Bermondsey Square Hotel London

4 stars
Bermondsey Square, Tower Bridge Road, London, SE1 3UN
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
21 reviews
Perfect over night stay !!

Booked this hotel as we were attending a family party, we quite often stay over night in London and... See full review

  • 19akw65
  • Apr 30, 2013
Nice Modern Hotel

Staff helpful. Room modern executive design. Location away from the crowds but only 10 minute walk... See full review

  • Cardiffian
  • Apr 9, 2014
The Bermondsey Square Hotel is located in the heart of ever evolving Bermondsey, with its thriving restaurant, bar and club scene, art galleries, design studios and boutique shops. A short distance from the City, the Design Museum, Borough Market, Tate Modern and Tower Bridge, it is ideally located to visit some of London's finest sights whilst staying in an up and coming neighbourhood. If you seek Tower Bridge Hotels the Bermondsey Square Hotel is only moments away. As one of the very finest Bermondsey Hotels, this 80-room hotel is designed to meet the needs of discerning guests, from business travellers to party people, foodies and fashionistas, to those simply looking to relax and enjoy the local attractions whilst staying in the comfort of stylish Bermondsey Accommodation. Each room has been designed and furnished with care and style. Each space, from our GB Grill & Bar to the rooftop terrace, has been playfully tailored to enhance the stylish, bespoke character of the Hotel. GB Grill & Bar supports locally-sourced produce and is one of the best new Restaurants in Bermondsey, a district that was already a mecca for lovers of fine food and wine. Come and visit us soon at one of the most popular Bermondsey Square Hotels. More than anything we are here to serve and ensure you have an unforgettable stay.

Hotel Map

51.4975 -0.0814
Area served
London
Nearby airports
City Airport, (LCY), 7.00, MI, E; Heathrow Airport, (LHR), 19.50, MI, W; Gatwick Airport, (LGW), 28.70, MI, S; Luton Airport, (LTN), 29.20, MI, NE; Stansted, (STN), 36.30, MI, NW;
Area description
The Bermondsey Square Hotel is a few minutes' from London Bridge and the City; in the heart of one of London's most vibrant 'villages'. In the Square itself, there is a boutique cinema and weekly antiques market.London Bridge Station is a short walk away which means you can be at: City Airport within 25 minutes Gatwick Airport within 40 minutes using the Gatwick Express Canary Wharf within three stops on the Jubilee line for Excel Exhibition Centre as it is only 15 minutes away on the Docklands Light Railway Waterloo Station in a 5-minute cab journey or two stops on the Jubilee line. There are so many great pubs, shops, cafes and restaurants in Bermondsey that you're unlikely to tire of it, but if you should, then the West End is just 15 minutes on the Underground.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Bermondsey Square Hotel London also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Bermondsey Square Hotel London Rooms

SUPERIOR - ROOM
Light bright modern design room including luxury Mattison beds, artfully designed work spaces, flat screen 32" LED TVs, fridges and wet-rooms with Grohe drench showers
CLUB - ROOM
Light bright modern room including luxury extra-deep Vi-Spring Mattison beds, artfully designed work spaces, flat screen TVs, fridges and large spa Grohe drench showers

Amenities

  • WiFi
General
Concierge
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Fashion and Textile Museum: 0.1 mi
  • City Hall: 0.5 mi
  • The Shard: 0.5 mi
  • Design Museum: 0.5 mi
  • London Dungeon: 0.6 mi
  • Winston Churchill's Britain At War Experience: 0.6 mi
  • Borough: 0.6 mi
  • London Bridge Station: 0.6 mi
  • HMS Belfast: 0.6 mi
  • Kenwood House: 0.7 mi
  • Southwark Cathedral: 0.7 mi
  • Tower Bridge: 0.7 mi
  • Tower of London: 0.8 mi
  • Southwark: 0.8 mi
  • London Film Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Fashion and Textile Museum: 0.1 mi
  • City Hall: 0.5 mi
  • The Shard: 0.5 mi
  • Design Museum: 0.5 mi
  • London Dungeon: 0.6 mi
  • Winston Churchill's Britain At War Experience: 0.6 mi
  • Borough: 0.6 mi
  • London Bridge Station: 0.6 mi
  • HMS Belfast: 0.6 mi
  • Kenwood House: 0.7 mi
  • Southwark Cathedral: 0.7 mi
  • Tower Bridge: 0.7 mi
  • Tower of London: 0.8 mi
  • Southwark: 0.8 mi
  • London Film Museum: 0.8 mi
  • London Fire Brigade Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Rose Theatre Exhibition: 0.8 mi
  • Clink Prison Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Elephant & Castle Shopping Centre : 0.8 mi
  • London South Bank University: 0.9 mi
  • Tower Hill: 1 mi
  • Aldgate: 1 mi
  • Tate Modern: 1.1 mi
  • Cinema Museum: 1.1 mi
  • Royal Exchange: 1.1 mi
  • Millennium Bridge: 1.1 mi
  • the Gherkin: 1.2 mi
  • Imperial War Museum: 1.2 mi
  • Bank of England: 1.2 mi
  • Tower 42: 1.2 mi
  • Brunel Museum: 1.3 mi
  • Women's Library: 1.3 mi
  • Royal Fusiliers Museum: 1.4 mi
  • St. Pauls Cathedral: 1.4 mi
  • Liverpool Street Station: 1.4 mi
  • Lambeth: 1.4 mi
  • Clockmakers' Museum: 1.4 mi
  • Whitechapel Gallery: 1.5 mi
  • Waterloo station: 1.5 mi
  • Florence Nightingale Museum: 1.5 mi
  • South Bank: 1.5 mi
  • Peckham: 1.5 mi
  • Museum of London: 1.5 mi
  • Old Bailey: 1.5 mi
  • Museum of London Docklands: 1.5 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Bermondsey Square Hotel has a range of versatile and stylish event spaces that can be used for anything from a private boardroom for 12 to a large drinks reception and BBQ for 150 on our terrace overlooking the square. Our modern and well planned out meeting space benefits from natural daylight throughout and can be divided from a large open space into three smaller syndicates. We've also teamed up with our neighbour on the Square, Shortwave Cinemas, to offer packages for private screenings for up to 50 people. And if you're looking for the perfect backdrop to an interview, photoshoot or initimate drinks reception, why not try one of our Loft rooms with city skyline views from Canary Wharf to Westminster and the London Eye.

