$111 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 2, 2015 Check-out: Aug 3, 2015

Ambassadors Bloomsbury

4 stars
View map of 12 Upper Woburn Place, London, WC1H 0HX

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
23 reviews
Nice city hotel

We enjoyed our stay; this was a very good starting point for walks around London. The bathroom was... See full review

  • Juho Suomesta
  • Dec 10, 2014
Amazing location

This hotel is in a perfect location -- safe neighborhood near the tube and National Rail. Plenty of... See full review

  • andrewb194
  • Dec 3, 2013
Ambassadors Bloomsbury is ideally located in the literary district of Bloomsbury, central London, the hotel is just a 5 minutes stroll from Euston Station, Kings Cross St. Pancras Station (Eurostar Terminal) and Russell Square tube station. Major attractions such as the British Museum, British Library, London Zoo, Madame Tussaud, Oxford Street, Soho, Covent Garden/Leicester Square and Camden Market are all less than a mile away. The 4 star Ambassadors Bloomsbury is 100 bedroom non-smoking independent hotel offering complimentary Wifi throughout the hotel. Major attractions such as the British Museum, British Library, London Zoo, Madame Tussaud, Oxford Street, Soho, Covent Garden/Leicester Square and Camden Market are all less than a mile away. Single rooms A smaller version of our standard room, 11 square metres in size with a single bed. Standard rooms Comfortable Hypnos beds, Nespresso coffee machine, 40 inch LED TV, iPod docking station, compact 15 square metres in size. Refresh yourself in our contemporary wet rooms with Gilchrist and Soames Toiletries and start your day with a work out in the complimentary fitness room. Deluxe rooms All the facilities of our standard rooms with more space to spread out, 20 square metres in size with a bigger desk and mini fridge. Sleep like a King in our beds and get cosy with a fluffy robe and slippers. Treat yourself to our fabulous Gourmet breakfast with a selection of fresh cut fruits, cheese and meat platters, pastries, yogurts, smoothies as well as a selection of hot breakfast items. Number Twelve Restaurant and Bar offers delicious Italian cuisine cuisine at affordable prices as well as bar food and afternoon tea. 7 versatile meeting rooms accommodating up to a maximum of 250 delegates.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Ambassadors Bloomsbury also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

Ambassadors Bloomsbury Rooms

Deluxe Twin Room
Room with 2 single beds for 1 or 2 persons - Average 15 square metres. Individually controlled air conditioning and heating, Complimentary WI-FI, 40 inch flat screen LED TV, Personal safes, Hypnos mattresses, hairdryer, wet room style bathroom with Gilchrist and Soames Toiletries, Nespresso Coffee machine and tea making facilities, Ipod docking station, Telephone, Complimentary bottle of Housewater, room service, Bathrobe and slippers, Large business desk with mini fridge, Iron & Ironing board. Complimentary access to fitness room.
Single Standard Room
Room with one single bed for 1 person " Average 11 square metres. Individually controlled air conditioning and heating, Complimentary WI-FI, 40 inch flat screen LED TV, Personal safes, Hypnos mattresses, hairdryer, wet room style bathroom with Gilchrist and Soames Toiletries, Nespresso Coffee machine and tea making facilities, Ipod docking station, Telephone, Complimentary bottle of Housewater, room service. Complimentary access to fitness room.
Standard Double Room
Room with one double bed for 1 or 2 persons - Average 15 square metres. Individually controlled air conditioning and heating, Complimentary WI-FI, 40 inch flat screen LED TV, Personal safes, Hypnos mattresses, hairdryer, wet room style bathroom with Gilchrist and Soames Toiletries, Nespresso Coffee machine and tea making facilities, Ipod docking station, Telephone, Complimentary bottle of Housewater, room service. Complimentary access to fitness room.
Standard Twin Room
Room with two single beds for 1 or 2 persons - Average 15 square metres. Individually controlled air conditioning and heating, Complimentary WI-FI, 40 inch flat screen LED TV, Personal safes, Hypnos mattresses, hairdryer, wet room style bathroom with Gilchrist and Soames Toiletries, Nespresso Coffee machine and tea making facilities, Ipod docking station, Telephone, Complimentary bottle of Housewater, room service. Complimentary access to fitness room.
Deluxe Double Room
Most rooms with one king size bed for 1 or 2 persons - Average 15 square metres. Individually controlled air conditioning and heating, Complimentary WI-FI, 40 inch flat screen LED TV, Personal safes, Hypnos mattresses, hairdryer, wet room style bathroom with Gilchrist and Soames Toiletries, Nespresso Coffee machine and tea making facilities, IPod docking station, Telephone, Complimentary bottle of House water, room service, Bathrobe and slippers, Large business desk with mini fridge, Iron & Ironing board. Complimentary access to fitness room.

