$117 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 4, 2015 Check-out: Jan 5, 2015

Citadines Barbican London

3 stars
7 Goswell Road, London, EC 1M 7AH
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
24 reviews
London Sept 2014

Very nice. Easy walk from tube. Room had small kitchen and that was fantastic! Staff was very... See full review

  • Katebell
  • Sep 28, 2014
brilliant value for money.

Provided exactly what we wanted, so difficult in London. Staff really helpful and friendly. Would... See full review

  • Rsrs
  • Feb 28, 2014
Located just north of the financial and business district in London, the Citadines London Barbican is just around the corner from the Barbican Centre, one of Europe's largest cultural centres which is also home to the London Symphony Orchestra and Royal Shakespeare Company. Stroll around your neighbourhood, where traditional pubs and businesses still line the streets. For a bird's eye view of London, go to the top of the nearby St Paul's Cathedral to catch magnificent vistas of one of the most amazing cities in the world. Amenities are 24-hour reception, Free High speed wireless internet connection throughout the hotel,Breakfast room, Launderette, Safe deposit at reception, Wifi zone(s Pets allowed , Dry cleaning service, Daily Cleaning service on demand, Private car park, Weekly cleaning.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Citadines Barbican London also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.5 out of 5

Citadines Barbican London Rooms

Studio 2 pers
The room offers one twin sofa bed or one double sofa bed. Breakfast is available in the lounge area at 10 pp. Heating, DVD, In-room safe, High speed internet access IDD facility Satellite or cable channels, Flat screen Television set, Hairdryer Steam iron & ironing board.
One bedroom apartment
The room offers one twin bed and one double bed. Breakfast available in lounge at 10 pp, Bedroom linen Heating In-room safe DVD High speed internet access IDD facility Satellite or cable channels Television set Hairdryer Steam iron & ironing board.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Internet
WiFi

Nearby points of interest

  • Trinity College of Music: 0.2 mi
  • Museum of the Order of St John: 0.2 mi
  • Barbican Art Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Guildhall School of Music and Drama: 0.3 mi
  • Museum of London: 0.3 mi
  • Museum of London Docklands: 0.3 mi
  • Farringdon: 0.3 mi
  • St Bartholomew's Hospital Museum: 0.3 mi
  • City University London: 0.4 mi
  • Clockmakers' Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Old Bailey: 0.5 mi
  • Barbican: 0.5 mi
  • Clerkenwell: 0.6 mi
  • St. Pauls Cathedral: 0.6 mi
  • Fleet Street: 0.6 mi
  • Trinity College of Music: 0.2 mi
  • Museum of the Order of St John: 0.2 mi
  • Barbican Art Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Guildhall School of Music and Drama: 0.3 mi
  • Museum of London: 0.3 mi
  • Museum of London Docklands: 0.3 mi
  • Farringdon: 0.3 mi
  • St Bartholomew's Hospital Museum: 0.3 mi
  • City University London: 0.4 mi
  • Clockmakers' Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Old Bailey: 0.5 mi
  • Barbican: 0.5 mi
  • Clerkenwell: 0.6 mi
  • St. Pauls Cathedral: 0.6 mi
  • Fleet Street: 0.6 mi
  • Sadler's Wells Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • British Postal Museum and Archive: 0.7 mi
  • Bank of England: 0.7 mi
  • Liverpool Street Station: 0.7 mi
  • Royal Exchange: 0.7 mi
  • Tower 42: 0.8 mi
  • Broadgate Tower: 0.8 mi
  • Islington Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Charles Dickens Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Millennium Bridge: 0.8 mi
  • Temple church: 0.8 mi
  • London Astoria: 0.9 mi
  • Royal Fusiliers Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Shoreditch: 0.9 mi
  • Twinings Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Sir John Soane's Museum: 0.9 mi
  • the Gherkin: 0.9 mi
  • Tate Modern: 1 mi
  • Clink Prison Museum: 1.1 mi
  • Museum of Immigration and Diversity: 1.1 mi
  • Rose Theatre Exhibition: 1.1 mi
  • Aldwych Theatre: 1.1 mi
  • Women's Library: 1.1 mi
  • Somerset House: 1.1 mi
  • Lyceum Theatre: 1.1 mi
  • The Brunswick┬á: 1.2 mi
  • Southwark Cathedral: 1.2 mi
  • Kenwood House: 1.2 mi
  • Russell Square: 1.2 mi
  • Cartoon Museum: 1.2 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1400
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (24)

Ratings and reviews for Citadines Barbican London

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
24 out of 24
Amenities:
3.3
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
3.8
Location:
3.9
Value:
3.9

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Citadines Barbican London

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
PostGrad
Business
Dorset
Jan 25, 2014

Everything I was after!

Great location, very pleasant staff, great room amenities with hob, microwave, dishwasher, free Wifi and bath. Very quiet room. Would use again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Citadines Barbican London

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Rsrs
Business
London
Feb 28, 2014

brilliant value for money.

