$180 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 3, 2014 Check-out: May 6, 2014

Americana Hotel

3 stars
172 Gloucester Place Regents Park, London, NW1 6DS
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.3
out of 5
18 reviews
Great location - small but clean

Apart from some rather large stains on the carpets throughout the hotel, everything was very clean.... See full review

  • Big Bird
  • Oct 23, 2012
Cute little gem

I was concerned about a recent bout with bedbugs. However, I was pleased with the steps the hotel... See full review

  • Anonymous
  • May 25, 2011
The Americana Hotel was totally refurbished in 2006; all the bedrooms have a comfortable modern look and all the bathrooms have private showers, direct dial telephone, multi-channel TV. We also have comfortable lounge area on the ground floor where complimentary fresh ground coffee, hot chocolate and fresh brewed tea are available throughout the day. The Americana Hotel has a friendly welcoming atmosphere and our staff is available 24 hours per day to take care of your detailed requirements and maintain a safe environment during your stay. The Americana Hotel is just a few minutes' walk from the beautiful Regents Park, where London Zoo is located and the Open Air Theatre plays in the summer months, and the multitude of shopping opportunities in Oxford Street. Also within walking distance of the Americana are Madame Tussauds & the Planetarium, Lords Cricket Ground, London Business School, Regents College, The Sherlock Holmes Museum, The various Royal Medical Colleges, Harley Street, London Central Mosque With excellent facilities as well as comfortable guest rooms and public areas, this small and friendly hotel offers great value accommodation in a superb location. The hotel provides facilities like Smoke-free hotel, Internet access - Free Wireless, Non-smoking rooms. Reception.

Americana Hotel Rooms

Standard
Room with one double bed or one twin bed includes Heating, Internet access, Safe in room, Bathroom amenities, Telephone, Color TV, Non-smoking rooms, Ensuite / Private bathroom, Free View TV, Hairdryer, Radio.

Amenities

  • Free buffet breakfast
  • Free internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Dining
Free buffet breakfast
Services
In-Room Safe
Internet
Free internet

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Americana Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

Hotel Map

51.5247 -0.1608
Area served
London.
Nearby airports
London Gatwick International Airport.
Area description
The Americana Hotel is centrally located and thanks to close proximity to Baker Street Underground Station guest staying at the Hotel have easy access to London's business district, its many tourist attractions and theatres. Baker Street Underground Station is served by the Jubilee, Bakerloo, Hammersmith & City, Circle and Metropolitan lines and many of London's bus routes stop nearby. This abundance of transport links makes the Americana an ideal base for both business and leisure travellers.

Nearby points of interest

  • London Business School: 0.1 mi
  • Sherlock Holmes Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Baker Street: 0.3 mi
  • Madame Tussauds: 0.3 mi
  • Royal Academy of Music: 0.4 mi
  • Showroom Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • Regent's College: 0.5 mi
  • Lords Cricket Ground: 0.6 mi
  • Wallace Collection: 0.6 mi
  • Royal College of Physicians Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Red Mansion Foundation: 0.7 mi
  • London Zoo: 0.8 mi
  • Marble Arch: 0.8 mi
  • Selfridges: 0.8 mi
  • Hyde Park: 0.8 mi
  • London Business School: 0.1 mi
  • Sherlock Holmes Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Baker Street: 0.3 mi
  • Madame Tussauds: 0.3 mi
  • Royal Academy of Music: 0.4 mi
  • Showroom Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • Regent's College: 0.5 mi
  • Lords Cricket Ground: 0.6 mi
  • Wallace Collection: 0.6 mi
  • Royal College of Physicians Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Red Mansion Foundation: 0.7 mi
  • London Zoo: 0.8 mi
  • Marble Arch: 0.8 mi
  • Selfridges: 0.8 mi
  • Hyde Park: 0.8 mi
  • Paddington Station: 0.9 mi
  • City of Westminster: 0.9 mi
  • Bond Street London: 0.9 mi
  • Fitzrovia: 0.9 mi
  • Regents Park: 0.9 mi
  • University of Westminster: 1 mi
  • Oxford Street: 1 mi
  • Handel House Museum: 1 mi
  • Oxford Circus: 1.1 mi
  • Photographers Gallery: 1.1 mi
  • University of London: 1.1 mi
  • Primrose Hill: 1.1 mi
  • Jewish Military Museum: 1.1 mi
  • Jewish Museum: 1.1 mi
  • University College London: 1.1 mi
  • London Palladium: 1.1 mi
  • Grant Museum of Zoology: 1.1 mi
  • Park Lane: 1.1 mi
  • Lancaster Gate: 1.2 mi
  • Petrie Museum of Egyptian Archaeology: 1.2 mi
  • Euston: 1.2 mi
  • Carnaby Street: 1.2 mi
  • Institute of Archaeology Collections: 1.3 mi
  • Kingly Court : 1.3 mi
  • Camden Market: 1.3 mi
  • Birkbeck: 1.3 mi
  • Regent Street: 1.3 mi
  • Maida Vale: 1.3 mi
  • King's College London: 1.3 mi
  • Royal Arcade : 1.4 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1400
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (18)

