$190 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 16, 2014 Check-out: Aug 18, 2014

Ambassadors Bloomsbury

4 stars
12 Upper Woburn Place, London, WC1H 0HX
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
23 reviews
Amazing location

This hotel is in a perfect location -- safe neighborhood near the tube and National Rail. Plenty of... See full review

  • andrewb194
  • Dec 3, 2013
Great location

Small but updated rooms. Very small closet but clean and comfortable. Staff helpful. 2 blocks from... See full review

  • Xrayb
  • Oct 1, 2013
Ambassadors Bloomsbury is ideally located in the literary district of Bloomsbury, central London, just a few minutes' walk from Euston, Russell Square and Kings Cross St Pancras, the Eurostar terminal to Europe. Major attractions such as the British Museum, British Library, London Zoo, Madame Tussaud, Covent Garden/Leicester Square and Camden Market are all less than a mile away. The 4 star Ambassadors Bloomsbury is 100 bedroom non-smoking hotel, with the renowned Number Twelve Restaurant and bar which specialises in British Italian fusion style cuisine. The hotel has versatile meeting rooms which can accommodate up to a maximum of 250 delegates Our room types range from Standard to Deluxe or upgrade to one of our new Ambassadors rooms. Our bedrooms are designed to be calm and relaxing with neutral colours, a contemporary bathroom or wet room.

Hotel Map

51.5266 -0.1296
Area served
The hotel can be found just off Euston Station, close to King's Cross St Pancras International Rail Station, which is very convenient for those travelling by Eurostar.
Nearby airports
Ambassadors from Heathrow Airport: Take the Piccadilly Line tube from Terminals 1,2,3, 4 or 5 direct to King's Cross St. Pancras station.
Area description
Ambassadors Bloomsbury is ideally located in the literary district of Bloomsbury, central London, just a few minutes' walk from Euston, Russell Square and Kings Cross St Pancras, the Eurostar terminal to Europe. Major attractions such as the British Museum, British Library, London Zoo, Madame Tussaud, Covent Garden/Leicester Square and Camden Market are all less than a mile away.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Ambassadors Bloomsbury also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

Ambassadors Bloomsbury Rooms

Single Room
Room with one twin bed. Individually controlled air conditioning and heating, Complimentary WI-FI and wired high speed Internet access, flat screen LCD TV, with pay movies, Personal safes large enough to store a laptop, Hypnos mattresses and hypo-allergenic bedding, hairdryer, Adjustable high pressure shower, Complimentary gym facilities, Telephone and voice mail facilities, Tea and coffee making facilities, Complimentary bottle of Housewater Average square metres 11
Superior Double Room
Room with one double bed. Individually controlled air conditioning and heating, Complimentary WI-FI and wired high speed Internet access, flat screen LCD TV, with pay movies, Personal safes large enough to store a laptop, Hypnos mattresses and hypo-allergenic bedding, hairdryer, Adjustable high pressure shower, Complimentary gym facilities, Telephone and voice mail facilities, Tea and coffee making facilities, Complimentary bottle of Housewater Average Square metres 15
Superior Twin Room
Room with two twin beds. Individually controlled air conditioning and heating, Complimentary WI-FI and wired high speed Internet access, flat screen LCD TV, with pay movies, Personal safes large enough to store a laptop, Hypnos mattresses and hypo-allergenic bedding, hairdryer, Adjustable high pressure shower, Complimentary gym facilities, Telephone and voice mail facilities, Tea and coffee making facilities, Complimentary bottle of Housewater Average square metres 15
Deluxe Double Room
Room with one king bed. Individually controlled air conditioning and heating, Complimentary WI-FI and wired high speed Internet access, flat screen LCD TV, with pay movies, Personal safes large enough to store a laptop, Hypnos mattresses and hypo-allergenic bedding, hairdryer, Adjustable high pressure shower, Complimentary gym facilities, Telephone and voice mail facilities, Tea and coffee making facilities, Complimentary bottle of Housewater King size bed - 150 x 200 cms 40 inch LED TV Bathrobe and slippers Large business desk with mini fridge Average square metres 17 squares metres
Deluxe Twin Room
Room with two twin beds, Individually controlled air conditioning and heating, Complimentary WI-FI and wired high speed Internet access, flat screen LCD TV, with pay movies, Personal safes large enough to store a laptop, Hypnos mattresses and hypo-allergenic bedding, hairdryer, Adjustable high pressure shower, Complimentary gym facilities, Telephone and voice mail facilities, Tea and coffee making facilities, Complimentary bottle of Housewater,Twin, 40 inch LED TV Bathrobe and slippers Large business desk with mini fridge Average square metres 17

