$126 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 17, 2014 Check-out: Aug 18, 2014

Bermondsey Square Hotel London

4 stars
Bermondsey Square, Tower Bridge Road, London, SE1 3UN
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
35 reviews
Perfect over night stay !!

Booked this hotel as we were attending a family party, we quite often stay over night in London and... See full review

  • 19akw65
  • Apr 30, 2013
Nice Modern Hotel

Staff helpful. Room modern executive design. Location away from the crowds but only 10 minute walk... See full review

  • Cardiffian
  • Apr 9, 2014
The Bermondsey Square Hotel is located in the heart of ever evolving Bermondsey, with its thriving restaurant, bar and club scene, art galleries, design studios and boutique shops. A short distance from the City, the Design Museum, Borough Market, Tate Modern and Tower Bridge, it is ideally located to visit some of London's finest sights whilst staying in an up and coming neighbourhood. If you seek Tower Bridge Hotels the Bermondsey Square Hotel is only moments away. As one of the very finest Bermondsey Hotels, this 80-room hotel is designed to meet the needs of discerning guests, from business travellers to party people, foodies and fashionistas, to those simply looking to relax and enjoy the local attractions whilst staying in the comfort of stylish Bermondsey Accommodation. Each room has been designed and furnished with care and style. Each space, from our GB Grill & Bar to the rooftop terrace, has been playfully tailored to enhance the stylish, bespoke character of the Hotel. GB Grill & Bar supports locally-sourced produce and is one of the best new Restaurants in Bermondsey, a district that was already a mecca for lovers of fine food and wine. Come and visit us soon at one of the most popular Bermondsey Square Hotels. More than anything we are here to serve and ensure you have an unforgettable stay.

Bermondsey Square Hotel London Rooms

SUPERIOR - ROOM
Light bright modern design room including luxury Mattison beds, artfully designed work spaces, flat screen 32" LED TVs, fridges and wet-rooms with Grohe drench showers
CLUB - ROOM
Light bright modern room including luxury extra-deep Vi-Spring Mattison beds, artfully designed work spaces, flat screen TVs, fridges and large spa Grohe drench showers

Amenities

  • WiFi
General
Concierge
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Bermondsey Square Hotel London also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5

Hotel Map

51.4975 -0.0814
Area served
London
Nearby airports
City Airport, (LCY), 7.00, MI, E; Heathrow Airport, (LHR), 19.50, MI, W; Gatwick Airport, (LGW), 28.70, MI, S; Luton Airport, (LTN), 29.20, MI, NE; Stansted, (STN), 36.30, MI, NW;
Area description
The Bermondsey Square Hotel is a few minutes' from London Bridge and the City; in the heart of one of London's most vibrant 'villages'. In the Square itself, there is a boutique cinema and weekly antiques market.London Bridge Station is a short walk away which means you can be at: City Airport within 25 minutes Gatwick Airport within 40 minutes using the Gatwick Express Canary Wharf within three stops on the Jubilee line for Excel Exhibition Centre as it is only 15 minutes away on the Docklands Light Railway Waterloo Station in a 5-minute cab journey or two stops on the Jubilee line. There are so many great pubs, shops, cafes and restaurants in Bermondsey that you're unlikely to tire of it, but if you should, then the West End is just 15 minutes on the Underground.

