$102 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 17, 2015 Check-out: Apr 18, 2015

Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington

4 stars
View map of Scarsdale Place Kensington, Kensington, London, W8 5SR

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
193 out of 193
Amenities:
3.6
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.8

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Holland
Jun 30, 2011

Visit the the Olympia exhibition

The hotel was very comfortable and the offered me an upgrade that included everything I needed for a very reasonable price. I had some trouble with the key thogh as they gave me an upgraded room too and forgot to tell me the new room number. That was solved quickly

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Short walk from the Olymia exhibition centre. Great for business travel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Cleveland, OH
Jun 28, 2011

Good Value

This hotel has a nice location near an Underground stop on the very useful Central line. The rooms are small but clean, the beds were ok -not great but not uncomfortable. The furniture and bathroom is dated. The staff were very friendly and went out of their way to help with things like directions. Wireless internet is only available in the lobby; there is an ethernet cable in each room for a wired connection. It is expensive - about $24 US for 24 hours and it is not real fast. Nice bar in hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
BobnPhyl
Business
State College PA
Jun 20, 2011

Back from London

The hotel was in a very convenient spot in Kensington, very near the subway. The hotel itself was fine. It was comfortable and nice and clean each time we returned in the late afternoon. The beds weren't the most comfortable, but OK. The rooms/bathrrooms are kind of old and worn and could use some updating. We wanted a double bed and got twins (we were warned in advance that this might happen). The staff was friendly and very helpful in giving us directions and restaurant recommendations (which were great) as well as helping us make necessary reservations. We found the food overpriced and not especially good and did not eat there after the first morning. One recommendation - provide face cloths - I hate not having a facecloth. I know some of these things sound a bit negative but overall we were quite happy with the hotel. We would definitely stay at this hotel again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There are several places to choose from to eat breakfast quite close to the hotel, including a nice little tea shop. The concierge recommended a great Italian and Indian restaurants as well as a very nice pub, all within 15 minutes walk. Be sure to ask the concierge for recommendations for whatever kind of food you want.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
California
Jun 11, 2011

Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington

The staff was very friendly and helpful. My hotel room was clean but the place looks very worn. Perhaps some new rugs would be in order? The windows in the guest rooms cannot be opened to get fresh air so you are trapped with stale air. I requested a wake-up call, which I did not get, to catch an early morning light back to the States! Luckily I was still suffering from jet lag and I was unable to sleep. If I had not been awake and depended on the hotel service to wake me up, most likely I would have missed my flight.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Infrequent tourist
Business
Chicago
May 26, 2011

Nice place, great location for the price

Really enjoyed the experience although they do have an upgrade program that is not unlike what you run into at a carnival. We did take it though, it included Internet, better room, continental breakfast (excellent), and comp drinks from 6:30 til 8:00. Hotel is a little on the older side but still elegant.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

About a 1000 foot walk to tube station and bus lines. Probably another 1/4 mile to a Hop on Hop off bus stop.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Micio
Business
Santa Rosa, CA
May 24, 2011

Reasonably good

I liked the use of the club for breakfast and free internet.The service in general was good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
L & D
Business
Pittsburgh, PA
Apr 19, 2011

Great place to stay

We stayed 10 days at the Copthorne Tara and had a great time and would stay there again. The room was your average size hotel room and having a small refrigerator was great. We saved a lot of money on breakfast, beverages and snacks by shopping at the local stores. The location was close to the tube, which we used a lot, and also close to a variety of restaurants. My only complaint was no washcloth in the bathroom.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Small refrigerator was great for snacks - yogurt, cheese, veggies, fruit - saved lots of money.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Min-Min
Business
Fort worth, Texas
Mar 30, 2011

Enjoyed the stay in London!

We traveled all over London , the West end, the China town, St. Paul, etc... the hotel location is just perfect, allowing us to see more of London. The hotel provided the wonderful breakfast in the morning and the staff was professional.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
OC,CA
Mar 27, 2011

Very good

We visited many of the historical landmarks in London... The best thing about the hotel was That is was two mints away from the subway Station and that is a blessing..... We didn't have To take taxi at all to go anywhere.... I would have Not minded if they had a shuttle service to The airport because some of the train stations Are not travel friendly and they don't have Elevators..... In conclusion the hotel was very clean, the rooms were very comfortable.. If i go back to London, i would stay in the hotel again....

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
California
Mar 27, 2011

Good Hotel

Stayed at the hotel on vacation with family. Clean professional hotel that caters to business. Good location in Kensington, near shopping and the Tube. As with most hotels in London, things are expensive so prepare accordingly. If you want to eat out make reservations or you will be stuck eating in the hotel or in a pub in this part of town in preferred restaurants.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top