$57 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Dec 25, 2014 Check-out: Dec 26, 2014

Ambassadors Hotel

3 stars
16 Collingham Road, London, SW5 OLX
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.6
out of 5
26 reviews
Overpriced and small

Booked a double room and a triple room. The triple was 3 single beds as requested with plenty of... See full review

  • Janie
  • Jul 9, 2012
Excellent value for the money!

I read more than 100 reviews before booking this hotel. Other hotels of the same quality and in the... See full review

  • Caitlyn's Granny
  • Jun 27, 2012
Superbly located hotel, only 5 mins walk from Earls Court and Gloucester Road Tube Stations with NCP car parking 13 mins walk away. Quick, easy access to all areas of London and for leisure visitors looking to explore London's fabulous attractions, such as Tower of London, Houses of Parliament, London Eye, Science Museum, British Museum, Big Ben, theatres, shopping and nightlife. Harrods and Knightsbridge are 5 mins away by tube. The hotel is ideally situated for events at Earls Court and Olympia. Heathrow Airport is 40 mins by tube. 150 rooms with private bathroom with shower or bath, tea/coffee making facilities, direct dial telephone, hair dryer, tv's with local channels. Enjoy a cool beer, wine, soft drink, hot beverage in our comfortable bar lounge or try our fabulous summer cocktails. Freshly prepared snacks and meals are available. ******* Within the next couple of months we will be starting to refurbish our breakfast room area, therefore we will be providing our guest with box continental breakfast every morning, there will be no cooked breakfast until the refurbishment completed. ****

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Ambassadors Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 2.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5

Ambassadors Hotel Rooms

Deluxe Single
The Ambassadors Hotel's bedrooms offer en-suite facilities, hair dryer, colour TV , direct dial telephones, WIFI Internet Access and Tea/coffee making facilities.
Deluxe Double
The Ambassadors Hotel's bedrooms offer en-suite facilities, hair dryer, colour TV , direct dial telephones, WIFI Internet Access and Tea/coffee making facilities.
Deluxe Twin
The Ambassadors Hotel's bedrooms offer en-suite facilities, hair dryer, colour TV , direct dial telephones, WIFI Internet Access and Tea/coffee making facilities.
Deluxe Triple
The Ambassadors Hotel's bedrooms offer en-suite facilities, hair dryer, colour TV , direct dial telephones, WIFI Internet Access and Tea/coffee making facilities.
Standard Single Room
Standard single room
Standard Double Room
Standard double room
Standard Twin Room
Standard twin room
Standard Triple Room
Standard triple room

Amenities

  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Phone service
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Services
24 hour front desk
Maid service
Security
Wake-up service
Multilingual
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
FAX
Parking
Parking
Room
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Hairdryer in room
Cribs available
Shower
Bath tub

Nearby points of interest

  • Gloucester Road: 0.3 mi
  • Baden-Powell House Exhibition: 0.4 mi
  • Earls Court Exhibition Centre: 0.4 mi
  • Natural History Museum: 0.5 mi
  • High Street Kensington: 0.6 mi
  • Imperial College London: 0.6 mi
  • Royal College of Music Archives and Museum of Instruments: 0.6 mi
  • Science Museum London: 0.7 mi
  • Royal Albert Hall: 0.7 mi
  • Kensington Palace: 0.7 mi
  • National Art Library: 0.7 mi
  • Victoria and Albert Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Albert Memorial : 0.8 mi
  • Stamford Bridge: 0.8 mi
  • Polish Institute and Sikorski Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Gloucester Road: 0.3 mi
  • Baden-Powell House Exhibition: 0.4 mi
  • Earls Court Exhibition Centre: 0.4 mi
  • Natural History Museum: 0.5 mi
  • High Street Kensington: 0.6 mi
  • Imperial College London: 0.6 mi
  • Royal College of Music Archives and Museum of Instruments: 0.6 mi
  • Science Museum London: 0.7 mi
  • Royal Albert Hall: 0.7 mi
  • Kensington Palace: 0.7 mi
  • National Art Library: 0.7 mi
  • Victoria and Albert Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Albert Memorial : 0.8 mi
  • Stamford Bridge: 0.8 mi
  • Polish Institute and Sikorski Museum: 0.8 mi
  • King's Road: 0.9 mi
  • Royal Institute of British Architects Collections: 1 mi
  • Kensington Gardens: 1 mi
  • Harrods: 1.1 mi
  • Knightsbridge: 1.1 mi
  • Couper Collection: 1.2 mi
  • Saatchi Gallery: 1.3 mi
  • Lancaster Gate: 1.3 mi
  • Queensway: 1.3 mi
  • Cadogan Hall: 1.3 mi
  • Sloane Square: 1.3 mi
  • Royal Hospital Chelsea Museum: 1.4 mi
  • Whiteleys Shopping Centre : 1.5 mi
  • Broadway Shopping Centre : 1.6 mi
  • City of Westminster: 1.6 mi
  • Hyde Park Corner: 1.7 mi
  • Wellington Arch: 1.7 mi
  • Westfield Shopping Centre : 1.7 mi
  • Paddington Station: 1.7 mi
  • King's Mall Shopping Centre : 1.7 mi
  • Hyde Park: 1.8 mi
  • Hammersmith Apollo: 1.8 mi
  • Park Lane: 1.8 mi
  • Victoria Place Shopping Centre : 1.8 mi
  • St. Ann's Shopping Centre : 1.8 mi
  • Marble Arch: 1.8 mi
  • Notting Hill: 1.9 mi
  • Royal Mews: 1.9 mi
  • Victoria station: 1.9 mi
  • Victoria Palace Theatre: 2 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1400
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (26)