Nearby points of interest

  • Fashion and Textile Museum: 0.1 mi
  • City Hall: 0.5 mi
  • The Shard: 0.5 mi
  • Design Museum: 0.5 mi
  • London Dungeon: 0.6 mi
  • Winston Churchill's Britain At War Experience: 0.6 mi
  • Borough: 0.6 mi
  • London Bridge Station: 0.6 mi
  • HMS Belfast: 0.6 mi
  • Kenwood House: 0.7 mi
  • Southwark Cathedral: 0.7 mi
  • Tower Bridge: 0.7 mi
  • Tower of London: 0.8 mi
  • Southwark: 0.8 mi
  • London Film Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Fashion and Textile Museum: 0.1 mi
  • City Hall: 0.5 mi
  • The Shard: 0.5 mi
  • Design Museum: 0.5 mi
  • London Dungeon: 0.6 mi
  • Winston Churchill's Britain At War Experience: 0.6 mi
  • Borough: 0.6 mi
  • London Bridge Station: 0.6 mi
  • HMS Belfast: 0.6 mi
  • Kenwood House: 0.7 mi
  • Southwark Cathedral: 0.7 mi
  • Tower Bridge: 0.7 mi
  • Tower of London: 0.8 mi
  • Southwark: 0.8 mi
  • London Film Museum: 0.8 mi
  • London Fire Brigade Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Rose Theatre Exhibition: 0.8 mi
  • Clink Prison Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Elephant & Castle Shopping Centre : 0.8 mi
  • London South Bank University: 0.9 mi
  • Tower Hill: 1 mi
  • Aldgate: 1 mi
  • Tate Modern: 1.1 mi
  • Cinema Museum: 1.1 mi
  • Royal Exchange: 1.1 mi
  • Millennium Bridge: 1.1 mi
  • the Gherkin: 1.2 mi
  • Imperial War Museum: 1.2 mi
  • Bank of England: 1.2 mi
  • Tower 42: 1.2 mi
  • Brunel Museum: 1.3 mi
  • Women's Library: 1.3 mi
  • Royal Fusiliers Museum: 1.4 mi
  • St. Pauls Cathedral: 1.4 mi
  • Liverpool Street Station: 1.4 mi
  • Lambeth: 1.4 mi
  • Clockmakers' Museum: 1.4 mi
  • Whitechapel Gallery: 1.5 mi
  • Waterloo station: 1.5 mi
  • Florence Nightingale Museum: 1.5 mi
  • South Bank: 1.5 mi
  • Peckham: 1.5 mi
  • Museum of London: 1.5 mi
  • Old Bailey: 1.5 mi
  • Museum of London Docklands: 1.5 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Bermondsey Square Hotel has a range of versatile and stylish event spaces that can be used for anything from a private boardroom for 12 to a large drinks reception and BBQ for 150 on our terrace overlooking the square. Our modern and well planned out meeting space benefits from natural daylight throughout and can be divided from a large open space into three smaller syndicates. We've also teamed up with our neighbour on the Square, Shortwave Cinemas, to offer packages for private screenings for up to 50 people. And if you're looking for the perfect backdrop to an interview, photoshoot or initimate drinks reception, why not try one of our Loft rooms with city skyline views from Canary Wharf to Westminster and the London Eye.

Dining

GB Grill & Bar
With a fantastic menu, good wine list and a cosy and relaxed atmosphere, you will be welcomed like an old friend to GB Grill & Bar every time you visit. It is a great spot for a mid-week catch up, a place to relax or celebrate on the weekend or the perfect environment to enjoy a scrumptious meal with the family on Sunday. Open for breakfast, lunch and dinner, its doors are always open to guests and locals, visitors and friends.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1400
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (35)

Ratings and reviews for Bermondsey Square Hotel London

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
35 out of 35
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
3.7
Value:
4

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Bermondsey Square Hotel London

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
sfab79
Memphis, TN, USA
Sep 11, 2011

amazing yet reasonably priced boutique hotel in London

Bermondsey Square Hotel was by far the best lodging experience I've had in London. The hotel has a hip modern design but still feels much more welcoming and unique than your average chain accommodation. The rooms are small, but well designed so as not to feel crowded. The shower was luxurious and the bed was comfortable. A nice sized desk and small vanity area were thoughtful and functional additions. I've found other London hotels rather dingy and shabby, but this one was pristine; a pleasant oasis to return to after a long day of touring. Staff was polite and helpful. We requested an iron, transportation advice, and a wake up call. All requests were handled in a timely and professional manner. We didn't try the hotel restaurant until our last night, and we were sorry we didn't try it earlier in our stay. We had traditional British fare, fish and chips and bangers and mash and both were prepared with quality ingredients and tasted great. The chocolate and orange tart with clotted cream was decadent. Service was some of the more friendly we experienced in the city. Prices were reasonable. Some reviewers have complained about the hotel's location, but we had no problems with it. The nearest tube stop is London Bridge and is about a 10 minute walk, but from there you can get just about anywhere in the city in no time. We walked to the Tate Modern and St. Paul's. The Bermondsey neighborhood is safe and largely residential, and full of great restaurants, pubs, and boutiques very near the hotel. A small grocery store is a few steps from the hotel door. I felt this hotel was a very good value given the quality of accommodation in a very expensive city. I would recommend this hotel and hope to stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

If you're traveling to/from this hotel to/from Gatwick Airport, use the First Capital Connect train service to travel directly to/from London Bridge station in less than 30 minutes. Don't use the Gatwick Express; it costs more and Victoria station is out of the way for this location.

