$186 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 10, 2014 Check-out: Aug 11, 2014

Charing Cross - A Guoman Hotel

4 stars
Charing Cross, The Strand,, London, WC2N 5HX
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
86 reviews
Terrific London stay

From the welcome check in to the check out everything was 5 star. A/C in the room was not working... See full review

  • Abctraveler12345
  • Jun 18, 2014
Fantastic Service & Location

Charing Cross Hotel is a perfect blend of great location with excellent service. The hotel room was... See full review

  • Julia C.
  • Jun 7, 2014
Timeless elegance near Trafalgar Square
Charing Cross - A Guoman Hotel is a modern boutique offering convenient distance to The Strand and Trafalgar Square. This deluxe hotel offers elegant accommodations outfitted with contemporary comforts to provide a more relaxed stay. Charing Cross - A Guoman Hotel features classic British and International cuisine served in elegant surroundings at The Brasserie restaurant. Patrons can also enjoy a sip of cocktails or a bottle of champagne at Eleanor's Cocktail Bar on site. The hotel hosts corporate and social events at any of the nine beautifully structured meeting rooms, including a ballroom that can accommodate up to 200 guests. Gym, Wi-Fi access, business centre and limousine airport transfer are also on offer for added convenience.
3 Reasons To Stay
  • Boutique hotel overlooking The Strand and Trafalgar Square
  • In-house restaurant serving classic British and International cuisine
  • Elegant rooms and excellent meeting facilities
Charing Cross - A Guoman Hotel Rooms
Charing Cross Hotel features stylish and well-proportioned accommodation units with spell binding panoramas of The Strand and Trafalgar Square. Each room is equipped with sitting area and modern essentials including iPod docking station, plasma-screen TV,  wireless Internet access, coffee and tea making facilities, hair dryer, safe deposit box and work desk. The hotel also offers a selection of suites with greater space, heated bathroom flooring and rain showers.
Things To Do
Trafalgar Square (0.1 mi/0.2 km)
Nelson's Column (0.1mi/0.2 km)National Portrait Gallery (0.2 mi/0.3 km)National Gallery (0.2 mi/0.3 km)Covent Garden Market (0.2 mi/0.3 km)Admiralty Arch (0.2 mi/0.3 km)Transport Museum (0.3 mi/0.5 km)Royal Opera House (0.3 mi/0.5 km)Courtauld Gallery (0.4mi/0.6 km)Buckingham Palace (0.9 mi/1.4 km)

Hotel Map

51.5087 -0.1248
Area served
Charing Cross, The Strand, Trafalgar Square, Covent Gardens
Nearby airports
Heathrow Airport, (LHR), 20.00, E, miles; Gatwick Airport, (LGW), 34.00, NE, miles
Area description
At The Charing Cross Hotel, you're just yards from Trafalgar Square and the National Gallery; from Charing Cross Tube station, which is literally next door, you're just one stop away from Leicester Square and Piccadilly Circus, while Covent Garden and all the West End shops and theatres are within easy walking distance.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Charing Cross - A Guoman Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5

