$99 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 19, 2015 Check-out: Apr 20, 2015

Bloomsbury Park - A Thistle Associate Hotel

3 stars
View map of 126 Southampton Row, London, WC1B 5AD

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.5
out of 5
17 reviews
Nice hotel

Nice hotel. Room very clean but small but expected that. Reception staff very friendly. Only gripe... See full review

  • W
  • Jan 28, 2015
Good value/choice in central London

My second stay at the Bloomsbury Park - Thistle. A small, well-kept hotel with comfortable rooms... See full review

  • Rasbiker
  • Jan 19, 2015
We're very choosy about our Thistle Associate Hotels, and Bloomsbury Park, London is a perfect example. An elegant Edwardian hotel, Bloomsbury Park embodies all the values we hold dear at Thistle -excellent location and facilities, great service and a warm, welcoming atmosphere - and consistently achieves the high standards we set for ourselves. Within walking distance of the British Museum and Covent Garden - and, incidentally, our own Kingsley - Bloomsbury Park blends effortlessly into this elegant and historic part of west London. Inside, though, there's a thoroughly contemporary look and feel to the 95 bedrooms, fully-equipped meeting room, seating 35 theatre-style, and the recently-opened Cellar Bar. A place where our most discerning guests can feel immediately at home. Bloomsbury Park is a non-smoking hotel.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Bloomsbury Park - A Thistle Associate Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5

Bloomsbury Park - A Thistle Associate Hotel Rooms

Standard Double Room
The Standard Double at Bloomsbury Park Hotel rooms vary in shape and size, yet they have all been well-positioned to allow maximum space and light. All these rooms have one double bed and en suite bathroom facilities with either a walk in shower or a shower over a bath. The rooms are also equipped with a full length wardrobe, a digital personal safe large enough for a lap top, a work desk and chair plus a direct dial telephone. The entertainment is provided through the LCD TV offering a full range of terrestrial and digital television channels plus a selection of music channels and radio stations. Facilities Available: BT Openzone Wi-Fi Coffee and Tea Making Facilities Complimentary Toiletries Direct Dial Telephone Flat Screen LCD TV With Free View Radio Room Safe Work Desk
Standard Twin Room
Standard Twin rooms vary in shape and size, yet they have all been well-positioned to allow maximum space and light. They all contain two single beds and en suite bathroom facilities with either a walk in shower or a shower over a bath. The rooms are also equipped with a full length wardrobe with additional shelving, a digital personal safe, large enough for a lap top, a work desk and chair plus a direct dial telephone. The entertainment is provided through the LCD TV offering a full range of terrestrial and digital television channels plus a selection of music channels and radio stations. Facilities Available: BT Openzone Wi-Fi Coffee and Tea Making Facilities Complimentary Toiletries Direct Dial Telephone Flat Screen LCD TV With Free View Radio Room Safe Work Desk
Standard Single Room
The Hotel a traditional Single Room containing a single bed along with en suite bathroom facilities. Although they are the smaller rooms within the hotel, they all have natural daylight and a full bathroom facility including either a walk in shower or a shower over the bath. The rooms are also equipped with a full length wardrobe with additional shelving, a digital personal safe, large enough for a lap top, a work desk and chair plus a direct dial telephone. The entertainment is provided through the LCD television offering a full range of terrestrial and digital television channels, plus a selection of music channels and radio stations. Facilities Available: BT Openzone Wi-Fi Coffee and Tea Making Facilities Complimentary Toiletries Direct Dial Telephone Flat Screen LCD TV With Free View Radio Room Safe Work Desk

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Services
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi

Nearby points of interest

  • Russell Square: 0.1 mi
  • Cartoon Museum: 0.2 mi
  • British Museum: 0.2 mi
  • School of Oriental and African Studies: 0.2 mi
  • Institute of Education: 0.3 mi
  • Birkbeck: 0.3 mi
  • Charles Dickens Museum: 0.3 mi
  • London School of Hygiene & Tropical Medicine: 0.4 mi
  • London Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Sir John Soane's Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Dominion Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • The Brunswick : 0.4 mi
  • Petrie Museum of Egyptian Archaeology: 0.5 mi
  • Institute of Archaeology Collections: 0.5 mi
  • Thomas Neal Centre : 0.5 mi
  • Russell Square: 0.1 mi
  • Cartoon Museum: 0.2 mi
  • British Museum: 0.2 mi
  • School of Oriental and African Studies: 0.2 mi
  • Institute of Education: 0.3 mi
  • Birkbeck: 0.3 mi
  • Charles Dickens Museum: 0.3 mi
  • London School of Hygiene & Tropical Medicine: 0.4 mi
  • London Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Sir John Soane's Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Dominion Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • The Brunswick : 0.4 mi
  • Petrie Museum of Egyptian Archaeology: 0.5 mi
  • Institute of Archaeology Collections: 0.5 mi
  • Thomas Neal Centre : 0.5 mi
  • Royal Opera House: 0.5 mi
  • Grant Museum of Zoology: 0.5 mi
  • British Postal Museum and Archive: 0.5 mi
  • London Astoria: 0.5 mi
  • University College London: 0.5 mi
  • Soho: 0.5 mi
  • West End: 0.6 mi
  • Aldwych Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • University of London: 0.6 mi
  • Lyceum Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • British Library: 0.6 mi
  • London Transport Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Old Operating Theatre Museum and Herb Garret: 0.6 mi
  • St Pancras railway station: 0.6 mi
  • Transport Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Kings Cross-St Pancras station: 0.7 mi
  • the Strand: 0.7 mi
  • Courtauld Gallery: 0.7 mi
  • Twinings Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Euston: 0.7 mi
  • Shaftesbury Avenue: 0.7 mi
  • Somerset House: 0.7 mi
  • Fitzrovia: 0.7 mi
  • London Chinatown: 0.7 mi
  • Adelphi Theatre: 0.8 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.8 mi
  • Temple church: 0.8 mi
  • Leicester Square: 0.8 mi
  • Farringdon: 0.8 mi
  • Fleet Street: 0.8 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Our largest function room, the Bloomsbury Kitchen and Bar, can accommodate up to 100 people, making it suitable for receptions and banqueting, as well as an ideal wedding venue. The more intimate Cellar Bar is perfect for board and team meetings, training sessions, presentations, interviews and private dining. All our meeting rooms come fully equipped with Air-conditioning LCD projector and screen BT Openzone wireless internet access Mix business with pleasure You can choose from a wide range of refreshments, including healthy options, and make use of our Bloomsbury Kitchen and Bar and Cellar Bar. And whether you're planning a board meeting or a birthday bash, our dedicated Meetings & Events team will help you from start to finish.

Dining

Bloomsbury Kitchen
The Bloomsbury Kitchen is a modern stylish brasserie. Walnut floors, high ceilings and original cornicing help to retain its physical characteristics, whilst the oversized deep red lamp shades, the crushed gold velour chairs and the original canvas art work give the restaurant a modern and contemporary theme. The large windows allow light to flood in as you sit back to watch the world go by. Breakfast is buzzy and vibrant with a full buffet selection to choose from, where as dinner is more relaxed and unhurried with low lighting, candles and full table service for food and drinks. Enjoy anything from a light snack to a three course meal - the choice is yours. Serving dinner from 5.30pm it's the ideal choice for a pre-theatre meal.
Bloomsbury Bar
The Bloomsbury Bar sits adjacent to the Bloomsbury Kitchen. Walnut floors, high ceilings and original cornicing help to retain its physical characteristics, whilst the oversized deep red lamp shades, the crushed gold velour chairs and the original canvas art work give the bar a modern and contemporary theme. The large windows allow light to flood in or hide away in our private booth as you sit back to watch the world go by. Open daily from 5pm, serving a wide selection of hot and cold beverages and snacks - it's the perfect place to unwind with a glass of wine and the daily newspaper following a hard day in the office or exploring the city.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
2:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Ratings and reviews for Bloomsbury Park - A Thistle Associate Hotel

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
17 out of 17
Amenities:
3.4
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.5

76% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Bloomsbury Park - A Thistle Associate Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
JackJack987654
Business
Washington DC
Jun 12, 2012

Friendly staff but poor service

Room: The first room that they sent me to was so small, the door hit the bed when you opened it. No chair, no dresser, no room -- I complained and they immediately set me up in a much better room. Telephone: They had recently redone some but not all of their phone system. No one could tell me how to get phone messages off the telephone. Also, when you are on the phone, they charge you by the minute. I was on a local London call for 15 minutes and it cost me $60. Elevator: There's only one, and it holds only four people, and you share it with housekeeping and those giant things that they push around. If you're not on the breakfast voucher system, the waitstaff will be confused and focus more on that then getting you a cup of coffee.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Bloomsbury Park - A Thistle Associate Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Gas Man
Business
Newark, Notts, uk
Feb 11, 2013

Good location but...