Review of Bermondsey Square Hotel London

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Cardiffian
Cardiff
Apr 9, 2014

Nice Modern Hotel

Staff helpful. Room modern executive design. Location away from the crowds but only 10 minute walk to London Bridge Station

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Bermondsey Square Hotel London

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Eeiippoo
Ireland
Apr 5, 2014

Weekend away

My fiancé and I had a lovely stay at this hotel! It was very central and within walking distance to lots of places of interests. The accompanying restaurant was excellent for breakfast and dinner, and the staff were very pleasant. We would definitely recommend this hotel if you are looking for a clean, comfortable and reasonably priced stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Bermondsey Square Hotel London

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ozge Doguc
New York, USA
Jan 5, 2014

Great location ver good deal

We were looking for a decently priced hotel that is also not too far from London City center. The Bermondsey Sq. Hotel exceeded our expectations in that respect. 1- it is surrounded by bus stops. You can take direct busses to Oxford St., Waterloo (London Eye) or Victoria. Busses are very frequent and mostly empty. It takes max 20 mins to reach the city center. 2- The hotel is new and clean. In fact the square is only 5 years old, thus even local does not know it by name. 3- Our room was very nice, every thing was very new and clean. It was a bit small for two people though. Overall, it is a very nice hotel and very good price. Strongly recommend...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Take bus number 1 to and from the city. It is very frequent and operates until late hours.

Review of Bermondsey Square Hotel London

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
19akw65
Kent
Apr 30, 2013

Perfect over night stay !!

Booked this hotel as we were attending a family party, we quite often stay over night in London and I must say this is one of the best hotels we have stayed at. Staff were polite and efficient, room was clean and we had a great view of the shard. Will definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Bermondsey Square Hotel London

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Richy
U.K.
Mar 26, 2013

Great Place to Stay

My kind of hotel. Comfortable, clean, modern, great staff, excellent cafe/restaurant. Very handy for the City. Approx. 10 mins, walk from Tower Bridge. Couldn't fault it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Bermondsey Square Hotel London

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
jjiimmbboo
Business
portland OR
Sep 24, 2012

really enjoyed it

only frustrating thing was the restaurant and therefore room service was not offered the week I was there due to hotel GB channel 4 production preparation - there was no advance notice of this and no signeage to that effect either - there are not many restaurants in direct vicinity, but those that are there are very good and there is a grocery store accross the square - on Friday and Saturday very interesting markets are set up in the square...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Bermondsey Square Hotel London

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
sfab79
Memphis, TN, USA
Sep 11, 2011

amazing yet reasonably priced boutique hotel in London

Bermondsey Square Hotel was by far the best lodging experience I've had in London. The hotel has a hip modern design but still feels much more welcoming and unique than your average chain accommodation. The rooms are small, but well designed so as not to feel crowded. The shower was luxurious and the bed was comfortable. A nice sized desk and small vanity area were thoughtful and functional additions. I've found other London hotels rather dingy and shabby, but this one was pristine; a pleasant oasis to return to after a long day of touring. Staff was polite and helpful. We requested an iron, transportation advice, and a wake up call. All requests were handled in a timely and professional manner. We didn't try the hotel restaurant until our last night, and we were sorry we didn't try it earlier in our stay. We had traditional British fare, fish and chips and bangers and mash and both were prepared with quality ingredients and tasted great. The chocolate and orange tart with clotted cream was decadent. Service was some of the more friendly we experienced in the city. Prices were reasonable. Some reviewers have complained about the hotel's location, but we had no problems with it. The nearest tube stop is London Bridge and is about a 10 minute walk, but from there you can get just about anywhere in the city in no time. We walked to the Tate Modern and St. Paul's. The Bermondsey neighborhood is safe and largely residential, and full of great restaurants, pubs, and boutiques very near the hotel. A small grocery store is a few steps from the hotel door. I felt this hotel was a very good value given the quality of accommodation in a very expensive city. I would recommend this hotel and hope to stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

If you're traveling to/from this hotel to/from Gatwick Airport, use the First Capital Connect train service to travel directly to/from London Bridge station in less than 30 minutes. Don't use the Gatwick Express; it costs more and Victoria station is out of the way for this location.

