$187 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 3, 2014 Check-out: Aug 4, 2014

Charing Cross - A Guoman Hotel

4 stars
Charing Cross, The Strand,, London, WC2N 5HX
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
85 reviews
Terrific London stay

From the welcome check in to the check out everything was 5 star. A/C in the room was not working... See full review

  • Abctraveler12345
  • Jun 18, 2014
Fantastic Service & Location

Charing Cross Hotel is a perfect blend of great location with excellent service. The hotel room was... See full review

  • Julia C.
  • Jun 7, 2014
Timeless elegance near Trafalgar Square
Charing Cross - A Guoman Hotel is a modern boutique offering convenient distance to The Strand and Trafalgar Square. This deluxe hotel offers elegant accommodations outfitted with contemporary comforts to provide a more relaxed stay. Charing Cross - A Guoman Hotel features classic British and International cuisine served in elegant surroundings at The Brasserie restaurant. Patrons can also enjoy a sip of cocktails or a bottle of champagne at Eleanor's Cocktail Bar on site. The hotel hosts corporate and social events at any of the nine beautifully structured meeting rooms, including a ballroom that can accommodate up to 200 guests. Gym, Wi-Fi access, business centre and limousine airport transfer are also on offer for added convenience.
3 Reasons To Stay
  • Boutique hotel overlooking The Strand and Trafalgar Square
  • In-house restaurant serving classic British and International cuisine
  • Elegant rooms and excellent meeting facilities
Charing Cross - A Guoman Hotel Rooms
Charing Cross Hotel features stylish and well-proportioned accommodation units with spell binding panoramas of The Strand and Trafalgar Square. Each room is equipped with sitting area and modern essentials including iPod docking station, plasma-screen TV,  wireless Internet access, coffee and tea making facilities, hair dryer, safe deposit box and work desk. The hotel also offers a selection of suites with greater space, heated bathroom flooring and rain showers.
Things To Do
Trafalgar Square (0.1 mi/0.2 km)
Nelson's Column (0.1mi/0.2 km)National Portrait Gallery (0.2 mi/0.3 km)National Gallery (0.2 mi/0.3 km)Covent Garden Market (0.2 mi/0.3 km)Admiralty Arch (0.2 mi/0.3 km)Transport Museum (0.3 mi/0.5 km)Royal Opera House (0.3 mi/0.5 km)Courtauld Gallery (0.4mi/0.6 km)Buckingham Palace (0.9 mi/1.4 km)

Hotel Map

51.5087 -0.1248
Area served
Charing Cross, The Strand, Trafalgar Square, Covent Gardens
Nearby airports
Heathrow Airport, (LHR), 20.00, E, miles; Gatwick Airport, (LGW), 34.00, NE, miles
Area description
At The Charing Cross Hotel, you're just yards from Trafalgar Square and the National Gallery; from Charing Cross Tube station, which is literally next door, you're just one stop away from Leicester Square and Piccadilly Circus, while Covent Garden and all the West End shops and theatres are within easy walking distance.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Charing Cross - A Guoman Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5

