$116 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 6, 2015 Check-out: May 7, 2015

Macdonald Swan Hotel

3 stars
View map of Keswick Road,, Grasmere, LA22 9RF

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
5 reviews
lovely comfortable atmospheric hotel

The Swan is a lovely warm comfortable hotel we were there when the weather was cold wet and windy... See full review

  • Banjogal
  • Mar 22, 2014
Nice hotel, extras all expensive

We had a lovely stay at the swan. We got a really cheap and good room, but the expenses came... See full review

  • Pete
  • Jan 9, 2015
Built in 1650 as a coaching inn, and mentioned in a Wordsworth poem "The Wag-goner", The Swan Hotel, Grasmere is one of the oldest in the Lake District. Nestled in the Cumbrian countryside, with views across the Fells, cozy and inviting hotel is ideal for walkers and cyclists. With open sunny vistas in summer and blazing log fires in winter, it's the ideal base for exploring the wonders of the Lake District National Park. Afterwards, relax with a delicious meal in restaurant or enjoy the convivial atmosphere of the Walkers' Bar before retiring to a traditionally - furnished, comfortable room. **Please note there is no lift at the property. Please contact the hotel for more information on accessibility** We are a non-smoking hotel.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Macdonald Swan Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.5 out of 5

Macdonald Swan Hotel Rooms

Classic Double
Classic Double with one double bed includes all the standard amenities.
Classic Twin
Classic Twin with two twin beds includes all the standard amenities.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Dining
Restaurant
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
2:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Ratings and reviews for Macdonald Swan Hotel

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
5 out of 5
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
3.8
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
3.8
Value:
3.8

100% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Macdonald Swan Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
NickR
Business
Aylesbury, Buckinghamshire
Dec 30, 2014

Reasonable Value, great location

This was our third time here and whilst is has never been a perfect place you can get good prices if you pick carefully. Paid average £71 per night for three nights for an executive room - this seemed to give us a slightly better view, one bottle of water and dressing gowns in the room compared to a standard double. Not sure if the bed is bigger? They always seem understaffed and breakfast can be a slow process. Although on a main A road it is never busy and really quiet at night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Lots of other places to eat

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Macdonald Swan Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sedge63
Business
Darlington, UK
Mar 5, 2014

Comfortable stay in nice, cosy hotel.

Open fires and comfy chairs add to a country feel. There is a short walk into the village which is a bit of a dark route on an evening but this did not detract from the stay. Staff were friendly and the breakfast was very good. The only down side was the restaurant-high price of the wine in the bar, £9 for a glass of Sauvignon Blanc came as a bit of a shock and meant that we stopped at one!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Macdonald Swan Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Uncle No1
Business
Nagoya ,Japan
Jun 2, 2014

Walk distance to Grasmere center

5 to 10 minute walk to Grasmere center area. The breakfast wa very good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Macdonald Swan Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Pete
Business
North west
Jan 9, 2015

Nice hotel, extras all expensive

We had a lovely stay at the swan. We got a really cheap and good room, but the expenses came whenever we bought anything. The room service menu had not been updated so we got to see how much the prices had been cranked up recently. Most places in the lakes seem to have got a lot more expensive and so it was not the cheap little holiday we were hoping for!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Macdonald Swan Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Banjogal
Business
North Yorkshire
Mar 22, 2014

lovely comfortable atmospheric hotel

The Swan is a lovely warm comfortable hotel we were there when the weather was cold wet and windy but it did not spoil our stay the room was large enough warm clean and with a lovely views of the fells. The bar areas and lounge had roaring fires on which added to the ambience of the hotel. Staff welcoming and friendly would recommend to going to the Lakes.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top