$87 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 26, 2014 Check-out: Dec 27, 2014

Thistle Glasgow Hotel

4 stars
Cambridge Street, Glasgow, G2 3HN
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
38 reviews
Perfect overnight stay

Just what I wanted! A restful, quite luxurious overnight bath & bed before continuing my journey.... See full review

  • Mrsdavesmum
  • Dec 4, 2014
great couples getaway...

Perfect wasn't that busy and the staff were very informative on the local area and attractions. See full review

  • munchies
  • Mar 30, 2014
First-class rooms, services at affordable hotel by Glasgow city center
The Thistle Glasgow, located near premier shopping, entertainment and business, recently underwent a major renovation and won the 2009 Scottish Hotel Award for Best Bedroom Design and Best Banqueting and Events Facilities. Catering mostly to the business traveler, the Thistle Glasgow's close location to several corporate offices is ideal for those looking to stay close to the office. Pleasure travelers need not be dissuaded from booking, however. The hotel's proximity to sporting venues and shopping centers also is unparalleled.

 

Highlights
  • Award for Best Bedroom Design in 2009
  • On-site Otium Leisure Club featuring gym, treatment rooms and swimming pool
  • Restaurant on site
  • Two bars and lounges

 

Rooms
Most rooms at the Thistle Glasgow underwent renovation in 2009 so expect vibrant color patterns, sleek, modern lines and bold fabrics. Guest rooms that have not undergone renovation still carry the old-fashioned, contemporary style of Glasgow's past with simple, patterned wallpaper and fabric headboards. Guests choose a standard, deluxe or executive room, or a suite with living and dining area. All rooms include Wi-Fi Internet access, coffee maker, flat-screen LCD TV, complimentary toiletries, hairdryer, iron/ironing board, walk-in shower and workdesk. In addition to living and dining areas, king suites include both a bath and power shower. Guests request non-smoking and accessible rooms.

 

Features
The Thistle Glasgow's Otium Leisure Club features a gymnasium, treatment rooms and swimming pool. The hotel also boasts the Annlann Restaurant which serves home-cooked British and continental cuisine, complimented by an extensive wine list. The Cabin Bar pours cocktails and offers light meals and late-night snacks. For night owls, a 24-hour room service menu means never going to bed hungry. Because of Thistle Glasgow's prime location, guests enjoy close access to many of Glasgow's major attractions. The front desk staff gladly offers recommendations for sightseeing.

 

Transportation
  • Glasgow Airport (9 mi/14.5 km)
  • Queen Street Rail Station (0.6 mi/1 km)
  • Glasgow Central Train Station (0.7 mi/1.1 km)

 

Attractions
  • Glasgow School of Art (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • Golden Z (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Ibrox Stadium (3.6 mi/5.8 km)
  • Hampden Park (4.2 mi/6.8 km)

Business­
  • 18 flexible space meeting rooms, accommodating up to1,500 people
  • Full business center and services
  • Wi-Fi Internet access

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Thistle Glasgow Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