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Room service
Services
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Internet
Free internet
Accessibility
Accessible Rooms/Facilities
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Public areas wheelchair accessible for disabled
Wheelchair accessible elevators
Ramp access to buildings

Nearby points of interest

  • Institute of Archaeology Collections: 0.1 mi
  • Euston: 0.2 mi
  • British Library: 0.2 mi
  • Institute of Education: 0.2 mi
  • Petrie Museum of Egyptian Archaeology: 0.3 mi
  • The Brunswick : 0.3 mi
  • University College London: 0.3 mi
  • Grant Museum of Zoology: 0.3 mi
  • St Pancras railway station: 0.3 mi
  • School of Oriental and African Studies: 0.3 mi
  • Birkbeck: 0.3 mi
  • University of London: 0.4 mi
  • Kings Cross-St Pancras station: 0.4 mi
  • Russell Square: 0.4 mi
  • British Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Institute of Archaeology Collections: 0.1 mi
  • Euston: 0.2 mi
  • British Library: 0.2 mi
  • Institute of Education: 0.2 mi
  • Petrie Museum of Egyptian Archaeology: 0.3 mi
  • The Brunswick : 0.3 mi
  • University College London: 0.3 mi
  • Grant Museum of Zoology: 0.3 mi
  • St Pancras railway station: 0.3 mi
  • School of Oriental and African Studies: 0.3 mi
  • Birkbeck: 0.3 mi
  • University of London: 0.4 mi
  • Kings Cross-St Pancras station: 0.4 mi
  • Russell Square: 0.4 mi
  • British Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Fitzrovia: 0.6 mi
  • Charles Dickens Museum: 0.6 mi
  • London School of Hygiene & Tropical Medicine: 0.6 mi
  • Cartoon Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Royal College of Physicians Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Dominion Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • London Canal Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Regents Park: 0.7 mi
  • British Postal Museum and Archive: 0.8 mi
  • Red Mansion Foundation: 0.8 mi
  • Soho: 0.8 mi
  • London Theatre: 0.8 mi
  • Sir John Soane's Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Royal Opera House: 0.9 mi
  • University of Westminster: 0.9 mi
  • Thomas Neal Centre : 0.9 mi
  • Jewish Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Photographers Gallery: 0.9 mi
  • West End: 0.9 mi
  • Royal Academy of Music: 0.9 mi
  • Oxford Circus: 1 mi
  • Jewish Military Museum: 1 mi
  • Clerkenwell: 1 mi
  • London Palladium: 1 mi
  • London Astoria: 1 mi
  • Carnaby Street: 1 mi
  • Shaftesbury Avenue: 1 mi
  • Oxford Street: 1 mi
  • Sadler's Wells Theatre: 1 mi
  • Aldwych Theatre: 1 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The hotel has versatile meeting rooms which can accommodate up to a maximum of 250 delegates.

Dining

Restaurant
Number Twelve is a modern and contemporary style restaurant located within the Ambassadors Bloomsbury Hotel. At Number Twelve, we pride ourselves in tantalising your taste buds at affordable prices with our delicious Italian Fusion cuisine made from sourcing only the very best fresh local seasonal produce. Number Twelve is a perfect venue for any social occasion, whether it is for breakfast, lunch, dinner, bar food or afternoon tea. We are also available for private dining and parties. Number Twelve Restaurant has 2 Christmas menus throughout December and we are also offering a Christmas Day Lunch Menu on the 25th December until late.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Ratings and reviews for Ambassadors Bloomsbury

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
23 out of 23
Amenities:
3.5
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.5
Value:
4

96% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Ambassadors Bloomsbury

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Charlotte Ann 57
Dalton,ga
Sep 5, 2012

Amazing

This hotel seamed very small and seemed outdated, please don't judge the cover before you read the pages..I can't wait till we go back next year..the hospitality was amazing, 5* restaurant ... The staff was polite and very helpful....rooms small but very nice...thank you for the wonderful stay......

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: In Hotel

5*****

Review of Ambassadors Bloomsbury

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Mo7a
Business
UAE
Feb 6, 2013

Not a 4 star experience

Wi fi internet was free. But u have to use it in the main lobby. It reached my room only for one night out of the four nite stay. Shower water is either too hot or too cold. Never will stay there again. However the location was good. But with the tube location is irrelevant.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Ambassadors Bloomsbury

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Coupa Sales
Business
Boston, MA
Dec 1, 2012

Functional Business Room

The hotel was very functional, good location, solid staff, great breakfast value. The rooms were SMALL but is good for a quick trip to London as that was the only reason for me giving it 3 stars versus 4.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

The breakfast in the hotel is a great value and is very good.