Review of Bermondsey Square Hotel London

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
sfab79
Memphis, TN, USA
Sep 11, 2011

amazing yet reasonably priced boutique hotel in London

Bermondsey Square Hotel was by far the best lodging experience I've had in London. The hotel has a hip modern design but still feels much more welcoming and unique than your average chain accommodation. The rooms are small, but well designed so as not to feel crowded. The shower was luxurious and the bed was comfortable. A nice sized desk and small vanity area were thoughtful and functional additions. I've found other London hotels rather dingy and shabby, but this one was pristine; a pleasant oasis to return to after a long day of touring. Staff was polite and helpful. We requested an iron, transportation advice, and a wake up call. All requests were handled in a timely and professional manner. We didn't try the hotel restaurant until our last night, and we were sorry we didn't try it earlier in our stay. We had traditional British fare, fish and chips and bangers and mash and both were prepared with quality ingredients and tasted great. The chocolate and orange tart with clotted cream was decadent. Service was some of the more friendly we experienced in the city. Prices were reasonable. Some reviewers have complained about the hotel's location, but we had no problems with it. The nearest tube stop is London Bridge and is about a 10 minute walk, but from there you can get just about anywhere in the city in no time. We walked to the Tate Modern and St. Paul's. The Bermondsey neighborhood is safe and largely residential, and full of great restaurants, pubs, and boutiques very near the hotel. A small grocery store is a few steps from the hotel door. I felt this hotel was a very good value given the quality of accommodation in a very expensive city. I would recommend this hotel and hope to stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

If you're traveling to/from this hotel to/from Gatwick Airport, use the First Capital Connect train service to travel directly to/from London Bridge station in less than 30 minutes. Don't use the Gatwick Express; it costs more and Victoria station is out of the way for this location.

Review of Bermondsey Square Hotel London

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
gospodyina
Baltimore, MD
May 19, 2011

New and Nice

I visited London for a conference about half a mile from this hotel, and Bermondsey Square could easily become my London hotel of choice. It's reasonably walkable from several Northern Line stations, and has a Barclay's bike hire steps away. The room was small by American standards, but certainly larger than I've learned to expect from European downtown hotels. Everything was set on an angle, which reduced the feeling of shuffling sideways between the bed and the walls that I've experienced elsewhere. The TV was an iMac, which meant I could charge my iPhone via a USB port instead of the eerily buzzing series of adapters and transformers I've tentatively used in the past. The square includes a bar/movie theatre, a cafe/bookshop, a Sainsbury's local, and a Mediterranean restaurant in addition to the bar, restaurant, and chippy attached to the hotel; the Friday antiques market is quite upscale and starts drawing a crowd long before sunrise (although I was on the second floor facing the square, and didn't hear a peep). Walking into town along Long Lane is a little shorter, but taking Bermondsey Street instead is more interesting. Lots of great little soup-and-sandwich places line the street, which ends near More London, the hip new office/retail area surrounding City Hall.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Stop off at Bermondsey Street Coffee on your way into town for wonderful soups, free Wifi, and fun attitude!

Review of Bermondsey Square Hotel London

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
gospodyina
Baltimore, MD
May 19, 2011

New and Nice

I visited London for a conference about half a mile from this hotel, and Bermondsey Square could easily become my London hotel of choice. It's reasonably walkable from several Northern Line stations, and has a Barclay's bike hire steps away. The room was small by American standards, but certainly larger than I've learned to expect from European downtown hotels. Everything was set on an angle, which reduced the feeling of shuffling sideways between the bed and the walls that I've experienced elsewhere. The TV was an iMac, which meant I could charge my iPhone via a USB port instead of the eerily buzzing series of adapters and transformers I've tentatively used in the past. The square includes a bar/movie theatre, a cafe/bookshop, a Sainsbury's local, and a Mediterranean restaurant in addition to the bar, restaurant, and chippy attached to the hotel; the Friday antiques market is quite upscale and starts drawing a crowd long before sunrise (although I was on the second floor facing the square, and didn't hear a peep). Walking into town along Long Lane is a little shorter, but taking Bermondsey Street instead is more interesting. Lots of great little soup-and-sandwich places line the street, which ends near More London, the hip new office/retail area surrounding City Hall.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Stop off at Bermondsey Street Coffee on your way into town for wonderful soups, free Wifi, and fun attitude!

Back to menu Return to top