Thistle Glasgow Hotel Rooms

Standard Double Room
Our Standard Double rooms at our hotel in Glasgow have everything you need for a relaxed and comfortable stay. Quiet, spacious and decorated in warm, welcoming colours, rooms at Thistle Glasgow hotel offer TV and ensuite bathroom with bath and shower as well as BT Openzone wireless broadband connection giving you access to your emails and the internet, making it an ideally located hotel near Glasgow City Centre for business or pleasure.
Standard Twin Room
Standard Twin rooms at our hotel in Glasgow have everything you need for a relaxed and comfortable stay. Rooms at Thistle Glasgow hotel are quiet, spacious and decorated in warm, welcoming colours, TVs and ensuite bathrooms with bath and shower. Our BT Openzone wireless broadband connection gives you access to your emails and the internet, making it an ideally located hotel near Glasgow City Centre for business or pleasure.
Deluxe Double Room
Deluxe Double rooms at Thistle Glasgow hotel offer all the comforts and amenities of our Standard bedrooms, and then some. The hotel is spacious and has plenty of room for a comfortable double bed and a large work desk. And when you've finished checking your emails via our BT Openzone wireless broadband connection, you can relax and unwind in the luxury ensuite bathroom.
Executive King Room
When you fancy a real treat our Executive King rooms at our hotel in Glasgow offer the perfect retreat at the end of a hectic day. Recently refurbished to reflect a more contemporary look, complemented by bold, vibrant fabrics, they're larger than our Standard rooms, providing space for a king-size bed and a large work desk. All rooms at the Thistle Glasgow hotel boast a flat screen satellite TV and ensuite bathrooms with walk-in power showers and complimentary toiletries and bathrobes. You'll have BT Openzone wireless broadband connection and a safe to store your laptop. And with fantastic views overlooking the city, your stay will feel just that bit extra special, making it an ideally located hotel near Glasgow City Centre for business or pleasure.
Executive 2 Double Room
Larger than our Standard rooms, Executive Double Double rooms at our hotel in Glasgow provide plenty of space for two luxury double beds and a large work desk. The rooms at the Thistle Glasgow hotel boast of a LCD colour TV and en-suite bathrooms with power showers and complimentary toiletries and bathrobes. The hotel room also benefits from BT Openzone wireless broadband connection and a safe to store your laptop. With fantastic views of Glasgow city, Thistle Glasgow hotel is perfect for business and pleasure.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Indoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Indoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking

Nearby points of interest

  • Glasgow Chinatown: 0.2 mi
  • National Theatre of Scotland: 0.3 mi
  • ScotRail: 0.4 mi
  • The Lighthouse: 0.4 mi
  • Glasgow Caledonian University: 0.5 mi
  • Mitchell Library: 0.5 mi
  • Glasgow Central Station: 0.5 mi
  • Glasgow Royal Concert Hall: 0.6 mi
  • King's Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • SECC: 1 mi
  • University of Glasgow: 1.2 mi
  • Glasgow Necropolis: 1.2 mi
  • Glasgow Science Centre: 1.2 mi
  • Winter Gardens: 1.4 mi
  • Glasgow Botanic Gardens: 1.5 mi
  • Glasgow Chinatown: 0.2 mi
  • National Theatre of Scotland: 0.3 mi
  • ScotRail: 0.4 mi
  • The Lighthouse: 0.4 mi
  • Glasgow Caledonian University: 0.5 mi
  • Mitchell Library: 0.5 mi
  • Glasgow Central Station: 0.5 mi
  • Glasgow Royal Concert Hall: 0.6 mi
  • King's Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • SECC: 1 mi
  • University of Glasgow: 1.2 mi
  • Glasgow Necropolis: 1.2 mi
  • Glasgow Science Centre: 1.2 mi
  • Winter Gardens: 1.4 mi
  • Glasgow Botanic Gardens: 1.5 mi
  • Celtic Park: 2.2 mi
  • Haggs Castle: 2.4 mi
  • Hampden Park: 2.5 mi
  • Ibrox Stadium: 2.8 mi
  • Mugdock Country Park: 7.6 mi
  • Bothwell Castle: 7.7 mi

Dining

The Annlann Restaurant
The Annlann Restaurant offers a choice of delicious home cooked British and European dishes in comfortable and contemporary surroundings. We also keep an extensive cellar of classic and New World wines to complement your meal.
Cabin Bar
The informal Cabin Bar is the perfect place to relax with a wide selection of hot and cold drinks available throughout the day along with a wide range of mouth-watering snack and light meals.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The hotel's largest function room, the Grand Ballroom, seats up to 1,500 guests, making it suitable for large conferences, gala dinners and awards ceremonies: it's also one of Glasgow's most glamorous wedding venues. The hotel also have 17 further meeting rooms suitable for board and team meetings, training sessions, presentations, interviews and private dining.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (38)

Ratings and reviews for Thistle Glasgow Hotel

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
38 out of 38
Amenities:
4.1
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.3

97% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Thistle Glasgow Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
trippytoad
Business
Indiana, USA
Sep 6, 2011

