$158 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 30, 2014 Check-out: Aug 31, 2014

Ambassadors Bloomsbury

4 stars
12 Upper Woburn Place, London, WC1H 0HX
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
40 reviews
Amazing location

This hotel is in a perfect location -- safe neighborhood near the tube and National Rail. Plenty of... See full review

  • andrewb194
  • Dec 3, 2013
Great location

Small but updated rooms. Very small closet but clean and comfortable. Staff helpful. 2 blocks from... See full review

  • Xrayb
  • Oct 1, 2013
Ambassadors Bloomsbury is ideally located in the literary district of Bloomsbury, central London, just a few minutes' walk from Euston, Russell Square and Kings Cross St Pancras, the Eurostar terminal to Europe. Major attractions such as the British Museum, British Library, London Zoo, Madame Tussaud, Covent Garden/Leicester Square and Camden Market are all less than a mile away. The 4 star Ambassadors Bloomsbury is 100 bedroom non-smoking hotel, with the renowned Number Twelve Restaurant and bar which specialises in British Italian fusion style cuisine. The hotel has versatile meeting rooms which can accommodate up to a maximum of 250 delegates Our room types range from Standard to Deluxe or upgrade to one of our new Ambassadors rooms. Our bedrooms are designed to be calm and relaxing with neutral colours, a contemporary bathroom or wet room.

Hotel Map

51.5266 -0.1296
Area served
The hotel can be found just off Euston Station, close to King's Cross St Pancras International Rail Station, which is very convenient for those travelling by Eurostar.
Nearby airports
Ambassadors from Heathrow Airport: Take the Piccadilly Line tube from Terminals 1,2,3, 4 or 5 direct to King's Cross St. Pancras station.
Area description
Ambassadors Bloomsbury is ideally located in the literary district of Bloomsbury, central London, just a few minutes' walk from Euston, Russell Square and Kings Cross St Pancras, the Eurostar terminal to Europe. Major attractions such as the British Museum, British Library, London Zoo, Madame Tussaud, Covent Garden/Leicester Square and Camden Market are all less than a mile away.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Ambassadors Bloomsbury also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Ambassadors Bloomsbury Rooms

Single Room
Room with one twin bed. Individually controlled air conditioning and heating, Complimentary WI-FI and wired high speed Internet access, flat screen LCD TV, with pay movies, Personal safes large enough to store a laptop, Hypnos mattresses and hypo-allergenic bedding, hairdryer, Adjustable high pressure shower, Complimentary gym facilities, Telephone and voice mail facilities, Tea and coffee making facilities, Complimentary bottle of Housewater Average square metres 11
Superior Double Room
Room with one double bed. Individually controlled air conditioning and heating, Complimentary WI-FI and wired high speed Internet access, flat screen LCD TV, with pay movies, Personal safes large enough to store a laptop, Hypnos mattresses and hypo-allergenic bedding, hairdryer, Adjustable high pressure shower, Complimentary gym facilities, Telephone and voice mail facilities, Tea and coffee making facilities, Complimentary bottle of Housewater Average Square metres 15
Superior Twin Room
Room with two twin beds. Individually controlled air conditioning and heating, Complimentary WI-FI and wired high speed Internet access, flat screen LCD TV, with pay movies, Personal safes large enough to store a laptop, Hypnos mattresses and hypo-allergenic bedding, hairdryer, Adjustable high pressure shower, Complimentary gym facilities, Telephone and voice mail facilities, Tea and coffee making facilities, Complimentary bottle of Housewater Average square metres 15
Deluxe Double Room
Room with one king bed. Individually controlled air conditioning and heating, Complimentary WI-FI and wired high speed Internet access, flat screen LCD TV, with pay movies, Personal safes large enough to store a laptop, Hypnos mattresses and hypo-allergenic bedding, hairdryer, Adjustable high pressure shower, Complimentary gym facilities, Telephone and voice mail facilities, Tea and coffee making facilities, Complimentary bottle of Housewater King size bed - 150 x 200 cms 40 inch LED TV Bathrobe and slippers Large business desk with mini fridge Average square metres 17 squares metres
Deluxe Twin Room
Room with two twin beds, Individually controlled air conditioning and heating, Complimentary WI-FI and wired high speed Internet access, flat screen LCD TV, with pay movies, Personal safes large enough to store a laptop, Hypnos mattresses and hypo-allergenic bedding, hairdryer, Adjustable high pressure shower, Complimentary gym facilities, Telephone and voice mail facilities, Tea and coffee making facilities, Complimentary bottle of Housewater,Twin, 40 inch LED TV Bathrobe and slippers Large business desk with mini fridge Average square metres 17