Charing Cross - A Guoman Hotel Rooms

Deluxe Single
In each of our Deluxe Single bedrooms you'll find new mattresses and pure Egyptian cotton bed linen to ensure you have a comfortable stay with us. As we want to satisfy all our guests you will not have to expect a Single bed. All our Deluxe Singles are equipped with a queen-size bed. The little things that, when you add them together, aren't so little after all. Upgraded, unlimited Wi-Fi with our compliments for all guests. Faster: seamless 'Business Grade' wi-fi throughout our hotels Safer: secure connectivity includes a security download Everywhere: faster connections throughout all our hotels
Deluxe Double
If you're with us on business, our spacious, comfortable Deluxe Double bedrooms are the perfect place to relax and recharge. As well as everything you'd expect from a Central London luxury hotel, these rooms include some extra touches that are uniquely Guoman. Upgraded, unlimited Wi-Fi with our compliments for all guests. Faster: seamless 'Business Grade' wi-fi throughout our hotels Safer: secure connectivity includes a security download Everywhere: faster connections throughout all our hotels
Deluxe Twin
A Deluxe room promises something extra. As well as everything you'd expect from Central London luxury hotels, these rooms include some extra touches that are uniquely Guoman, including Egyptian cotton bed linen, complimentary bathrobes and slippers, and a 32" plasma TV. From many of these rooms, you can enjoy views over The Strand. Upgraded, unlimited Wi-Fi with our compliments for all guests. Faster: seamless 'Business Grade' wi-fi throughout our hotels Safer: secure connectivity includes a security download Everywhere: faster connections throughout all our hotels
Execuitve Double
Our newly refurbished Executive Double bedrooms combine sumptuous, spacious accommodation with one of the capital's most desirable postcodes. As well as a large bedroom and walk-in shower, you have a separate sitting area - perfect for working, entertaining or simply relaxing in your own space. Luxury touches abound within our Executive Wing. Our newly designed rooms feature rain showers, heated flooring, stylish Italian bathroom fittings and mist-free mirrors, and guests can enjoy private checkout and concierge services. Upgraded, unlimited Wi-Fi with our compliments for all guests. Faster: seamless 'Business Grade' wi-fi throughout our hotels Safer: secure connectivity includes a security download Everywhere: faster connections throughout all our hotels
Executive Twin
Our newly refurbished Executive Twin bedrooms combine sumptuous, spacious accommodation with one of the capital's most desirable postcodes. As well as a large bedroom and walk-in shower, you have a separate sitting area - perfect for working, entertaining or simply relaxing in your own space. Luxury touches abound within our Executive Wing. Our newly designed rooms feature rain showers, heated flooring, stylish Italian bathroom fittings and mist-free mirrors, and guests can enjoy private checkout and concierge services.
Executive King
The ultimate way to experience our luxury hotel near Trafalgar Square If you're planning a longer stay in London, or just want the best and most of all the Charing Cross hotel has to offer, our newly refurbished Executive King bedrooms combine sumptuous, spacious accommodation with one of the capital's most desirable postcodes. As well as a large bedroom and walk-in shower, you have a separate sitting area - perfect for working, entertaining or simply relaxing in your own space. Luxury touches abound within our Executive Wing. Our newly designed rooms feature rain showers, heated flooring, stylish Italian bathroom fittings and mist-free mirrors, and guests can enjoy private checkout and concierge services.
Junior Suite
Charing Cross has air-conditioned Junior Suites available with many having views over The Strand. The suites offer luxurious room amenities, a comfortable seating area and a walk in shower to enhance your stay. The suites also offer facilities like air-conditioning, flat-screen TV, BT Openzone wireless internet access, tea and coffee making facilities and Egyptian cotton bed linen.

Amenities

  • Free internet in room
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Internet
Free internet in room
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Public areas wheelchair accessible for disabled
Wheelchair accessible elevators