Amenities

  • WiFi
General
Concierge
Activities
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Institute of Archaeology Collections: 0.1 mi
  • Euston: 0.2 mi
  • British Library: 0.2 mi
  • Institute of Education: 0.2 mi
  • Petrie Museum of Egyptian Archaeology: 0.3 mi
  • The Brunswick : 0.3 mi
  • University College London: 0.3 mi
  • Grant Museum of Zoology: 0.3 mi
  • St Pancras railway station: 0.3 mi
  • School of Oriental and African Studies: 0.3 mi
  • Birkbeck: 0.3 mi
  • University of London: 0.4 mi
  • Kings Cross-St Pancras station: 0.4 mi
  • Russell Square: 0.4 mi
  • British Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Institute of Archaeology Collections: 0.1 mi
  • Euston: 0.2 mi
  • British Library: 0.2 mi
  • Institute of Education: 0.2 mi
  • Petrie Museum of Egyptian Archaeology: 0.3 mi
  • The Brunswick : 0.3 mi
  • University College London: 0.3 mi
  • Grant Museum of Zoology: 0.3 mi
  • St Pancras railway station: 0.3 mi
  • School of Oriental and African Studies: 0.3 mi
  • Birkbeck: 0.3 mi
  • University of London: 0.4 mi
  • Kings Cross-St Pancras station: 0.4 mi
  • Russell Square: 0.4 mi
  • British Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Fitzrovia: 0.6 mi
  • Charles Dickens Museum: 0.6 mi
  • London School of Hygiene & Tropical Medicine: 0.6 mi
  • Cartoon Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Royal College of Physicians Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Dominion Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • London Canal Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Regents Park: 0.7 mi
  • British Postal Museum and Archive: 0.8 mi
  • Red Mansion Foundation: 0.8 mi
  • Soho: 0.8 mi
  • London Theatre: 0.8 mi
  • Sir John Soane's Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Royal Opera House: 0.9 mi
  • University of Westminster: 0.9 mi
  • Thomas Neal Centre : 0.9 mi
  • Jewish Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Photographers Gallery: 0.9 mi
  • West End: 0.9 mi
  • Royal Academy of Music: 0.9 mi
  • Oxford Circus: 1 mi
  • Jewish Military Museum: 1 mi
  • Clerkenwell: 1 mi
  • London Palladium: 1 mi
  • London Astoria: 1 mi
  • Carnaby Street: 1 mi
  • Shaftesbury Avenue: 1 mi
  • Oxford Street: 1 mi
  • Sadler's Wells Theatre: 1 mi
  • Aldwych Theatre: 1 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The hotel has versatile meeting rooms which can accommodate up to a maximum of 250 delegates

Dining

Restaurant
Number Twelve is a modern and contemporary style restaurant located within the Ambassadors Bloomsbury Hotel and overlooks the Dickensian style Woburn Walk. Number Twelve is an ideal venue for any social occasion. Where only the best fresh and seasonal ingredients are used, Number Twelve specialises in British Italian style cusine has menus to suit all tastes, whether it is for lunch, dinner, steak on a stone or our home made afternoon tea, our experienced and friendly team are on hand to ensure that your visit is a wonderful experience. Our Executive Chef Charles Holtz heads up a talented brigade of chefs at Number Twelve, together they bring together a mix of cuisines and cooking styles. The menus produced, reflect the changing of seasons and in keeping with typical British and Italian flavours

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (23)

Ratings and reviews for Ambassadors Bloomsbury

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
23 out of 23
Amenities:
3.5
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.6
Value:
4

96% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Ambassadors Bloomsbury

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Mo7a
Business
UAE
Feb 6, 2013

Not a 4 star experience

Wi fi internet was free. But u have to use it in the main lobby. It reached my room only for one night out of the four nite stay. Shower water is either too hot or too cold. Never will stay there again. However the location was good. But with the tube location is irrelevant.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Ambassadors Bloomsbury

