$97 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jun 24, 2015 Check-out: Jun 25, 2015

Thistle Glasgow Hotel

4 stars
View map of Cambridge Street, Glasgow, G2 3HN

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
48 reviews
Perfect overnight stay

Just what I wanted! A restful, quite luxurious overnight bath & bed before continuing my journey.... See full review

  • Mrsdavesmum
  • Dec 4, 2014
great couples getaway...

Perfect wasn't that busy and the staff were very informative on the local area and attractions. See full review

  • munchies
  • Mar 30, 2014
First-class rooms, services at affordable hotel by Glasgow city center
The Thistle Glasgow, located near premier shopping, entertainment and business, recently underwent a major renovation and won the 2009 Scottish Hotel Award for Best Bedroom Design and Best Banqueting and Events Facilities. Catering mostly to the business traveler, the Thistle Glasgow's close location to several corporate offices is ideal for those looking to stay close to the office. Pleasure travelers need not be dissuaded from booking, however. The hotel's proximity to sporting venues and shopping centers also is unparalleled.

 

Highlights
  • Award for Best Bedroom Design in 2009
  • On-site Otium Leisure Club featuring gym, treatment rooms and swimming pool
  • Restaurant on site
  • Two bars and lounges

 

Rooms
Most rooms at the Thistle Glasgow underwent renovation in 2009 so expect vibrant color patterns, sleek, modern lines and bold fabrics. Guest rooms that have not undergone renovation still carry the old-fashioned, contemporary style of Glasgow's past with simple, patterned wallpaper and fabric headboards. Guests choose a standard, deluxe or executive room, or a suite with living and dining area. All rooms include Wi-Fi Internet access, coffee maker, flat-screen LCD TV, complimentary toiletries, hairdryer, iron/ironing board, walk-in shower and workdesk. In addition to living and dining areas, king suites include both a bath and power shower. Guests request non-smoking and accessible rooms.

 

Features
The Thistle Glasgow's Otium Leisure Club features a gymnasium, treatment rooms and swimming pool. The hotel also boasts the Annlann Restaurant which serves home-cooked British and continental cuisine, complimented by an extensive wine list. The Cabin Bar pours cocktails and offers light meals and late-night snacks. For night owls, a 24-hour room service menu means never going to bed hungry. Because of Thistle Glasgow's prime location, guests enjoy close access to many of Glasgow's major attractions. The front desk staff gladly offers recommendations for sightseeing.

 

Transportation
  • Glasgow Airport (9 mi/14.5 km)
  • Queen Street Rail Station (0.6 mi/1 km)
  • Glasgow Central Train Station (0.7 mi/1.1 km)

 

Attractions
  • Glasgow School of Art (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • Golden Z (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Ibrox Stadium (3.6 mi/5.8 km)
  • Hampden Park (4.2 mi/6.8 km)

Business­
  • 18 flexible space meeting rooms, accommodating up to1,500 people
  • Full business center and services
  • Wi-Fi Internet access

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Thistle Glasgow Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Thistle Glasgow Hotel Rooms

Standard Double Room
Our Standard Double rooms at our hotel in Glasgow have everything you need for a relaxed and comfortable stay. Quiet, spacious and decorated in warm, welcoming colours, rooms at Thistle Glasgow hotel offer TV and ensuite bathroom with bath and shower as well as BT Openzone wireless broadband connection giving you access to your emails and the internet, making it an ideally located hotel near Glasgow City Centre for business or pleasure.
Standard Twin Room
Standard Twin rooms at our hotel in Glasgow have everything you need for a relaxed and comfortable stay. Rooms at Thistle Glasgow hotel are quiet, spacious and decorated in warm, welcoming colours, TVs and ensuite bathrooms with bath and shower. Our BT Openzone wireless broadband connection gives you access to your emails and the internet, making it an ideally located hotel near Glasgow City Centre for business or pleasure.
Deluxe Double Room
Deluxe Double rooms at Thistle Glasgow hotel offer all the comforts and amenities of our Standard bedrooms, and then some. The hotel is spacious and has plenty of room for a comfortable double bed and a large work desk. And when you've finished checking your emails via our BT Openzone wireless broadband connection, you can relax and unwind in the luxury ensuite bathroom.
Executive King Room
When you fancy a real treat our Executive King rooms at our hotel in Glasgow offer the perfect retreat at the end of a hectic day. Recently refurbished to reflect a more contemporary look, complemented by bold, vibrant fabrics, they're larger than our Standard rooms, providing space for a king-size bed and a large work desk. All rooms at the Thistle Glasgow hotel boast a flat screen satellite TV and ensuite bathrooms with walk-in power showers and complimentary toiletries and bathrobes. You'll have BT Openzone wireless broadband connection and a safe to store your laptop. And with fantastic views overlooking the city, your stay will feel just that bit extra special, making it an ideally located hotel near Glasgow City Centre for business or pleasure.
Executive 2 Double Room
Larger than our Standard rooms, Executive Double Double rooms at our hotel in Glasgow provide plenty of space for two luxury double beds and a large work desk. The rooms at the Thistle Glasgow hotel boast of a LCD colour TV and en-suite bathrooms with power showers and complimentary toiletries and bathrobes. The hotel room also benefits from BT Openzone wireless broadband connection and a safe to store your laptop. With fantastic views of Glasgow city, Thistle Glasgow hotel is perfect for business and pleasure.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Indoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Indoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking

