$260 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 18, 2014 Check-out: Sep 20, 2014

Charing Cross - A Guoman Hotel

4 stars
Charing Cross, The Strand,, London, WC2N 5HX
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
88 reviews
Terrific stay!

Fabulous hotel for a great price. Perfect location next to Charing Cross tube station and one block... See full review

  • Fit it's nc TJ
  • Sep 5, 2014
Great location!

Hotel located right next door to Charing Cross airport so can get to from Gatwick and Heathrow very... See full review

  • Wendy99
  • Aug 19, 2014
Timeless elegance near Trafalgar Square
Charing Cross - A Guoman Hotel is a modern boutique offering convenient distance to The Strand and Trafalgar Square. This deluxe hotel offers elegant accommodations outfitted with contemporary comforts to provide a more relaxed stay. Charing Cross - A Guoman Hotel features classic British and International cuisine served in elegant surroundings at The Brasserie restaurant. Patrons can also enjoy a sip of cocktails or a bottle of champagne at Eleanor's Cocktail Bar on site. The hotel hosts corporate and social events at any of the nine beautifully structured meeting rooms, including a ballroom that can accommodate up to 200 guests. Gym, Wi-Fi access, business centre and limousine airport transfer are also on offer for added convenience.
3 Reasons To Stay
  • Boutique hotel overlooking The Strand and Trafalgar Square
  • In-house restaurant serving classic British and International cuisine
  • Elegant rooms and excellent meeting facilities
Charing Cross - A Guoman Hotel Rooms
Charing Cross Hotel features stylish and well-proportioned accommodation units with spell binding panoramas of The Strand and Trafalgar Square. Each room is equipped with sitting area and modern essentials including iPod docking station, plasma-screen TV,  wireless Internet access, coffee and tea making facilities, hair dryer, safe deposit box and work desk. The hotel also offers a selection of suites with greater space, heated bathroom flooring and rain showers.
Things To Do
  • Trafalgar Square (0.1 mi/0.2 km)
  • Nelson's Column (0.1mi/0.2 km)
  • National Portrait Gallery (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • National Gallery (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • Covent Garden Market (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • Admiralty Arch (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • Transport Museum (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
  • Royal Opera House (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
  • Courtauld Gallery (0.4mi/0.6 km)
  • Buckingham Palace (0.9 mi/1.4 km)

Hotel Map

51.5087 -0.1248
Area served
Charing Cross, The Strand, Trafalgar Square, Covent Gardens
Nearby airports
Heathrow Airport, (LHR), 20.00, E, miles; Gatwick Airport, (LGW), 34.00, NE, miles
Area description
At The Charing Cross Hotel, you're just yards from Trafalgar Square and the National Gallery; from Charing Cross Tube station, which is literally next door, you're just one stop away from Leicester Square and Piccadilly Circus, while Covent Garden and all the West End shops and theatres are within easy walking distance.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Charing Cross - A Guoman Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

