$293 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Oct 10, 2014 Check-out: Oct 11, 2014

Charing Cross - A Guoman Hotel

4 stars
Charing Cross, The Strand,, London, WC2N 5HX
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
88 reviews
Terrific stay!

Fabulous hotel for a great price. Perfect location next to Charing Cross tube station and one block... See full review

  • Fit it's nc TJ
  • Sep 5, 2014
Great location!

Hotel located right next door to Charing Cross airport so can get to from Gatwick and Heathrow very... See full review

  • Wendy99
  • Aug 19, 2014
Timeless elegance near Trafalgar Square
Charing Cross - A Guoman Hotel is a modern boutique offering convenient distance to The Strand and Trafalgar Square. This deluxe hotel offers elegant accommodations outfitted with contemporary comforts to provide a more relaxed stay. Charing Cross - A Guoman Hotel features classic British and International cuisine served in elegant surroundings at The Brasserie restaurant. Patrons can also enjoy a sip of cocktails or a bottle of champagne at Eleanor's Cocktail Bar on site. The hotel hosts corporate and social events at any of the nine beautifully structured meeting rooms, including a ballroom that can accommodate up to 200 guests. Gym, Wi-Fi access, business centre and limousine airport transfer are also on offer for added convenience.
3 Reasons To Stay
  • Boutique hotel overlooking The Strand and Trafalgar Square
  • In-house restaurant serving classic British and International cuisine
  • Elegant rooms and excellent meeting facilities
Charing Cross - A Guoman Hotel Rooms
Charing Cross Hotel features stylish and well-proportioned accommodation units with spell binding panoramas of The Strand and Trafalgar Square. Each room is equipped with sitting area and modern essentials including iPod docking station, plasma-screen TV,  wireless Internet access, coffee and tea making facilities, hair dryer, safe deposit box and work desk. The hotel also offers a selection of suites with greater space, heated bathroom flooring and rain showers.
Things To Do
  • Trafalgar Square (0.1 mi/0.2 km)
  • Nelson's Column (0.1mi/0.2 km)
  • National Portrait Gallery (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • National Gallery (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • Covent Garden Market (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • Admiralty Arch (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • Transport Museum (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
  • Royal Opera House (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
  • Courtauld Gallery (0.4mi/0.6 km)
  • Buckingham Palace (0.9 mi/1.4 km)

Hotel Map

51.5087 -0.1248
Area served
Charing Cross, The Strand, Trafalgar Square, Covent Gardens
Nearby airports
Heathrow Airport, (LHR), 20.00, E, miles; Gatwick Airport, (LGW), 34.00, NE, miles
Area description
At The Charing Cross Hotel, you're just yards from Trafalgar Square and the National Gallery; from Charing Cross Tube station, which is literally next door, you're just one stop away from Leicester Square and Piccadilly Circus, while Covent Garden and all the West End shops and theatres are within easy walking distance.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Charing Cross - A Guoman Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

Charing Cross - A Guoman Hotel Rooms

Deluxe Single
In each of our Deluxe Single bedrooms you'll find new mattresses and pure Egyptian cotton bed linen to ensure you have a comfortable stay with us. As we want to satisfy all our guests you will not have to expect a Single bed. All our Deluxe Singles are equipped with a queen-size bed. The little things that, when you add them together, aren't so little after all. Upgraded, unlimited Wi-Fi with our compliments for all guests. Faster: seamless 'Business Grade' wi-fi throughout our hotels Safer: secure connectivity includes a security download Everywhere: faster connections throughout all our hotels
Deluxe Double
If you're with us on business, our spacious, comfortable Deluxe Double bedrooms are the perfect place to relax and recharge. As well as everything you'd expect from a Central London luxury hotel, these rooms include some extra touches that are uniquely Guoman. Upgraded, unlimited Wi-Fi with our compliments for all guests. Faster: seamless 'Business Grade' wi-fi throughout our hotels Safer: secure connectivity includes a security download Everywhere: faster connections throughout all our hotels
Deluxe Twin
A Deluxe room promises something extra. As well as everything you'd expect from Central London luxury hotels, these rooms include some extra touches that are uniquely Guoman, including Egyptian cotton bed linen, complimentary bathrobes and slippers, and a 32" plasma TV. From many of these rooms, you can enjoy views over The Strand. Upgraded, unlimited Wi-Fi with our compliments for all guests. Faster: seamless 'Business Grade' wi-fi throughout our hotels Safer: secure connectivity includes a security download Everywhere: faster connections throughout all our hotels
Execuitve Double
Our newly refurbished Executive Double bedrooms combine sumptuous, spacious accommodation with one of the capital's most desirable postcodes. As well as a large bedroom and walk-in shower, you have a separate sitting area - perfect for working, entertaining or simply relaxing in your own space. Luxury touches abound within our Executive Wing. Our newly designed rooms feature rain showers, heated flooring, stylish Italian bathroom fittings and mist-free mirrors, and guests can enjoy private checkout and concierge services. Upgraded, unlimited Wi-Fi with our compliments for all guests. Faster: seamless 'Business Grade' wi-fi throughout our hotels Safer: secure connectivity includes a security download Everywhere: faster connections throughout all our hotels
Executive Twin
Our newly refurbished Executive Twin bedrooms combine sumptuous, spacious accommodation with one of the capital's most desirable postcodes. As well as a large bedroom and walk-in shower, you have a separate sitting area - perfect for working, entertaining or simply relaxing in your own space. Luxury touches abound within our Executive Wing. Our newly designed rooms feature rain showers, heated flooring, stylish Italian bathroom fittings and mist-free mirrors, and guests can enjoy private checkout and concierge services.
Executive King
The ultimate way to experience our luxury hotel near Trafalgar Square If you're planning a longer stay in London, or just want the best and most of all the Charing Cross hotel has to offer, our newly refurbished Executive King bedrooms combine sumptuous, spacious accommodation with one of the capital's most desirable postcodes. As well as a large bedroom and walk-in shower, you have a separate sitting area - perfect for working, entertaining or simply relaxing in your own space. Luxury touches abound within our Executive Wing. Our newly designed rooms feature rain showers, heated flooring, stylish Italian bathroom fittings and mist-free mirrors, and guests can enjoy private checkout and concierge services.
Junior Suite
Charing Cross has air-conditioned Junior Suites available with many having views over The Strand. The suites offer luxurious room amenities, a comfortable seating area and a walk in shower to enhance your stay. The suites also offer facilities like air-conditioning, flat-screen TV, BT Openzone wireless internet access, tea and coffee making facilities and Egyptian cotton bed linen.