Nearby points of interest

  • Glasgow Chinatown: 0.2 mi
  • National Theatre of Scotland: 0.3 mi
  • ScotRail: 0.4 mi
  • The Lighthouse: 0.4 mi
  • Glasgow Caledonian University: 0.5 mi
  • Mitchell Library: 0.5 mi
  • Glasgow Central Station: 0.5 mi
  • Glasgow Royal Concert Hall: 0.6 mi
  • King's Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • SECC: 1 mi
  • University of Glasgow: 1.2 mi
  • Glasgow Necropolis: 1.2 mi
  • Glasgow Science Centre: 1.2 mi
  • Winter Gardens: 1.4 mi
  • Glasgow Botanic Gardens: 1.5 mi
  • Glasgow Chinatown: 0.2 mi
  • National Theatre of Scotland: 0.3 mi
  • ScotRail: 0.4 mi
  • The Lighthouse: 0.4 mi
  • Glasgow Caledonian University: 0.5 mi
  • Mitchell Library: 0.5 mi
  • Glasgow Central Station: 0.5 mi
  • Glasgow Royal Concert Hall: 0.6 mi
  • King's Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • SECC: 1 mi
  • University of Glasgow: 1.2 mi
  • Glasgow Necropolis: 1.2 mi
  • Glasgow Science Centre: 1.2 mi
  • Winter Gardens: 1.4 mi
  • Glasgow Botanic Gardens: 1.5 mi
  • Celtic Park: 2.2 mi
  • Haggs Castle: 2.4 mi
  • Hampden Park: 2.5 mi
  • Ibrox Stadium: 2.8 mi
  • Mugdock Country Park: 7.6 mi
  • Bothwell Castle: 7.7 mi

Dining

The Annlann Restaurant
The Annlann Restaurant offers a choice of delicious home cooked British and European dishes in comfortable and contemporary surroundings. We also keep an extensive cellar of classic and New World wines to complement your meal.
Cabin Bar
The informal Cabin Bar is the perfect place to relax with a wide selection of hot and cold drinks available throughout the day along with a wide range of mouth-watering snack and light meals.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The hotel's largest function room, the Grand Ballroom, seats up to 1,500 guests, making it suitable for large conferences, gala dinners and awards ceremonies: it's also one of Glasgow's most glamorous wedding venues. The hotel also have 17 further meeting rooms suitable for board and team meetings, training sessions, presentations, interviews and private dining.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Thistle Glasgow Hotel

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
48 out of 48
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.2

98% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Thistle Glasgow Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
munchies
Business
swansea
Mar 30, 2014

great couples getaway...

Perfect wasn't that busy and the staff were very informative on the local area and attractions.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Thistle Glasgow Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
SWEE
Business
MANCHESTER
Jun 22, 2010

Good value high end hotel

Large room, very clean, friendly staff. Only built-in heater, no air-con. A bit hot for summer as the windows at 1st floor are all locked. Happy with the stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Thistle Glasgow Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Pablo
Business
London
Jul 19, 2011

Fantastic stay

We stayed at the Thistle over my 30th birthday and we had a fantastic time. The staff were very welcoming and attentive and when we arrived after midnight on the first night were moved from a twin room to a double without a thought. The room was spacious, clean and nicely decorated with no noise coming from either the corridor or outside via the window. Breakfast was absolutely superb with all the Scottish breakfast trimmings; potato scone, black pudding, even haggis. The leisure centre was also a nice extra and was very quiet when we ventured down for a post breakfast swim. I'd most definitely recommend the Thistle to friends and family for future visits to Glasgow.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Thistle Glasgow Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
kaz345
Business
stirling
Jul 7, 2012

brilliant. couldn't ask for more!

Everything was perfect. The bed was quite possibly the comfiest biggest bed I've ever slept in!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Viva Brazil for a brilliant dining experience

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Thistle Glasgow Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
tracie
Business
ayrshire scotland
Jul 11, 2012

great deal

i dont have a bad word to say about my stay at the thistle hotel!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

pesto on st vincent street

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Thistle Glasgow Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Widdler
Business
London - England
Jan 8, 2013

Good stay

This hotel was perfect for my recent business trip to Glasgow. The staff are all friendly and eager to please and the hotel is clean with a nice bar area. There are lots of good restaurants in walking distance so for me it was perfectly located. Couldn't fault it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Good Indian restaurant within walking distance called the Karma Sutra

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Thistle Glasgow Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
ScottyDog
Business
London
Feb 22, 2013

Great Hotel with pool

Love this hotel and have stayed many times before although not at such a discounted price. Well guess you get what you pay for and I ended up in 107 right on the side of the hotels very noisy air con. I did not sleep a wink even though my bed was really comfy. You should not expect guests even for free to stay in this room. I stayed further down the corridor on the same side as the air con last time - and not really a bother but room 107 forget it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
1
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Thistle Glasgow Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Brown Owl
Business
London
Apr 15, 2013

Excellent Central location for City Break

Ideally placed for getting around Glagow. Close to shops, theatre, cinema, good local eateries and for bus services. Staff extremely helpful and friendly. Buffet breakfast first rate and we only had a standard room but it had all we required. Would recommend for a city break. We stayed 5 nights and were very impressed. Although we didn't use it, also had a pool and fitness centre. Only down side pillows very hard and uncomfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Excellent Indian restaurant 5 minutes away opposite Molly Malones(a good Irish pub - food good except for vegetables) in Hope Street. Wonderful service, huge portions and freshly cooked delicious food. Good pre theatre deal until 6.30pm.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Thistle Glasgow Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Captain Charles
Business
Glasgow
Jul 23, 2013

Brilliant weekend break

Very impressive entrance and reception area. Pleasant and helpful staff. Once in our room. impressed with the size and cleanliness. On the day of our departure they even looked after our bg all dy until it was time to get our tain home. Overal had a very good weekend in Glasgow and so pleased we chose this hotel out of a huge choice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Thistle Glasgow Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Normajanedempsey
Business
Cumbernauld
Dec 24, 2013

Babysitting

Hotel was fab!! Staff lovely. Room clean and comfortable!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top