$134 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Oct 31, 2014 Check-out: Nov 1, 2014

Citadines Barbican London

3 stars
7 Goswell Road, London, EC 1M 7AH
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
23 reviews
London Sept 2014

Very nice. Easy walk from tube. Room had small kitchen and that was fantastic! Staff was very... See full review

  • Katebell
  • Sep 28, 2014
brilliant value for money.

Provided exactly what we wanted, so difficult in London. Staff really helpful and friendly. Would... See full review

  • Rsrs
  • Feb 28, 2014
Located just north of the financial and business district in London, the Citadines London Barbican is just around the corner from the Barbican Centre, one of Europe's largest cultural centres which is also home to the London Symphony Orchestra and Royal Shakespeare Company. Stroll around your neighbourhood, where traditional pubs and businesses still line the streets. For a bird's eye view of London, go to the top of the nearby St Paul's Cathedral to catch magnificent vistas of one of the most amazing cities in the world. Amenities are 24-hour reception, Free High speed wireless internet connection throughout the hotel,Breakfast room, Launderette, Safe deposit at reception, Wifi zone(s Pets allowed , Dry cleaning service, Daily Cleaning service on demand, Private car park, Weekly cleaning.

Hotel Map

51.5222 -0.0976
Area served
London.
Nearby airports
Heathrow airpor (20miles/32km), Gatwick Airport(32miles/50km),City Airport(10miles/16km),Stansted Airport (35miles/56km), Luton Airport (35miles/56km).
Area description
Located just north of the financial and business district in London.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Citadines Barbican London also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.5 out of 5

Citadines Barbican London Rooms

Studio 2 pers
The room offers one twin sofa bed or one double sofa bed. Breakfast is available in the lounge area at 10 pp. Heating, DVD, In-room safe, High speed internet access IDD facility Satellite or cable channels, Flat screen Television set, Hairdryer Steam iron & ironing board.
One bedroom apartment
The room offers one twin bed and one double bed. Breakfast available in lounge at 10 pp, Bedroom linen Heating In-room safe DVD High speed internet access IDD facility Satellite or cable channels Television set Hairdryer Steam iron & ironing board.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking

Nearby points of interest

  • Trinity College of Music: 0.2 mi
  • Museum of the Order of St John: 0.2 mi
  • Barbican Art Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Guildhall School of Music and Drama: 0.3 mi
  • Museum of London: 0.3 mi
  • Museum of London Docklands: 0.3 mi
  • Farringdon: 0.3 mi
  • St Bartholomew's Hospital Museum: 0.3 mi
  • City University London: 0.4 mi
  • Clockmakers' Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Old Bailey: 0.5 mi
  • Barbican: 0.5 mi
  • Clerkenwell: 0.6 mi
  • St. Pauls Cathedral: 0.6 mi
  • Fleet Street: 0.6 mi
  • Trinity College of Music: 0.2 mi
  • Museum of the Order of St John: 0.2 mi
  • Barbican Art Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Guildhall School of Music and Drama: 0.3 mi
  • Museum of London: 0.3 mi
  • Museum of London Docklands: 0.3 mi
  • Farringdon: 0.3 mi
  • St Bartholomew's Hospital Museum: 0.3 mi
  • City University London: 0.4 mi
  • Clockmakers' Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Old Bailey: 0.5 mi
  • Barbican: 0.5 mi
  • Clerkenwell: 0.6 mi
  • St. Pauls Cathedral: 0.6 mi
  • Fleet Street: 0.6 mi
  • Sadler's Wells Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • British Postal Museum and Archive: 0.7 mi
  • Bank of England: 0.7 mi
  • Liverpool Street Station: 0.7 mi
  • Royal Exchange: 0.7 mi
  • Tower 42: 0.8 mi
  • Broadgate Tower: 0.8 mi
  • Islington Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Charles Dickens Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Millennium Bridge: 0.8 mi
  • Temple church: 0.8 mi
  • London Astoria: 0.9 mi
  • Royal Fusiliers Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Shoreditch: 0.9 mi
  • Twinings Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Sir John Soane's Museum: 0.9 mi
  • the Gherkin: 0.9 mi
  • Tate Modern: 1 mi
  • Clink Prison Museum: 1.1 mi
  • Museum of Immigration and Diversity: 1.1 mi
  • Rose Theatre Exhibition: 1.1 mi
  • Aldwych Theatre: 1.1 mi
  • Women's Library: 1.1 mi
  • Somerset House: 1.1 mi
  • Lyceum Theatre: 1.1 mi
  • The Brunswick : 1.2 mi
  • Southwark Cathedral: 1.2 mi
  • Kenwood House: 1.2 mi
  • Russell Square: 1.2 mi
  • Cartoon Museum: 1.2 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1400
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (23)

Ratings and reviews for Citadines Barbican London

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
23 out of 23
Amenities:
3.3
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
3.7
Location:
3.9
Value:
3.9

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Citadines Barbican London

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
sprock
Business
Chesterfield
Feb 18, 2013

Was expecting a hotel, not a bedsit.

