$210 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Nov 16, 2014 Check-out: Nov 17, 2014

196 Bishopsgate

4 stars
196 Bishopsgate, Liverpool Street, London, EC2M 4NR
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
8 reviews
Fantastic place to use as a home base

Right across from the "Liverpool Street" underground station (on the Circle, Bakerloo and Central... See full review

  • StreakLightning
  • Jun 14, 2014
Central to Your London Visit

Great location for underground, bus or walking to London waterfront sites. Plenty of food selection... See full review

  • Vacation Traveling Again
  • Sep 22, 2014
196 Bishopsgate is located in the heart of London's financial district, which is a short hop on the tube from the thriving West End, a mere walk to the exciting River Thames, and a stone's throw from the numerous bars and restaurants of London's fashionable Hoxton and Shoreditch districts. Offering a range of fully serviced apartments, from Studios up to Two Bedroom Penthouse Suites, all with no minimum stay. At 196 Bishopsgate you benefit from the flexibility of a hotel while at the same time are able to enjoy the space and freedom of apartment living!

Hotel Map

51.5181 -0.0799
Area served
Liverpool Street, London.
Nearby airports
London City International Airport, London Heathrow International Airport, London Gatwick International Airport, London Stansted International Airport (STN).
Area description
196 Bishopsgate is ideally located in the heart of the city close to numerous shops, restaurants, and cafes at the nearby Broadgate, Leadenhall Market, Petticoat Lane, and (needless to say) the West End! For both business and leisure travelers the location is hard to beat!

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed 196 Bishopsgate also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

196 Bishopsgate Rooms

Studio
Room providing one double bed for up to 1 guest. Studio apartments are open plan and with dining areas. All are modern with wood floors, individual heat & A/C, fully fitted granite kitchens, en-suite bathrooms and plasma TV's.
Executive Studio
Room providing one double bed for up to 2 guests. Executive studio apartments are open plan and with dining areas. All are modern with wood floors, individual heat & A/C, fully fitted granite kitchens, en-suite bathrooms and plasma TV's.
One Bedroom Apartment
Room providing one double bed for up to 2 guests. One bedroom apartments are modern and bright with separate living area. All have solid oak wood floors, individual heat & A/C, fully fitted granite kitchens, en-suite bathrooms and plasma TV's.
Executive One Bedroom Apartment
Room providing one double bed for up to 2 guests. Executive one bedroom apartments are spacious, modern and bright separate living area. All have solid wood floors, individual heat & A/C, fully fitted granite kitchens, en-suite bathrooms and plasma TV's.
Executive Two Bedroom Apartment
Room providing two double beds for up to 4 guests. Executive two bedroom apartments are modern and bright with separate living area and 2 bedrooms. All have solid oak wood floors, individual heat & A/C, fully fitted granite kitchens, en-suite bathrooms and plasma TV's.

Amenities

  • Free internet
General
Concierge
Dining
24 hour room service
Services
In-Room Safe
Internet
Free internet

Nearby points of interest

  • Royal Fusiliers Museum: 0.1 mi
  • Liverpool Street Station: 0.1 mi
  • Broadgate Tower: 0.2 mi
  • the Gherkin: 0.3 mi
  • Tower 42: 0.3 mi
  • Women's Library: 0.3 mi
  • Museum of Immigration and Diversity: 0.3 mi
  • Shoreditch: 0.4 mi
  • Royal Exchange: 0.4 mi
  • Bank of England: 0.5 mi
  • Guildhall School of Music and Drama: 0.5 mi
  • Barbican Art Gallery: 0.6 mi
  • Aldgate: 0.6 mi
  • Clockmakers' Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Tower Hill: 0.6 mi
  • Royal Fusiliers Museum: 0.1 mi
  • Liverpool Street Station: 0.1 mi
  • Broadgate Tower: 0.2 mi
  • the Gherkin: 0.3 mi
  • Tower 42: 0.3 mi
  • Women's Library: 0.3 mi
  • Museum of Immigration and Diversity: 0.3 mi
  • Shoreditch: 0.4 mi
  • Royal Exchange: 0.4 mi
  • Bank of England: 0.5 mi
  • Guildhall School of Music and Drama: 0.5 mi
  • Barbican Art Gallery: 0.6 mi
  • Aldgate: 0.6 mi
  • Clockmakers' Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Tower Hill: 0.6 mi
  • Whitechapel Gallery: 0.6 mi
  • Trinity College of Music: 0.6 mi
  • Barbican: 0.6 mi
  • Museum of London: 0.7 mi
  • Tower of London: 0.7 mi
  • Museum of London Docklands: 0.7 mi
  • HMS Belfast: 0.8 mi
  • Tower Bridge: 0.8 mi
  • St Bartholomew's Hospital Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Winston Churchill's Britain At War Experience: 0.9 mi
  • Royal London Hospital Archives and Museum: 0.9 mi
  • St. Pauls Cathedral: 0.9 mi
  • London Dungeon: 0.9 mi
  • Clink Prison Museum: 0.9 mi
  • London Bridge Station: 0.9 mi
  • City Hall: 0.9 mi
  • Southwark Cathedral: 0.9 mi
  • Kenwood House: 0.9 mi
  • Old Bailey: 1 mi
  • Millennium Bridge: 1 mi
  • Rose Theatre Exhibition: 1 mi
  • The Shard: 1 mi
  • Museum of the Order of St John: 1 mi
  • Design Museum: 1.1 mi
  • Tate Modern: 1.1 mi
  • Farringdon: 1.1 mi
  • Fleet Street: 1.2 mi
  • City University London: 1.2 mi
  • Museum of Childhood: 1.3 mi
  • Borough: 1.3 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1400
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (8)

