$132 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 10, 2014 Check-out: Aug 11, 2014

Thistle Glasgow Hotel

4 stars
Cambridge Street, Glasgow, G2 3HN
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
45 reviews
great couples getaway...

Perfect wasn't that busy and the staff were very informative on the local area and attractions. See full review

  • munchies
  • Mar 30, 2014
Babysitting

Hotel was fab!! Staff lovely. Room clean and comfortable!! See full review

  • Normajanedempsey
  • Dec 24, 2013
First-class rooms, services at affordable hotel by Glasgow city center
The Thistle Glasgow, located near premier shopping, entertainment and business, recently underwent a major renovation and won the 2009 Scottish Hotel Award for Best Bedroom Design and Best Banqueting and Events Facilities. Catering mostly to the business traveler, the Thistle Glasgow's close location to several corporate offices is ideal for those looking to stay close to the office. Pleasure travelers need not be dissuaded from booking, however. The hotel's proximity to sporting venues and shopping centers also is unparalleled.

 

Highlights
  • Award for Best Bedroom Design in 2009
  • On-site Otium Leisure Club featuring gym, treatment rooms and swimming pool
  • Restaurant on site
  • Two bars and lounges

 

Rooms
Most rooms at the Thistle Glasgow underwent renovation in 2009 so expect vibrant color patterns, sleek, modern lines and bold fabrics. Guest rooms that have not undergone renovation still carry the old-fashioned, contemporary style of Glasgow's past with simple, patterned wallpaper and fabric headboards. Guests choose a standard, deluxe or executive room, or a suite with living and dining area. All rooms include Wi-Fi Internet access, coffee maker, flat-screen LCD TV, complimentary toiletries, hairdryer, iron/ironing board, walk-in shower and workdesk. In addition to living and dining areas, king suites include both a bath and power shower. Guests request non-smoking and accessible rooms.

 

Features
The Thistle Glasgow's Otium Leisure Club features a gymnasium, treatment rooms and swimming pool. The hotel also boasts the Annlann Restaurant which serves home-cooked British and continental cuisine, complimented by an extensive wine list. The Cabin Bar pours cocktails and offers light meals and late-night snacks. For night owls, a 24-hour room service menu means never going to bed hungry. Because of Thistle Glasgow's prime location, guests enjoy close access to many of Glasgow's major attractions. The front desk staff gladly offers recommendations for sightseeing.

 

Transportation
  • Glasgow Airport (9 mi/14.5 km)
  • Queen Street Rail Station (0.6 mi/1 km)
  • Glasgow Central Train Station (0.7 mi/1.1 km)

 

Attractions
  • Glasgow School of Art (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • Golden Z (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Ibrox Stadium (3.6 mi/5.8 km)
  • Hampden Park (4.2 mi/6.8 km)

Business­
  • 18 flexible space meeting rooms, accommodating up to1,500 people
  • Full business center and services
  • Wi-Fi Internet access

Hotel Map

55.8661 -4.2599
Area served
Glasgow
Nearby airports
Glasgow International Airport(GLA).
Area description
Whether you're staying in Glasgow for business, shopping, sightseeing, an Old Firm derby or other event at Hampden Park, the hotel Otium Health & Leisure Club has all you need to relax and unwind afterward. Located right in the heart of Glasgow's main shopping district Hampden Park.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Thistle Glasgow Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5