Was not a pleasant experience. The room was coldand small, there was a sofa bed instead of a bed. TV choice was limited to mostly french channels. As the room had a kitchenette , I could smell everyones cooking, which was disgusting, such as fishhead curry at a guess. The hotel did not have a restaurant, and had very limited breakfast items, which cost £12 , and I only had 2 rounds of toast.! Luckily the cafe across the road , Coffee Aroma , was fantastic and organised a fantastic breakfast everyday at a reasonable prices. I would recommend people look elsewhere and choose as a very last resort.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Citadines Barbican London

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
StP in a sui
Business
Dublin, Ireland
May 14, 2013

This is not a hotel

I thought that I was going to a hotel and I ended up in a bedsit. I would not stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Citadines Barbican London

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Berkshire girl
Business
Santa Cruz. CA
Nov 10, 2009

Citadines Hotel Barbican, London

We wanted a kitchenette, so we took what we could get. The studio (for 2) is a lot like tent camping. Once the beds are down, there's no room to move. One of the beds had a missing slat and collapsed under my husband when he sat on it. OK, we knew they didn't change the towels, etc., but the towels were tiny and thin. The showers are warm enough, but water pressure minimal. Phone didn't work and they let us use the phone at the front desk, but still... On the plus side, the Barbican area is very quiet at night, since the office buildings are empty. It may be dull for some folks, but we enjoyed quiet sleep. You can walk to St. Paul's in 10 minutes, although it's a pretty deserted walk at night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Citadines Barbican London

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Ben N. London
Business
New York
Jan 13, 2014

Affordable Lodgings

Good location and value. Negative: cooking odors in hallway.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Booking directly with the hotel may lead to the lowest rates.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Citadines Barbican London

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Miami Resident09876
Business
Miami
Feb 15, 2014

Close to Barbican

The hotel was close to Brabican and in walking distance to restaurants. Fair place with fair price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Try to turkish food, which is close by.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Citadines Barbican London

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Diemode
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Jul 17, 2012

Average

Its a comfortable hotel room, with access to WiFi which is good for this price range in London. I needed to be coose to Barbicans metro station, so the primary reason for choosing was that. Good size room for London standards, I must admit that. Besides that, its not an area I would stay in for pleasure.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Citadines Barbican London

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Traveled for business
Business
NY
Mar 15, 2014

Good hotel, no daily cleanings

Stayed in a double room. The size was good, enough room to walk around. The bathroom was clean, but the tub is very narrow. I kept grazing the shower curtain while showering and I'm not very wide. There's a small kitchen that looked ok, but I didn't use it. The sheets and towels were clean. The bed wasn't the most comfortable, but I wasn't uncomfortable. There are no tissues in the room, but you can ask for them at the front desk. No small bottled shampoo and body wash, it's a large squeeze bottle attached to the wall. No conditioner. Overall, if you expect no-frills and a clean room, it will meet your needs at a price that gives you a good value for your buck.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Citadines Barbican London

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
From Williamsburg to London
Business
Brooklyn, NY
Dec 8, 2009

Very good for the independent traveler

The "apart hotel" worked very well for us as we are budget travelers and not in need of extra frills. The kitchenette was especially handy, and we used it everyday for at least one meal. Overall we had a pleasant experience on our first trip sightseeing to London from NY. I thought the location was great - convenient, but not in the center of tourist hell. The only major problem was that there were no ventilation fans in kitchen or bathroom (although visible vents), and if we opened the window the street was too noisy (also windows directly across the way). We were in the back of the hotel, and there was a major building under construction within view. If the windows were closed then it was very quiet. Since we are from NYC this type of noise and small room were not out of the realm of our experience. The pullout bed (softish foam) and pillows (soft) were surprisingly comfortable. The ethernet connection did not work at first on my macbook pro, but I just had to restart my comp and the modem.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

The immediate area around Barbican looks ugly (concrete modern buildings), but very nearby is a very old part of town (on the way to Smithfield Market) that was interesting. Smithfield market has clubs and upscale bars, and is very similar the the Meatpacking district in Manhattan. Tesco is right by Barbican station and open till 11pm, and there is a sandwich shop open 24hrs (!) on St Johns Ln. NYers will appreciate this!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Citadines Barbican London

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Greg and Anna
Business
Eugene, OR, USA
Jul 18, 2012

Real nice place

They are located a couple blocks from an underground station with a Tesco (grocery store) on the way to the underground. Super convenient location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Citadines Barbican London

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Tanyatravels
Business
Istanbul
Aug 21, 2012

London City Center

Great Hotel located very conveniently in the center of London. The staff was AMAZING! Any thing I needed they were there to help...was like having a personal assistant. Great customer service. Note that the beds are either sofa bed or murphy bed

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top