$76 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: May 10, 2015 Check-out: May 11, 2015

Ambassadors Hotel

3 stars
View map of 16 Collingham Road, London, SW5 OLX

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Ambassadors Hotel

Overall score

2.7 / 5
5.01.0
30 out of 30
Amenities:
2.5
Cleanliness:
3.5
Hotel staff:
3.2
Comfort:
2.6
Location:
3.9
Value:
2.9

57% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Ambassadors Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
London Lassy
Business
Michigan
Oct 15, 2012

3 stars, you must be joking

I will say that the hotel is in a great location - only 2 minute walk to the Earl's Court Tube station, and in the Kensington area - which is really nice - however, my room was the smallest room I've ever stayed in, and the noise from the hall made it feel as if people were about to enter your room at any minute. When I asked to change to a location a bit less noisy, the clerk informed me that I had a "deluxe" room - and the other available would not be as nice. The bathroom was so small that I had to kneel on the toilet to brush my teeth, and forget about closing the door - think airplane bathroom and you have it about right.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

In London, get an Oyster Card to travel with the tube...saves you a great deal of time and money!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ambassadors Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
paolandia2012
Business
Mexico
Oct 10, 2012

Small, clean but cold

Very good located, small rooms but very clean. I think the restaurant prices were very reasanoble for London. Some staff very friendly and some not. In October the rooms were a little cold at night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ambassadors Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Lisanethdelaney
Business
Houston
Oct 4, 2012

Good location

This hotel is in a great location a easy jet shuttle took us from airport to hotel and back for 10 euros. Laundry across street musems and hyde park in walking distance right by tube which will take you everywhere in 30 minutes. Gurfunkels restaurant down street was wonderful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Science musem and king Albert palace close by in walking distance.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ambassadors Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Jodeb
Business
Calif
Sep 20, 2012

London

Close to the tube, rooms are small but clean, staff not very friendly

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ambassadors Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Janie
Business
Channel Islands
Jul 9, 2012

Overpriced and small

Booked a double room and a triple room. The triple was 3 single beds as requested with plenty of room. The double was very small and I had to climb over the bed to get in it as it was against the wall, with the other side almost touching the wardrobe. However it was clean and comfortable though quite pricey for what it was.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ambassadors Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Caitlyn's Granny
Business
Dallas, TX
Jun 27, 2012

Excellent value for the money!

I read more than 100 reviews before booking this hotel. Other hotels of the same quality and in the same area were as much as three times the price. Great location! Short walk to Gloucester Tube station. One block from major street but very quiet. Staff extremely helpful and quick to resolve any problems. Room was small but that's to be expected in Europe. No air conditioning, but it wasn't too hot (June). View from the window was the back side of other buildings but we were only in the room to sleep so it wasn't a problem for us. We will definitely stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

If you want to visit the tourist attractions, get an Oyster Card for mass transit. Gloucester Station is just a short walk. We traveled to Windsor Castle, Westminster Abbey, Tower of London, several museums and other places for about three pounds per day. Very inexpensive and very time efficient. The longest we ever waited for a train was 3-4 minutes. You put money on the card and at the end of your trip you get a refund for the remaining balance.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ambassadors Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Yama808
Business
Hawaii
Jun 27, 2012

Interesting Accomodations

Located in an area that is about 3 blocks away from the underground. Staff was friendly and helpful. The room, similar to most rooms in England, was small. Bathroom was small but modern and clean with updated showerstall, however, no towel bar or place to hang clothing items when using the facility. Also no luggage rack to place suit cases. Accessed suitcases on the floor.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

When traveling on the underground, get off on Glouster Street stop. As you reach to street level, there is a market that carries a great variety of food items that can be easily consumed in your hotel or for snacking. Beverages, fresh fruit and vegetables that can be easily purchased. Great for those weary travelers tired of eating in a restaurant and needing something simple to eat. Great $$$ saver.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ambassadors Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Eiram
Business
Ireland
May 16, 2012

Most disappointing hotel I have ever stayed in

I was shocked how small our room was, it was a single room with a double bed crammed into it basically. First night we arrived at this hotel, I could not believe how uncomfortably warm the room was even though the radiator was turned off. I rang reception about this and they did nothing for us, we had to wait until the next day to get 2 fans from maintainance. When I pointed out also that one of the lights over the bed was not working and was hanging off I was told that it would be fixed later that day but this never happened. Also the TV in the room was not working. The only good thing about this hotel was its location

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ambassadors Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Happy Guest123
Business
Los Angeles, CA, USA
Feb 27, 2012

Ambassador Hotel Review

As far as staying in the Kensington area.... this place is a gem.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ambassadors Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Frankie123
Business
Sussex
Feb 9, 2012

A disappointment

Booked this hotel for my wife & daughter to stay at after seeing a west end show. They were put in a basement location that had no outside windows. It was hot and staff made loads of noise. Very dissapointed, I dont recommend this place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top