Ratings and reviews for 196 Bishopsgate

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
8 out of 8
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.8
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.5

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of 196 Bishopsgate

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Vacation Traveling Again
Business
New York
Sep 22, 2014

Central to Your London Visit

Great location for underground, bus or walking to London waterfront sites. Plenty of food selection in nearby area. Note: A/C is only in livingroom for all apt rooms.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

Wine lovers - don't miss Gordon's Wine Bar on Villiers Street!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of 196 Bishopsgate

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
StreakLightning
Business
Ontario, Canada
Jun 14, 2014

Fantastic place to use as a home base

Right across from the "Liverpool Street" underground station (on the Circle, Bakerloo and Central lines) which has great access to the core of London. The apartment was clean, neat, well appointed kitchen, and a great bed, etc. The staff couldn't have been more helpful or polite. If I were doing business in that area of London, I wouldn't hesitate to repeat my experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of 196 Bishopsgate

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Greenwich, CT
Dec 14, 2010

Bishopsgate a Bargain

As a frequent business traveler, I much prefer an apartment instead of a hotel. It allows me to relax in the Main room, cook in the kitchen and sleep in the bedroom.It is almost like being at home. I also enjoy the ability to cook for myself when I want. I have been staying at 196 Bishopsgate for a couple of years now, and am always treated well.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of 196 Bishopsgate

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mame and Pa
Business
Old Orchard Beach, Maine
Mar 10, 2010

Second Stay at 196 Bishopgate

This is our second time at 196 Bishopgate. The location is wonderful, easy walking to Spittalfields and great bus and underground connections. This stay our room faced Bishopgate. It was noisy with traffic and city noise as the weekend approached. The advantage of the apartment setting easily overcomes the problems. As this was the end of our trip we did cloths washing in the unit. There is a Tesco right down the street with great precooked meals. We are in our 60's and would recommend this accomodaton.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Tesco is a great help if you are tired of eating out. But there are great resturants around the corner going to Spittalfields and at Spitalfields there are great fast food booths. Try the brownines at Angels they are to die for!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of 196 Bishopsgate

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
canadair2001
Business
Montreal,Canada
Jan 9, 2010

Just OK

The first room, I get, was very cold, because heater was not working after 2 days of complain, they change me room on the 3rd night with no excuse. I asked for a compensation and they just offer me an upgrade for a futur travel, as I was not sure to comeback to that place I asked for something else and they did just give free phone for the last day. As I had my cell it was not usefull. The room quality and cleaness was good but the service when you get problem was bad...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of 196 Bishopsgate

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mame and Pa
Business
Old Orchard Beach, Maine
Oct 21, 2009

Great Hotel/apartment option

This was the third hotel of our vacation and by far the best. I would highly recommend this apartment living as such an imporovement to hotels. We ate in most nights as there is ample food outlets in the area. The apartment came with all you would need including dishwasher with soap, cloths washer and soap, dishes, wine glasses, pots and such. Plenty of room to spread out. Only negative was outside noise 2 nighs by ended by 1am . We are in our 60s and found using the tube and buses from this hotel easy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

The prepared foods at Tesco were great. But, the Spitalfield area has great take away salad shops. Sunday is a very great day at the markets.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of 196 Bishopsgate

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
dburns
Business
Stroudsburg, PA
Jun 27, 2009

Unbeatable location for the price

Rooms are a nice size just the shower was very small and they don't provide wash cloths

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of 196 Bishopsgate

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Fairfield
Oct 9, 2008

Apartment Living at a Hotel Room Price

The room had everything the business traveler could need and the apartment was very, very spacious. The only issue was a security warning from the Internet browser that the hotel was using. Otherwise the room was spotless and the staff very accomodating.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Historic pubs and nice eateries

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top