Well Worn

My room on the third floor on the backside of the hotel was very worn out and in need of remodel from the bed covers to the peeling wallpaper. Great location but otherwise not a good value for the money

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Thistle Glasgow Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
cfgg
Business
glasgow
Jan 31, 2012

Overnight

The room was booked as a triple room we asked at time booking how may beds and were told 2 doubles and a sofa bed. There was no sofa bed and 3 workmates on a work dance it was bit awkward with only 2 beds checked to see if a a spare quilt to sleep 1 on couch but there wasnt. Also only 2 bath towels and 1 hand towel, only 2 coffee cups so felt although charged for triple the room was only really set up for a double. Also the kettle didnt work.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Thistle Glasgow Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
na na na
Business
uk
Feb 16, 2012

good value

Slow check in by male receptionist who was apparently inexperienced. No mention of breakfast availability. Asked to sign for rack rate that they would amend later to reflect price paid to agent. Otherwise warm clean room in ideal central location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Kama Sutra Indian Restaurant - excellent Jinga prawns

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Thistle Glasgow Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Cottage Grove, MN
Aug 19, 2010

Glasgo w Scotland

It was a nice clean room and very close to the city center and activities that we were interested in. Nice staff. Car went dead and the staff was very helpful when we needed help getting the rental in working order. Even the head chef helped because he was the car guy. Very nice! Once block from city center and shopping area. Close to theater and music district. Staff accommodating when we arrived early with jet lag!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Make sure you print directions for getting to hotel from airport from home. Streets are narrow confusing for new comers and not square. We did the directions and a map a head of time and still struggled. Rent a car with GPS! We did not.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Thistle Glasgow Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
M & J
Business
South Hero, VT
Sep 30, 2009

Second time here

We had a great experience the first time so we came back. The location is a little remote but within walking distance of public transportation. Shopping and site seeing are both within walking distance. The lounge and restaurant are excellent, just off the lobby.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

The main shopping area is one block from the hotel. It is a walk that must be taken.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Thistle Glasgow Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Andrew H
Business
Galloway, Scotland
Jan 19, 2012

excellent overnight location in Glasgow

I only stayed the one night as I needed to get to the passport office for a fast track passport. It is well placed for the office. Hotel staff were very friendly and helpful. Car parking at £5 for the night until I left at 1pm next day was very reasonable. Room was larger than I expected , large very comfortable bed.Good shower/bath room. I was late checking in so had food in the bar. Chips were not "chunky" but typical skinny fries - my only negative but not a big deal. Breakfast at £10 was excellent. Buffet style but an excellent choice and quality. Eggs cooked to order, buffet quantities kept under control so that they were being continuously replenished with fresh food. Staff very friendly and efficient.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Thistle Glasgow Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Oxford
Jun 6, 2012

Great Stay, Thoroughly recommended

We stayed over the weekend with friends and family. The staff were extremely helpful and friendly from the moment we checked in. The full Scottish breakfast was enough to keep anyone going for a week! The chef was a great character and our two boys (10 & 7) just loved him. They also enjoyed the pool and leisure facilities. We all agreed that we would very happily stay in this hotel again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Thistle Glasgow Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Big Red
Business
Glasgow
Jul 10, 2012

Great City Centre Hotel

Highly recommended, great value, lovely room, helpful staff, great location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: In Hotel

We got an early check in on request.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Thistle Glasgow Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lexington
Business
scotland
Jul 9, 2012

A night of bliss

my husband and I wanted a night of peace Away from the world and this was perfect ,Kimberly the Receptionist was very friendly and welcoming And very helpful with all My requests , I will definitely go back and recommend The thistle . The thistle have made a wise decision having such a lovely person to greet people a very good first impression The room was lovely and clean thank you for a lovely night

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Thistle Glasgow Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Happy reveller
Business
Ayrshire
Jul 11, 2012

Great overnight stay

The staff were very friendly and helpful from the moment we arrived. I am from the Glasgow area and the position of the hotel was excellent for all the local bars and shopping. The rooms were spacious and clean to a high standard but will need updating soon. The bed was fabulously large and comfortable. Great value for money.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top