$293 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Oct 10, 2014 Check-out: Oct 11, 2014

Charing Cross - A Guoman Hotel

4 stars
Charing Cross, The Strand,, London, WC2N 5HX
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
88 reviews
Terrific stay!

Fabulous hotel for a great price. Perfect location next to Charing Cross tube station and one block... See full review

  • Fit it's nc TJ
  • Sep 5, 2014
Great location!

Hotel located right next door to Charing Cross airport so can get to from Gatwick and Heathrow very... See full review

  • Wendy99
  • Aug 19, 2014
Timeless elegance near Trafalgar Square
Charing Cross - A Guoman Hotel is a modern boutique offering convenient distance to The Strand and Trafalgar Square. This deluxe hotel offers elegant accommodations outfitted with contemporary comforts to provide a more relaxed stay. Charing Cross - A Guoman Hotel features classic British and International cuisine served in elegant surroundings at The Brasserie restaurant. Patrons can also enjoy a sip of cocktails or a bottle of champagne at Eleanor's Cocktail Bar on site. The hotel hosts corporate and social events at any of the nine beautifully structured meeting rooms, including a ballroom that can accommodate up to 200 guests. Gym, Wi-Fi access, business centre and limousine airport transfer are also on offer for added convenience.
3 Reasons To Stay
  • Boutique hotel overlooking The Strand and Trafalgar Square
  • In-house restaurant serving classic British and International cuisine
  • Elegant rooms and excellent meeting facilities
Charing Cross - A Guoman Hotel Rooms
Charing Cross Hotel features stylish and well-proportioned accommodation units with spell binding panoramas of The Strand and Trafalgar Square. Each room is equipped with sitting area and modern essentials including iPod docking station, plasma-screen TV,  wireless Internet access, coffee and tea making facilities, hair dryer, safe deposit box and work desk. The hotel also offers a selection of suites with greater space, heated bathroom flooring and rain showers.
Things To Do
  • Trafalgar Square (0.1 mi/0.2 km)
  • Nelson's Column (0.1mi/0.2 km)
  • National Portrait Gallery (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • National Gallery (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • Covent Garden Market (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • Admiralty Arch (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • Transport Museum (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
  • Royal Opera House (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
  • Courtauld Gallery (0.4mi/0.6 km)
  • Buckingham Palace (0.9 mi/1.4 km)

Hotel Map

51.5087 -0.1248
Area served
Charing Cross, The Strand, Trafalgar Square, Covent Gardens
Nearby airports
Heathrow Airport, (LHR), 20.00, E, miles; Gatwick Airport, (LGW), 34.00, NE, miles
Area description
At The Charing Cross Hotel, you're just yards from Trafalgar Square and the National Gallery; from Charing Cross Tube station, which is literally next door, you're just one stop away from Leicester Square and Piccadilly Circus, while Covent Garden and all the West End shops and theatres are within easy walking distance.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Charing Cross - A Guoman Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