Nearby points of interest

  • Charing Cross station: 0 mi
  • British Music Experience: 0.1 mi
  • British Optical Association Museum: 0.1 mi
  • Benjamin Franklin House: 0.1 mi
  • Adelphi Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • National Portrait Gallery: 0.1 mi
  • Canada House Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Nelson's Column: 0.2 mi
  • National Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Trafalgar Square: 0.2 mi
  • Port of London: 0.2 mi
  • London School of Economics: 0.2 mi
  • Admiralty Arch: 0.2 mi
  • Courtauld Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • London Transport Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Charing Cross station: 0 mi
  • British Music Experience: 0.1 mi
  • British Optical Association Museum: 0.1 mi
  • Benjamin Franklin House: 0.1 mi
  • Adelphi Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • National Portrait Gallery: 0.1 mi
  • Canada House Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Nelson's Column: 0.2 mi
  • National Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Trafalgar Square: 0.2 mi
  • Port of London: 0.2 mi
  • London School of Economics: 0.2 mi
  • Admiralty Arch: 0.2 mi
  • Courtauld Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • London Transport Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Old Operating Theatre Museum and Herb Garret: 0.3 mi
  • Leicester Square: 0.3 mi
  • Institute of Contemporary Arts: 0.3 mi
  • Transport Museum: 0.3 mi
  • the Strand: 0.3 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.3 mi
  • London Chinatown: 0.4 mi
  • Lyceum Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • West End: 0.4 mi
  • Somerset House: 0.4 mi
  • Thomas Neal Centre : 0.4 mi
  • Royal Festival Hall: 0.4 mi
  • Shaftesbury Avenue: 0.4 mi
  • Aldwych Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Royal Opera House: 0.4 mi
  • Hayward Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • London Eye: 0.4 mi
  • Piccadilly Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • London Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Cabinet War Rooms and Churchill Museum: 0.5 mi
  • St James's Park: 0.5 mi
  • London Aquarium: 0.5 mi
  • Soho: 0.6 mi
  • Big Ben: 0.6 mi
  • River Thames: 0.6 mi
  • St. James's Park: 0.6 mi
  • South Bank: 0.6 mi
  • Waterloo station: 0.6 mi
  • Palace of Westminster: 0.6 mi
  • National Army Museum: 0.6 mi

Dining

Eleanor's Cocktail Bar
Eleanor's Bar at Charing Cross, London is the perfect place to enjoy a pre-dinner cocktail, a celebratory bottle of Champagne, a get-together with friends or a bite to eat in intimate and stylish surroundings. Sit back and relax in one of the most atmospheric bars in London. Bar Food and Light Meals served.
The Lounge
Victorian grandeur, contemporary furnishings and dcor, and our staff's discreet yet attentive service make the Lounge a calm, sumptuous place to relax. Settle back and savour our famous London Afternoon Tea, accompanied by magnificent views over The Strand and Trafalgar Square. Sit back, relax and enjoy the great atmosphere of this Central London hotel.
The Brasserie at Charing Cross
Our stylish new Brasserie serves classic British and international cuisine in relaxed, elegant surroundings. With the hotel near Theatreland, it's the ideal choice for a pre-show dinner or a long lunch after a morning in the West End.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Our meetings and events facilities at The Charing Cross Hotel are entirely self-contained, giving you the privacy you need to focus on business, or enjoy your big day in uninterrupted splendour. And with mainline and Tube stations literally next door to the hotel, it's the perfect place to bring people together in London. Bring luxury and glamour to your next meeting or event Our largest space is the magnificent Betjeman Suite, which can accommodate up to 350 guests. Its marble pillars, elegant sculpted ceiling and glittering chandeliers are exactly as they would have been in the hotel's Victorian heyday. We have a choice of eight further meeting rooms, suitable for private lunch or dinner parties, receptions, awards ceremonies and other functions. Located on the first floor, they all offer generous amounts of natural light.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (86)

Ratings and reviews for Charing Cross - A Guoman Hotel

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
86 out of 86
Amenities:
4.1
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.6
Room comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.9
Value:
4.1

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Charing Cross - A Guoman Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jetsboy
Jersey City, NJ
Oct 14, 2013

Great find

We found this hotel through an online special and could not have been happier. It was in a superb location, near to all major attractions and West End entertainment. The staff were wonderful and helpful in every way possible. The rooms were extremely comfortable and quiet, and the bathrooms were well appointed. We look forward to returning.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Charing Cross - A Guoman Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ionimp
Business
Dubai, UAE
Oct 2, 2013

Always a pleasurable experience

Recieved a warm greeting upon arrival, very attentive staff, always a pleasure to return to Charring Cross

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Charing Cross - A Guoman Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Port
Ireland
Oct 2, 2013