Smallest room I have come across, no climate control, shampoo etc not replaced

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Bloomsbury Park - A Thistle Associate Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
bungalowandy
Business
surrey
Feb 22, 2014

Its a hard life

A lovely hotel with very friendly, helpful staff. The position, just a short walk from the British Museum and on a direct bus route to Waterloo was good for us. However the beds were the hardest that we have ever come across and as a result sleeping was not easy

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Bloomsbury Park - A Thistle Associate Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
vermeer
Business
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, Verenigde Staten
Aug 25, 2011

Inexperienced staff

Desk staff was pleasant and tried to be helpful, but didn't have good information about bus routes, etc. Breakfast good but a bit expensive.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Bloomsbury Park - A Thistle Associate Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Auntie Mame
Business
Washington, DC
Sep 23, 2014

Meh

The room was clean, and the bed was comfortable. However, the room was quite small, the bathroom was ridiculously small, and the shower was laughably small. I'm a petite female, and I barely had enough room to shampoo my hair. I had to open the bathroom door just to towel off. Speaking of towels, the day we arrived, we had one nice, fluffy towel and one old, thin towel. After housekeeping the next day, we had two old, thin towels. That's not cool, Thistle. The location was decent. It's reasonable close to both Russell Square and Holborn Underground stops. However, the neighborhood seemed kind of dirty, and it was noisy. We couldn't leave our window open at night because the noise from traffic and the stupid crosswalk sign were intolerable. I realize London hotel rooms are generally pricey and small, but this room was definitely not worth what we paid for it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Bloomsbury Park - A Thistle Associate Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ramsey
Business
liverpool
Aug 14, 2012

Good value

Nice 3 star hotel was excellent value. Clean modern and rooms undergone refurb recently.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Bloomsbury Park - A Thistle Associate Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Switzerland
Sep 3, 2012

Location, Location, Location!

We were two young people. Smal but ok room. Nice view (british museum) in the 7th floor. Never ate there, but there's a starbucks for breakfast in the same building as well as a tesco (supermarket) really close. The tube (subway)(nothern-line and central-line) is near. Like 100-200m busses are even closer. The location is the best about the hotel. (Everything else is quite average.) The hotel is in Walking Distance to the oxfordstreet, all the cool stuff as Carnabiey or Seven Dails. It's even possible to walk to leicaster Squere/ Trafalga Square/ Picadilly Circus etc. = about 20-25 min. Walk. Big Ben, Buckingham Palace, Westminster, about 40-50 min. by Foot. By Bus (depending on the day and the time) about 20 min. And by tube even faster.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Bloomsbury Park - A Thistle Associate Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Apple
Business
Kent
Feb 25, 2013

Good for mini break

Clean and tidy. Friendly staff. Close to tube. Shame about the hard bed! Not very comfy! However, would stay again as good value for money

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Short walk from tube

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Bloomsbury Park - A Thistle Associate Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
2013Vane
Business
Colombia
Apr 2, 2013

Upgraded yo a double bed

I was happy to receive the news that .i was upgraded to a double room at no extra charge when I had booked a single room. The bed was comfy and although the room was not big it was spacious enough. The bathroom was a bit cold, but the temperature i. The room was very good. The Free Internet worked well. I would return to this hotel!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The British Museum is really close by!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Bloomsbury Park - A Thistle Associate Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
First Time London Travele
Business
New York, NY
Apr 2, 2013

Easter - Bloomsbury Thistle

Nice, simple hotel in a great location. Near British Museum and transportation (Underground). If you are sightseeing and not planning on spending a lot of time in your room, this hotel is a wonderful choice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top