Review of Ambassadors Bloomsbury

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Guest1234567
Business
Mayberry, USA
Mar 1, 2013

No surprises

I was looking for an inexpensive room close to King's Cross and this fit the bill. My room was reasonably clean, and my room was away from the street so it was very quiet. The room was quite small - to get to the right side of the bed, where there was a night stand that included the coffee/tea service I had to climb on the bed (not enough room at the foot of the bed to walk around). But again, I wasn't looking for luxury. My only "complaint" is that the "do not disturb" sign seems to mean something different to their cleaning staff than I meant. On two occasions, they rang my room via their cell phone, while standing right outside my door, once to see if I wanted my room to be cleaned and once to bring clean towels. I know there were intending to be helpful, but "do not disturb" should be pretty clear that the guest doesn't, you know, want to be disturbed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Ambassadors Bloomsbury

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Worldwide Traveler416
Business
New Jersey, USA
Apr 14, 2013

Decent hotel stay

Good enough place to stay just to rest and sight see.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Ambassadors Bloomsbury

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
steve young
Business
idaho
Oct 4, 2014

Ok hotel

Close to major train station…..Room was very small…not the tourist part of town. Lots of places to eat and tube is just down the street.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Ambassadors Bloomsbury

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Louise F.
Business
Brooklyn
Jan 21, 2015

4 days in London in January 2015

The hotel has a wonderful location and a fine, friendly staff. At first we were given a very small room, which would have been better for a single twin bed. Upon our request, we were given a larger room which was much better. However, neither room had any shelves or dressers or wardrobes, so we had to live out of our suitcases there was a closet but big enough for 4 hangers only. This is a surprising oversight because much attention was paid to the refurbishment of the rooms and bathrooms. So all in all a mixed bag. The room was comfortable and quiet in spite of the problem about where to put one's clothes.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Ambassadors Bloomsbury

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mia B
Business
N/A
May 12, 2015

Ambassadors Bloomsbury - 4* hotel, 2* service

I stayed at the Ambassadors, Bloomsbury in May 2015. Firstly, the positives: the bed was extremely comfortable and I positively sank into the mattress & pillows provided. Did not use the coffee machine, so cannot comment on that. The power-shower was excellent and a good selection of toiletries was provided. The double-bedroom was of an adequate size and I was very happy with how quiet it was. Now, the hotel seems to be run by a proliferation of Eastern Europeans - (which, of course, there is nothing wrong with). However, upon checking-in, I mentioned to the young lady on reception that the website was offering free continental breakfast to people staying at the hotel during the month of May. She disagreed and got her line manager. Now, this was on a Saturday night, when all I wanted to do was go upstairs to my room and unpack. The duty manager, (Daniel) said that the free continental breakfast only applied to people who had booked directly with the hotel. I explained that the website did not differentiate and he was adamant that this offer was not going to be honoured. About 20 minutes worth of arguing later, I think that in the end, he realised I was not going to back down (purely on principle) and as a 'goodwill gesture' agreed that my breakfast would be free the next morning. It was. Can I please suggest to the marketing department that all offers should be transparent and not open to misinterpretation? A first for me was the hotel taking £50 from a credit card upon checking-in as surety - despite the fact there is no mini-bar in bedrooms. This £50 is refunded back, if you don't use any extras or pay £11 for their overpriced continental breakfasts! All in all though, this is a good hotel and quite good value - especially when booked through an external hotel provider. I may well stay here again next year, though chances are I will probably go to the Hilton directly opposite.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Ambassadors Bloomsbury

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Henry from Chicago
Business
Chicago
Jun 17, 2015

Cozy Convenient Hotel

The hotel was small but comfortable. It is conveniently located to St Pancras International Rail Station and 3 tube stations (Russell Square, Euston, and King's Cross). The biggest complaint is that the translucent door to the bathroom didn't leave a lot of privacy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Ambassadors Bloomsbury

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Harris Fu
Business
Minneapolis, MN
Jan 7, 2013

very good location, relatively small room

the location is excellent, right in the city center, close to tube station and St Pancras train station. the room with a double bed is quite small though. considering the location, pricing is reasonable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Ambassadors Bloomsbury

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
smileyf
Business
London
Jan 15, 2013

great location, comfortable room

I was allowed to check in extremely early, which was wonderful as I had just taken a really long flight. Although I had paid for a single the room had 2 beds which was also great. I enjoyed the kettle and coffee provided by the room. There is also a little fitness facility downstairs which was clean if sparse. Everyone was very nice. The location was really convenient, a few minutes away from Euston, and it was a good value.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top