Amenities

  • Free internet in room
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Internet
Free internet in room
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Public areas wheelchair accessible for disabled
Wheelchair accessible elevators

Nearby points of interest

  • Charing Cross station: 0 mi
  • British Music Experience: 0.1 mi
  • British Optical Association Museum: 0.1 mi
  • Benjamin Franklin House: 0.1 mi
  • Adelphi Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • National Portrait Gallery: 0.1 mi
  • Canada House Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Nelson's Column: 0.2 mi
  • National Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Trafalgar Square: 0.2 mi
  • Port of London: 0.2 mi
  • London School of Economics: 0.2 mi
  • Admiralty Arch: 0.2 mi
  • Courtauld Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • London Transport Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Charing Cross station: 0 mi
  • British Music Experience: 0.1 mi
  • British Optical Association Museum: 0.1 mi
  • Benjamin Franklin House: 0.1 mi
  • Adelphi Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • National Portrait Gallery: 0.1 mi
  • Canada House Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Nelson's Column: 0.2 mi
  • National Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Trafalgar Square: 0.2 mi
  • Port of London: 0.2 mi
  • London School of Economics: 0.2 mi
  • Admiralty Arch: 0.2 mi
  • Courtauld Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • London Transport Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Old Operating Theatre Museum and Herb Garret: 0.3 mi
  • Leicester Square: 0.3 mi
  • Institute of Contemporary Arts: 0.3 mi
  • Transport Museum: 0.3 mi
  • the Strand: 0.3 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.3 mi
  • London Chinatown: 0.4 mi
  • Lyceum Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • West End: 0.4 mi
  • Somerset House: 0.4 mi
  • Thomas Neal Centre : 0.4 mi
  • Royal Festival Hall: 0.4 mi
  • Shaftesbury Avenue: 0.4 mi
  • Aldwych Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Royal Opera House: 0.4 mi
  • Hayward Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • London Eye: 0.4 mi
  • Piccadilly Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • London Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Cabinet War Rooms and Churchill Museum: 0.5 mi
  • St James's Park: 0.5 mi
  • London Aquarium: 0.5 mi
  • Soho: 0.6 mi
  • Big Ben: 0.6 mi
  • River Thames: 0.6 mi
  • St. James's Park: 0.6 mi
  • South Bank: 0.6 mi
  • Waterloo station: 0.6 mi
  • Palace of Westminster: 0.6 mi
  • National Army Museum: 0.6 mi

Dining

Eleanor's Cocktail Bar
Eleanor's Bar at Charing Cross, London is the perfect place to enjoy a pre-dinner cocktail, a celebratory bottle of Champagne, a get-together with friends or a bite to eat in intimate and stylish surroundings. Sit back and relax in one of the most atmospheric bars in London. Bar Food and Light Meals served.
The Lounge
Victorian grandeur, contemporary furnishings and dcor, and our staff's discreet yet attentive service make the Lounge a calm, sumptuous place to relax. Settle back and savour our famous London Afternoon Tea, accompanied by magnificent views over The Strand and Trafalgar Square. Sit back, relax and enjoy the great atmosphere of this Central London hotel.
The Brasserie at Charing Cross
Our stylish new Brasserie serves classic British and international cuisine in relaxed, elegant surroundings. With the hotel near Theatreland, it's the ideal choice for a pre-show dinner or a long lunch after a morning in the West End.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Our meetings and events facilities at The Charing Cross Hotel are entirely self-contained, giving you the privacy you need to focus on business, or enjoy your big day in uninterrupted splendour. And with mainline and Tube stations literally next door to the hotel, it's the perfect place to bring people together in London. Bring luxury and glamour to your next meeting or event Our largest space is the magnificent Betjeman Suite, which can accommodate up to 350 guests. Its marble pillars, elegant sculpted ceiling and glittering chandeliers are exactly as they would have been in the hotel's Victorian heyday. We have a choice of eight further meeting rooms, suitable for private lunch or dinner parties, receptions, awards ceremonies and other functions. Located on the first floor, they all offer generous amounts of natural light.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (88)