Amenities

  • WiFi
General
Concierge
Activities
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Institute of Archaeology Collections: 0.1 mi
  • Euston: 0.2 mi
  • British Library: 0.2 mi
  • Institute of Education: 0.2 mi
  • Petrie Museum of Egyptian Archaeology: 0.3 mi
  • The Brunswick : 0.3 mi
  • University College London: 0.3 mi
  • Grant Museum of Zoology: 0.3 mi
  • St Pancras railway station: 0.3 mi
  • School of Oriental and African Studies: 0.3 mi
  • Birkbeck: 0.3 mi
  • University of London: 0.4 mi
  • Kings Cross-St Pancras station: 0.4 mi
  • Russell Square: 0.4 mi
  • British Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Institute of Archaeology Collections: 0.1 mi
  • Euston: 0.2 mi
  • British Library: 0.2 mi
  • Institute of Education: 0.2 mi
  • Petrie Museum of Egyptian Archaeology: 0.3 mi
  • The Brunswick : 0.3 mi
  • University College London: 0.3 mi
  • Grant Museum of Zoology: 0.3 mi
  • St Pancras railway station: 0.3 mi
  • School of Oriental and African Studies: 0.3 mi
  • Birkbeck: 0.3 mi
  • University of London: 0.4 mi
  • Kings Cross-St Pancras station: 0.4 mi
  • Russell Square: 0.4 mi
  • British Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Fitzrovia: 0.6 mi
  • Charles Dickens Museum: 0.6 mi
  • London School of Hygiene & Tropical Medicine: 0.6 mi
  • Cartoon Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Royal College of Physicians Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Dominion Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • London Canal Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Regents Park: 0.7 mi
  • British Postal Museum and Archive: 0.8 mi
  • Red Mansion Foundation: 0.8 mi
  • Soho: 0.8 mi
  • London Theatre: 0.8 mi
  • Sir John Soane's Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Royal Opera House: 0.9 mi
  • University of Westminster: 0.9 mi
  • Thomas Neal Centre : 0.9 mi
  • Jewish Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Photographers Gallery: 0.9 mi
  • West End: 0.9 mi
  • Royal Academy of Music: 0.9 mi
  • Oxford Circus: 1 mi
  • Jewish Military Museum: 1 mi
  • Clerkenwell: 1 mi
  • London Palladium: 1 mi
  • London Astoria: 1 mi
  • Carnaby Street: 1 mi
  • Shaftesbury Avenue: 1 mi
  • Oxford Street: 1 mi
  • Sadler's Wells Theatre: 1 mi
  • Aldwych Theatre: 1 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The hotel has versatile meeting rooms which can accommodate up to a maximum of 250 delegates

Dining

Restaurant
Number Twelve is a modern and contemporary style restaurant located within the Ambassadors Bloomsbury Hotel and overlooks the Dickensian style Woburn Walk. Number Twelve is an ideal venue for any social occasion. Where only the best fresh and seasonal ingredients are used, Number Twelve specialises in British Italian style cusine has menus to suit all tastes, whether it is for lunch, dinner, steak on a stone or our home made afternoon tea, our experienced and friendly team are on hand to ensure that your visit is a wonderful experience. Our Executive Chef Charles Holtz heads up a talented brigade of chefs at Number Twelve, together they bring together a mix of cuisines and cooking styles. The menus produced, reflect the changing of seasons and in keeping with typical British and Italian flavours

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (40)

Ratings and reviews for Ambassadors Bloomsbury

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
40 out of 40
Amenities:
3.5
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
3.6
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.8

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Ambassadors Bloomsbury

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Not Provided
Jun 27, 2011

Excellent location for Euston

Excellent location for Euston Station and all its transport links to the rest of London. Very handy location if going to a show, only a couple of underground stops. Interior was fresh, modern and above all clean. Would book this hotel again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
No rating
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Ambassadors Bloomsbury

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
andrewb194
Washington, DC
Dec 3, 2013

Amazing location

This hotel is in a perfect location -- safe neighborhood near the tube and National Rail. Plenty of nearby food options too. Room was small, bathroom especially so (even by London standards). But it was clean. Staff was very friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Ambassadors Bloomsbury