Dining

GB Grill & Bar
With a fantastic menu, good wine list and a cosy and relaxed atmosphere, you will be welcomed like an old friend to GB Grill & Bar every time you visit. It is a great spot for a mid-week catch up, a place to relax or celebrate on the weekend or the perfect environment to enjoy a scrumptious meal with the family on Sunday. Open for breakfast, lunch and dinner, its doors are always open to guests and locals, visitors and friends.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1400
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (21)

Ratings and reviews for Bermondsey Square Hotel London

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
21 out of 21
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.4
Location:
3.8
Value:
4.1

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Bermondsey Square Hotel London

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
john & Traci
Saint Petersburg , FL
Apr 27, 2011

"Unbeatable location for the price"

Quiet but animated area. Great location Village atmosphere 10' fron London Tower. Nice, classy modern style .We loved it. Friendly staff. Free WiFi,good breakfast.Small grocery store across the plaza.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

London Pass recommanded ,Buses to everywhere,very convenient but away from the crowd

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Bermondsey Square Hotel London

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Sydney
Apr 18, 2011

Good location, room and service

Nice modern building, clean tidy, really comfortable bed, good shower. Everything you need

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Great dining in the local area. Village East and the Garrison, being a couple of the more notable.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Bermondsey Square Hotel London

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Chicago, IL
Mar 20, 2011

Perfect place if you enjoy a good walk

I really enjoyed my stay at the hotel - it was clean, trendy and just what I wanted. There were quite a few pubs & restaurants around the hotel, but being on my own, I just wanted something super casual and low key (cheap) - and those options weren't too plentiful. If I had been with another person, then the options around would have been just right. The room has an iMac computer that they use as TVs and radios - pretty awesome. You have to put down a deposit to check out a keyboard and mouse though. There is also a small market in the parking lot on Saturday or Sunday morning. My plans while in London were to do a lot of walking and site seeing - most of it on the south bank. The location was great if you are up for a bit of a walk. It would have been nicer if it was a bit closer to a tube stop. Carrying my bag that I brought for the weekend for a long walk to the hotel wasn't all that exciting for me. I was easily able to walk to Tower Bridge, Tower of London, London Bridge, Shakespeare's Globe Theater, the Thames River Walk and all of the shops & restaurants that go in that area. I also walked over the bridge and went to St. Pauls. All in all - Saturday was spent with about 12 hours of walking around the area. So - like I said, if you like to walk, this location was perfect. While in the area, you should also try to eat at Strada by London Bridge, the view was amazing!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Tower Hill tube stop and a bus down Tower Bridge road to Abbey Road will put you pretty much right at the hotel. I took the London Bridge tube stop and walked a decent amount.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Bermondsey Square Hotel London

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jefyuaz
Yuma, Arizona
Mar 18, 2011

A Week at the Bermondsey Square

We arrived and everything was ready for us. We were having a drink in their chic restaurant bar and the manager, [...], came up and introduced himself and said if we had any concerns to contact him directly. We had no concerns. Clean, modern rooms with wi-fi and HD TV. They provided a king-size bed for us as a special request. This was a standard room. The bath was exquisite. The staff was very efficient and reponsive. We had a wonderful time in London, in large part to the Bermondsey Square. The restaurant food was great and priced the same as local restaurants. We will recommend and stay again! One last thing, the hotel is on the south bank near Tower Bridge, it is a quiet, upscale, local neighborhood.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Bermondsey Square Hotel London

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Katho76
Bara, Sweden
Jan 3, 2011

Excellent service!!!

