$122 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jul 27, 2014 Check-out: Jul 28, 2014

Church Street Hotel

4 stars
29-33 Camberwell Church Street, London, SE5 8TR
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
13 reviews
Lovely staff

Always a great night sleep, lovely breakfast and lovely staff. See full review

  • jules54
  • Apr 14, 2014
Great stay

The church street hotel was a great choice. The honor bar and the lounge were nice to have, but the... See full review

  • Gh12
  • Mar 5, 2014
Church Street Hotel features 30 lovingly designed rooms by Hermano Juaxatai, utilising traditional techniques, natural pigments, and hand crafted furnishings to encapsulate the spirit of the Spanish Americas. Alongside this traditional approach are the technological conveniences of modern living; Flatscreen TVs DVD/CD players and air conditioning feature in most rooms, while high speed Wi-Fi is complimentary throughout the hotel. Each room is furnished with Natural Korres bath products, luxurious towelling/bedding, thought provoking literature, artwork and a welcome gift of complimentary organic chocolate and Aged family Hot sauce. All residents have access to the 24hr Havana lounge, where there is a complimentary selection of Monmouth coffee/gourmet teas , while single malts, rums, tequilas, beer and wine are available for guests to write their own tab. Just beside the hotel is the Camberwell leisure centre, a newly refurbished state of the art Gym and Swimming pool with day passes available at the hotel reception desk. Organic Continental breakfast is available at a supplementary 5.00 GBP charge per person/night. Breakfast includes organic housemade bread, cereals, pastries, free-range eggs, jams and the hotel's own hot sauce. Locally sourced ingredients are used, often brought in fresh from Borough Market.

Church Street Hotel Rooms

Single - Shared Bathroom
Individually designed, Casita style rooms, with washbasin, Mexicasa tiles, Premium Natural L'Occitane Amenities, Luxurious bedding and toweling, Complimentary High Speed Wi-Fi, Flatscreen TV's. Bathroom is shared on busy nights with a Maximum of 2 rooms to one bathroom.External shower/toilet 24 hour access to Havana bar/lounge.
Double - Shared Btahroom
Individually designed, Colourwashed and Sensual colour scheme rooms, with washbasin, Mexicasa tiles, Premium Natural L'Occitane Amenities, Luxurious bedding and toweling, Complimentary High Speed Wi-Fi, Flatscreen TV's. Bathroom is shared on busy nights with a Maximum of 2 rooms to one bathroom. External shower/toilet 24 hour access to Havana bar/lounge.
Single En-suite
Individually designed, Colourwashed rooms, Mexicasa bathrooms, Premium Natural L'Occitane Amenities, Mostly Hand Forged Ironwork Beds, Luxurious bedding and toweling, Complimentary High Speed Wi-Fi, Flatscreen TVs and DVD Players. 24 hour access to Havana bar/lounge
Standard Double En-suite
Individually designed, Colourwashed rooms, Mexicasa bathrooms, Premium Natural l'Occitane Amenities, Mostly Hand Forged Ironwork Beds, Luxurious bedding and toweling, Complimentary High Speed Wi-Fi, Flatscreen TVs and DVD Players. 24 hour access to Havana bar/lounge
Superior King En-suite
Individually designed, Colourwashed rooms, Mexicasa bathrooms, Premium Natural L'Occitane Amenities, Mostly Hand Forged Ironwork Beds, Luxurious bedding and toweling, Complimentary High Speed Wi-Fi, Flatscreen TVs and DVD Players. 24 hour access to Havana bar/lounge
Deluxe King En-suite
Individually designed, Colourwashed rooms, Mexicasa bathrooms, Premium Natural L'Occitane Amenities, Mostly Hand Forged Ironwork Beds, Luxurious bedding and toweling, Complimentary High Speed Wi-Fi, Flatscreen TVs and DVD Players. 24 hour access to Havana bar/lounge

Amenities

  • WiFi
Dining
Restaurant
Internet
WiFi

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Church Street Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 1.0 out of 5

Hotel Map

51.4739 -0.0903
Area served
Camberwell. South East London
Nearby airports
Gatwick, Heathrow and City Airports
Area description
Centrally located in Zone 2 Camberwell Green and with a long standing Energetic local Art scene, effervescent Night life, and wealth of local eateries , Church Street Hotel is the ideal base from which to experience both tourist & local London. Camberwell has a thriving Music and Art Scene, with nearby venues such as the South London Gallery, Brixton Academy, the Fridge, Ministry of Sound displaying the best of British and World Talent. .Great local gastro pubs and eateries offer mouth watering cuisine from all over the world.. With Regular buses 24 hrs leaving from outside the hotel , Londons tourist attractions, such as Buckingham palace, Houses of Parliament, Oxford Circus, etc are but a 20 minute bus-ride away.

