$108 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 25, 2015 Check-out: May 26, 2015

Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington

4 stars
View map of Scarsdale Place Kensington, Kensington, London, W8 5SR

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
196 out of 196
Amenities:
3.6
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.9

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Richard and Not
Business
Beijing China
Jul 1, 2012

Good value/good location

This hotel is close to Kensington High Street tube station. We stayed in the Club rooms, on the 12th floor, big, good bathroom with bath( and never ending hot water) and all facilities incl internet The beds are very comfortable. Also included wasan extensive continental breakfast and free drinks each evening. Staff were great everywhere.. they really go the extra yards re friendly service. No hestitation to recommend. Just ask for rooms facing the river for best outlook. The High street offers loads of shopping opportunities as well as eating. It is only a short walk to Kensington Palace gardens for some tranquility and a comfortable walk to the museums at South kensington. Good tip was to buy the daily tube tickets at 7 pounds each and to do a Bus tour of the city first to get the big picture.The river cruise included is a must and get off at Greenwich and have a look around as it is very interesting.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
NYCcouple123
Business
New York, NY
Jun 26, 2012

decent

Decent hotel in nice location. Close to the tube and park. Staff were friendly. Only complaint is the nickel & dime for stuff like internet (10 pounds a day) & laundry (1-3 pounds per piece), but i guess most hotels do that now.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

type the Muffin shop for good coffee & breakfast.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Gretchen L.
Business
New York
Jun 14, 2012

Good experience

This hotel is in a good location, and the staff is generally very helpful. Close to Kensington High Street tube station. Beds not the most comfortable, but Club room is large for a London hotel. Nice restaurants in the hotel and lots of shopping in the area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Faery Gramma
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Jun 7, 2012

Great Bargain

I was upgraded to 9th floor, odd # room, at desk for no extra charge. Room is well thought out but older. Great tree top view, I was able to see the fireworks after Jubilee Concert. Kensington is my favorite place in London. Lots of towels, lovely tea/coffee set up in room and also a little fridge. The only downside to the room is not fresh air and a stale smell which was allevaited by a/c but I have allergy issues. The staff was GREAT! The hotel has excellent Asian restaurant, gift shop, snack center. The food is very average except for Asian food which was superb. It is very safe, lots of security, and runs smoothly for tourists i.e. post box, money changing center, any kind of guest service you might need. Lovely big lobby. Location cannot be beat, right near busses and Tube.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Take the #9 bus which goes right by Knightsbridge, down Piccadilly and ends at Green Park. It is a short walk to Regent's St. which takes you to the Mall with Buckingham Palace on right and on the left cut through Horse Guard to Westminster. Piccadilly Circus has short cut over to Covent Garden and it is about 7 min walk. AVOID Tube. It is stuffy and crowded. TAKE THE BUS!! I will stay there again. Just wish some fresh air.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
tleon20
Business
Houston, Texas, EEUU
May 28, 2012

Good location, nothing else

I expected mor than i get. it's an old hotel, but location is great, just two blocks from subway.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Vacationer467
Business
Chicago
May 19, 2012

Pretty good hotel for London. A few minuses

My husband and I got a club room which included wifi and complimentary continental breakfast. Hotel is clean and security is good. Staff is attentive. Other big plus is the size and variety of the breakfast, which is the best complimentary b-fast I've experienced in London: pastry, cheese, cold ham, yoghurt, many fresh fruits, cereals, espresso, coffee, tea, and congee (rice porridge) with Asian additions. Easy to eat hearty at b-fast and be good till dinner. Big minuses: while room was nice (mini fridge main plus), the room did have a slight odor upon entering, rather mildewy, which we got used to after a few minutes. But the worst was the mattress--horrible. Soft and lumpy. Sleep was difficult and we woke up achy. Maybe if we were in our 20s we wouldn't have felt it as much. Given the hotel's rather nice level, the bed should have been better. Hotel is on the District and Circle tube lines, but not in the thick of the transport's main hubs. Area pretty good: just off High St Kensington. Nice tea shop-The Muffin Man--near the hotel. Lots of shopping in the area. Hyde Park is wonderful and very close.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Check out Gloucester Rd to the east, and Cromwell to the south for restaurants.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JacquieR13
Business
Boston, USA - world traveller
May 18, 2012

Very nice visit

The hotel was very nice. The location was superb. Kensington is a lovely place. everything was in easy walking distance. The hotel staff were all very helpful and friendly. The internet access was not complimentary and quite expensive. Also, room service was a bit expensive as well. They also advertised that they had herbal teas, but when I asked housekeeping to provide packets, they didn't have any. Overall, I thought it was a great hotel and I would definitely go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Maggie Jones and Ffiona's were the best!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Yuda
Business
Israel
May 7, 2012

6 nights at the hotel

The hotel is very well located close to public transportation but at quiet residential area. The rooms are of suitable size and are clean. Hotel's stuff are efficient and helpful. It is nice place to stay for business or family travel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
DvG.
Business
Holland
May 4, 2012

Business trip London

Nice hotel but nothing special. Rate more 3 stars rather then 4

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
bh1234
Business
US
Apr 29, 2012

You could do worse, but...

it certainly isn't as impressive as they would like you to believe. Located just off Kensington High Street, a block from the tube, the Copthorne Tara is well situated. Several attractions and both the Earl's Court and Olympia exhibition venues are within walking distance (about a km). We stayed in a club level room. The room was clean, and the free continental breakfast in the club lounge was actually quite good. The staff was friendly, and tried to be helpful, but seemed very inexperienced. We had issues with internet connections and delays in checking out. The in-hotel restaurants are good. The room itself needed refreshing-- all the furniture was worn. Double bed was barely big enough for two and much softer than I like.The windows were quite dirty. If subway trains bother you (no horns, but track noise), make sure you are not on the back side of the hotel. It can be hard to get a taxi in the morning. Be prepared to walk up to High Street.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top