We went for a New Years holiday. The Hotel was excellent! We didn´t get our baggage from BA and the staff helped us with everything; free telephonecalls, free internet access, charger to our I-phone and so on. We couldn´t ask for more!!! The location was alright. You had to go for a 10-15 minutes walk to get to the underground at London Bridge, but it was okay for us. The rooms were very clean and nice. The only minus was that there were no closets. Even if we turned out not to need one... We strongly recommend this hotel!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Bermondsey Square Hotel London

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
la crosse, WI
Nov 24, 2010

not clean

My friend and I had a trip in London around a week. The hotel is not very close to the tube station, but you could take bus 188 to Grang stop(not sure spell correct or not), or C10 to elephant station. The bed was not clean. We found some hair on bed everyday. We lived around a week, but it seems they didn't change bed sheet. We found out the plug is different from US, so we would like to borrow a adapter from the hotel. However, they just sell it around 7 pounds. We couldn't borrow it. The stuff should have more smile.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

It's close to tower bridge. you could walk or take a bus to there.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Bermondsey Square Hotel London

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
breakslikeglass
portland, or
Nov 5, 2010

not bad, not great, just so-so

let me preface this with I love hotels. I looooove hotels. that's the biggest reason I go on vacay. I feel like I did all the research I could've done, and reached the conclusion this hotel would be a fun, fresh choice. a younger, hip luxury hotel. what bums me out is for the same price we could've stayed at any other true luxury hotel in London. for the same price I've found similar rates at the Ritz, Lanesborough, Berkeley, 41, Mandeville, Park Lane and so on. I don't know how they can refer to this hotel as "bespoke." to paraphrase: amenities are THE bare minimum. from the bathroom set-up, products, organization, etc. everything is "just" passable. never again. wish I could go back in time and rebook this trip staying somewhere in Mayfair instead.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Eat at Village East nearby! AMAZING food. very pricey.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Bermondsey Square Hotel London

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
CJ - Brooklyn girl who adores London
Brooklyn, NY
Nov 1, 2010

Bermondsey Square Hotel was Fantastic!

I stayed at the Bermondsey Square Hotel for 4 nights/5 days and the Hotel was everything I hoped for if not more. The hotel was exactly as it appears in every photo; it was clean, it was safe and the staff was very professional, helpful and nice. Upon check in, I arrived early and they were able to check me in 4 hours early (thankfully because I needed a nap from my red eye flight). Also, the front desk girl asked if I had a converter and when I showed her what I had, it was the wrong one and she kindly provided me one to use (at no charge) for my entire stay. I had the continental breakfast each morning at Alfie's and it was perfect (decent continental selection, but you can order full breakfast if you wish). The daily cleaning staff was beyond efficient (she wrapped the cord to the blow drier everyday) and made sure my room was in tip top shape. The distance from the tube (London Bridge) was a little further than I would like, but once you are out for the day, you return to the hotel once or twice per day and only have to make the long walk a couple times. The community in Bermondsey Square is fantastic; they had a screening of "The Nightmare before Christmas" for Halloween in the square and the Sainsbury market across the way makes snacks and treats convenient and the antiques flea market on Fridays in the square is not to be missed. Overall, I really enjoyed my stay with Bermondsey Square Hotel [...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

If you have a lot of luggage or heavy luggage, it is worth hiring a car or taking a taxi from a tube station to the hotel. I took the Heathrow Express to Paddington station and then took the tube from there to the Waterloo station and then a taxi from there to the hotel. It cost me about 13 or 14 pounds and was worth it for me because my luggage was heavy.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Bermondsey Square Hotel London

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Dr. Trip
Massachusetts
Oct 17, 2010

Great place to stay

The hotel was easily accessible and quiet. Only 10 minutes from the tube stop which is not far. The room itself was new and very clean with a modern bathroom. The TV was an apple computer which worked as TV/Radio/and computer. We brought iPhones so we could easily charge them off the TV without an adapter and also use iTunes to play moves from home. Staff was very friendly. We did not try the hotel restaurant Alfie's. It would be a good place to sit for drinks but didn't seem like our kind of food. We would go back to this hotel anytime.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Bermondsey Square Hotel London

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York, NY
Oct 11, 2010

Good Hotel

Hotel is new so staff are trying hard, the rooms even have that new carpeting smell. I wonder if they can keep it up however, as my bathroom was starting to get some mildew on the tile and my desk chair kept scraping against the wall because it is too big to put behind the desk without hitting the wall, these are some of the design flaws about the hotel that will make it tire quickly. They have safe boxes big enough for a laptop but they are not in the room, so you have to ask every time you need to get in-go to reception and then up to the first floor. The business center is also the offices for the hotel so it isn't like your going to sit in there and work or anything.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a farmers market on Saturdays right outside the hotel, good for quick snacks, the Sainsbury's mini supermarket is right across the square so you can stock the mini fridge.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search