Ratings and reviews for Ambassadors Hotel

Overall score

2.6 / 5
5.01.0
26 out of 26
Amenities:
2.5
Room cleanliness:
3.5
Hotel staff:
3.2
Room comfort:
2.5
Location:
3.9
Value:
2.8

54% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Ambassadors Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Janie
Business
Channel Islands
Jul 9, 2012

Overpriced and small

Booked a double room and a triple room. The triple was 3 single beds as requested with plenty of room. The double was very small and I had to climb over the bed to get in it as it was against the wall, with the other side almost touching the wardrobe. However it was clean and comfortable though quite pricey for what it was.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ambassadors Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Yama808
Business
Hawaii
Jun 27, 2012

Interesting Accomodations

Located in an area that is about 3 blocks away from the underground. Staff was friendly and helpful. The room, similar to most rooms in England, was small. Bathroom was small but modern and clean with updated showerstall, however, no towel bar or place to hang clothing items when using the facility. Also no luggage rack to place suit cases. Accessed suitcases on the floor.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

When traveling on the underground, get off on Glouster Street stop. As you reach to street level, there is a market that carries a great variety of food items that can be easily consumed in your hotel or for snacking. Beverages, fresh fruit and vegetables that can be easily purchased. Great for those weary travelers tired of eating in a restaurant and needing something simple to eat. Great $$$ saver.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ambassadors Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Caitlyn's Granny
Business
Dallas, TX
Jun 27, 2012

Excellent value for the money!

I read more than 100 reviews before booking this hotel. Other hotels of the same quality and in the same area were as much as three times the price. Great location! Short walk to Gloucester Tube station. One block from major street but very quiet. Staff extremely helpful and quick to resolve any problems. Room was small but that's to be expected in Europe. No air conditioning, but it wasn't too hot (June). View from the window was the back side of other buildings but we were only in the room to sleep so it wasn't a problem for us. We will definitely stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

If you want to visit the tourist attractions, get an Oyster Card for mass transit. Gloucester Station is just a short walk. We traveled to Windsor Castle, Westminster Abbey, Tower of London, several museums and other places for about three pounds per day. Very inexpensive and very time efficient. The longest we ever waited for a train was 3-4 minutes. You put money on the card and at the end of your trip you get a refund for the remaining balance.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ambassadors Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Eiram
Business
Ireland
May 16, 2012

Most disappointing hotel I have ever stayed in

I was shocked how small our room was, it was a single room with a double bed crammed into it basically. First night we arrived at this hotel, I could not believe how uncomfortably warm the room was even though the radiator was turned off. I rang reception about this and they did nothing for us, we had to wait until the next day to get 2 fans from maintainance. When I pointed out also that one of the lights over the bed was not working and was hanging off I was told that it would be fixed later that day but this never happened. Also the TV in the room was not working. The only good thing about this hotel was its location

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ambassadors Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Happy Guest123
Business
Los Angeles, CA, USA
Feb 27, 2012

Ambassador Hotel Review

As far as staying in the Kensington area.... this place is a gem.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ambassadors Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Frankie123
Business
Sussex
Feb 9, 2012

A disappointment

Booked this hotel for my wife & daughter to stay at after seeing a west end show. They were put in a basement location that had no outside windows. It was hot and staff made loads of noise. Very dissapointed, I dont recommend this place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ambassadors Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Marsie
Business
Merseyside
Jan 18, 2012

Great for a family weekend break in London

Central location and excellent value. Looking forward to returning.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Not Applicable

half price ticket booths in Leicester square for cheap theatre tickets from 11 most days.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ambassadors Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
jehosaphet
Business
somerset
Dec 16, 2011

Could do better

The hotel was in an ideal location for our stay, the room small but adequate, but vertually impossible to turn the heat down, resulting in having the windows open all night-noisy! The bed was very comfortable & the room clean, bathroom tiny but again-for a short stay adequate. Although there is reference to a bar and a dining room-we never saw either and the only meal available was a boxed breakfast, which we didn't fancy. Overall-average tourist hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ambassadors Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Pluto98
Business
Columbus, OH
Dec 13, 2011

Not a good trip

Room was a little larger than a shoe box. Paid internet wifi barely had enough signal. Later in the evening, internet was completely down. Staff did not offer any alternative help. We were not able to confirm our reservations with the airline. Not thinking Sunday schedule, they told us the subway service to airport would be available after 6:00AM thus leaving us stranded at the station until 7:00AM

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ambassadors Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mr. and Mrs. B
Business
Odense, Denmark
Nov 6, 2011

Good value

Very nice and clean hotel. Quite a small room with lack of space to put your things. But newly renovated and quite a nice style. Cleaning of room was perfect, with clean towells every day. Nice staff. No hessitation to recommondate this hotel, and will go back to stay there anytime.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top