$164 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 31, 2014 Check-out: Sep 1, 2014

Citadines Barbican London

3 stars
7 Goswell Road, London, EC 1M 7AH
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
62 reviews
brilliant value for money.

Provided exactly what we wanted, so difficult in London. Staff really helpful and friendly. Would... See full review

  • Rsrs
  • Feb 28, 2014
Everything I was after!

Great location, very pleasant staff, great room amenities with hob, microwave, dishwasher, free... See full review

  • PostGrad
  • Jan 25, 2014
Located just north of the financial and business district in London, the Citadines London Barbican is just around the corner from the Barbican Centre, one of Europe's largest cultural centres which is also home to the London Symphony Orchestra and Royal Shakespeare Company. Stroll around your neighbourhood, where traditional pubs and businesses still line the streets. For a bird's eye view of London, go to the top of the nearby St Paul's Cathedral to catch magnificent vistas of one of the most amazing cities in the world. Amenities are 24-hour reception, Free High speed wireless internet connection throughout the hotel,Breakfast room, Launderette, Safe deposit at reception, Wifi zone(s Pets allowed , Dry cleaning service, Daily Cleaning service on demand, Private car park, Weekly cleaning.

Hotel Map

51.5222 -0.0976
Area served
London.
Nearby airports
Heathrow airpor (20miles/32km), Gatwick Airport(32miles/50km),City Airport(10miles/16km),Stansted Airport (35miles/56km), Luton Airport (35miles/56km).
Area description
Located just north of the financial and business district in London.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Citadines Barbican London also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.5 out of 5

Citadines Barbican London Rooms

Studio 2 pers
The room offers one twin sofa bed or one double sofa bed. Breakfast is available in the lounge area at 10 pp. Heating, DVD, In-room safe, High speed internet access IDD facility Satellite or cable channels, Flat screen Television set, Hairdryer Steam iron & ironing board.
One bedroom apartment
The room offers one twin bed and one double bed. Breakfast available in lounge at 10 pp, Bedroom linen Heating In-room safe DVD High speed internet access IDD facility Satellite or cable channels Television set Hairdryer Steam iron & ironing board.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking

Nearby points of interest

  • Trinity College of Music: 0.2 mi
  • Museum of the Order of St John: 0.2 mi
  • Barbican Art Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Guildhall School of Music and Drama: 0.3 mi
  • Museum of London: 0.3 mi
  • Museum of London Docklands: 0.3 mi
  • Farringdon: 0.3 mi
  • St Bartholomew's Hospital Museum: 0.3 mi
  • City University London: 0.4 mi
  • Clockmakers' Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Old Bailey: 0.5 mi
  • Barbican: 0.5 mi
  • Clerkenwell: 0.6 mi
  • St. Pauls Cathedral: 0.6 mi
  • Fleet Street: 0.6 mi
  • Trinity College of Music: 0.2 mi
  • Museum of the Order of St John: 0.2 mi
  • Barbican Art Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Guildhall School of Music and Drama: 0.3 mi
  • Museum of London: 0.3 mi
  • Museum of London Docklands: 0.3 mi
  • Farringdon: 0.3 mi
  • St Bartholomew's Hospital Museum: 0.3 mi
  • City University London: 0.4 mi
  • Clockmakers' Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Old Bailey: 0.5 mi
  • Barbican: 0.5 mi
  • Clerkenwell: 0.6 mi
  • St. Pauls Cathedral: 0.6 mi
  • Fleet Street: 0.6 mi
  • Sadler's Wells Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • British Postal Museum and Archive: 0.7 mi
  • Bank of England: 0.7 mi
  • Liverpool Street Station: 0.7 mi
  • Royal Exchange: 0.7 mi
  • Tower 42: 0.8 mi
  • Broadgate Tower: 0.8 mi
  • Islington Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Charles Dickens Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Millennium Bridge: 0.8 mi
  • Temple church: 0.8 mi
  • London Astoria: 0.9 mi
  • Royal Fusiliers Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Shoreditch: 0.9 mi
  • Twinings Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Sir John Soane's Museum: 0.9 mi
  • the Gherkin: 0.9 mi
  • Tate Modern: 1 mi
  • Clink Prison Museum: 1.1 mi
  • Museum of Immigration and Diversity: 1.1 mi
  • Rose Theatre Exhibition: 1.1 mi
  • Aldwych Theatre: 1.1 mi
  • Women's Library: 1.1 mi
  • Somerset House: 1.1 mi
  • Lyceum Theatre: 1.1 mi
  • The Brunswick┬á: 1.2 mi
  • Southwark Cathedral: 1.2 mi
  • Kenwood House: 1.2 mi
  • Russell Square: 1.2 mi
  • Cartoon Museum: 1.2 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1400
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (62)

Ratings and reviews for Citadines Barbican London

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
62 out of 62
Amenities:
3.7
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
3.6
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.9

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Citadines Barbican London

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Andrew
Not Provided
Jul 20, 2011

The bed whilst being a sofabed

The bed whilst being a sofabed was very comfortable and could be set up easily. Staff were helpful and well presented. Would use again both for business and leisure.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
No rating
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Citadines Barbican London

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Katie Design
Zurich, Switzerland
Aug 9, 2014

Pretty good, would stay again.