Charing Cross - A Guoman Hotel Rooms

Deluxe Single
In each of our Deluxe Single bedrooms you'll find new mattresses and pure Egyptian cotton bed linen to ensure you have a comfortable stay with us. As we want to satisfy all our guests you will not have to expect a Single bed. All our Deluxe Singles are equipped with a queen-size bed. The little things that, when you add them together, aren't so little after all. Upgraded, unlimited Wi-Fi with our compliments for all guests. Faster: seamless 'Business Grade' wi-fi throughout our hotels Safer: secure connectivity includes a security download Everywhere: faster connections throughout all our hotels
Deluxe Double
If you're with us on business, our spacious, comfortable Deluxe Double bedrooms are the perfect place to relax and recharge. As well as everything you'd expect from a Central London luxury hotel, these rooms include some extra touches that are uniquely Guoman. Upgraded, unlimited Wi-Fi with our compliments for all guests. Faster: seamless 'Business Grade' wi-fi throughout our hotels Safer: secure connectivity includes a security download Everywhere: faster connections throughout all our hotels
Deluxe Twin
A Deluxe room promises something extra. As well as everything you'd expect from Central London luxury hotels, these rooms include some extra touches that are uniquely Guoman, including Egyptian cotton bed linen, complimentary bathrobes and slippers, and a 32" plasma TV. From many of these rooms, you can enjoy views over The Strand. Upgraded, unlimited Wi-Fi with our compliments for all guests. Faster: seamless 'Business Grade' wi-fi throughout our hotels Safer: secure connectivity includes a security download Everywhere: faster connections throughout all our hotels
Execuitve Double
Our newly refurbished Executive Double bedrooms combine sumptuous, spacious accommodation with one of the capital's most desirable postcodes. As well as a large bedroom and walk-in shower, you have a separate sitting area - perfect for working, entertaining or simply relaxing in your own space. Luxury touches abound within our Executive Wing. Our newly designed rooms feature rain showers, heated flooring, stylish Italian bathroom fittings and mist-free mirrors, and guests can enjoy private checkout and concierge services. Upgraded, unlimited Wi-Fi with our compliments for all guests. Faster: seamless 'Business Grade' wi-fi throughout our hotels Safer: secure connectivity includes a security download Everywhere: faster connections throughout all our hotels
Executive Twin
Our newly refurbished Executive Twin bedrooms combine sumptuous, spacious accommodation with one of the capital's most desirable postcodes. As well as a large bedroom and walk-in shower, you have a separate sitting area - perfect for working, entertaining or simply relaxing in your own space. Luxury touches abound within our Executive Wing. Our newly designed rooms feature rain showers, heated flooring, stylish Italian bathroom fittings and mist-free mirrors, and guests can enjoy private checkout and concierge services.
Executive King
The ultimate way to experience our luxury hotel near Trafalgar Square If you're planning a longer stay in London, or just want the best and most of all the Charing Cross hotel has to offer, our newly refurbished Executive King bedrooms combine sumptuous, spacious accommodation with one of the capital's most desirable postcodes. As well as a large bedroom and walk-in shower, you have a separate sitting area - perfect for working, entertaining or simply relaxing in your own space. Luxury touches abound within our Executive Wing. Our newly designed rooms feature rain showers, heated flooring, stylish Italian bathroom fittings and mist-free mirrors, and guests can enjoy private checkout and concierge services.
Junior Suite
Charing Cross has air-conditioned Junior Suites available with many having views over The Strand. The suites offer luxurious room amenities, a comfortable seating area and a walk in shower to enhance your stay. The suites also offer facilities like air-conditioning, flat-screen TV, BT Openzone wireless internet access, tea and coffee making facilities and Egyptian cotton bed linen.

Amenities

  • Free internet in room
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Internet
Free internet in room
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Public areas wheelchair accessible for disabled
Wheelchair accessible elevators

Nearby points of interest

  • Charing Cross station: 0 mi
  • British Music Experience: 0.1 mi
  • British Optical Association Museum: 0.1 mi
  • Benjamin Franklin House: 0.1 mi
  • Adelphi Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • National Portrait Gallery: 0.1 mi
  • Canada House Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Nelson's Column: 0.2 mi
  • National Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Trafalgar Square: 0.2 mi
  • Port of London: 0.2 mi
  • London School of Economics: 0.2 mi
  • Admiralty Arch: 0.2 mi
  • Courtauld Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • London Transport Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Charing Cross station: 0 mi
  • British Music Experience: 0.1 mi
  • British Optical Association Museum: 0.1 mi
  • Benjamin Franklin House: 0.1 mi
  • Adelphi Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • National Portrait Gallery: 0.1 mi
  • Canada House Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Nelson's Column: 0.2 mi
  • National Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Trafalgar Square: 0.2 mi
  • Port of London: 0.2 mi
  • London School of Economics: 0.2 mi
  • Admiralty Arch: 0.2 mi
  • Courtauld Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • London Transport Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Old Operating Theatre Museum and Herb Garret: 0.3 mi
  • Leicester Square: 0.3 mi
  • Institute of Contemporary Arts: 0.3 mi
  • Transport Museum: 0.3 mi
  • the Strand: 0.3 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.3 mi
  • London Chinatown: 0.4 mi
  • Lyceum Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • West End: 0.4 mi
  • Somerset House: 0.4 mi
  • Thomas Neal Centre : 0.4 mi
  • Royal Festival Hall: 0.4 mi
  • Shaftesbury Avenue: 0.4 mi
  • Aldwych Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Royal Opera House: 0.4 mi
  • Hayward Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • London Eye: 0.4 mi
  • Piccadilly Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • London Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Cabinet War Rooms and Churchill Museum: 0.5 mi
  • St James's Park: 0.5 mi
  • London Aquarium: 0.5 mi
  • Soho: 0.6 mi
  • Big Ben: 0.6 mi
  • River Thames: 0.6 mi
  • St. James's Park: 0.6 mi
  • South Bank: 0.6 mi
  • Waterloo station: 0.6 mi
  • Palace of Westminster: 0.6 mi
  • National Army Museum: 0.6 mi

