$109 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 25, 2015 Check-out: May 26, 2015

Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington

4 stars
View map of Scarsdale Place Kensington, Kensington, London, W8 5SR

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
204 out of 204
Amenities:
3.6
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3.9
Comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.9

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Godric
Saudi Arabia , Riyadh
Oct 30, 2012

Great service with a great place !

This hotel has surpassed my expectations, i stayed for 6 night. The place is perfect , as you can walk to the Hyde park with less than 5 minutes . What made it better is that you're only 2 minutes far away from the station , which will save you time . The staff is great & they're so cooperative , the service was so good in general as i wouldn't ask for more . I would hardly suggest this hotel for anyone who's visiting London whether it was for a long vacation or a business trip , it was perfect

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Hyde park

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Columbus, OH
Oct 11, 2010

Great location - close to the tube

1 block from the Tube. Nice location - quite area, close to a variety of stores and restaurants. Great place to just walk around - sites nearby. Would recommend twin bed arrangement for couples.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Muffin Man restaurant(1 Block from hotel) is a small, inexpensive place to eat breakfast.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York
Oct 31, 2010

good

excellent

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chino Hills, California
May 21, 2009

A little home away from home

The location is superb! It is a two minute walk to the underground, so you can easily take the underground from Heathrow to the hotel. There are lots of good places to eat close by, as well as several food markets to pick up anything you might need. Everything you may want to see is within easy walking distance if you like to walk. My daughter and I had a two week stay at the Copthorne Tara and were very pleased with our room, the staff, and the food offered at the hotel. I would not hesitate to plan another vacations using the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Muffin Man is a two minute walk from the hotel and has great breakfast, lunch, and tea choices. Sticky Fingers and the Pasta Caffe are also a short walk away (about ten minutes) and the food is quite good at both places. If you like cupcakes, Buttercup Bakery is about a ten minute walk and Hummingbird Bakery is about a twenty minute walk away! Yum!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
College Station, Texas
Jun 30, 2009

The Hotel Russell, London

Absolutely great location, around the corner from the Picadilly line of the tube, which goes to Heathrow and connects to everywhere in London. Very quiet area. Will surely go back to the Russell when we return to London. I recommend it without reservation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

The British Museum. It is a jewel. And a short walk from Russell Square, where the hotel is located.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Dallas TX
Jul 8, 2009

Definitely Recommed

Extremely well located near Kensington Palace and a three minute walk to the Underground. We were there as first time London vacationers and would definitely stay there again. Our only complaint was there there was no WIFI connection. There was an internet cable hook up in the room [for an extra fee], but we couldn't connect. But who wants to spend time on the internet while in London anyway!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Micio
Business
Santa Rosa, CA
May 24, 2011

Reasonably good

I liked the use of the club for breakfast and free internet.The service in general was good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
miss ann
Business
Wash.D.C.
Sep 8, 2011

very pleasant, convenient; comfortable

I enjoyed the Copthorne/Tara the price was fair; food very good; I especially enjoyed breakfast; wish I could have had until 10:AM the onstruction across street was a distraction but overall I was satisfied w/accomodations, service/staff etc.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

High St. is over-priced exchange for currency (US dollars is very high

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Irving, TX
Apr 22, 2009

Copthorne Tara

We visited the museums of London. We had stayed there before but didn't remember it being so noisy. Lots of sport groups for tournaments. Didn't like the fact that we had to wait several hours to check in. The restaurants were very lack luster. When you offer Mexican food, it needs to be Mexican.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Great shopping!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Larry S.
Business
Yonkers, NY
Feb 20, 2009

Wonderful stay!

I had a wonderful time at the Copthorne Tara. The room was comfortable and clean. Even though it was facing the underground tracks, it was very quiet (I was on a high floor.) The location was excellent--three short blocks from the High Street Kensington station. The staff was helpful (one exception--I arrived early but had to wait until 3 for check-in--but they kept my bags for me and I had time for sightseeing and lunch.) The people at the concierge's desk were very helpful. The barstaff was especially friendly, courteous and efficient (the bar is open late), and the Bugis Street restaurant was great. Overall I highly recommend this hotel and would stay there again next time I visit London.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Muffin Man--half a block on the way to the underground--is great for light breakfasts. Thai Terrace restaurant--also half a block--is lovely and classy--my main course was rather bland, but other choices might be better.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Smaug
Business
Orem, Utah
May 18, 2009

Quite Nice

Great location. Off the main street, but not too far and very easy walking distance to the Underground station. Near food and shopping. We were very busy sight seeing, so we didn't spend much time at the hotel, but it was quiet at night, the lobby and resturant were nice and the staff was friendly and helpful. Not huge rooms, but for London it was fine. Taking a shower left an inch deep pool on the bathroom floor because the tub wasn't designed to funnel the water into the shower, but drained it on to the floor. We did tell the front desk, but nothing was done. They did clean it up everyday, but that was certainly something I could have done without. As an American, I also found it very odd that there was only one sheet (on the bottom) and a duvet. I'm very used to a top sheet and that was hard to get used to. I also was not expecting the internet connection to cost 10 pounds a day. Still, overall it was a good experience. They did provide a blowdryer and an iron w/ board and a luggage drop off before check in. Everything was clean and fairly new. We would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Very near ATM. There's one in the lobby, but the one just down the street has no charge.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top