Overnight stay

Spent a single night in London, the location of this hotel was perfect. Easy access to the tube and many attractions. Hotel room was clean and comfortable and the staff were helpful. Better value than other hotels I've stayed in nearby.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Charing Cross - A Guoman Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
obsessed traveller
New York City
Oct 1, 2013

Excellent value

Our jr. suite was well appointed and very comfortable. Bathroom was small and could use a few more amenities such as a magnifying mirror, plug for hair dryer at sink, etc. Staff is outstanding. Very friendly and helpful. Hotel location next to underground station and a 5 minute walk to Trafalgar Square and 10 minute walk to Covent Gardens makes it ideal location. We would stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: Long walk from hotel

Churchill War Rooms, walk along the Embankment and over the Milennium Bridge.

Review of Charing Cross - A Guoman Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Three London Travellers
Washington DC
Sep 24, 2013

Perfect Location in London

Beautiful hotel! Located steps from great things to do (National Gallery, Trafalgar Square, many theaters, and much more) plus easy access to Buckingham Palace, The London Eye, marvelous shopping, etc. Friendly and helpful hotel staff! The ONLY negative encountered was that we were a group of three women, and we had been promised a room (junior suite) with three beds. But instead we were given a room with one king bed and one sofa double hide-a-bed. The hotel was full and so could not correct the bed issue for us.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Long walk from hotel

Portobello Road (Notting Hill Gate Underground stop) has many blocks of antique and interesting shops. Be sure to go there on a Saturday morning.

Review of Charing Cross - A Guoman Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
MommyL
Cheshire, CT
Sep 18, 2013

good location

this hotel offers a central location by Trafalgar Square and the theater district. Staff was very friendly and helpful. A nice looking hotel. Next to the tube station. Although at that station you did have to crossover to other lines most of the time. Housekeeping did not clean much at all. Had to ask them to change sheets. They did not vacuum or clean the bathroom very well. The staff did forget our 4:30Am wakeup call to the airport.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Use the half price ticket booths in the theater district. The London Pass is a good deal but check to see if you will be interested in these attractions. You do not have to wait on any lines with the London Pass

Review of Charing Cross - A Guoman Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Wendy Woo Woo
Egypt
Aug 13, 2013

Excellent value central hotel

The hotel was perfect. Staff couldn't do enough for us. They were all so friendly & really helpful. The location was excellent as it is so central. You can walk to most places & bus stops right outside the hotel. Views from our room were great of the London Eye. Was expecting it to be noisey as right next door to Charring Cross Station but couldn't hear a thing. Rooms were clean & tidy & had all you needed in them. Food was good & not over priced. Our 5nights here were excellent & would go again & tell friends about it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Walk to places rather than tubes!!!

Review of Charing Cross - A Guoman Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Carlos Miranda
Miami, Florida
Jul 24, 2013

Perfect London Escape

The hotel is in a perfect location. The front desk was extremely helpful and very friendly. Concierge helped with all aspects of my trip. Great service and price from the hotel to Heathrow in a private car. The food was amazing in the restaurant. Kudos to the entire staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Close to everything...

Review of Charing Cross - A Guoman Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
visitor from Minnesota
Minneapolis, MN
Jul 1, 2013

Fabulous location

Located a one minute walk from Trafalgar Square, the hotel is right in the middle of everything a tourist would like to see. I walked to the Tower of London to the east and Harrods to the west, the London Eye to the south and all the shops and theaters to the north. Getting to the hotel from Heathrow was easy too. Took an hour on the Tube with one minor transfer at the very end that could have been avoided if I felt like walking just a little way (but I didn't know where I was going). Staff was great although the room was a little warm and I couldn't figure out how to get the AC below a certain level.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Charing Cross - A Guoman Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Doug123
Miami, Florida
Jun 30, 2013

Great Hotel

Location was ideal, staff pleasant and responsive. I enjoyed my stay at this hotel ang will gladly recommend it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Back to menu Return to top