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Worldwide Traveler416
New Jersey, USA
Apr 14, 2013

Decent hotel stay

Good enough place to stay just to rest and sight see.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Ambassadors Bloomsbury

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Guest1234567
Mayberry, USA
Mar 1, 2013

No surprises

I was looking for an inexpensive room close to King's Cross and this fit the bill. My room was reasonably clean, and my room was away from the street so it was very quiet. The room was quite small - to get to the right side of the bed, where there was a night stand that included the coffee/tea service I had to climb on the bed (not enough room at the foot of the bed to walk around). But again, I wasn't looking for luxury. My only "complaint" is that the "do not disturb" sign seems to mean something different to their cleaning staff than I meant. On two occasions, they rang my room via their cell phone, while standing right outside my door, once to see if I wanted my room to be cleaned and once to bring clean towels. I know there were intending to be helpful, but "do not disturb" should be pretty clear that the guest doesn't, you know, want to be disturbed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Ambassadors Bloomsbury

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Coupa Sales
Business
Boston, MA
Dec 1, 2012

Functional Business Room

The hotel was very functional, good location, solid staff, great breakfast value. The rooms were SMALL but is good for a quick trip to London as that was the only reason for me giving it 3 stars versus 4.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

The breakfast in the hotel is a great value and is very good.

Review of Ambassadors Bloomsbury

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
LoraMC
Los Angeles, CA, USA
Sep 26, 2011

Great Location

City size room, but location was GREAT! Train station and Underground subway very close. Several bus routes right outside entrance. Hotel staff very helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Ambassadors Bloomsbury

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
edie-b
Business
Tokyo
Aug 7, 2011

Free Wifi, good food, small rooms

Small but nice rooms. Free WiFi throughout. Small exercise room downstairs. Nice breakfast, although not included in room rate. Bathroom is small.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Ambassadors Bloomsbury

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Satisfied senior couple
Sierra Madre, California
Aug 3, 2013

Wonderful surprise.

I had review this hotel before booking. Refurbishment has apparently solved the negative comments related to street noise. Our room on the third floor was quite noisy with the windows open. Once the windows were closed, wonderfully quiet, even though we were on the street side. The room was very clean and fresh. We did not chose to purchase breakfast from the hotel, which seemed expensive. Instead, we chose to purchase fruit and juice from a nearby market, rather than purchase breakfast in the hotel. The bathroom was clean and new. The shower was unusual in that the curtain dropped the water directly onto the floor of the room, rather than containing the water within just the shower area. Put the bath mat up until you finish the shower. The hotel was very close to the two train stations we used, making it an easy walk with our luggage, not requiring any other transport. Overall, a very great choice for our stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Very close to Euston train station. Saint Pancras train station and Eurostar is a short walk further. We walked to both with our luggage.

Review of Ambassadors Bloomsbury

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Serenamarie
Los Angeles ca
Mar 20, 2013

Quick Holiday in London

Staff was great. Room was a decent size, good location

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of Ambassadors Bloomsbury

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
lifehouse2000
Boston
Jul 11, 2013

Accomodating staff in a perfect location

I selected this hotel mostly because it's a 3 minute walk to Euston station. We stayed 2 times for 2 nights each in a Deluxe King room, which although average in size (for London) and lacking a good place to store luggage, was kept impeccably clean by housekeeping. Bed was very comfortable. We loved the robes and towel warmer too but the best part was the desk staff, who kindly agreed to hold one of our large bags at no charge for 5 days while we were off touring in Scotland. Upon our return, we were very happy to check into the same room that we had left 5 days earlier. Be sure to request a room on the quiet side (back) of the hotel. We did not try the hotel breakfast, as it seemed bit pricey and there are many other options in the neighborhood. I'd be very happy to stay here again, especially for the convenience and kindness of the hotel staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Ambassadors Bloomsbury

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Neneee
Sydney Australia
Sep 6, 2013

Excellent Hotel

I can give nothing but praise for this Hotel the location near Euston and Kings Cross Station ideal for a traveller, the young ladies on Reception were great, willing to assist with any query. Joe the Concierge was exceptional, helping us out on more than one occasion. Well done Ambassador Bloomsbury, I have no hesitation in recommending to others and would stay nowhere else on future trips to London.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Back to menu Return to top