$150 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 22, 2014 Check-out: Dec 24, 2014

Americana Hotel

3 stars
172 Gloucester Place Regents Park, London, NW1 6DS
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.2
out of 5
19 reviews
Great location - small but clean

Apart from some rather large stains on the carpets throughout the hotel, everything was very clean.... See full review

  • Big Bird
  • Oct 23, 2012
Cute little gem

I was concerned about a recent bout with bedbugs. However, I was pleased with the steps the hotel... See full review

  • Anonymous
  • May 25, 2011
The Americana Hotel was totally refurbished in 2006; all the bedrooms have a comfortable modern look and all the bathrooms have private showers, direct dial telephone, multi-channel TV. We also have comfortable lounge area on the ground floor where complimentary fresh ground coffee, hot chocolate and fresh brewed tea are available throughout the day. The Americana Hotel has a friendly welcoming atmosphere and our staff is available 24 hours per day to take care of your detailed requirements and maintain a safe environment during your stay. The Americana Hotel is just a few minutes' walk from the beautiful Regents Park, where London Zoo is located and the Open Air Theatre plays in the summer months, and the multitude of shopping opportunities in Oxford Street. Also within walking distance of the Americana are Madame Tussauds & the Planetarium, Lords Cricket Ground, London Business School, Regents College, The Sherlock Holmes Museum, The various Royal Medical Colleges, Harley Street, London Central Mosque With excellent facilities as well as comfortable guest rooms and public areas, this small and friendly hotel offers great value accommodation in a superb location. The hotel provides facilities like Smoke-free hotel, Internet access - Free Wireless, Non-smoking rooms. Reception.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Americana Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

Americana Hotel Rooms

Standard
Room with one double bed or one twin bed includes Heating, Internet access, Safe in room, Bathroom amenities, Telephone, Color TV, Non-smoking rooms, Ensuite / Private bathroom, Free View TV, Hairdryer, Radio.

Amenities

  • Free buffet breakfast
  • Free internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Dining
Free buffet breakfast
Services
In-Room Safe
Internet
Free internet

Nearby points of interest

  • London Business School: 0.1 mi
  • Sherlock Holmes Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Baker Street: 0.3 mi
  • Madame Tussauds: 0.3 mi
  • Royal Academy of Music: 0.4 mi
  • Showroom Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • Regent's College: 0.5 mi
  • Lords Cricket Ground: 0.6 mi
  • Wallace Collection: 0.6 mi
  • Royal College of Physicians Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Red Mansion Foundation: 0.7 mi
  • London Zoo: 0.8 mi
  • Marble Arch: 0.8 mi
  • Selfridges: 0.8 mi
  • Hyde Park: 0.8 mi
  • London Business School: 0.1 mi
  • Sherlock Holmes Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Baker Street: 0.3 mi
  • Madame Tussauds: 0.3 mi
  • Royal Academy of Music: 0.4 mi
  • Showroom Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • Regent's College: 0.5 mi
  • Lords Cricket Ground: 0.6 mi
  • Wallace Collection: 0.6 mi
  • Royal College of Physicians Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Red Mansion Foundation: 0.7 mi
  • London Zoo: 0.8 mi
  • Marble Arch: 0.8 mi
  • Selfridges: 0.8 mi
  • Hyde Park: 0.8 mi
  • Paddington Station: 0.9 mi
  • City of Westminster: 0.9 mi
  • Bond Street London: 0.9 mi
  • Fitzrovia: 0.9 mi
  • Regents Park: 0.9 mi
  • University of Westminster: 1 mi
  • Oxford Street: 1 mi
  • Handel House Museum: 1 mi
  • Oxford Circus: 1.1 mi
  • Photographers Gallery: 1.1 mi
  • University of London: 1.1 mi
  • Primrose Hill: 1.1 mi
  • Jewish Military Museum: 1.1 mi
  • Jewish Museum: 1.1 mi
  • University College London: 1.1 mi
  • London Palladium: 1.1 mi
  • Grant Museum of Zoology: 1.1 mi
  • Park Lane: 1.1 mi
  • Lancaster Gate: 1.2 mi
  • Petrie Museum of Egyptian Archaeology: 1.2 mi
  • Euston: 1.2 mi
  • Carnaby Street: 1.2 mi
  • Institute of Archaeology Collections: 1.3 mi
  • Kingly Court : 1.3 mi
  • Camden Market: 1.3 mi
  • Birkbeck: 1.3 mi
  • Regent Street: 1.3 mi
  • Maida Vale: 1.3 mi
  • King's College London: 1.3 mi
  • Royal Arcade : 1.4 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1400
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (19)

