$124 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 31, 2014 Check-out: Sep 1, 2014

Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington

4 stars
Scarsdale Place Kensington, Kensington, London, W8 5SR
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
172 reviews
Perfect!

This hotel was amazing! The hotel staff went above and beyond. We happened to be staying during the... See full review

  • Jasmine2014
  • Jan 18, 2014
An excellent capital stay

We couldn't have wished for a better stay at the Copthorne Tara. The location is right in the heart... See full review

  • smartiemart
  • Nov 17, 2013
Popular 4-star hotel in the Royal Borough of Kensington and Chelsea

The Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington is tucked away in a quiet corner of the Royal Borough of Kensington and Chelsea. The hotel is one of the city's most well known 4-star properties and is equally suitable for both business and leisure travelers. The Copthorne Tara Hotel boasts more than 800 rooms appointed with contemporary furnishings and amenities. The hotel also features two restaurants, a bar, café, 24-hour room service, high-speed Internet and a fitness center.

Highlights
  • Several on-site dining options
  • On-site coffee shop
  • Complimentary fitness center
Rooms

Rooms have been carefully designed to maximize natural daylight, with light wood and soothing shades that offer a quiet retreat at the end of the day. All rooms include private facilities and include satellite TV and pay-per-view, Internet (fees apply), hairdryer, tea and coffee making facilities, mini-fridge and direct dial telephone with voicemail. Club room guests enjoy complimentary access to the Copthorne Club Lounge, which offers free continental breakfast, newspaper, Internet access, tea and coffee throughout the day and drinks in the evening.

Features

The Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington is located in a quiet area of Kensington, just a short walk to the shops and museums of Kensington and Knightsbridge. The hotel is a contemporary and stylish 4-star hotel and is the ideal base for both leisure and business pursuits.

Dining

The hotel boasts a variety of on-site dining and drinking options: Artist Corner offers a la carte dining options in a relaxed setting; Cafexpress serves coffee drinks and sandwiches; and Bugis Street serves a tantalizing array of Singaporean, Malaysian and Cantonese cuisine. Additionally, the Brasserie Restaurant & Bar serves a wide selection of drinks and an all-day menu featuring typical pub fare.

 

The hotel offers a fitness room with cross trainers, treadmills, dumbbells and a stretching area. On-site parking is available, too (fees apply).

Transportation
  • High Street Kensington tube stations (1 minute walking)
  • Heathrow Airport (24 minutes)
  • Gatwick Airport (1 hour, 6 minutes)
Attractions
  • Hyde Park (1.7 mi./2.86 km)
  • Kensington Palace (0.36 mi./0.59 km)
  • Portobello Road Market (1.47 mi./2.37 km)
  • Royal Albert Hall (0.61 mi./0.99 km)
Business
  • Business center
  • Computer stations with Internet (fee applies) and color printers
  • Meeting rooms for 2 to 280 people

Hotel Map

51.4989 -0.1912
Area served
London.
Nearby airports
London Heathrow International Airport.
Area description
Located in a residential area of Kensington within walking distance of the High Street- buses and underground station, close to Earls Court and Olympia Exhibition Centres. Easy access by car or tube from Heathrow airport, minutes away from the shops and museums of Kensington and Knightsbridge/Harrods, 20 minutes to the West End/Oxford Street and Theatreland.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5

Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington Rooms

Superior plus Double Room
This Room Type includes complimentary WIFI, complimentary full English breakfast served in the restaurant
Superior Room
The bedding option for the room is one double bed or one twin bed. Room offers Air conditioning, Alarm clock, Cable / Satellite TV, Disabled facilities, Hairdryer, Heating, Broadband Internet access, Modem / data port connection, Non-smoking rooms, Pay-per-view movies, Refrigerator, 24-hour Room service, Tea and coffee making facilities and Telephone.
Club Room
The bedding option for the room is one double bed. Room facilities include all those featured in the Superior rooms. In addition, Club guests benefit from complimentary access to the Copthorne Club Lounge, offering: Complimentary Continental breakfast, Newspapers, Tea & coffee throughout the day, Internet access and Evening drinks between 6.45pm - 8.15pm.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • High Street Kensington: 0.2 mi
  • Kensington Palace: 0.4 mi
  • Gloucester Road: 0.4 mi
  • Baden-Powell House Exhibition: 0.6 mi
  • Royal Albert Hall: 0.6 mi
  • Royal College of Music Archives and Museum of Instruments: 0.6 mi
  • Albert Memorial : 0.6 mi
  • Earls Court Exhibition Centre: 0.6 mi
  • Natural History Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Imperial College London: 0.7 mi
  • Science Museum London: 0.7 mi
  • Kensington Gardens: 0.7 mi
  • Polish Institute and Sikorski Museum: 0.8 mi
  • National Art Library: 0.8 mi
  • Victoria and Albert Museum: 0.8 mi
  • High Street Kensington: 0.2 mi
  • Kensington Palace: 0.4 mi
  • Gloucester Road: 0.4 mi
  • Baden-Powell House Exhibition: 0.6 mi
  • Royal Albert Hall: 0.6 mi
  • Royal College of Music Archives and Museum of Instruments: 0.6 mi
  • Albert Memorial : 0.6 mi
  • Earls Court Exhibition Centre: 0.6 mi
  • Natural History Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Imperial College London: 0.7 mi
  • Science Museum London: 0.7 mi
  • Kensington Gardens: 0.7 mi
  • Polish Institute and Sikorski Museum: 0.8 mi
  • National Art Library: 0.8 mi
  • Victoria and Albert Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Queensway: 1 mi
  • Lancaster Gate: 1 mi
  • Whiteleys Shopping Centre : 1.1 mi
  • Harrods: 1.2 mi
  • Stamford Bridge: 1.2 mi
  • Knightsbridge: 1.2 mi
  • King's Road: 1.2 mi
  • Royal Institute of British Architects Collections: 1.3 mi
  • Chelsea: 1.4 mi
  • Paddington Station: 1.4 mi
  • Westfield Shopping Centre : 1.5 mi
  • City of Westminster: 1.5 mi
  • Cadogan Hall: 1.5 mi
  • Broadway Shopping Centre : 1.5 mi
  • Notting Hill: 1.5 mi
  • Saatchi Gallery: 1.5 mi
  • Sloane Square: 1.5 mi
  • Couper Collection: 1.6 mi
  • Hyde Park: 1.6 mi
  • Hammersmith Apollo: 1.7 mi
  • King's Mall Shopping Centre : 1.7 mi
  • Hyde Park Corner: 1.7 mi
  • Royal Hospital Chelsea Museum: 1.7 mi
  • Marble Arch: 1.7 mi
  • Portobello Market: 1.7 mi
  • Park Lane: 1.7 mi
  • Portobello Road: 1.7 mi
  • Wellington Arch: 1.8 mi
  • Showroom Gallery: 1.9 mi
  • Selfridges: 2 mi

Dining

Bugis Street
Offers a delightful selection of authentic Singaporean, Malaysian and Chinese cuisine.
Cafexpress
Serving a selection of coffees/ teas and a wide range of home-made sandwiches, salads and delicious snacks either to enjoy in or to take away.
The Brasserie
It (restaurant & bar) is located on the ground floor of the hotel and offers an informal and very relaxed atmosphere. The venue offers casual dining in the restaurant, serving an 'A la Carte' menu with predominantly British cuisine, and an 'all day' snack menu in the Bar area from 11am .

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (172)

Ratings and reviews for Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
172 out of 172
Amenities:
3.6
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3.9
Room comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.8

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
FredB
Dublin Ireland
Jul 30, 2012

Friendly Staff, Lovely Hotel, Lovely Location

Staff very friendly and obliging. Lovely room, clean and fresh. Excellent location. Would highly recommend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Holland
Jun 30, 2011

Visit the the Olympia exhibition

The hotel was very comfortable and the offered me an upgrade that included everything I needed for a very reasonable price. I had some trouble with the key thogh as they gave me an upgraded room too and forgot to tell me the new room number. That was solved quickly

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Short walk from the Olymia exhibition centre. Great for business travel.