Dining

Eleanor's Cocktail Bar
Eleanor's Bar at Charing Cross, London is the perfect place to enjoy a pre-dinner cocktail, a celebratory bottle of Champagne, a get-together with friends or a bite to eat in intimate and stylish surroundings. Sit back and relax in one of the most atmospheric bars in London. Bar Food and Light Meals served.
The Lounge
Victorian grandeur, contemporary furnishings and dcor, and our staff's discreet yet attentive service make the Lounge a calm, sumptuous place to relax. Settle back and savour our famous London Afternoon Tea, accompanied by magnificent views over The Strand and Trafalgar Square. Sit back, relax and enjoy the great atmosphere of this Central London hotel.
The Brasserie at Charing Cross
Our stylish new Brasserie serves classic British and international cuisine in relaxed, elegant surroundings. With the hotel near Theatreland, it's the ideal choice for a pre-show dinner or a long lunch after a morning in the West End.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Our meetings and events facilities at The Charing Cross Hotel are entirely self-contained, giving you the privacy you need to focus on business, or enjoy your big day in uninterrupted splendour. And with mainline and Tube stations literally next door to the hotel, it's the perfect place to bring people together in London. Bring luxury and glamour to your next meeting or event Our largest space is the magnificent Betjeman Suite, which can accommodate up to 350 guests. Its marble pillars, elegant sculpted ceiling and glittering chandeliers are exactly as they would have been in the hotel's Victorian heyday. We have a choice of eight further meeting rooms, suitable for private lunch or dinner parties, receptions, awards ceremonies and other functions. Located on the first floor, they all offer generous amounts of natural light.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (85)

Ratings and reviews for Charing Cross - A Guoman Hotel

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
85 out of 85
Amenities:
4.1
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.6
Room comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.9
Value:
4.1

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Charing Cross - A Guoman Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
henrynin
New York, New York
Apr 12, 2011

Nickel and dimed to death

The hotel was nice. The rooms were larger than expected, clean, and the location is great. However, it was more of the more annoying hotel experiences that I had in awhile. Wireless Internet? Sure, 10 pounds for 24 hours. A power adapter for your phone? No problem, 5 pounds. Perhaps I am spoiled, but at over three hundred dollars per night, I expect certain amenities. Also, we asked the concierge for a restaurant recommendation, but Yelp provided a better recommendation that was in walking distance. Overall, I will stay in one of my old London favorites over this place on my next trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Eat at The Queen's Head Gastro Pub. Amazing modern British food at really reasonable prices.

Review of Charing Cross - A Guoman Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
chicagopete
Chicago IL
Jan 24, 2011

The Guoman Charing Cross

Check in was at 2 PM - we arrived early and were told the room would be ready at 2- it was not actually around 2:30 and I thought they were snotty. The high speed internet was slow speed and around $40 for 5 days and during one of those days it was really slow. The room was average to small but well furnished with a very good HVAC system. The shower never developed a really hot shower. The saving grace for this hotel is its location which is close to perfect if you do theater or in the UK theatre. A better internet solution was to walk across the street and go to Starbucks which has both free and fast internet.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Go to Leicester Square for discount theater tickets - it is the equivalent of hot tiks and less expensive than any of the discount ticket agencies purporting to sell cheap tickets. The kiosk is in the south west corner of the square.

