$138 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Mar 29, 2015 Check-out: Apr 1, 2015

Bedford

3 stars
View map of Southampton Row, Russell Square, London, WC1

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
4 reviews
Location counts

2nd stay Good all around experience.Will stay agaim. See full review

  • Go go guy
  • Jan 19, 2014
Very good hotel. I would like to come back.

Good location. Friendly staff. Good price. I and my friend were very happy by staying in this... See full review

  • Alena Alena
  • Jan 25, 2013
Although the hotel appears to be quite dated, with 1970's style decor and furnishings, the location and simple but comfortable accommodation make this functional, practical hotel a good choice for those on a budget. (0803MJ) Exterior: The hotel is a 1970's building. Lobby: The reception is small but pleasantly light due to the large windows looking out onto the street. The decor is also 1970's style and there is a seating area available.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Bedford also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Bedford Rooms

Room Information
The rooms are medium in size and again decorated in 1970's style, the decor is quite dated, however clean and in fair condition. The bathrooms are quite small and also in fair condition.

Amenities

Dining
Room service
Services
Laundry service
Guest laundromat
Parking
Parking
Room
TV
Radio
Hairdryer in room

Nearby points of interest

  • Russell Square: 0.1 mi
  • British Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Cartoon Museum: 0.2 mi
  • School of Oriental and African Studies: 0.2 mi
  • Institute of Education: 0.3 mi
  • Birkbeck: 0.3 mi
  • London School of Hygiene & Tropical Medicine: 0.3 mi
  • London Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Dominion Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Charles Dickens Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Sir John Soane's Museum: 0.4 mi
  • The Brunswick : 0.4 mi
  • Petrie Museum of Egyptian Archaeology: 0.4 mi
  • Institute of Archaeology Collections: 0.5 mi
  • Thomas Neal Centre : 0.5 mi
  • Russell Square: 0.1 mi
  • British Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Cartoon Museum: 0.2 mi
  • School of Oriental and African Studies: 0.2 mi
  • Institute of Education: 0.3 mi
  • Birkbeck: 0.3 mi
  • London School of Hygiene & Tropical Medicine: 0.3 mi
  • London Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Dominion Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Charles Dickens Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Sir John Soane's Museum: 0.4 mi
  • The Brunswick : 0.4 mi
  • Petrie Museum of Egyptian Archaeology: 0.4 mi
  • Institute of Archaeology Collections: 0.5 mi
  • Thomas Neal Centre : 0.5 mi
  • Royal Opera House: 0.5 mi
  • Grant Museum of Zoology: 0.5 mi
  • Soho: 0.5 mi
  • University College London: 0.5 mi
  • London Astoria: 0.5 mi
  • British Postal Museum and Archive: 0.5 mi
  • West End: 0.6 mi
  • University of London: 0.6 mi
  • Aldwych Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Lyceum Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • London Transport Museum: 0.6 mi
  • British Library: 0.6 mi
  • Old Operating Theatre Museum and Herb Garret: 0.6 mi
  • St Pancras railway station: 0.6 mi
  • Transport Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Kings Cross-St Pancras station: 0.7 mi
  • the Strand: 0.7 mi
  • Courtauld Gallery: 0.7 mi
  • Euston: 0.7 mi
  • Twinings Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Shaftesbury Avenue: 0.7 mi
  • Fitzrovia: 0.7 mi
  • Somerset House: 0.7 mi
  • London Chinatown: 0.7 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.7 mi
  • Adelphi Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Leicester Square: 0.8 mi
  • Temple church: 0.8 mi
  • Farringdon: 0.8 mi
  • Fleet Street: 0.8 mi

Dining

Restaurant Information
Buffet style breakfast, lunch and dinner are all served in the restaurant, which overlooks a small secluded terrace with a pond. There is also a coffee bar, which serves snacks throughout the day.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
2:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (4)

Ratings and reviews for Bedford

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
4 out of 4
Amenities:
3.5
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
3.8
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
5
Value:
3.8
Sort by:
Review of Bedford

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
David
Not Provided
Feb 4, 2011

Quite nice hotel, but old, hotel.

Quite nice hotel, but old, hotel. Friendly and helpful staff, and an excellent breakfast buffet. The hotel has a nice restaurant and bar attached to it, and is exceptionally well located close to Russell Square tube station. There are plenty of restaurants around the hotel and there is an easy walk to New Oxford Street and Oxford and Regent streets from there. I probably got one of the worst rooms on my floor, right in front of the housekeeping station, and you could hear everything from 6 in the morning. There was a gap under my door of about 1 cm, and all of the sounds out in the hall were amplified. Bathroom was small, but nice towels and sheets. I would stay at this hotel again for the price, friendliness, and location, but maybe not on a vacation trip where I wanted to sleep in and have access to more facilities.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
No rating
Location:
5
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Bedford

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
vermeer
Business
philadelphia
Dec 20, 2014

bloomsbury

The bathtub/showers in this hotel cannot be easily or safely accessed by a "mature" traveler. I have to stay in the Disability suite.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Bedford

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Go go guy
Business
San Francisco
Jan 19, 2014

Location counts

2nd stay Good all around experience.Will stay agaim.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Bedford

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
vermeer
Business
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, Verenigde Staten
Oct 30, 2013

Bedford Blomsbury

This is my favorite location in London and a hotel I use often. Warning, though, the bathubs/showevers are old fashsioned and difficukt to get in to -- impossible for some older people. Also, when I stayed recently, phone number listed was incorrect;

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Bedford

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Alena Alena
Business
Belarus
Jan 25, 2013

Very good hotel. I would like to come back.

Good location. Friendly staff. Good price. I and my friend were very happy by staying in this hotel. I would like to come back here on my next trip to London.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top