Thistle Glasgow Hotel Rooms

Standard Double Room
Our Standard Double rooms at our hotel in Glasgow have everything you need for a relaxed and comfortable stay. Quiet, spacious and decorated in warm, welcoming colours, rooms at Thistle Glasgow hotel offer TV and ensuite bathroom with bath and shower as well as BT Openzone wireless broadband connection giving you access to your emails and the internet, making it an ideally located hotel near Glasgow City Centre for business or pleasure.
Standard Twin Room
Standard Twin rooms at our hotel in Glasgow have everything you need for a relaxed and comfortable stay. Rooms at Thistle Glasgow hotel are quiet, spacious and decorated in warm, welcoming colours, TVs and ensuite bathrooms with bath and shower. Our BT Openzone wireless broadband connection gives you access to your emails and the internet, making it an ideally located hotel near Glasgow City Centre for business or pleasure.
Deluxe Double Room
Deluxe Double rooms at Thistle Glasgow hotel offer all the comforts and amenities of our Standard bedrooms, and then some. The hotel is spacious and has plenty of room for a comfortable double bed and a large work desk. And when you've finished checking your emails via our BT Openzone wireless broadband connection, you can relax and unwind in the luxury ensuite bathroom.
Executive King Room
When you fancy a real treat our Executive King rooms at our hotel in Glasgow offer the perfect retreat at the end of a hectic day. Recently refurbished to reflect a more contemporary look, complemented by bold, vibrant fabrics, they're larger than our Standard rooms, providing space for a king-size bed and a large work desk. All rooms at the Thistle Glasgow hotel boast a flat screen satellite TV and ensuite bathrooms with walk-in power showers and complimentary toiletries and bathrobes. You'll have BT Openzone wireless broadband connection and a safe to store your laptop. And with fantastic views overlooking the city, your stay will feel just that bit extra special, making it an ideally located hotel near Glasgow City Centre for business or pleasure.
Executive 2 Double Room
Larger than our Standard rooms, Executive Double Double rooms at our hotel in Glasgow provide plenty of space for two luxury double beds and a large work desk. The rooms at the Thistle Glasgow hotel boast of a LCD colour TV and en-suite bathrooms with power showers and complimentary toiletries and bathrobes. The hotel room also benefits from BT Openzone wireless broadband connection and a safe to store your laptop. With fantastic views of Glasgow city, Thistle Glasgow hotel is perfect for business and pleasure.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Indoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Indoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking

Nearby points of interest

  • Glasgow Chinatown: 0.2 mi
  • National Theatre of Scotland: 0.3 mi
  • ScotRail: 0.4 mi
  • The Lighthouse: 0.4 mi
  • Glasgow Caledonian University: 0.5 mi
  • Mitchell Library: 0.5 mi
  • Glasgow Central Station: 0.5 mi
  • Glasgow Royal Concert Hall: 0.6 mi
  • King's Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • SECC: 1 mi
  • University of Glasgow: 1.2 mi
  • Glasgow Necropolis: 1.2 mi
  • Glasgow Science Centre: 1.2 mi
  • Winter Gardens: 1.4 mi
  • Glasgow Botanic Gardens: 1.5 mi
  • Glasgow Chinatown: 0.2 mi
  • National Theatre of Scotland: 0.3 mi
  • ScotRail: 0.4 mi
  • The Lighthouse: 0.4 mi
  • Glasgow Caledonian University: 0.5 mi
  • Mitchell Library: 0.5 mi
  • Glasgow Central Station: 0.5 mi
  • Glasgow Royal Concert Hall: 0.6 mi
  • King's Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • SECC: 1 mi
  • University of Glasgow: 1.2 mi
  • Glasgow Necropolis: 1.2 mi
  • Glasgow Science Centre: 1.2 mi
  • Winter Gardens: 1.4 mi
  • Glasgow Botanic Gardens: 1.5 mi
  • Celtic Park: 2.2 mi
  • Haggs Castle: 2.4 mi
  • Hampden Park: 2.5 mi
  • Ibrox Stadium: 2.8 mi
  • Mugdock Country Park: 7.6 mi
  • Bothwell Castle: 7.7 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The hotel's largest function room, the Grand Ballroom, seats up to 1,500 guests, making it suitable for large conferences, gala dinners and awards ceremonies: it's also one of Glasgow's most glamorous wedding venues. The hotel also have 17 further meeting rooms suitable for board and team meetings, training sessions, presentations, interviews and private dining.