Ratings and reviews for Americana Hotel

Overall score

3.3 / 5
6 out of 18
Amenities:
3.3
Room cleanliness:
3.3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3.2
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.2

83% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Americana Hotel

Reviewer score

4
Anonymous
Los Angeles, CA
May 25, 2011

Cute little gem

I was concerned about a recent bout with bedbugs. However, I was pleased with the steps the hotel took to eradicate the monsters along with their openess and honesty. My daughter and I stayed there and the room was great with a dryer, plenty of towels, helpful desk staff and shower gel, shampoo and sink gel soap. It was clean and close to tube stations.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Americana Hotel

Reviewer score

3
Anonymous
New York, NY
Nov 29, 2010

Budget Hotel in great location

My Mom and I were visiting our cousins in London and were looking for a decent afforable hotel in a good location. This is it. The staff were incredibly helpful and attentive. The room was small but clean. The breakfast and all day tea/coffee was a nice touch.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Baker Street Station around the corner, Marylebone a few blocks away, and Oxford Street about a 15-20 minute walk.

Review of Americana Hotel

Reviewer score

3
SMU parent
boston, MA
Dec 7, 2009

Nice Find

Hotel is located 2-3 blocks from two London underground stops, British railway and airport bus service to low price airports. Staff was friendly and morning breakfast was a great surprise.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Americana Hotel

Reviewer score

3
Don Pedro
Oxfordshire
Oct 14, 2009

Fine, but don't expect miracles

The first thing we noticed was the friendly guy at the reception. He offered us a choice of two rooms, one slightly bigger under the ground level with a window high up under the ceiling facing a small back courtyard with fire escape stairs, the other slightly smaller, but with a proper window facing the street. The size difference was negligible and we opted for the upstairs room. The second thing we noticed was the lift and the rooms themselves. They were all the size that would give a sardine claustrophobia. It is a mystery how they managed to fit a double bed into something that small. I understand that space is at a premium in London, but this was really pushing the limit. One adult or one adult and one child would fit nicely, two adults only if they get along very well. We were two adults and a toddler and it was a squeeze, but we managed. The biggest hurdle was to get to the wardrobe. You really need to climb over each other to get there. And forget about a space for your suitcase. It will be constantly in your way. We finally found a nook in the bathroom where it would just about fit. The bathroom was nice, cosy and clean, if a bit small, but the room, although the sheets were clean, looked like it needed the carpet replaced and the walls redecorated at least a decade ago. The same applies to the carpet and walls in the staircase. Also, it was mid October and at least in our room, the radiator was stuck shut. We could hear the hot water in the pipes, but the radiator was cold and there was no way to turn the valve even a little bit, although it did not look damaged. We did not complain about it, as we only spent the nights there and did not mind it a bit cooler, but be it December, the story might have been different. For the price they charge, one would expect at least some comfort. In three words, forget about it. However, what the room lacked in comfort was more than compensated by the location and the staff friendliness. Seeing that we had a small child, they offered us an out-of-hours access to the kitchen to use their microwave and fridge. They let us use the small space behind reception to keep our buggy in, and on checkout, they offered us to store our luggage for the whole day. The continental breakfast was nice and you could eat as much as you wanted. The cook very friendly, chatting with our little daughter and bringing her special treats. There was a coffee machine and a big bowl of apples in the lobby, to use at any time free of charge. Quite handy when you come back tired in the evening. Overall, we were reasonably happy with the stay and would consider coming back or recommend it, but include a caution about the small rooms.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Visit the London ZOO in the Regents Park. It's across the park, about 30 minutes walk. Short for me, though perhaps not so for a citizen of an unnamed country who is used to driving one block to the nearest 7-11 :-)

Review of Americana Hotel

Reviewer score

4
PhilJamie
East Anglia
Sep 15, 2009

Fantastic Find

Fantastic! Upon arrival we were offered a larger room due to the kids. Hotel staff were friendly and outgoing to make our stay as comfortable as possible.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Americana Hotel

Reviewer score

3
Anonymous
Minnesota USA
May 8, 2009

One night stay at Americana

We stayed at the Americana as our first night in London after an allnight flight. It was very cheap for the location. A very nice neighborhood close to fantastic Regent Park. The location and price made up for most of the bad things about this hotel. The front of the hotel and desk area are very nice. But the room was pretty dingy, the walls scuffed, dirt in the corner of everything, dirty carpets. The bathroom was nicer it felt as if it had been remodeled but they didn't touch the bedroom area. The shower was really good. Lots of very hot water and plenty of water pressure. The shower was the cleanest part of the rooms so that was good! There was a very small tv attached to the wall, like in a bar. The traffic noise outside on the street was very hard to get over. They had a very nice little automatic coffee/espresso/hot chocolate maker downstairs in the lobby which kind of made up for the dingy room. But unfortunately in the morning when I really needed the coffee I came downstairs to discover it was broken. The guy at the front desk when we arrived was very helpful, but the guy at the front desk the next morning was not. When I asked if he had any alternative to the broken coffee maker he pointed me to some dried coffee flakes. Then he gave me some very vague directions to coffee shops in the area. I wouldn't stay here again, but if you were looking for cheap place in that neighborhood it might be ok for one night if you don't care about cleanliness that much.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
5
Back to menu Return to top