Ratings and reviews for Americana Hotel

Overall score

3.2 / 5
5.01.0
19 out of 19
Amenities:
2.9
Room cleanliness:
3.3
Hotel staff:
3.6
Room comfort:
2.9
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.7

79% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Americana Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Big Bird
Business
Farnham, UK
Oct 23, 2012

Great location - small but clean

Apart from some rather large stains on the carpets throughout the hotel, everything was very clean. The room was small but at this price, in this location what more could you expect? It was perfect for what we needed and I would stay again. Having read the reviews, I'm glad that my friend and I opted for a quieter double room at the back, rather than a twin at the front. It isn't the busiest road in London but the buses come thundering past at all hours.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Long walk from hotel

Don't just get on the tube at Baker Street... walk through Regents Park and through Mayfair onto Oxford Street. It doesn't take long and you've saved yourself the tube fare... to put towards dinner in one of the lovely boutique cafes on Marylebone High Street!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Americana Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Los Angeles, CA
May 25, 2011

Cute little gem

I was concerned about a recent bout with bedbugs. However, I was pleased with the steps the hotel took to eradicate the monsters along with their openess and honesty. My daughter and I stayed there and the room was great with a dryer, plenty of towels, helpful desk staff and shower gel, shampoo and sink gel soap. It was clean and close to tube stations.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Americana Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Cairo Andersons
Business
Canadians from Cairo
Jun 26, 2009

Americana Hotel

Our visit was a four day stop, first visit to London. The location was great. Easy access from Heathrow via Tube. Baker st. station is only about 5oo metres. We like walking and you are close enough to walk to many attractions. Rooms are small but adequate. Breakfast was terrific. Staff very helpful and friendly. Will return!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Americana Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Tim and Hollys first trip to UK
Business
Waterford NY
May 30, 2009

Tim & Hollys trip

Great hotel, staff Very helpfull, owner great help. Stayed one week, other than phoning out from room issues, which were being fixed, Had great time. great location, clean and safe.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Americana Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
St. Louis, MO
Oct 5, 2009

Good location, fair price

Staff was extremely helpful. Room small, but we slept well. Breakfast was diffrent; non-US, but ok. When you leave the Tube go right for 2 block, turn right for three blocks. Excellent location for the Tube; we went everywhere on the Tube. We will stay there on our next visit.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Get a map of the city, brouchures, and head for the Tube. A great experience!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Americana Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Birmingham, AL
Jun 13, 2009

good location, accomodations, & price

Great for singles or couples, but way too small for families. Clean rooms. Decent free continental breakfast. Lots of restaraunts nearby. Tube within 5min walking distance. Baker St tube station with adequate number of different lines, so that making multiple changes to get to your destination not really an issue. Quiet place to come back to at the end of the day. Would definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Highly recommend visting oxford if it fits your schedule. Only 50 miles away on train and they have bus tours there as well. Can definitely do it in a day. Can see the highlights in a half day if you really work.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Americana Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
PhilJamie
Business
East Anglia
Sep 15, 2009

Fantastic Find

Fantastic! Upon arrival we were offered a larger room due to the kids. Hotel staff were friendly and outgoing to make our stay as comfortable as possible.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Americana Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
American in London
Business
Towson, MD
Jun 27, 2010