Dining

The Annlann Restaurant
The Annlann Restaurant offers a choice of delicious home cooked British and European dishes in comfortable and contemporary surroundings. We also keep an extensive cellar of classic and New World wines to complement your meal.
Cabin Bar
The informal Cabin Bar is the perfect place to relax with a wide selection of hot and cold drinks available throughout the day along with a wide range of mouth-watering snack and light meals.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (45)

Ratings and reviews for Thistle Glasgow Hotel

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
10 out of 45
Amenities:
4.2
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
5
Value:
4.5

100% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Thistle Glasgow Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Brown Owl
London
Apr 15, 2013

Excellent Central location for City Break

Ideally placed for getting around Glagow. Close to shops, theatre, cinema, good local eateries and for bus services. Staff extremely helpful and friendly. Buffet breakfast first rate and we only had a standard room but it had all we required. Would recommend for a city break. We stayed 5 nights and were very impressed. Although we didn't use it, also had a pool and fitness centre. Only down side pillows very hard and uncomfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Excellent Indian restaurant 5 minutes away opposite Molly Malones(a good Irish pub - food good except for vegetables) in Hope Street. Wonderful service, huge portions and freshly cooked delicious food. Good pre theatre deal until 6.30pm.

Review of Thistle Glasgow Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
smck
sussex
Mar 8, 2013

As it should be

Not out of the ordinary but everything was as it should be. Good central location, easy access from airport shuttle bus. Mid day check out and bag store great help for evening flight. Very reasonable price for room, breakfast would have been expensive in hotel but plenty of other places close by so not an issue would recommend for a decent city stop over.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Thistle Glasgow Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Big Red
Glasgow
Jul 10, 2012

Great City Centre Hotel

Highly recommended, great value, lovely room, helpful staff, great location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Time-saving tip: In Hotel

We got an early check in on request.

Review of Thistle Glasgow Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Oxford
Jun 6, 2012

Great Stay, Thoroughly recommended

We stayed over the weekend with friends and family. The staff were extremely helpful and friendly from the moment we checked in. The full Scottish breakfast was enough to keep anyone going for a week! The chef was a great character and our two boys (10 & 7) just loved him. They also enjoyed the pool and leisure facilities. We all agreed that we would very happily stay in this hotel again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Thistle Glasgow Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Fab Family
Charlotte, NC
Aug 19, 2010

The Perfect Ending

The hotel provided the perfect final stop on a long vacation through the UK.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Located just a walk away from great shops and restaurants.

Review of Thistle Glasgow Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Fab Family
Charlotte, NC
Aug 19, 2010

The Perfect Ending

The hotel provided the perfect final stop on a long vacation through the UK.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Located just a walk away from great shops and restaurants.

Review of Thistle Glasgow Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Washington, DC
Apr 19, 2010

Thistle glasow

brilliant location, great staff and lovely room

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Thistle Glasgow Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Washington, DC
Apr 19, 2010

Thistle glasow

brilliant location, great staff and lovely room

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Thistle Glasgow Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
sd mum
San Diego, California
Apr 6, 2010

Good location and good value

We were there for a week long event at the Royal concert Hall, and being in a location that was walking distance from the venue was great. Taxis are also right around the corner if you don't find one at the door, if you want to go further afield. The rooms were not fancy, but comfortable and warm, and the doors which separate the rooms from the lobby area keep noise from the lobby way down. Service was good, and staff was very helpful. The telephone service was difficult for us--for some reason we couldn't get through to the reception desk by phone and had to go downstairs to ask for wake-up calls etc, and we were charged 1 pound each time we tried to make an overseas call, even though we never were able to get through to our number. I don't know what other hotels charge, but I thought that was excessive. Restaurant downstairs was fine and convenient and was able to serve us even when we came in late in the evening when other restaurants were closed. Good value for money--we got a non-refundable internet deal.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Thistle Glasgow Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
sd mum
San Diego, California
Apr 6, 2010

Good location and good value

We were there for a week long event at the Royal concert Hall, and being in a location that was walking distance from the venue was great. Taxis are also right around the corner if you don't find one at the door, if you want to go further afield. The rooms were not fancy, but comfortable and warm, and the doors which separate the rooms from the lobby area keep noise from the lobby way down. Service was good, and staff was very helpful. The telephone service was difficult for us--for some reason we couldn't get through to the reception desk by phone and had to go downstairs to ask for wake-up calls etc, and we were charged 1 pound each time we tried to make an overseas call, even though we never were able to get through to our number. I don't know what other hotels charge, but I thought that was excessive. Restaurant downstairs was fine and convenient and was able to serve us even when we came in late in the evening when other restaurants were closed. Good value for money--we got a non-refundable internet deal.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Back to menu Return to top