Charing Cross - A Guoman Hotel Rooms

Deluxe Single
In each of our Deluxe Single bedrooms you'll find new mattresses and pure Egyptian cotton bed linen to ensure you have a comfortable stay with us. As we want to satisfy all our guests you will not have to expect a Single bed. All our Deluxe Singles are equipped with a queen-size bed. The little things that, when you add them together, aren't so little after all. Upgraded, unlimited Wi-Fi with our compliments for all guests. Faster: seamless 'Business Grade' wi-fi throughout our hotels Safer: secure connectivity includes a security download Everywhere: faster connections throughout all our hotels
Deluxe Double
If you're with us on business, our spacious, comfortable Deluxe Double bedrooms are the perfect place to relax and recharge. As well as everything you'd expect from a Central London luxury hotel, these rooms include some extra touches that are uniquely Guoman. Upgraded, unlimited Wi-Fi with our compliments for all guests. Faster: seamless 'Business Grade' wi-fi throughout our hotels Safer: secure connectivity includes a security download Everywhere: faster connections throughout all our hotels
Deluxe Twin
A Deluxe room promises something extra. As well as everything you'd expect from Central London luxury hotels, these rooms include some extra touches that are uniquely Guoman, including Egyptian cotton bed linen, complimentary bathrobes and slippers, and a 32" plasma TV. From many of these rooms, you can enjoy views over The Strand. Upgraded, unlimited Wi-Fi with our compliments for all guests. Faster: seamless 'Business Grade' wi-fi throughout our hotels Safer: secure connectivity includes a security download Everywhere: faster connections throughout all our hotels
Execuitve Double
Our newly refurbished Executive Double bedrooms combine sumptuous, spacious accommodation with one of the capital's most desirable postcodes. As well as a large bedroom and walk-in shower, you have a separate sitting area - perfect for working, entertaining or simply relaxing in your own space. Luxury touches abound within our Executive Wing. Our newly designed rooms feature rain showers, heated flooring, stylish Italian bathroom fittings and mist-free mirrors, and guests can enjoy private checkout and concierge services. Upgraded, unlimited Wi-Fi with our compliments for all guests. Faster: seamless 'Business Grade' wi-fi throughout our hotels Safer: secure connectivity includes a security download Everywhere: faster connections throughout all our hotels
Executive Twin
Our newly refurbished Executive Twin bedrooms combine sumptuous, spacious accommodation with one of the capital's most desirable postcodes. As well as a large bedroom and walk-in shower, you have a separate sitting area - perfect for working, entertaining or simply relaxing in your own space. Luxury touches abound within our Executive Wing. Our newly designed rooms feature rain showers, heated flooring, stylish Italian bathroom fittings and mist-free mirrors, and guests can enjoy private checkout and concierge services.
Executive King
The ultimate way to experience our luxury hotel near Trafalgar Square If you're planning a longer stay in London, or just want the best and most of all the Charing Cross hotel has to offer, our newly refurbished Executive King bedrooms combine sumptuous, spacious accommodation with one of the capital's most desirable postcodes. As well as a large bedroom and walk-in shower, you have a separate sitting area - perfect for working, entertaining or simply relaxing in your own space. Luxury touches abound within our Executive Wing. Our newly designed rooms feature rain showers, heated flooring, stylish Italian bathroom fittings and mist-free mirrors, and guests can enjoy private checkout and concierge services.
Junior Suite
Charing Cross has air-conditioned Junior Suites available with many having views over The Strand. The suites offer luxurious room amenities, a comfortable seating area and a walk in shower to enhance your stay. The suites also offer facilities like air-conditioning, flat-screen TV, BT Openzone wireless internet access, tea and coffee making facilities and Egyptian cotton bed linen.

Amenities

  • Free internet in room
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Internet
Free internet in room
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Public areas wheelchair accessible for disabled
Wheelchair accessible elevators