Small but solid

I stayed a week in June 2010. I reserved a room with two twins, but all the twin rooms face busy Gloucester St, so I asked for a change to a double room in the back part of the hotel. They changed me with no difficulty and I was happy with the quiet room. Strangely it had no clock (or alarm) so I went and bought one, and the TV was pretty small, but in a small room it was certainly adequate. Maid service was efficient. They provide a very solid breakfast bar every day including OJ, various types of coffee, two kinds of cereal, cheese, cold cuts, croissants and/ or bread rolls, fruit, and yogurt. People were helpful. Overall I would recommend it unless you are a large person. Sitting on the toilet the sink is in your lap, and I could barely turn around in the shower stall. It was clean and quiet (off the street!) and the price was right.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Americana Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Cairo Andersons
Business
Cairo, Egypt
Aug 23, 2009

Great Place to Stay

We stopped at the Americana three times this summer for stays of 2 to 4 days. The staff were super helpful and friendly. The breakfast was wonderful. Since we like to walk, we found it a great place to see many of London's attractions from. Tube access is easy, but we didn't use it as much as we had expected. Staff were very helpful with any requests or questions. They helped us with what there was to see, how to get there, the best way to book, etc. Regent's park is fantastic and just outside your door. Baker street Tube is maybe 800m and an HSBC is at the same corner. Shops, restaurants, groceries, bus, all close to hotel. Recommend highly for mobile people sho like to walk a little.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Americana Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Don Pedro
Business
Oxfordshire
Oct 14, 2009

Fine, but don't expect miracles

The first thing we noticed was the friendly guy at the reception. He offered us a choice of two rooms, one slightly bigger under the ground level with a window high up under the ceiling facing a small back courtyard with fire escape stairs, the other slightly smaller, but with a proper window facing the street. The size difference was negligible and we opted for the upstairs room. The second thing we noticed was the lift and the rooms themselves. They were all the size that would give a sardine claustrophobia. It is a mystery how they managed to fit a double bed into something that small. I understand that space is at a premium in London, but this was really pushing the limit. One adult or one adult and one child would fit nicely, two adults only if they get along very well. We were two adults and a toddler and it was a squeeze, but we managed. The biggest hurdle was to get to the wardrobe. You really need to climb over each other to get there. And forget about a space for your suitcase. It will be constantly in your way. We finally found a nook in the bathroom where it would just about fit. The bathroom was nice, cosy and clean, if a bit small, but the room, although the sheets were clean, looked like it needed the carpet replaced and the walls redecorated at least a decade ago. The same applies to the carpet and walls in the staircase. Also, it was mid October and at least in our room, the radiator was stuck shut. We could hear the hot water in the pipes, but the radiator was cold and there was no way to turn the valve even a little bit, although it did not look damaged. We did not complain about it, as we only spent the nights there and did not mind it a bit cooler, but be it December, the story might have been different. For the price they charge, one would expect at least some comfort. In three words, forget about it. However, what the room lacked in comfort was more than compensated by the location and the staff friendliness. Seeing that we had a small child, they offered us an out-of-hours access to the kitchen to use their microwave and fridge. They let us use the small space behind reception to keep our buggy in, and on checkout, they offered us to store our luggage for the whole day. The continental breakfast was nice and you could eat as much as you wanted. The cook very friendly, chatting with our little daughter and bringing her special treats. There was a coffee machine and a big bowl of apples in the lobby, to use at any time free of charge. Quite handy when you come back tired in the evening. Overall, we were reasonably happy with the stay and would consider coming back or recommend it, but include a caution about the small rooms.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Visit the London ZOO in the Regents Park. It's across the park, about 30 minutes walk. Short for me, though perhaps not so for a citizen of an unnamed country who is used to driving one block to the nearest 7-11 :-)

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top