Nearby points of interest

  • South London Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • Brixton Art Gallery: 1.1 mi
  • Brixton Academy: 1.2 mi
  • The Oval: 1.3 mi
  • Kennington: 1.4 mi
  • Lambeth: 1.4 mi
  • Cinema Museum: 1.4 mi
  • Peckham: 1.4 mi
  • Elephant & Castle Shopping Centre : 1.5 mi
  • Vauxhall: 1.7 mi
  • Imperial War Museum: 1.7 mi
  • Fashion and Textile Museum: 1.8 mi
  • London South Bank University: 1.8 mi
  • Vauxhall Bridge: 1.8 mi
  • Royal Pharmaceutical Society Museum: 1.9 mi
  • South London Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • Brixton Art Gallery: 1.1 mi
  • Brixton Academy: 1.2 mi
  • The Oval: 1.3 mi
  • Kennington: 1.4 mi
  • Lambeth: 1.4 mi
  • Cinema Museum: 1.4 mi
  • Peckham: 1.4 mi
  • Elephant & Castle Shopping Centre : 1.5 mi
  • Vauxhall: 1.7 mi
  • Imperial War Museum: 1.7 mi
  • Fashion and Textile Museum: 1.8 mi
  • London South Bank University: 1.8 mi
  • Vauxhall Bridge: 1.8 mi
  • Royal Pharmaceutical Society Museum: 1.9 mi
  • Borough: 1.9 mi
  • Dulwich Picture Gallery: 1.9 mi
  • Southwark: 2 mi
  • Tate Britain: 2 mi
  • London Film Museum: 2 mi
  • London Fire Brigade Museum: 2 mi
  • Westminster Cathedral: 2 mi
  • Florence Nightingale Museum: 2.1 mi
  • The Shard: 2.1 mi
  • Design Museum: 2.2 mi
  • London Bridge Station: 2.2 mi
  • City Hall: 2.2 mi
  • British Red Cross Museum and Archives: 2.2 mi
  • London Dungeon: 2.2 mi
  • Pimlico: 2.2 mi
  • Winston Churchill's Britain At War Experience: 2.2 mi
  • Kenwood House: 2.2 mi
  • Southwark Cathedral: 2.2 mi
  • Rose Theatre Exhibition: 2.3 mi
  • South Bank: 2.3 mi
  • Waterloo station: 2.3 mi
  • Clink Prison Museum: 2.3 mi
  • HMS Belfast: 2.3 mi
  • London Aquarium: 2.3 mi
  • Jewel Tower: 2.3 mi
  • Westminster Abbey Museum: 2.4 mi
  • Palace of Westminster: 2.4 mi
  • Big Ben: 2.4 mi
  • River Thames: 2.4 mi
  • Westminster Dragoons Museum: 2.4 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Designed in the Havana style of old, the CHST lounge, with its high ceiling, colonial fans, oak blinds, American Walnut Paneling, natural stonewash colouration, exudes the warmth and welcoming spirit you ill find in a traditional Latin environment. A place to unwind and feel at home; Guests can help themselves to complimentary gourmet teas and Monmouth coffee while those feeling adventurous can mix themselves a drink at the honour bar, where there is a connoisseurs selection of single malts, rums, tequilas, spirits, wines and Spanish/American beers

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
0200
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (13)

Ratings and reviews for Church Street Hotel

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
7 out of 13
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.7
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
3.9
Value:
4.4

100% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Church Street Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
jules54
uk
Apr 14, 2014

Lovely staff

Always a great night sleep, lovely breakfast and lovely staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Review of Church Street Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
David Diaz
Los Angeles, CA
Oct 23, 2012

Perfect for Me

At first when I booked my room at Church St. Hotel I was a little skeptical because it was so cheap and by the looks of the pictures it looked very average. I'm from the US and am working in Paris but wanted to take a weekend off to visit some family in London. I couldn't find ANYTHING under 100 pounds a night and most places were very far from my family in Camberwell. Well what do you know- this place was right round the corner from my aunts house and only 79 pounds a night. At that point, and that price, I couldn't refuse (even if it was disgusting) because I needed to save wherever I could. Wowzers, when I got there it was apparent that the place had recently been renovated. The front desk girl (Bo) was incredibly warm and welcoming, as was the rest of the staff that I met during my stay. I was also worried about the shared bathroom situation, but I never once saw the other person and the bathrooms (which have also recently been redone and beautiful btw) are cleaned twice a day. Breakfast served from 7-10am in the dinning room. It was perfect for what I needed during my weekend getaway and I highly recommend it to anyone who might be in a similar situation and is hesitant- this place was/is great!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Church Street Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Youngstown, OH
May 14, 2011

Fabulous!

Lovely and brilliant. This hotel was a home away from home. It's quaint and personal and all the staff is very friendly. I felt very well taken care of.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Church Street Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Irina 4
Cyprus
Jun 17, 2013

nice hotel with economic aspects

Very friendly staff, small but very tidy and clean rooms, crystal clear towels, fresh juice on breakfast with delicious croissants and fresh bread. It takes about 30 minutes to get to the center by a double-decker and tube.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Review of Church Street Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Youngstown, OH
May 14, 2011

Fabulous!

Lovely and brilliant. This hotel was a home away from home. It's quaint and personal and all the staff is very friendly. I felt very well taken care of.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Church Street Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
London Traveler
Arlington, VA, USA
Oct 21, 2011

Very Helpful staff

Here's my opinion. The hotel was small, had very steep steps (no elevator). Nevertheless I found the hotel staff to be extremely helpful. They helped me with getting around the city by providing a map and instructions on using public transit. As for the room I found it to be suitable for my stay. Because there was no closet I stored by suitcase under the bed. I liked the fact that they provided free internet. I stayed for 1 week and the last 3 days they stopped providing a fresh wash-cloth but did provide towels. The hotel is located in a working class neighborhood. If you're a light sleeper I suggest bringing ear plugs due to vehicle traffic at night (it didn't bother me). This was my first trip to London so I can't compare this hotel to any other. I loved London's public transit, they have buses that travel to subway/train stations 24 hours a day. I would stay at the hotel again and I would recommend it to a friend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Dining tip: In Hotel

There's a restaurant next door. If you dine there ask specific questions about the food you would like to order. I was not pleased with my meal selection, it was not what I expected. They will offer you bread and charge you for it.

Review of Church Street Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
shivaprakash
India
Feb 28, 2012

Simple & Special

The room was nicely decked up with clean amenities. Helpful front desk. I would surely look at being there again....

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Good Italian and Turkish restaurants wirthin few steps.

Back to menu Return to top