Provided exactly what we wanted, so difficult in London. Staff really helpful and friendly. Would definitely use again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Citadines Barbican London

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Katebell
Business
Sulphur, LA, USA
Sep 28, 2014

London Sept 2014

Very nice. Easy walk from tube. Room had small kitchen and that was fantastic! Staff was very helpful and kind. I recommend this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Tesco one block away for easy meal (prepared sandwiches and pasta) and forgotten items like toothpaste.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Citadines Barbican London

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
From Williamsburg to London
Business
Brooklyn, NY
Dec 8, 2009

Very good for the independent traveler

The "apart hotel" worked very well for us as we are budget travelers and not in need of extra frills. The kitchenette was especially handy, and we used it everyday for at least one meal. Overall we had a pleasant experience on our first trip sightseeing to London from NY. I thought the location was great - convenient, but not in the center of tourist hell. The only major problem was that there were no ventilation fans in kitchen or bathroom (although visible vents), and if we opened the window the street was too noisy (also windows directly across the way). We were in the back of the hotel, and there was a major building under construction within view. If the windows were closed then it was very quiet. Since we are from NYC this type of noise and small room were not out of the realm of our experience. The pullout bed (softish foam) and pillows (soft) were surprisingly comfortable. The ethernet connection did not work at first on my macbook pro, but I just had to restart my comp and the modem.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

The immediate area around Barbican looks ugly (concrete modern buildings), but very nearby is a very old part of town (on the way to Smithfield Market) that was interesting. Smithfield market has clubs and upscale bars, and is very similar the the Meatpacking district in Manhattan. Tesco is right by Barbican station and open till 11pm, and there is a sandwich shop open 24hrs (!) on St Johns Ln. NYers will appreciate this!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Citadines Barbican London

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Greg and Anna
Business
Eugene, OR, USA
Jul 18, 2012

Real nice place

They are located a couple blocks from an underground station with a Tesco (grocery store) on the way to the underground. Super convenient location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Citadines Barbican London

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Tanyatravels
Business
Istanbul
Aug 21, 2012

London City Center

Great Hotel located very conveniently in the center of London. The staff was AMAZING! Any thing I needed they were there to help...was like having a personal assistant. Great customer service. Note that the beds are either sofa bed or murphy bed

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Citadines Barbican London

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
hotelgirl
Business
London
Jan 21, 2013

Quiet and clean, very friendly staff

The room is fairly small once the sofabed is opened but fine when it is set up as a sofa. Very useful to have a kitchen that contained all we needed and the whole place was spotlessly clean. I'd asked for a quiet room which I was given and the staff were smiling and helpful when I wanted to use the internet in the lounge. Only downside was that the sofabed dipped a bit towards the middle and it is quite expensive. Location v close to Barbican tube.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Citadines Barbican London

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Irish Ex.Pat
Business
Dublin, Ireland
Feb 10, 2013

City Haven minutes from Business Centre

I have nothing but positive feedback for this hotel. So much so I am staying there this week. It is close to the City as well as 2 minutes walk to Barbican Tube to take you anywhere within 30 minutes around London. Great area for restaurants so even if you don't want to use your microwave, cooker and fridge you won't go hungry within 150 metres of the front door

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

To Tube, To Restaurants, To Shop. On main street for taxis and close to City and Attractions

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Citadines Barbican London

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Traveled for business
Business
NY
Mar 15, 2014

Good hotel, no daily cleanings

Stayed in a double room. The size was good, enough room to walk around. The bathroom was clean, but the tub is very narrow. I kept grazing the shower curtain while showering and I'm not very wide. There's a small kitchen that looked ok, but I didn't use it. The sheets and towels were clean. The bed wasn't the most comfortable, but I wasn't uncomfortable. There are no tissues in the room, but you can ask for them at the front desk. No small bottled shampoo and body wash, it's a large squeeze bottle attached to the wall. No conditioner. Overall, if you expect no-frills and a clean room, it will meet your needs at a price that gives you a good value for your buck.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Citadines Barbican London

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
NoiseBoy
Business
Illinois
May 23, 2014

Nice rooms for an extended stay

I arrived at the hotel at 7:30 AM intending to drop off my bags, but they found a room for me and let me check in early. The room itself was cramped, at least by American standards, but the double bed was great for this six footer. The kitchenette had a fridge, stove, microwave, toaster, and a kettle. In suite bathroom was fine and it looked like the hairdryer could double as a power adapter if you forgot to bring one. The best thing was how quite the room was. I was on the backside of the hotel on the 3rd floor, and other reviews mention the street side being noisy. I was able to sleep with the window open, it was that quiet back there! Hotel is 5 minutes from Barbican Underground Station and there is a diner across the street that I ate breakfast at every morning. A Tesco is nearby, as is a wine/liquor store and a pharmacy. Barbican is 2 tube stops from King's Cross where you can catch the Piccadilly Line to take you to central London and pretty much all of the tourist sites. I paid $200 a night for my "double" room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top