$120 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 9, 2015 Check-out: Aug 10, 2015

Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington

4 stars
View map of Scarsdale Place Kensington, Kensington, London, W8 5SR

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
189 out of 189
Amenities:
3.6
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.9

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
tleon20
Business
Houston, Texas, EEUU
May 28, 2012

Good location, nothing else

I expected mor than i get. it's an old hotel, but location is great, just two blocks from subway.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Vacationer467
Business
Chicago
May 19, 2012

Pretty good hotel for London. A few minuses

My husband and I got a club room which included wifi and complimentary continental breakfast. Hotel is clean and security is good. Staff is attentive. Other big plus is the size and variety of the breakfast, which is the best complimentary b-fast I've experienced in London: pastry, cheese, cold ham, yoghurt, many fresh fruits, cereals, espresso, coffee, tea, and congee (rice porridge) with Asian additions. Easy to eat hearty at b-fast and be good till dinner. Big minuses: while room was nice (mini fridge main plus), the room did have a slight odor upon entering, rather mildewy, which we got used to after a few minutes. But the worst was the mattress--horrible. Soft and lumpy. Sleep was difficult and we woke up achy. Maybe if we were in our 20s we wouldn't have felt it as much. Given the hotel's rather nice level, the bed should have been better. Hotel is on the District and Circle tube lines, but not in the thick of the transport's main hubs. Area pretty good: just off High St Kensington. Nice tea shop-The Muffin Man--near the hotel. Lots of shopping in the area. Hyde Park is wonderful and very close.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Check out Gloucester Rd to the east, and Cromwell to the south for restaurants.

Review of Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JacquieR13
Business
Boston, USA - world traveller
May 18, 2012

Very nice visit

The hotel was very nice. The location was superb. Kensington is a lovely place. everything was in easy walking distance. The hotel staff were all very helpful and friendly. The internet access was not complimentary and quite expensive. Also, room service was a bit expensive as well. They also advertised that they had herbal teas, but when I asked housekeeping to provide packets, they didn't have any. Overall, I thought it was a great hotel and I would definitely go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Maggie Jones and Ffiona's were the best!

Review of Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Yuda
Business
Israel
May 7, 2012

6 nights at the hotel

The hotel is very well located close to public transportation but at quiet residential area. The rooms are of suitable size and are clean. Hotel's stuff are efficient and helpful. It is nice place to stay for business or family travel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
DvG.
Business
Holland
May 4, 2012

Business trip London

Nice hotel but nothing special. Rate more 3 stars rather then 4

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
bh1234
Business
US
Apr 29, 2012

You could do worse, but...

it certainly isn't as impressive as they would like you to believe. Located just off Kensington High Street, a block from the tube, the Copthorne Tara is well situated. Several attractions and both the Earl's Court and Olympia exhibition venues are within walking distance (about a km). We stayed in a club level room. The room was clean, and the free continental breakfast in the club lounge was actually quite good. The staff was friendly, and tried to be helpful, but seemed very inexperienced. We had issues with internet connections and delays in checking out. The in-hotel restaurants are good. The room itself needed refreshing-- all the furniture was worn. Double bed was barely big enough for two and much softer than I like.The windows were quite dirty. If subway trains bother you (no horns, but track noise), make sure you are not on the back side of the hotel. It can be hard to get a taxi in the morning. Be prepared to walk up to High Street.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Rob85
Business
Eagle, CO, USA
Apr 3, 2012

Great place

This hotel was clean and offered anything you could want. It was expensive but you have to expect that when staying in London let alone Kensington. I was comfortable, I slept well, the staff was good and it was a half block from the underground.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There are a great pair of Italian places just west of the Hotel in High Street. Great if you are needing some flavor after the bland British fare.

Review of Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
islandtraveler
Business
Northern California
Mar 7, 2012

Nice place to stay in Kensington, near the Underground

Room was comfortable, clean, and perhaps a bit small. They provide a flat screen TV, and, as a surprise, an empty refrigerator, which can come in handy if one fancies British treats such as Pork Pies from M&S, or Sausage Rolls from West Cornish Pastie co., both in the underground station. They provide a kettle for morning coffee, tea. There is milk provided in little plastic tubes. Shower was the best I've ever encountered in the UK, plenty of water, pressure, and heat. We did not use any of the restaurants in the hotel, we found them pricey. For a good English breakfast, the "Muffin Man" on Wrights Lane just around the corner from the hotel fit the bill, although a bit pricey as well. We did appreciate the double paned windows as it muffled the sound of the underground trains below us at street level. Staff was helpful and friendly, and assisted me with checking in for my return trip and printing boarding passes. We would definitely consider staying here once again on our next trip to the UK, and London in particular.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Buy an Oyster card at the underground station. It guarantees you to pay the lowest price for travel on all buses, trains, and underground. It doesn't restrict you to a particular day of usage.

Review of Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Janey mack
Business
Dublin, Co. Dublin, Ireland
Feb 23, 2012

Weekend away.

Tha hotel was clean but it looks dated and the rooms are in urgent need of an update.When we arrived there was a tray with a kettle tea,coffee etc.in our room.After a long day sightseeing we returned tired and thirsty and i was dying for a cup of tea,the cafe in the lobby was closed so i returned to my room to find that tray with kettle etc. had been removed.The same thing happened in our friends room,its only a small thing but it really annoyed me!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JohnSC
Business
Yorkshire GB
Feb 2, 2012

Hotel Tara

A good place to stay and within easy underground link to most mainline rail stations. The food was good though we did have a few issues with the heating of some items of the buffet breakfast. Staff were attentive and courteous and happy to help.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

An Indian restaurant nearby was recommended by the hotel and whilst the food was quite good we saw no prior notification that a 12.5% would be levied. We had much better meals at a fraction of the price.

Back to menu Return to top