Charing Cross - A Guoman Hotel Rooms

Deluxe Single
In each of our Deluxe Single bedrooms you'll find new mattresses and pure Egyptian cotton bed linen to ensure you have a comfortable stay with us. As we want to satisfy all our guests you will not have to expect a Single bed. All our Deluxe Singles are equipped with a queen-size bed. The little things that, when you add them together, aren't so little after all. Upgraded, unlimited Wi-Fi with our compliments for all guests. Faster: seamless 'Business Grade' wi-fi throughout our hotels Safer: secure connectivity includes a security download Everywhere: faster connections throughout all our hotels
Deluxe Double
If you're with us on business, our spacious, comfortable Deluxe Double bedrooms are the perfect place to relax and recharge. As well as everything you'd expect from a Central London luxury hotel, these rooms include some extra touches that are uniquely Guoman. Upgraded, unlimited Wi-Fi with our compliments for all guests. Faster: seamless 'Business Grade' wi-fi throughout our hotels Safer: secure connectivity includes a security download Everywhere: faster connections throughout all our hotels
Deluxe Twin
A Deluxe room promises something extra. As well as everything you'd expect from Central London luxury hotels, these rooms include some extra touches that are uniquely Guoman, including Egyptian cotton bed linen, complimentary bathrobes and slippers, and a 32" plasma TV. From many of these rooms, you can enjoy views over The Strand. Upgraded, unlimited Wi-Fi with our compliments for all guests. Faster: seamless 'Business Grade' wi-fi throughout our hotels Safer: secure connectivity includes a security download Everywhere: faster connections throughout all our hotels
Execuitve Double
Our newly refurbished Executive Double bedrooms combine sumptuous, spacious accommodation with one of the capital's most desirable postcodes. As well as a large bedroom and walk-in shower, you have a separate sitting area - perfect for working, entertaining or simply relaxing in your own space. Luxury touches abound within our Executive Wing. Our newly designed rooms feature rain showers, heated flooring, stylish Italian bathroom fittings and mist-free mirrors, and guests can enjoy private checkout and concierge services. Upgraded, unlimited Wi-Fi with our compliments for all guests. Faster: seamless 'Business Grade' wi-fi throughout our hotels Safer: secure connectivity includes a security download Everywhere: faster connections throughout all our hotels
Executive Twin
Our newly refurbished Executive Twin bedrooms combine sumptuous, spacious accommodation with one of the capital's most desirable postcodes. As well as a large bedroom and walk-in shower, you have a separate sitting area - perfect for working, entertaining or simply relaxing in your own space. Luxury touches abound within our Executive Wing. Our newly designed rooms feature rain showers, heated flooring, stylish Italian bathroom fittings and mist-free mirrors, and guests can enjoy private checkout and concierge services.
Executive King
The ultimate way to experience our luxury hotel near Trafalgar Square If you're planning a longer stay in London, or just want the best and most of all the Charing Cross hotel has to offer, our newly refurbished Executive King bedrooms combine sumptuous, spacious accommodation with one of the capital's most desirable postcodes. As well as a large bedroom and walk-in shower, you have a separate sitting area - perfect for working, entertaining or simply relaxing in your own space. Luxury touches abound within our Executive Wing. Our newly designed rooms feature rain showers, heated flooring, stylish Italian bathroom fittings and mist-free mirrors, and guests can enjoy private checkout and concierge services.
Junior Suite
Charing Cross has air-conditioned Junior Suites available with many having views over The Strand. The suites offer luxurious room amenities, a comfortable seating area and a walk in shower to enhance your stay. The suites also offer facilities like air-conditioning, flat-screen TV, BT Openzone wireless internet access, tea and coffee making facilities and Egyptian cotton bed linen.

Amenities

  • Free internet in room
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Internet
Free internet in room
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Public areas wheelchair accessible for disabled
Wheelchair accessible elevators

Nearby points of interest

  • Charing Cross station: 0 mi
  • British Music Experience: 0.1 mi
  • British Optical Association Museum: 0.1 mi
  • Benjamin Franklin House: 0.1 mi
  • Adelphi Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • National Portrait Gallery: 0.1 mi
  • Canada House Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Nelson's Column: 0.2 mi
  • National Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Trafalgar Square: 0.2 mi
  • Port of London: 0.2 mi
  • London School of Economics: 0.2 mi
  • Admiralty Arch: 0.2 mi
  • Courtauld Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • London Transport Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Charing Cross station: 0 mi
  • British Music Experience: 0.1 mi
  • British Optical Association Museum: 0.1 mi
  • Benjamin Franklin House: 0.1 mi
  • Adelphi Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • National Portrait Gallery: 0.1 mi
  • Canada House Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Nelson's Column: 0.2 mi
  • National Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Trafalgar Square: 0.2 mi
  • Port of London: 0.2 mi
  • London School of Economics: 0.2 mi
  • Admiralty Arch: 0.2 mi
  • Courtauld Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • London Transport Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Old Operating Theatre Museum and Herb Garret: 0.3 mi
  • Leicester Square: 0.3 mi
  • Institute of Contemporary Arts: 0.3 mi
  • Transport Museum: 0.3 mi
  • the Strand: 0.3 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.3 mi
  • London Chinatown: 0.4 mi
  • Lyceum Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • West End: 0.4 mi
  • Somerset House: 0.4 mi
  • Thomas Neal Centre : 0.4 mi
  • Royal Festival Hall: 0.4 mi
  • Shaftesbury Avenue: 0.4 mi
  • Aldwych Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Royal Opera House: 0.4 mi
  • Hayward Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • London Eye: 0.4 mi
  • Piccadilly Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • London Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Cabinet War Rooms and Churchill Museum: 0.5 mi
  • St James's Park: 0.5 mi
  • London Aquarium: 0.5 mi
  • Soho: 0.6 mi
  • Big Ben: 0.6 mi
  • River Thames: 0.6 mi
  • St. James's Park: 0.6 mi
  • South Bank: 0.6 mi
  • Waterloo station: 0.6 mi
  • Palace of Westminster: 0.6 mi
  • National Army Museum: 0.6 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Our meetings and events facilities at The Charing Cross Hotel are entirely self-contained, giving you the privacy you need to focus on business, or enjoy your big day in uninterrupted splendour. And with mainline and Tube stations literally next door to the hotel, it's the perfect place to bring people together in London. Bring luxury and glamour to your next meeting or event Our largest space is the magnificent Betjeman Suite, which can accommodate up to 350 guests. Its marble pillars, elegant sculpted ceiling and glittering chandeliers are exactly as they would have been in the hotel's Victorian heyday. We have a choice of eight further meeting rooms, suitable for private lunch or dinner parties, receptions, awards ceremonies and other functions. Located on the first floor, they all offer generous amounts of natural light.

