$56 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Dec 1, 2014 Check-out: Dec 4, 2014

The Dolby Hotel Liverpool

3 stars
36-42 Chaloner Street, Liverpool, L3 4DE
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
25 reviews
2day jollie

Staff are great food loverly resonably priced on food and drink short walk from tours and echo... See full review

  • Lsdxj20
  • Sep 20, 2014
Great hotel for central location on a budget !

Plenty of car parking spaces and it felt very secure. We were welcomed by one of the receptionists... See full review

  • BpoolDec
  • Mar 25, 2014
Located on the famous Liverpool city centre waterfront, the hotel is only a short walk from all the citys main attractions. The Dolby hotel is a very popular place to stay whether you are on business or pleasure. We also offer plentiful free parking and free Wi-Fi to all our guests. Our restaurant serves breakfast daily Monday to Friday 7:00am till 10am. Saturday, Sunday and Bank Holidays 8:00am to 11:00am and selected food from 1:00pm through till 10:00pm. The bar is open from 12:00pm through till 1:00am serving a range of beverages. When booking 3 or more rooms, different policies will apply. Any arrivals after 10pm will be pre authorised. Your room may be re-allocated if you do not have sufficient funds on the card used to secure the reservation. The hotel does not accept stag or hen party reservations. A security deposit will be required for group reservations.

Hotel Map

53.3943 -2.9838
Area served
Liverpool
Nearby airports
By Air - The Hotel is situated approximately 7 mile from Liverpool airport. The number 500 bus runs every 15 minutes and will drop you very near to the hotel. Alternatively take a taxi from the airport directly to the hotel doors.
Area description
Located on the famous Liverpool waterfront and in close proximity to Liverpool city centre and it's vibrant night life. The Dolby hotel is a very popular place to stay whether you are on business or pleasure due to it's serene location which overlooks the waters of The Albert Dock and it's locality to Liverpool city center.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Dolby Hotel Liverpool also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5

The Dolby Hotel Liverpool Rooms

STANDARD - RANCH
Standard Double Room - One double bed. White walls and beech wood furnishings. Bathroom with shower, toiletries and hair dryer. Newspaper, clock radio, coffee and tea making facilities, satellite television

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
Dining
Restaurant
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Concert Square: 0.4 mi
  • Liverpool Chinatown: 0.5 mi
  • The Beatles Story: 0.5 mi
  • Liverpool Metropolitan Cathedral: 0.7 mi
  • Liverpool Central Station: 0.7 mi
  • Museum of Liverpool: 0.8 mi
  • Liverpool Lime Street Station: 0.9 mi
  • The Liverpool Playhouse: 1.1 mi
  • Superlambanana: 1.1 mi
  • University of Liverpool: 1.2 mi
  • Beetham Tower: 1.3 mi
  • Sefton Park: 2.4 mi
  • Lady Lever Art Gallery: 2.5 mi
  • Anfield Stadium: 2.8 mi
  • Liverpool Hope University: 3.9 mi
  • Concert Square: 0.4 mi
  • Liverpool Chinatown: 0.5 mi
  • The Beatles Story: 0.5 mi
  • Liverpool Metropolitan Cathedral: 0.7 mi
  • Liverpool Central Station: 0.7 mi
  • Museum of Liverpool: 0.8 mi
  • Liverpool Lime Street Station: 0.9 mi
  • The Liverpool Playhouse: 1.1 mi
  • Superlambanana: 1.1 mi
  • University of Liverpool: 1.2 mi
  • Beetham Tower: 1.3 mi
  • Sefton Park: 2.4 mi
  • Lady Lever Art Gallery: 2.5 mi
  • Anfield Stadium: 2.8 mi
  • Liverpool Hope University: 3.9 mi
  • BT Convention Centre: 246.3 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1400
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (25)

Ratings and reviews for The Dolby Hotel Liverpool

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
25 out of 25
Amenities:
3.6
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
3.3
Location:
4.1
Value:
4.1

84% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Dolby Hotel Liverpool

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
j seller
Business
aylebury
Jun 26, 2012

Best-avoided, nothing special about this hotel

On arrival i was checked in to the room, reception was looking clean and tidy, staff weren't particularly welcoming, my room was an ok size, a strange sort of porta cabin for a bathroom. Colours and decor were dark and drab, carpet was dark brown which disguised how dirty it was, perhaps this is how staff had managed to avoid vacuming but by far the worst bit was the smell of the room, dispite saying it was a no- smoking room there was an over powering smell of cigarettes.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Dolby Hotel Liverpool

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Travlin Chick
Business
Boston, MA
Mar 19, 2013