Nearby points of interest

  • Charing Cross station: 0 mi
  • British Music Experience: 0.1 mi
  • British Optical Association Museum: 0.1 mi
  • Benjamin Franklin House: 0.1 mi
  • Adelphi Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • National Portrait Gallery: 0.1 mi
  • Canada House Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Nelson's Column: 0.2 mi
  • National Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Trafalgar Square: 0.2 mi
  • Port of London: 0.2 mi
  • London School of Economics: 0.2 mi
  • Admiralty Arch: 0.2 mi
  • Courtauld Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • London Transport Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Charing Cross station: 0 mi
  • British Music Experience: 0.1 mi
  • British Optical Association Museum: 0.1 mi
  • Benjamin Franklin House: 0.1 mi
  • Adelphi Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • National Portrait Gallery: 0.1 mi
  • Canada House Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Nelson's Column: 0.2 mi
  • National Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Trafalgar Square: 0.2 mi
  • Port of London: 0.2 mi
  • London School of Economics: 0.2 mi
  • Admiralty Arch: 0.2 mi
  • Courtauld Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • London Transport Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Old Operating Theatre Museum and Herb Garret: 0.3 mi
  • Leicester Square: 0.3 mi
  • Institute of Contemporary Arts: 0.3 mi
  • Transport Museum: 0.3 mi
  • the Strand: 0.3 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.3 mi
  • London Chinatown: 0.4 mi
  • Lyceum Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • West End: 0.4 mi
  • Somerset House: 0.4 mi
  • Thomas Neal Centre : 0.4 mi
  • Royal Festival Hall: 0.4 mi
  • Shaftesbury Avenue: 0.4 mi
  • Aldwych Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Royal Opera House: 0.4 mi
  • Hayward Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • London Eye: 0.4 mi
  • Piccadilly Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • London Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Cabinet War Rooms and Churchill Museum: 0.5 mi
  • St James's Park: 0.5 mi
  • London Aquarium: 0.5 mi
  • Soho: 0.6 mi
  • Big Ben: 0.6 mi
  • River Thames: 0.6 mi
  • St. James's Park: 0.6 mi
  • South Bank: 0.6 mi
  • Waterloo station: 0.6 mi
  • Palace of Westminster: 0.6 mi
  • National Army Museum: 0.6 mi

Dining

Eleanor's Cocktail Bar
Eleanor's Bar at Charing Cross, London is the perfect place to enjoy a pre-dinner cocktail, a celebratory bottle of Champagne, a get-together with friends or a bite to eat in intimate and stylish surroundings. Sit back and relax in one of the most atmospheric bars in London. Bar Food and Light Meals served.
The Lounge
Victorian grandeur, contemporary furnishings and dcor, and our staff's discreet yet attentive service make the Lounge a calm, sumptuous place to relax. Settle back and savour our famous London Afternoon Tea, accompanied by magnificent views over The Strand and Trafalgar Square. Sit back, relax and enjoy the great atmosphere of this Central London hotel.
The Brasserie at Charing Cross
Our stylish new Brasserie serves classic British and international cuisine in relaxed, elegant surroundings. With the hotel near Theatreland, it's the ideal choice for a pre-show dinner or a long lunch after a morning in the West End.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Our meetings and events facilities at The Charing Cross Hotel are entirely self-contained, giving you the privacy you need to focus on business, or enjoy your big day in uninterrupted splendour. And with mainline and Tube stations literally next door to the hotel, it's the perfect place to bring people together in London. Bring luxury and glamour to your next meeting or event Our largest space is the magnificent Betjeman Suite, which can accommodate up to 350 guests. Its marble pillars, elegant sculpted ceiling and glittering chandeliers are exactly as they would have been in the hotel's Victorian heyday. We have a choice of eight further meeting rooms, suitable for private lunch or dinner parties, receptions, awards ceremonies and other functions. Located on the first floor, they all offer generous amounts of natural light.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (88)

Ratings and reviews for Charing Cross - A Guoman Hotel

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
88 out of 88
Amenities:
4.2
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.6
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.9
Value:
4.2

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Charing Cross - A Guoman Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Frequent Traveler from US
Chicago, Illinois
Sep 9, 2014

Good location - close to Trafalgar Square

This hotel is okay for the location. It is close to Trafalgar Square. However, the more happening places in London are at Picadilli Circus and the Theater district. I would recommend booking a different hotel near those places.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Charing Cross - A Guoman Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
English Rugby Fan
Boston, MA
Sep 8, 2014

Great location but niosy all night

First the good- excellent location, very close and convenient to major attractions, tube station. Hotel is clean, staff very professional and courteous. Now the bad- this hotel is located in a very busy active area with restaurants and bars surrounding, there are also musical street performers playing late in the night. I would hear loud music, yelling, talking and laughing until the very early hours in the morning from my room. If a good night sleep while on vacation is important to you I would suggest staying elsewhere. Is it like this in all sections of the hotel, not sure but based on the hotel layout I cannot imagine that noise is not a concern. Would I stay here again, yes but would request a room on a higher floor.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Dining in London is very expensive, there are however very good food alternatives. Marks and Spencer as well as the Pret stores have a wide arrange of prepared foods from sandwiches to salads and can be found all over the city. Prices are very reasonable if you are on a budget.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Charing Cross - A Guoman Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Tricia Traveler
Brooklyn NY
Sep 8, 2014

