mi

Dining

Bugis Street
Offers a delightful selection of authentic Singaporean, Malaysian and Chinese cuisine.
Cafexpress
Serving a selection of coffees/ teas and a wide range of home-made sandwiches, salads and delicious snacks either to enjoy in or to take away.
The Brasserie
It (restaurant & bar) is located on the ground floor of the hotel and offers an informal and very relaxed atmosphere. The venue offers casual dining in the restaurant, serving an 'A la Carte' menu with predominantly British cuisine, and an 'all day' snack menu in the Bar area from 11am .

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (181)

Ratings and reviews for Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
181 out of 181
Amenities:
3.6
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3.9
Room comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.8

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Columbus, OH
Oct 11, 2010

Great location - close to the tube

1 block from the Tube. Nice location - quite area, close to a variety of stores and restaurants. Great place to just walk around - sites nearby. Would recommend twin bed arrangement for couples.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Muffin Man restaurant(1 Block from hotel) is a small, inexpensive place to eat breakfast.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
kpdchudleigh
Business
Devon
Oct 7, 2010

When can I go back?

I was concerned before I arrived as read some poor reviews. How delighted I was then to find a great value for money hotel in a perfect location. Okay, the rooms probably would benefit from updating but there is nothing really wrong with them if you are going on holiday to do things and not sit in a hotel room. I had a problem with the tv and this was rectified promptly by friendly staff. The breakfast was terrific as I was on an inclusive rate, so recommend this if you can find a good deal. The shower provided plentiful hot water easily, and the only thing that would have made my stay better would have been that the tea/coffee making products were replenished more reliably as often things were missed. However, I am sure if I had taken the time to ask then these would have been supplied. Altogether a fantastic base for exploring London, and I would happily return with my child tomorrow.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

You can walk to the museum district easily from the hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Tom & Sheila
Business
Grand Rapids Michigan USA
Sep 30, 2010

Super Location and the Price was Right

This was our third stay at the Copthorne,( Enough Said). We recommend this Hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

If you need any help just ask [...]

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ailes -in the know.
Business
Ireland
Sep 22, 2010

Excellent value,location,and comfort

High St Kensington tube station just 5mins walk,allowing access to everywhere and great conveniences (pharmacy,M&S,coffee shops, restaurants etc)in and closeby the station. This is a perfect location for the tourist and business traveller.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Buy "Oyster" travel card to facilitate easy,timely travel around the city and avoids getting caught-up in busy,lenthy rushhour queues

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mrs K
Business
Falkirk
Aug 25, 2010

Good hotel and great breakfast!

We were worried booking this hotel from previous reviews! When we arrived at hotel (very eay to find and 2 mins from tube)we checked in with ease and went to our roomon 10th floor. However, our room was a mess and not been cleaned!! Allocated another room on 9th floor - on "noisy" side of hotel as train lines on that side! Although, we never heard any noise at all! Rooms were on the small side but clean and air con was a bonus! Breakfast was really good, lots of space etc..and staff very attentive! On our 2nd day our key card stopped working so I had to back to reception - huge queues(this is a very busy hotel) but I went straight to a man standing there who sorted out my card and came back to the room with me to check everything was ok and said if we found our room noisy it would be no problem to move - he was the manager (a very good one!). Overall liked hotel,very near shops (and whole foods) near natural history museum and you can walk through Kensington gardens to marble arch and Nottinghill very near. Not too many restaurants on hand but short tube ride away.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sherif Hamoudah
Business
Dubai, UAE
Jul 26, 2010

Copthorne Tara Hotel, Friendly staff

Friendly Staff, inexpensive items, lacks the frills, no Plasma Screens, or Mini Bar. But compensates for that with the friendly staff, the nice rooms, and the caring with the people

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Long walk from hotel

Location is medium, room is good. You can to Knighta bridge easily from thete.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York, NY
Jul 11, 2010

Super!

Very good. Would stay here again. Close to the subway, many different restaurants of all price ranges, shops, etc. We took many pictures in the neighborhood, which means it's pretty nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Yellow Springs OH
Jun 10, 2010

very nice older hotel

Very nice hotel with good service and an excellent restaurant. Hotel is older 1960's or 1970's and much of the room furnishings are older but very adequate. The price we paid for our stay here more than compensated for that. Also, it is only a long block away from the tube or bus and busy Kensington High Street shopping area. Within walking distance to the Royal Albert Hall and Kensington Gardens/Hyde Park. We would definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Buy an Oyster card for tube and bus travel all over the city and save. We used the bus quite a bit. Each trip was £1.20 instead of the normal £2. Take the tube all the way to Heathrow Airport when you leave for only £2.60, a great deal. A cab will cost you £55 to the airport.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Gray, Tn
Jun 1, 2010

great time in London

the concerige service was absolutely wonderful, as I didnt have a clue about London. Everything was very convenient, vodaphone, the banks, ATM'S, groceries, shopping, cab service right there waiting for you, great food, oh yea the tube system and bus system right around the corner.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

get an oyster card, great for use of tube system and bus system, like a bank card, put the amount of money you want on it and its is cheaper, 1.10 per way verses 4.00 one way. use your ATM to get money and 1.00 service charge from you bank, of course you money will be converted to pounds.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Az taveler
Business
Arizona
May 10, 2010

Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington

The hotel was nice, but I thought the room was plain and outdated.The pillows were flat or lumpy, The TV was extremely old and did not work to well. The location was nice, close to shopping and Kensington Gardens. The charge for internet was 15 bucks a day. This day and age I think internet should be included for free. Internet is more important to me then any other service a hotel could offer.I was polite and didn't complain about anything but I felt the staff didn't like me because I was American.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

You can get free wifi for a half hr at Pret a Manger (coffee shop) near the tube station Also the Boots store has a good deal for lunch under 4 pounds a sand or salad, a drink, and a snack.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top