If you want a good night's sleep, stay elsewhere

Let me say up front that the staff were nice, the hotel was clean and the location was reasonable (not a long walk to downtown, although the only businesses right nearby are McDonalds, KFC and a casino). Any positive things I have to say about the Dolby were negated by atmosphere. I found out after the fact from a few locals that the Dolby is known as a partying hotel, and it sure was. There was a 21st birthday party across the hall on my first night in town, and the partying only got worse over the weekend. The young guests would return home from the pubs, shouting obscenities down the hall, banging doors. One night at 4 AM, a drunk guy mistook my room for his and was rattling the doorknob until I shouted at him. Another night, I was woken at 4 AM by some sort of alarm -- I assume it was an emergency door because it was shut off fairly quickly. I also realized that my room was right above the bar/restaurant, and I could hear talking and laughing at all hours, stomping around, and the incessant opening and slamming shut of the sliding glass door being used by smokers. I had come to town to run the Liverpool Half Marathon, and managing a full night's rest was impossible. On top of that, the internet was out for my entire last day, preventing me from getting my last-minute travel arrangements together. Instead I had to walk into the city to use free wifi at a cafe. I reported the problem repeatedly and was told each time that they just need to reset the router. I badgered them enough that they finally checked and discovered it was a problem with the service provider. Had they actually checked in the morning instead of blowing me off, they might have been able to get it fixed. It was very inconvenient, especially considered I have no UK phone and was relying solely in the internet for communication. If you need some place cheap and clean to crash, this hotel might work for you. But expect major disturbances.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Want a drink in Liverpool but the bars are closed? Swift Drinks on Duke St sells beer and liquor until 4 AM. Don't want to leave the hotel? Check out hungryhouse.co.uk. Not only can you order food, but Dial a Beer delivers until 4:55 AM.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Dolby Hotel Liverpool

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Catherine Quigley
Business
Ballymena
May 23, 2013

Complaint

The hotel was ok but I booked bed and breakfast when I booked it it January and when I arrived the lad on the desk said I had not booked bed and breakfast and would have to pay £8 pounds for eeach day I was there which I did not think was very fair as I thought my breakfast had been payed for

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Dolby Hotel Liverpool

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
hotel worker
Business
england
Oct 14, 2012

First impressions good

stayed for 1 night at the Dolby hotel, when we first arrived all look good , friendly staff and a nice lobby and sitting area, room was the main down side it was as if they had a dog in it at one time and my partner is allergic so she could not breath well at all, the room needed to be updated, felt like i was in a kids room with a bunk bed, you also could hear all the traffic from out side we where at the front of the building.they also have air fresheners in the corridors the ones that squirt out, think it was trying to get rid of the smell off damp.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Albert dock

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Dolby Hotel Liverpool

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
kapkani
Business
Tampa, Florida
Nov 17, 2012

Great hotel for the price

The hotel doesn't look that great from the outside, but the inside is relatively nice. The check in people were extremely nice and helpful. The room was small, but had everything you could need (bed, bathroom, hair dryer, free wifi, etc#. The only problems with the room #single room# was the shower was rather small #not recommended for larger people) and the bed was pretty hard. I thought I wasnt going to be able to sleep on it, but I ended up sleeping fine. Free parking was nice also and was a relatively short walk to downtown and all the sights.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Dolby Hotel Liverpool

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
the Passionate Traveller
Business
Novi Sad, Serbia
Apr 15, 2013

A budget place to stay at in 'Pool

The Dolby is situated at close to the waterfront and about 15 mins walk away from the city centre. The rooms are a bit student dorm-like - not very spacious, with a bunk bed above the it seemed smaller than queen sized double. The bathroom is minute (not more than 2 square metres. On the up side, it's very clean, and if you only need a base for exploring Liverpool, it'll do the trick. The breakfast wasn't included in the price and is GBP5.75 and GBP7.75 for the continental and English respectively. The staff are polite and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Dolby Hotel Liverpool

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
BpoolDec
Business
Blackpool,Lancs
Mar 25, 2014

Great hotel for central location on a budget !

Plenty of car parking spaces and it felt very secure. We were welcomed by one of the receptionists who was very polite and told us where our room was. The bed was one of the comfiest that i have slept in from any hotel. The bathroom is small, it was probably the only downside to the hotel. There was minimal room to move in the shower. But with only taking a couple of showers it was very little time i spent in their throughout the weekend. The location is great. Only 5 mins walk from the docks and to the Echo Arena and add a few more to get to Liverpool One. Couldn't wish for better. I would recommend this hotel to family and friends and i would stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

If you're going to see a show at the Echo Arena, go to Blue Bar & Grill as they have a special offer on when you show your event tickets.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Dolby Hotel Liverpool

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Loved up
Business
Berkshire
Mar 23, 2014

Cheap and cheerful

We stayed here for 4 nights and overall found it a good location and very affordable. The only downside was some rather noisy other guests there which on our first night decided to talk loudly in the corridors several times until about 3am! The other nights were better with only one other incident of someone calling out a few times on another night. I'm not sure if it's possible to sound proof the doors a bit better but this might help. The room was basic and had a compact bathroom but was very clean and has a TV with a good selection of channels. The food in the restaurant is very affordable with large portions - yum! There were newspapers to read for free. The staff were polite and helpful at all times. The bed wasn't the most comfortable we've slept on but overall we were pleased for the money. The town is a bit of a walk (around 10 mins) but this was manageable. Free car parking was great too. The view from the rooms on the harbour side was lovely. I would recommend this if you are on a budget.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Factory outlet Village around 30 mins away was great!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Dolby Hotel Liverpool

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
newtownards,county down
Aug 25, 2010

Cracking place to stay

Had a great time at Dolby,staff very friendly,location great and price superb,will definately be back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Dolby Hotel Liverpool

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Cumbria
Nov 1, 2010

Easy walk to Albert Dock and shopping

Clean and chearful. Good value breakfast friendly staff

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top