Breakfast at the hotel was too expensive in our opinion, but the rooms had kitchenettes with fridges, hobs, microwaves, hot water pots and more. I was delighted to eat breakfast in the hotel room. They thought of everything even including dish washing soap and detergent tabs for the mini dishwasher. Very impressed! Room cleaniness was a little off. The carpets in the whole building were very dirty and there were some suspicious stains on the bathroom ceiling that we didn't want to know what they were, but overall it was clean and comfortable and the beds were very nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Pick up some gluten free food and bring it back to the hotel so you don't need to worry about where to find a gluten-free breakfast!

Review of Citadines Barbican London

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Brakar
Norway
Jul 19, 2014

OK

Average. Too small room. Short way to underground :)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of Citadines Barbican London

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
NoiseBoy
Illinois
May 23, 2014

Nice rooms for an extended stay

I arrived at the hotel at 7:30 AM intending to drop off my bags, but they found a room for me and let me check in early. The room itself was cramped, at least by American standards, but the double bed was great for this six footer. The kitchenette had a fridge, stove, microwave, toaster, and a kettle. In suite bathroom was fine and it looked like the hairdryer could double as a power adapter if you forgot to bring one. The best thing was how quite the room was. I was on the backside of the hotel on the 3rd floor, and other reviews mention the street side being noisy. I was able to sleep with the window open, it was that quiet back there! Hotel is 5 minutes from Barbican Underground Station and there is a diner across the street that I ate breakfast at every morning. A Tesco is nearby, as is a wine/liquor store and a pharmacy. Barbican is 2 tube stops from King's Cross where you can catch the Piccadilly Line to take you to central London and pretty much all of the tourist sites. I paid $200 a night for my "double" room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Citadines Barbican London

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Traveled for business
Business
NY
Mar 15, 2014

Good hotel, no daily cleanings

Stayed in a double room. The size was good, enough room to walk around. The bathroom was clean, but the tub is very narrow. I kept grazing the shower curtain while showering and I'm not very wide. There's a small kitchen that looked ok, but I didn't use it. The sheets and towels were clean. The bed wasn't the most comfortable, but I wasn't uncomfortable. There are no tissues in the room, but you can ask for them at the front desk. No small bottled shampoo and body wash, it's a large squeeze bottle attached to the wall. No conditioner. Overall, if you expect no-frills and a clean room, it will meet your needs at a price that gives you a good value for your buck.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Citadines Barbican London

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Rsrs
London
Feb 28, 2014

brilliant value for money.

Provided exactly what we wanted, so difficult in London. Staff really helpful and friendly. Would definitely use again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Citadines Barbican London

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Miami Resident09876
Business
Miami
Feb 15, 2014

Close to Barbican

The hotel was close to Brabican and in walking distance to restaurants. Fair place with fair price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Try to turkish food, which is close by.

Review of Citadines Barbican London

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
PostGrad
Business
Dorset
Jan 25, 2014

Everything I was after!

Great location, very pleasant staff, great room amenities with hob, microwave, dishwasher, free Wifi and bath. Very quiet room. Would use again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Citadines Barbican London

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Ben N. London
New York
Jan 13, 2014

Affordable Lodgings

Good location and value. Negative: cooking odors in hallway.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Booking directly with the hotel may lead to the lowest rates.

Review of Citadines Barbican London

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Al E. Katz
Business
Jerusalem, Israel
Oct 9, 2013

Great for the business traveller on a budget

The positives: Great central-London location, 2 blocks from the Barbican Tube stop. Small but fully functional kitchenette in the room, saving me a hefty sum on meals. (Tesco Express is right down the block, and a big Waitrose is less than 400 meters away; ask for directions.) FREE wireless internet in the room (wired also available) with a separate computer desk. Decent, well-furnished bedroom and bathroom. The negatives: Not for the claustraphobic; getting all this good stuff into a single room means no space in which to do gymnastics before bed. Waste baskets were not emptied during the three days I was there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Citadines Barbican London

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
StP in a sui
Dublin, Ireland
May 14, 2013

This is not a hotel

I thought that I was going to a hotel and I ended up in a bedsit. I would not stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Back to menu Return to top

Change search