Charing Cross Hotel Guoman

Although the lobby is under renovation (which limits congregating there for the next few weeks) the staff was fabulous and the rooms quite nice. The location was perfect for getting everywhere whether by foot, underground or rail. If you are sensitive to noise (night time street performers etc) this may not be the perfect spot for you - but we were quite happy here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Boccaccio Di Lupo at 12 Archer Street. Excellent excellent excellent! Ask around for recommendations from locals -- that's how we found this spot!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Charing Cross - A Guoman Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Fit it's nc TJ
Fort Lauderdale
Sep 5, 2014

Terrific stay!

Fabulous hotel for a great price. Perfect location next to Charing Cross tube station and one block from Embankment. Newly renovated and very well done. Stayed in an Executive room on the third floor facing the Strand and noise was not an issue. Be sure to ask for a room with a bathtub, these room are larger than rooms with shower only. Very helpful friendly staff took care of our every request.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Buy a visitor Oyster card good for all Underground/bus/train travel as soon as you arrive. You get a discount on fares and you can put any preset amount on it. Very convenient from Heathrow...took the Picadilly line to the Bakerloo line. Get off at the Charing Cross stop which is next to front steps of hotel, total cost only 5 pounds on Oyster!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Charing Cross - A Guoman Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Wendy99
Chicago, il
Aug 19, 2014

Great location!

Hotel located right next door to Charing Cross airport so can get to from Gatwick and Heathrow very easily. Free wifi at hotel. Very close to key tourist attractions, shopping and river. Would stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Charing Cross - A Guoman Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
HYJCW
Princeton, New Jercey
Aug 18, 2014

Wonderful Experience

Friendly staffs, nice environment, and perfect location in London

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Charing Cross - A Guoman Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
J San Fran
San Francisco
Aug 12, 2014

Classy comfort in a prime location

Top notch service and facilities in the center of it all. Staff were incredibly attentive and helpful - and the little details like a complimentary glass of champagne every evening or fresh juice every morning really made the stay memorable. Room was quiet but a bit warm (air conditioning was not great and London was actually hot and sunny). Would definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Entertainment tip: Not Applicable

Buy tickets for major tourist attractions online just before you go. It allows you to skip some very long lines!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Charing Cross - A Guoman Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Gravesham Rick
Gravesend
Aug 8, 2014

Great stay

The staff were fantastic . The location was perfect. The room was great though the bed a tad hard and the air con kept faulting out. I did report it and they responded immediately. The bed they said they would check it out as we only was there for one night. Very polite staff, helpful, and professional.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

If you buy a travel pass it gives you up to a 1/3rd of loads of attractions which will pay for it self . £9 per person per day two attraction a day would virtually pay for itself giving you free public transport around London

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Charing Cross - A Guoman Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
YairShoham
Israel
Jul 30, 2014

Very good value

Extremely helpful and receptive staff. Great location. Excellent breakfast and convenient lounge. Helped us with late checkout. Only negative was the air conditioning which was not as powerful as we would have liked it to be. Highly recommended

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Charing Cross - A Guoman Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Soho 777
Roswell, Ga
Jul 28, 2014

Great Boutique Hotel

Stayed overnight on return from cruise prior to returning to the US. This is the 2nd time we stayed here and have to say it was terrific. The staff are so accommodating and friendly that you have to acknowledge the hotel's HR recruiting standards because the staff are consistently great. Shout out to front desk staff, concierges, and dining room staff. EVERYONE was top notch!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search