$70 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Nov 23, 2014 Check-out: Nov 24, 2014

Britannia Hotel Hampstead London

3 stars
Primrose Hill Road,Hampstead, Hampstead, London, NW3 3NA
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.6
out of 5
13 reviews
Fantastic getaway for couple

Great and wonderful time. Enjoyed every moment spent See full review

  • Jolly good time
  • Mar 26, 2014
Relieved

Considering some of the scary reviews of this hotel I was a little worried, however it was so much... See full review

  • PurpleWizard
  • Mar 6, 2012
The Hotel has 102 en-suite beautifully decorated rooms that all have TV, Telephone, Trouser Press and tea and coffee making facilities. An ideal choice for Business and Leisure guests as the hotel has seven conference rooms with first class facilities and rooms that cater for up to 300 people. WIFI is free to all guests and available in all public area of the hotel.Pet policy as follows: Cats and Dogs are allowed at a cost of 10GBP per pet, per night. Other pets are allowed upon request Car parking is chargeable at 10.00GBP for 24 hrs, and is payable at the hotel reception. Car parking is subject to availability.

Hotel Map

51.5443 -0.1624
Area served
London.
Nearby airports
Heathrow International Airport.
Area description
A charming hotel that is ideally located within walking distance of Hampstead village and the famous Primrose Hill.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Britannia Hotel Hampstead London also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Britannia Hotel Hampstead London Rooms

Standard Twin or Double Room
The Room offers a double or twin bed.
Standard Single
The Room offers a double or twin bed.

Amenities

  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Elevators
24 hour security
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Services
24 hour front desk
Maid service
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
FAX
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Television with cable
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Hairdryer in room
Shower
Electronic door locks
Iron
Ironing board
International direct dial
Smoke detectors
Bath tub

Nearby points of interest

  • King's College London: 0 mi
  • Primrose Hill: 0.3 mi
  • Central School of Speech and Drama: 0.5 mi
  • Swiss Cottage: 0.5 mi
  • Freud Museum: 0.6 mi
  • London Zoo: 0.7 mi
  • Camden Market: 0.7 mi
  • Keats House: 0.8 mi
  • Regent's College: 0.9 mi
  • Jewish Military Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Jewish Museum: 1 mi
  • Parliament Hill: 1.1 mi
  • Regents Park: 1.1 mi
  • Lords Cricket Ground: 1.2 mi
  • London Business School: 1.2 mi
  • King's College London: 0 mi
  • Primrose Hill: 0.3 mi
  • Central School of Speech and Drama: 0.5 mi
  • Swiss Cottage: 0.5 mi
  • Freud Museum: 0.6 mi
  • London Zoo: 0.7 mi
  • Camden Market: 0.7 mi
  • Keats House: 0.8 mi
  • Regent's College: 0.9 mi
  • Jewish Military Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Jewish Museum: 1 mi
  • Parliament Hill: 1.1 mi
  • Regents Park: 1.1 mi
  • Lords Cricket Ground: 1.2 mi
  • London Business School: 1.2 mi
  • Hampstead Heath: 1.4 mi
  • Kilburn: 1.4 mi
  • Sherlock Holmes Museum: 1.5 mi
  • Royal College of Physicians Museum: 1.5 mi
  • Showroom Gallery: 1.5 mi
  • Madame Tussauds: 1.5 mi
  • Royal Academy of Music: 1.5 mi
  • Baker Street: 1.6 mi
  • Maida Vale: 1.6 mi
  • Euston: 1.7 mi
  • Holloway: 1.7 mi
  • Red Mansion Foundation: 1.8 mi
  • University College London: 1.8 mi
  • British Library: 1.8 mi
  • University of London: 1.8 mi
  • Fitzrovia: 1.9 mi
  • Grant Museum of Zoology: 1.9 mi
  • Institute of Archaeology Collections: 1.9 mi
  • St Pancras railway station: 1.9 mi
  • Petrie Museum of Egyptian Archaeology: 1.9 mi
  • Kings Cross-St Pancras station: 1.9 mi
  • Wallace Collection: 1.9 mi
  • Paddington Station: 1.9 mi
  • London Canal Museum: 2 mi
  • Institute of Education: 2.1 mi
  • The Brunswick┬á: 2.1 mi
  • Birkbeck: 2.1 mi
  • University of Westminster: 2.1 mi
  • School of Oriental and African Studies: 2.1 mi
  • Selfridges: 2.1 mi

Dining

Restaurant
The conservatory style restaurant offers a mouth watering menu from main meals to lighter snacks, in a relaxed atmosphere. The bar is an informal place to meet and had a relaxed ambient atmosphere. The hotel has a bar which has a wide rang of alcoholic and non-alcoholic drinks, a great place to meet up for pre-dinner drinks.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1400
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (13)

Ratings and reviews for Britannia Hotel Hampstead London

Overall score

2.6 / 5
5.01.0
13 out of 13
Amenities:
2.7
Room cleanliness:
3.2
Hotel staff:
3.9
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.3

69% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Britannia Hotel Hampstead London