Review of Charing Cross - A Guoman Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
chicagopete
Chicago IL
Jan 24, 2011

The Guoman Charing Cross

Check in was at 2 PM - we arrived early and were told the room would be ready at 2- it was not actually around 2:30 and I thought they were snotty. The high speed internet was slow speed and around $40 for 5 days and during one of those days it was really slow. The room was average to small but well furnished with a very good HVAC system. The shower never developed a really hot shower. The saving grace for this hotel is its location which is close to perfect if you do theater or in the UK theatre. A better internet solution was to walk across the street and go to Starbucks which has both free and fast internet.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Go to Leicester Square for discount theater tickets - it is the equivalent of hot tiks and less expensive than any of the discount ticket agencies purporting to sell cheap tickets. The kiosk is in the south west corner of the square.

Review of Charing Cross - A Guoman Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Dallas, TX
Nov 9, 2010

You Can't Get More Central

We chose this hotel because it is right by Trafalgar Square and easy walking distance to everything in central London, plus an adjoining tube stop. If this kind of access is important, the Charing Cross hotel really suits. The rooms were very comfortable, and the housekeeping staff very helpful in providing additional towels and pillows and other services as requested. The desk staff, however, were another matter--they were slow to respond to guests and seemed generally indifferent about the impressions they made.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

A convenient, cheap eatery is the Cafe in the Crypt, in the basement of the church of St. Martin in the Fields.

Review of Charing Cross - A Guoman Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Dallas, TX
Nov 9, 2010

You Can't Get More Central

We chose this hotel because it is right by Trafalgar Square and easy walking distance to everything in central London, plus an adjoining tube stop. If this kind of access is important, the Charing Cross hotel really suits. The rooms were very comfortable, and the housekeeping staff very helpful in providing additional towels and pillows and other services as requested. The desk staff, however, were another matter--they were slow to respond to guests and seemed generally indifferent about the impressions they made.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

A convenient, cheap eatery is the Cafe in the Crypt, in the basement of the church of St. Martin in the Fields.

Review of Charing Cross - A Guoman Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
mousegirl
santa fe new mexico
Aug 17, 2010

consistently a Wonderful stay

We've been staying at this hotel for 14 years. We've always loved the location - a block to Trafalgar Square and the staff have always been most helpful. Under the new owners, Guoman, the service is even more spectacular, the rennovations lovely and this continues to be THE BEST location in London

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

HaHa is a great pub/restaurant just down Villeirs street from the hotel. Very reasonable prices, GREAT SERVICE, wide selection and excellent food.

Review of Charing Cross - A Guoman Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
mousegirl
santa fe new mexico
Aug 17, 2010

consistently a Wonderful stay

We've been staying at this hotel for 14 years. We've always loved the location - a block to Trafalgar Square and the staff have always been most helpful. Under the new owners, Guoman, the service is even more spectacular, the rennovations lovely and this continues to be THE BEST location in London

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

HaHa is a great pub/restaurant just down Villeirs street from the hotel. Very reasonable prices, GREAT SERVICE, wide selection and excellent food.

Review of Charing Cross - A Guoman Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
clscribs
Business
Oakland, CA
Dec 6, 2009

A great place to stay

I was a little concerned based on some of the earlier comments, but I was very impressed. The room was bright, clean and very comfortable. I was facing the train yard rather than the front so it was very very quiet.Beware of the breakfast line. [...]It looked GREAT, but there was a long line on Sunday morning so I went elsewhere.I travel alot to Canterbury so I will definitely stay here again to catch an early train

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Charing Cross - A Guoman Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
clscribs
Business
Oakland, CA
Dec 6, 2009

A great place to stay

I was a little concerned based on some of the earlier comments, but I was very impressed. The room was bright, clean and very comfortable. I was facing the train yard rather than the front so it was very very quiet.Beware of the breakfast line. [...]It looked GREAT, but there was a long line on Sunday morning so I went elsewhere.I travel alot to Canterbury so I will definitely stay here again to catch an early train

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Charing Cross - A Guoman Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Houston, TX
Oct 19, 2009

Great Hotel, Great Location, Nice Price

The hotel staff was always very nice and helpful. We were lucky enough to check in very early which was great after a long flight. We stayed in a King Bed room, and it was in the annex, which is one building over and is reached by a connecting walkway on the 3rd level. There is no issue with the annex building.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Back to menu Return to top