Dining

Eleanor's Cocktail Bar
Eleanor's Bar at Charing Cross, London is the perfect place to enjoy a pre-dinner cocktail, a celebratory bottle of Champagne, a get-together with friends or a bite to eat in intimate and stylish surroundings. Sit back and relax in one of the most atmospheric bars in London. Bar Food and Light Meals served.
The Lounge
Victorian grandeur, contemporary furnishings and dcor, and our staff's discreet yet attentive service make the Lounge a calm, sumptuous place to relax. Settle back and savour our famous London Afternoon Tea, accompanied by magnificent views over The Strand and Trafalgar Square. Sit back, relax and enjoy the great atmosphere of this Central London hotel.
The Brasserie at Charing Cross
Our stylish new Brasserie serves classic British and international cuisine in relaxed, elegant surroundings. With the hotel near Theatreland, it's the ideal choice for a pre-show dinner or a long lunch after a morning in the West End.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (88)

Ratings and reviews for Charing Cross - A Guoman Hotel

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
18 out of 88
Amenities:
4.4
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.6
Room comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.9
Value:
4.2

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Charing Cross - A Guoman Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
HYJCW
Princeton, New Jercey
Aug 18, 2014

Wonderful Experience

Friendly staffs, nice environment, and perfect location in London

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Charing Cross - A Guoman Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
YairShoham
Israel
Jul 30, 2014

Very good value

Extremely helpful and receptive staff. Great location. Excellent breakfast and convenient lounge. Helped us with late checkout. Only negative was the air conditioning which was not as powerful as we would have liked it to be. Highly recommended

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Charing Cross - A Guoman Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
SRSR
USA
Jun 3, 2014

Great central location, nice lounge and rooms

The room was very clean and well laid out. The floors were creaking and the noise bothered me quite a bit. The bathrooms were very modern with great accessories, but I expected them to be bigger for this price. The lounge and breakfast service that were included in my price was excellent. We were able to walk to most attractions in central London from this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Charing Cross - A Guoman Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Eileen traveler
Connecticut
May 31, 2014

Perfect location, excellent staff

The location couldn't be better and the staff was outstanding. Helpful and courteous. I would stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Charing Cross - A Guoman Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
NYER2014
Ny ny
Mar 21, 2014

Great stay at Charing Cross

From the moment we arrived until after we checked out and had extra time before our flight, the staff was helpful and went above and beyond in service ! We loved our stay!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Charing Cross - A Guoman Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Shauna
Co Galway Ireland
Nov 19, 2013

Fantastic family getaway.

Check in to check out was overall a fantastic experience. Staff was very friendly. Breakfast was delicious and hot. Service was excellent.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Charing Cross - A Guoman Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Nick789
NYC
Jun 22, 2013

Excellent Hotel

The room, staff and amenities were excellent. It was everything I'd expect from a 4 star hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Use the metro. A day pass is 7 GBP and the system is very clean/fast.

Review of Charing Cross - A Guoman Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Queenside
Florida
Jun 16, 2013

First time in London

Wow! What a beautiful hotel. Close to everything! Staff was the best. Ankita was so polite! Will stay there again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Right below the hotel is a grocery called Mark and Soencer. Quick sandwiches and drinks to go.

Review of Charing Cross - A Guoman Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Observant Traveler JEB
Washington, DC
Apr 1, 2013

Guoman Hotel at Charing Cross

This is a beautiful hotel very conveniently located at the Charing Cross Underground station. The staff at this hotel are incredibly helpful and professional. They truly go 'above and beyond' to accommodate their guests. The 24 hr bar, sunny dining room, free WiFi and so many other amenities make this a truly delightful place to stay in London. There are also numerous cafes, pubs and an incredible wine bar (Gordon's) very nearby the hotel. The theatre district is also close by. My family has stayed at this hotel several times and we are always very pleased.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Make a point of checking out Gordon's Wine Bar. You'll think you are entering a dusty cave but it's just part of the ambiance and the charm. The wait staff are friendly and knowledgeable and the crowd has always been jovial.

Review of Charing Cross - A Guoman Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Globalintentions
tampa, florida
Mar 15, 2013

Excellent location at Trafalgar square

The hotel is centrally located. It borders Trafalgar square and is close to most major attractions-Big Ben, Westminster Abbey, etc. The hotel is also next to the Charing Cross Tube stop. Everything is very close by. The location could not have been better! The hotel's staff is excellent. Beautiful dining room for breakfast. Candles on staircase. The basic room is relatively small compared to US standards, but very comfortable. I will return to this hotel during all future visits to London.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Back to menu Return to top

Change search