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
barrheadman
Barrhead Glasgow Scotlnd
Dec 2, 2013

average

Booked a superior room but there was not a single drawer in room for clothes when I asked about this was told I would have to upgrade to a deluxe room if I wanted a drawer Every basic B & B have drawers in their room for clothes found this very strange also wardrobe was about 8 inches deep more like a very narrow cupboard which also stored the hair drier and also the shaving socket for electric razor The room was very clean but very very basic not what you would expect for £100 per night

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Ambassadors Bloomsbury

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Xrayb
Southwest, Florida
Oct 1, 2013

Great location

Small but updated rooms. Very small closet but clean and comfortable. Staff helpful. 2 blocks from euston underground station. Only negative is only 6 tv channels. Health club adequate.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Ambassadors Bloomsbury

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Neneee
Sydney Australia
Sep 6, 2013

Excellent Hotel

I can give nothing but praise for this Hotel the location near Euston and Kings Cross Station ideal for a traveller, the young ladies on Reception were great, willing to assist with any query. Joe the Concierge was exceptional, helping us out on more than one occasion. Well done Ambassador Bloomsbury, I have no hesitation in recommending to others and would stay nowhere else on future trips to London.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Ambassadors Bloomsbury

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Satisfied senior couple
Sierra Madre, California
Aug 3, 2013

Wonderful surprise.

I had review this hotel before booking. Refurbishment has apparently solved the negative comments related to street noise. Our room on the third floor was quite noisy with the windows open. Once the windows were closed, wonderfully quiet, even though we were on the street side. The room was very clean and fresh. We did not chose to purchase breakfast from the hotel, which seemed expensive. Instead, we chose to purchase fruit and juice from a nearby market, rather than purchase breakfast in the hotel. The bathroom was clean and new. The shower was unusual in that the curtain dropped the water directly onto the floor of the room, rather than containing the water within just the shower area. Put the bath mat up until you finish the shower. The hotel was very close to the two train stations we used, making it an easy walk with our luggage, not requiring any other transport. Overall, a very great choice for our stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Very close to Euston train station. Saint Pancras train station and Eurostar is a short walk further. We walked to both with our luggage.

Review of Ambassadors Bloomsbury

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Zebrastu
Business
Chesterfield UK
Aug 3, 2013

Ok Hotel

A one night stop over on business. Good location but rooms nothing special. Service on desk very good

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Ambassadors Bloomsbury

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
lifehouse2000
Boston
Jul 11, 2013

Accomodating staff in a perfect location

I selected this hotel mostly because it's a 3 minute walk to Euston station. We stayed 2 times for 2 nights each in a Deluxe King room, which although average in size (for London) and lacking a good place to store luggage, was kept impeccably clean by housekeeping. Bed was very comfortable. We loved the robes and towel warmer too but the best part was the desk staff, who kindly agreed to hold one of our large bags at no charge for 5 days while we were off touring in Scotland. Upon our return, we were very happy to check into the same room that we had left 5 days earlier. Be sure to request a room on the quiet side (back) of the hotel. We did not try the hotel breakfast, as it seemed bit pricey and there are many other options in the neighborhood. I'd be very happy to stay here again, especially for the convenience and kindness of the hotel staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Ambassadors Bloomsbury

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
dosulivan
Bainbridge island, wa
Jun 14, 2013

Location location

The hotel is comfortable but could use some better seating in the rooms, which are quite small. The wireless worked well in our room as well as in the lounge. The food is good, a little pricey. It is walking distance from the British museum, and Euston station and there is a bus stop practically outside the hotel. There is a tiny street with interesting shops just beside the hotel and we were told it is used for movie sets frequently. the staff in the restaurant were great. We went in for a place to visit with old friends and were there for three hours without being bothered..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Entertainment tip: Not Applicable

Don't miss walking around the area. It is packed with interesting sights and people.

Review of Ambassadors Bloomsbury

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Prof099
Business
Princeton NJ
Apr 15, 2013

Watch for room switch

Tho I had reserved a month before when I got there I got some story and was put into a tiny windowless room with an immense wheelchair bathroom (and broken wifi). Staff very nice and changed my room, but why did they give me such a horrible room in the first place?

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Ambassadors Bloomsbury

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Worldwide Traveler416
New Jersey, USA
Apr 14, 2013

Decent hotel stay

Good enough place to stay just to rest and sight see.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Back to menu Return to top

Change search