Review of Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Cleveland, OH
Jun 28, 2011

Good Value

This hotel has a nice location near an Underground stop on the very useful Central line. The rooms are small but clean, the beds were ok -not great but not uncomfortable. The furniture and bathroom is dated. The staff were very friendly and went out of their way to help with things like directions. Wireless internet is only available in the lobby; there is an ethernet cable in each room for a wired connection. It is expensive - about $24 US for 24 hours and it is not real fast. Nice bar in hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
BobnPhyl
State College PA
Jun 20, 2011

Back from London

The hotel was in a very convenient spot in Kensington, very near the subway. The hotel itself was fine. It was comfortable and nice and clean each time we returned in the late afternoon. The beds weren't the most comfortable, but OK. The rooms/bathrrooms are kind of old and worn and could use some updating. We wanted a double bed and got twins (we were warned in advance that this might happen). The staff was friendly and very helpful in giving us directions and restaurant recommendations (which were great) as well as helping us make necessary reservations. We found the food overpriced and not especially good and did not eat there after the first morning. One recommendation - provide face cloths - I hate not having a facecloth. I know some of these things sound a bit negative but overall we were quite happy with the hotel. We would definitely stay at this hotel again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There are several places to choose from to eat breakfast quite close to the hotel, including a nice little tea shop. The concierge recommended a great Italian and Indian restaurants as well as a very nice pub, all within 15 minutes walk. Be sure to ask the concierge for recommendations for whatever kind of food you want.

Review of Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
California
Jun 11, 2011

Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington

The staff was very friendly and helpful. My hotel room was clean but the place looks very worn. Perhaps some new rugs would be in order? The windows in the guest rooms cannot be opened to get fresh air so you are trapped with stale air. I requested a wake-up call, which I did not get, to catch an early morning light back to the States! Luckily I was still suffering from jet lag and I was unable to sleep. If I had not been awake and depended on the hotel service to wake me up, most likely I would have missed my flight.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Infrequent tourist
Chicago
May 26, 2011

Nice place, great location for the price

Really enjoyed the experience although they do have an upgrade program that is not unlike what you run into at a carnival. We did take it though, it included Internet, better room, continental breakfast (excellent), and comp drinks from 6:30 til 8:00. Hotel is a little on the older side but still elegant.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

About a 1000 foot walk to tube station and bus lines. Probably another 1/4 mile to a Hop on Hop off bus stop.

Review of Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Micio
Santa Rosa, CA
May 24, 2011

Reasonably good

I liked the use of the club for breakfast and free internet.The service in general was good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
L & D
Pittsburgh, PA
Apr 19, 2011

Great place to stay

We stayed 10 days at the Copthorne Tara and had a great time and would stay there again. The room was your average size hotel room and having a small refrigerator was great. We saved a lot of money on breakfast, beverages and snacks by shopping at the local stores. The location was close to the tube, which we used a lot, and also close to a variety of restaurants. My only complaint was no washcloth in the bathroom.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Small refrigerator was great for snacks - yogurt, cheese, veggies, fruit - saved lots of money.

Review of Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Min-Min
Fort worth, Texas
Mar 30, 2011

Enjoyed the stay in London!

We traveled all over London , the West end, the China town, St. Paul, etc... the hotel location is just perfect, allowing us to see more of London. The hotel provided the wonderful breakfast in the morning and the staff was professional.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
California
Mar 27, 2011

Good Hotel

Stayed at the hotel on vacation with family. Clean professional hotel that caters to business. Good location in Kensington, near shopping and the Tube. As with most hotels in London, things are expensive so prepare accordingly. If you want to eat out make reservations or you will be stuck eating in the hotel or in a pub in this part of town in preferred restaurants.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
OC,CA
Mar 27, 2011

Very good

We visited many of the historical landmarks in London... The best thing about the hotel was That is was two mints away from the subway Station and that is a blessing..... We didn't have To take taxi at all to go anywhere.... I would have Not minded if they had a shuttle service to The airport because some of the train stations Are not travel friendly and they don't have Elevators..... In conclusion the hotel was very clean, the rooms were very comfortable.. If i go back to London, i would stay in the hotel again....

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top

Change search