Ratings and reviews for Charing Cross - A Guoman Hotel

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
88 out of 88
Amenities:
4.2
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.6
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.9
Value:
4.2

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Charing Cross - A Guoman Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
SharonMcQ
Avon, CT
Jul 28, 2014

Great hotel in London

Our group of 6 people had reservations in three rooms, arriving and departing at different times twice over two weeks. The staff handled all requests and arrangements with ease and extra help. Rooms were nice, included lounge access was perfect for breakfast and afternoon snacks. The only area needing improvement is storage - we all used the coffee tables and chairs to stack clothes. Very little space for unpacking.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Charing Cross - A Guoman Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Soho 777
Roswell, Ga
Jul 27, 2014

Pre cruise stay

Friendliest, cheerful, helpful staff. Great location to underground and most venues. Stayed in refurbished rooms 2x and they were very comfortable. Mirrors in bathrooms are fog less. Heated br floors. Would highly recommend. Very much a boutique hotel feel. Breakfast was excellent as well.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Charing Cross - A Guoman Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Abctraveler12345
Boston ma
Jun 18, 2014

Terrific London stay

From the welcome check in to the check out everything was 5 star. A/C in the room was not working properly but was quickly rectified.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Charing Cross - A Guoman Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Julia C.
Cortland, New York
Jun 7, 2014

Fantastic Service & Location

Charing Cross Hotel is a perfect blend of great location with excellent service. The hotel room was very up to date and clean with a generous-sized bathroom. Service was first rate. Any requests or questions were given prompt and full attention. The location of the hotel is one of its best features. The train and Underground station are next door, yet this bustle is not seen once in the hotel door. Trafalgar Square is a block away; theatre district is a block away in the other direction; Big Ben and Parliament is a ten minute walk. Good restaurants are everywhere. Excellent location for a tourist or business traveler. Overall, I would not hesitate to book at Charing Cross Hotel again. We stayed eleven days and were very impressed with the service staff and happy with the convenience of the location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

You can walk to many sites - Buckingham Palace (changing of the guard). National Gallery, White Hall, St. Martin in the Field's (go to candlelight concert), theaters, etc.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Charing Cross - A Guoman Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
limzi
Israel
Jun 3, 2014

Nice hotel

Location is perfect! just next to Charing Cross tube but everything is in walking distance. Stuff was very friendly and helpful. The room was very standard (and the bathroom was small). The closet was very small with space just for hanging clothes. The room was very clean and quiet.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Charing Cross - A Guoman Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
SRSR
USA
Jun 3, 2014

Great central location, nice lounge and rooms

The room was very clean and well laid out. The floors were creaking and the noise bothered me quite a bit. The bathrooms were very modern with great accessories, but I expected them to be bigger for this price. The lounge and breakfast service that were included in my price was excellent. We were able to walk to most attractions in central London from this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Charing Cross - A Guoman Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Eileen traveler
Connecticut
May 31, 2014

Perfect location, excellent staff

The location couldn't be better and the staff was outstanding. Helpful and courteous. I would stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Charing Cross - A Guoman Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JW72
Dorset, England
May 27, 2014

Lovely weekend break

We booked into The Charing Cross Hotel as we had already booked The Fawlty Towers Dining Experience for my husband's birthday. Staff were lovely and friendly and we even had a card and bottle of wine left in our room as I mentioned it was my husband's birthday. Breakfast was lovely with lots of choices. The room was newly refurbished to a high standard and the bed was very comfortable. Would definitely stay again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

The Shard is only 2 stops away on the train at London Tower Station and you do not pay to go up to the 32nd floor and see the view. Not allowed trainers on though or leisure gear!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Charing Cross - A Guoman Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Sean144
Business
New York, NY
May 14, 2014

Great Stay

I was in London on business and stayed at the Charing Cross Hotel for two nights. The location is perfect and the staff is incredibly friendly and accommodating. The room was larger than most others I've stayed in while in London, and the WiFi was free and reliable. I would highly recommend this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Charing Cross - A Guoman Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
scottymx
Atlanta, GA
May 5, 2014

London getaway

The hotel could not be in a better location. everything was beyond my expectations.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

The original hop on off tour.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search