$103 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 19, 2015 Check-out: Apr 20, 2015

Bermondsey Square Hotel London

4 stars
View map of Bermondsey Square, Tower Bridge Road, London, SE1 3UN

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Bermondsey Square Hotel London

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
24 out of 24
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.4
Location:
3.9
Value:
4.2

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Bermondsey Square Hotel London

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
jjiimmbboo
Business
portland OR
Sep 24, 2012

really enjoyed it

only frustrating thing was the restaurant and therefore room service was not offered the week I was there due to hotel GB channel 4 production preparation - there was no advance notice of this and no signeage to that effect either - there are not many restaurants in direct vicinity, but those that are there are very good and there is a grocery store accross the square - on Friday and Saturday very interesting markets are set up in the square...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Bermondsey Square Hotel London

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
gospodyina
Business
Baltimore, MD
May 19, 2011

New and Nice

I visited London for a conference about half a mile from this hotel, and Bermondsey Square could easily become my London hotel of choice. It's reasonably walkable from several Northern Line stations, and has a Barclay's bike hire steps away. The room was small by American standards, but certainly larger than I've learned to expect from European downtown hotels. Everything was set on an angle, which reduced the feeling of shuffling sideways between the bed and the walls that I've experienced elsewhere. The TV was an iMac, which meant I could charge my iPhone via a USB port instead of the eerily buzzing series of adapters and transformers I've tentatively used in the past. The square includes a bar/movie theatre, a cafe/bookshop, a Sainsbury's local, and a Mediterranean restaurant in addition to the bar, restaurant, and chippy attached to the hotel; the Friday antiques market is quite upscale and starts drawing a crowd long before sunrise (although I was on the second floor facing the square, and didn't hear a peep). Walking into town along Long Lane is a little shorter, but taking Bermondsey Street instead is more interesting. Lots of great little soup-and-sandwich places line the street, which ends near More London, the hip new office/retail area surrounding City Hall.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Stop off at Bermondsey Street Coffee on your way into town for wonderful soups, free Wifi, and fun attitude!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Bermondsey Square Hotel London

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
seattle, wa
May 14, 2011

Almost perfect

The wifi didn't work properly. I was looking forward to using the internet inside the room and was was glad to hear that it was complimentary, but unfortunately, I had to be next to the room door to get the slightest connection, if there even was one.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Bermondsey Square Hotel London

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Oregon
Apr 28, 2011

Fantastic bed and shower

Took a while to find. 10 minute walk sounds OK until after you do it a few times. On the other hand, it was nice and quiet. Safe neighborhood. Room rather small. No real place to put suitcases. Bed was very, very soft which I loved. Shower was great. Very clean. No ugly, flowered carpets. Tastefully decorated. Things it could use: more places (hooks or something) to hang towels or robes in the bathroom. Also needs a bathroom vent. With the fabulous rain shower, it gets VERY steamy!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Bermondsey Square Hotel London

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
john & Traci
Business
Saint Petersburg , FL
Apr 27, 2011

"Unbeatable location for the price"

Quiet but animated area. Great location Village atmosphere 10' fron London Tower. Nice, classy modern style .We loved it. Friendly staff. Free WiFi,good breakfast.Small grocery store across the plaza.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

London Pass recommanded ,Buses to everywhere,very convenient but away from the crowd

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Bermondsey Square Hotel London

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Sydney
Apr 18, 2011

Good location, room and service

Nice modern building, clean tidy, really comfortable bed, good shower. Everything you need

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Great dining in the local area. Village East and the Garrison, being a couple of the more notable.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Bermondsey Square Hotel London

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago, IL
Mar 20, 2011

Perfect place if you enjoy a good walk

I really enjoyed my stay at the hotel - it was clean, trendy and just what I wanted. There were quite a few pubs & restaurants around the hotel, but being on my own, I just wanted something super casual and low key (cheap) - and those options weren't too plentiful. If I had been with another person, then the options around would have been just right. The room has an iMac computer that they use as TVs and radios - pretty awesome. You have to put down a deposit to check out a keyboard and mouse though. There is also a small market in the parking lot on Saturday or Sunday morning. My plans while in London were to do a lot of walking and site seeing - most of it on the south bank. The location was great if you are up for a bit of a walk. It would have been nicer if it was a bit closer to a tube stop. Carrying my bag that I brought for the weekend for a long walk to the hotel wasn't all that exciting for me. I was easily able to walk to Tower Bridge, Tower of London, London Bridge, Shakespeare's Globe Theater, the Thames River Walk and all of the shops & restaurants that go in that area. I also walked over the bridge and went to St. Pauls. All in all - Saturday was spent with about 12 hours of walking around the area. So - like I said, if you like to walk, this location was perfect. While in the area, you should also try to eat at Strada by London Bridge, the view was amazing!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Tower Hill tube stop and a bus down Tower Bridge road to Abbey Road will put you pretty much right at the hotel. I took the London Bridge tube stop and walked a decent amount.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Bermondsey Square Hotel London

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jefyuaz
Business
Yuma, Arizona
Mar 18, 2011

A Week at the Bermondsey Square

We arrived and everything was ready for us. We were having a drink in their chic restaurant bar and the manager, [...], came up and introduced himself and said if we had any concerns to contact him directly. We had no concerns. Clean, modern rooms with wi-fi and HD TV. They provided a king-size bed for us as a special request. This was a standard room. The bath was exquisite. The staff was very efficient and reponsive. We had a wonderful time in London, in large part to the Bermondsey Square. The restaurant food was great and priced the same as local restaurants. We will recommend and stay again! One last thing, the hotel is on the south bank near Tower Bridge, it is a quiet, upscale, local neighborhood.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Bermondsey Square Hotel London

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Katho76
Business
Bara, Sweden
Jan 3, 2011

Excellent service!!!

We went for a New Years holiday. The Hotel was excellent! We didn´t get our baggage from BA and the staff helped us with everything; free telephonecalls, free internet access, charger to our I-phone and so on. We couldn´t ask for more!!! The location was alright. You had to go for a 10-15 minutes walk to get to the underground at London Bridge, but it was okay for us. The rooms were very clean and nice. The only minus was that there were no closets. Even if we turned out not to need one... We strongly recommend this hotel!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Bermondsey Square Hotel London

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
la crosse, WI
Nov 24, 2010

not clean

My friend and I had a trip in London around a week. The hotel is not very close to the tube station, but you could take bus 188 to Grang stop(not sure spell correct or not), or C10 to elephant station. The bed was not clean. We found some hair on bed everyday. We lived around a week, but it seems they didn't change bed sheet. We found out the plug is different from US, so we would like to borrow a adapter from the hotel. However, they just sell it around 7 pounds. We couldn't borrow it. The stuff should have more smile.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

It's close to tower bridge. you could walk or take a bus to there.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Bermondsey Square Hotel London

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
breakslikeglass
Business
portland, or
Nov 5, 2010

not bad, not great, just so-so

let me preface this with I love hotels. I looooove hotels. that's the biggest reason I go on vacay. I feel like I did all the research I could've done, and reached the conclusion this hotel would be a fun, fresh choice. a younger, hip luxury hotel. what bums me out is for the same price we could've stayed at any other true luxury hotel in London. for the same price I've found similar rates at the Ritz, Lanesborough, Berkeley, 41, Mandeville, Park Lane and so on. I don't know how they can refer to this hotel as "bespoke." to paraphrase: amenities are THE bare minimum. from the bathroom set-up, products, organization, etc. everything is "just" passable. never again. wish I could go back in time and rebook this trip staying somewhere in Mayfair instead.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Eat at Village East nearby! AMAZING food. very pricey.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top