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Not Provided
Feb 11, 2010

I was very impressed by the st

I was very impressed by the staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
No rating
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Britannia Hotel Hampstead London

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
BillFromTexas
Business
San Antonio, tx
Aug 24, 2014

good budget hotel

we stayed at the hotel for 10 days only had some minor complaints. first, the room had some electrical issues. One of the main room light would work periodically, the entry light never worked at all. after letting the front desk know, an electrical outlet face plate hate been replaced with a blank plate. overall the lighting needs to improve, not enough lighting in the bathroom. no electrical plugs in the bathroom as well. Location was excellent location. within minutes to the Chalk Farm station.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Marathon Kebab House. Very good food and big portions. Marine Ices.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Britannia Hotel Hampstead London

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jolly good time
Business
London
Mar 26, 2014

Fantastic getaway for couple

Great and wonderful time. Enjoyed every moment spent

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Britannia Hotel Hampstead London

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Aussie Travellers
Business
NSW, Australia
Aug 17, 2012

Good and Bad

The location is fantastic, but the "basement room" with no window was very stuffy - hoping the experience is better when we come back in a couple of days

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Britannia Hotel Hampstead London

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
PurpleWizard
Business
Surrey
Mar 6, 2012

Relieved

Considering some of the scary reviews of this hotel I was a little worried, however it was so much cheaper than the others that I thought I would risk it and I'm glad I did. Sure there was the odd stain on the mattress and quite a few on the carpet but it was functional, clean, did the job and was in a relatively good location. And did I mention the price?!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Britannia Hotel Hampstead London

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Benjaimin
Business
San Francisco, CA, USA
Nov 14, 2011

London

Nothing fancy about this hotel, but it is well priced for London and in a great quiet neighborhood.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Britannia Hotel Hampstead London

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Breathing Traveller
Business
England
Oct 22, 2011

terrible room

I stayed in a room with no window. It was stuffy and the only ventilation was a small hole with an extractor fan in the bathroom. I don't know how they got planning permission to receive guests in that place -- you wouldn't keep chicken there!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

camden market

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Britannia Hotel Hampstead London

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Squirrel
Business
shropshire
Jun 24, 2011

It's a shame

I went there to visit friends and family the hotel was in a great place it's a shame it hasn't moved on from the sixties and it's now shabby in looks, and the cleaning of rooms is far from great .

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Britannia Hotel Hampstead London

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Windsor, Canada
Nov 23, 2010

Smart Hotel near Primrose Hill

Two bus routes connect quickly to the tube, with the closest station being Chalk Farm, though Swiss Cottage Station is also nearby. The hotel attracts a lot of bus tour groups, and the bar was sometimes a lively mix of customers in the evenings. Breakfast buffet is an option, and my room had tea-making facilities. Good bed, tiny shower and toilet room. Not especially quiet rooms, though comfortable. Would stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Long walk from hotel

One tube stop away is Camden Town, a very lively daytime shopping and dining scene, and lively in the evenings though most shops are closed.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Britannia Hotel Hampstead London

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Greenwoods
Business
Baltimore, MD.
Nov 18, 2010

Karen's London Trip 2010

The purpose for my trip was for a first time holiday to London and to see some particular musical events. I picked this hotel because of it's location and affordability. The neighborhood in North London was ideal for my needs. On Primrose Hill, a quiet yet vibrant community close to the tube station and just up from the famous Camden Market. Wonderful cafe's & restaurants near by with good food, great pubs, and music venues. The hotel itself is antiquated and is in desperate need of renovation. The room I was given had no heat and was very damp. I had this room a couple days until I became sick. After asking the front desk three times to fix the heater, I finally demanded something be done and they got me another room, this time with working heat and was overall much more comfortable. Although the hotel is old, somewhat dingy, and little things (like heat) break down, if you ask nicely the staff can be very nice and accommodating. The hotel lounge is the highlight. With exception to their food menu which must date back to the 70's, there seems to be a lot of people who stay there. I probably had more fun meeting all the different types of people and drinking pints or tea after hours than in any pub in town. After talking with most of these people, we all agreed, the draw of this hotel is the price and the location. However talk to some of the merchants in the neighborhood and not one has a nice word to say about this hotel. They've heard so many complaints that none of them would ever recommend this hotel. However, I think it's worth a shot, just make sure you work with the staff to get what you need or want. Over all, not a horrible experience and I was comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Very convenient location in North London on Primrose Hill. A short walk to Chalk Farm tube station, Camden Market and many music venues and restaurants.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Britannia Hotel Hampstead London

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
California
Nov 16, 2010

Cold,Cold Cold

First of all the room was freezing, there was damp on the windows. This was with the radiator on high. The wallpaper was peeling. The bathroom tile was chipped. The hotel was a hotel where workers were coming to work in London which tells you the type of person it caters to. It's nearly impossible to find. My taxi driver couldn't find it and made several turns. It took forever to get a pint in the bar, they had to open the restaurant if you wanted to eat. [...] I was talked out of another Hotel. Sad Sad Sad

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top