$98 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 9, 2015 Check-out: Jul 10, 2015

Thistle Glasgow Hotel

4 stars
View map of Cambridge Street, Glasgow, G2 3HN

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
49 reviews
Perfect overnight stay

Just what I wanted! A restful, quite luxurious overnight bath & bed before continuing my journey.... See full review

  • Mrsdavesmum
  • Dec 4, 2014
great couples getaway...

Perfect wasn't that busy and the staff were very informative on the local area and attractions. See full review

  • munchies
  • Mar 30, 2014
The Thistle Glasgow, located near premier shopping, entertainment and business, recently underwent a major renovation and won the 2009 Scottish Hotel Award for Best Bedroom Design and Best Banqueting and Events Facilities. Catering mostly to the business traveler, the Thistle Glasgow's close location to several corporate offices is ideal for those looking to stay close to the office. Pleasure travelers need not be dissuaded from booking, however. The hotel's proximity to sporting venues and shopping centers also is unparalleled.

 

Rooms
Most rooms at the Thistle Glasgow underwent renovation in 2009 so expect vibrant color patterns, sleek, modern lines and bold fabrics. Guest rooms that have not undergone renovation still carry the old-fashioned, contemporary style of Glasgow's past with simple, patterned wallpaper and fabric headboards. Guests choose a standard, deluxe or executive room, or a suite with living and dining area. All rooms include Wi-Fi Internet access, coffee maker, flat-screen LCD TV, complimentary toiletries, hairdryer, iron/ironing board, walk-in shower and workdesk. In addition to living and dining areas, king suites include both a bath and power shower. Guests request non-smoking and accessible rooms.

 

Property features
The Thistle Glasgow's Otium Leisure Club features a gymnasium, treatment rooms and swimming pool. The hotel also boasts the Annlann Restaurant which serves home-cooked British and continental cuisine, complimented by an extensive wine list. The Cabin Bar pours cocktails and offers light meals and late-night snacks. For night owls, a 24-hour room service menu means never going to bed hungry. Because of Thistle Glasgow's prime location, guests enjoy close access to many of Glasgow's major attractions. The front desk staff gladly offers recommendations for sightseeing.

 

Highlights
  • Award for Best Bedroom Design in 2009
  • On-site Otium Leisure Club featuring gym, treatment rooms and swimming pool
  • Restaurant on site
  • Two bars and lounges

 

Nearby attractions
  • Glasgow School of Art (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • Golden Z (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Ibrox Stadium (3.6 mi/5.8 km)
  • Hampden Park (4.2 mi/6.8 km)

Business
  • 18 flexible space meeting rooms, accommodating up to1,500 people
  • Full business center and services
  • Wi-Fi Internet access
Transportation
  • Glasgow Airport (9 mi/14.5 km)
  • Queen Street Rail Station (0.6 mi/1 km)
  • Glasgow Central Train Station (0.7 mi/1.1 km)

 

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Thistle Glasgow Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Thistle Glasgow Hotel Rooms

Standard Double Room
Our Standard Double rooms at our hotel in Glasgow have everything you need for a relaxed and comfortable stay. Quiet, spacious and decorated in warm, welcoming colours, rooms at Thistle Glasgow hotel offer TV and ensuite bathroom with bath and shower as well as BT Openzone wireless broadband connection giving you access to your emails and the internet, making it an ideally located hotel near Glasgow City Centre for business or pleasure.
Standard Twin Room
Standard Twin rooms at our hotel in Glasgow have everything you need for a relaxed and comfortable stay. Rooms at Thistle Glasgow hotel are quiet, spacious and decorated in warm, welcoming colours, TVs and ensuite bathrooms with bath and shower. Our BT Openzone wireless broadband connection gives you access to your emails and the internet, making it an ideally located hotel near Glasgow City Centre for business or pleasure.
Deluxe Double Room
Deluxe Double rooms at Thistle Glasgow hotel offer all the comforts and amenities of our Standard bedrooms, and then some. The hotel is spacious and has plenty of room for a comfortable double bed and a large work desk. And when you've finished checking your emails via our BT Openzone wireless broadband connection, you can relax and unwind in the luxury ensuite bathroom.
Executive King Room
When you fancy a real treat our Executive King rooms at our hotel in Glasgow offer the perfect retreat at the end of a hectic day. Recently refurbished to reflect a more contemporary look, complemented by bold, vibrant fabrics, they're larger than our Standard rooms, providing space for a king-size bed and a large work desk. All rooms at the Thistle Glasgow hotel boast a flat screen satellite TV and ensuite bathrooms with walk-in power showers and complimentary toiletries and bathrobes. You'll have BT Openzone wireless broadband connection and a safe to store your laptop. And with fantastic views overlooking the city, your stay will feel just that bit extra special, making it an ideally located hotel near Glasgow City Centre for business or pleasure.
Executive 2 Double Room
Larger than our Standard rooms, Executive Double Double rooms at our hotel in Glasgow provide plenty of space for two luxury double beds and a large work desk. The rooms at the Thistle Glasgow hotel boast of a LCD colour TV and en-suite bathrooms with power showers and complimentary toiletries and bathrobes. The hotel room also benefits from BT Openzone wireless broadband connection and a safe to store your laptop. With fantastic views of Glasgow city, Thistle Glasgow hotel is perfect for business and pleasure.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Indoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Indoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking

Nearby points of interest

  • Glasgow Chinatown: 0.2 mi
  • National Theatre of Scotland: 0.3 mi
  • ScotRail: 0.4 mi
  • The Lighthouse: 0.4 mi
  • Glasgow Caledonian University: 0.5 mi
  • Mitchell Library: 0.5 mi
  • Glasgow Central Station: 0.5 mi
  • Glasgow Royal Concert Hall: 0.6 mi
  • King's Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • SECC: 1 mi
  • University of Glasgow: 1.2 mi
  • Glasgow Necropolis: 1.2 mi
  • Glasgow Science Centre: 1.2 mi
  • Winter Gardens: 1.4 mi
  • Glasgow Botanic Gardens: 1.5 mi
  • Glasgow Chinatown: 0.2 mi
  • National Theatre of Scotland: 0.3 mi
  • ScotRail: 0.4 mi
  • The Lighthouse: 0.4 mi
  • Glasgow Caledonian University: 0.5 mi
  • Mitchell Library: 0.5 mi
  • Glasgow Central Station: 0.5 mi
  • Glasgow Royal Concert Hall: 0.6 mi
  • King's Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • SECC: 1 mi
  • University of Glasgow: 1.2 mi
  • Glasgow Necropolis: 1.2 mi
  • Glasgow Science Centre: 1.2 mi
  • Winter Gardens: 1.4 mi
  • Glasgow Botanic Gardens: 1.5 mi
  • Celtic Park: 2.2 mi
  • Haggs Castle: 2.4 mi
  • Hampden Park: 2.5 mi
  • Ibrox Stadium: 2.8 mi
  • Mugdock Country Park: 7.6 mi
  • Bothwell Castle: 7.7 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The hotel's largest function room, the Grand Ballroom, seats up to 1,500 guests, making it suitable for large conferences, gala dinners and awards ceremonies: it's also one of Glasgow's most glamorous wedding venues. The hotel also have 17 further meeting rooms suitable for board and team meetings, training sessions, presentations, interviews and private dining.

Dining

The Annlann Restaurant
The Annlann Restaurant offers a choice of delicious home cooked British and European dishes in comfortable and contemporary surroundings. We also keep an extensive cellar of classic and New World wines to complement your meal.
Cabin Bar
The informal Cabin Bar is the perfect place to relax with a wide selection of hot and cold drinks available throughout the day along with a wide range of mouth-watering snack and light meals.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Thistle Glasgow Hotel

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
8 out of 49
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.1
Value:
4.3

100% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Thistle Glasgow Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anna Flowers
Business
london
Sep 24, 2013

Fantastic weekend break

Frindly staff, very comfy bed, very spacious room. The location is amazing! 10min walkfrom central station and only a few minutes away from most clubs and shops. The Spa is not huge but is still quiet good, and they provide towels and a padlock, which is quite nice Definitely coming back! Great experience

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Thistle Glasgow Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mr South Africa
Business
South Africa
Jun 10, 2013

Good Locatoin

The shower is a bit small... And the treadmills in the gym need replacing

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Thistle Glasgow Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
bank of frank
Business
weymss bay
Oct 9, 2012

great weekend break

enjoyed hotel stay, would recommend it to friends. paid for breakfast second morning and wish we done it first , thought it would work out cheaper out side , false economie.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Thistle Glasgow Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Riley11
Business
Edinburgh
Sep 25, 2012

Excellent hotel

I have just returned from the Thistle Hotel after a 2 night stay the hotel is a great hotel with a great location in the centre of Glasgow, I would definitely return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Thistle Glasgow Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Happy reveller
Business
Ayrshire
Jul 11, 2012

Great overnight stay

The staff were very friendly and helpful from the moment we arrived. I am from the Glasgow area and the position of the hotel was excellent for all the local bars and shopping. The rooms were spacious and clean to a high standard but will need updating soon. The bed was fabulously large and comfortable. Great value for money.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Thistle Glasgow Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
tracie
Business
ayrshire scotland
Jul 11, 2012

great deal

i dont have a bad word to say about my stay at the thistle hotel!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

pesto on st vincent street

Review of Thistle Glasgow Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Jul 26, 2011

Comfortable room, friendly staff

Me and a group of friends needed to stay a night in Glasgow, and I booked us all at the Thistle. It is located in a shopping district, and a few minutes' uphill walk from the Central train station. The staff was very friendly, and helpful with restaurant suggestions and info on how to find things in town. We all had the breakfast buffet, and it was one of the best buffets I've had in a hotel. The rooms were well appointed with comfortable beds and soft linens. Everyone in the group of 9 was pleased with the hotel, and I thought it was a particularly good value for the price. I'd expect to pay more for similar accommodations in the US.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Thistle Glasgow Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
travels582
Business
California
Mar 29, 2010

Good stay

This hotel was clean, well located, and staff was helpful. Breakfast was good at the hotel restaurant, but kind of expensive. I would stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top