$116 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 7, 2014 Check-out: Sep 8, 2014

Thistle Glasgow Hotel

4 stars
Cambridge Street, Glasgow, G2 3HN
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.4
out of 5
91 reviews
great couples getaway...

Perfect wasn't that busy and the staff were very informative on the local area and attractions. See full review

  • munchies
  • Mar 30, 2014
First class hotel.

I stayed for one night as I was attending a function. From the moment I checked in until I checked... See full review

  • Greenbets
  • Mar 3, 2014
First-class rooms, services at affordable hotel by Glasgow city center
The Thistle Glasgow, located near premier shopping, entertainment and business, recently underwent a major renovation and won the 2009 Scottish Hotel Award for Best Bedroom Design and Best Banqueting and Events Facilities. Catering mostly to the business traveler, the Thistle Glasgow's close location to several corporate offices is ideal for those looking to stay close to the office. Pleasure travelers need not be dissuaded from booking, however. The hotel's proximity to sporting venues and shopping centers also is unparalleled.

 

Highlights
  • Award for Best Bedroom Design in 2009
  • On-site Otium Leisure Club featuring gym, treatment rooms and swimming pool
  • Restaurant on site
  • Two bars and lounges

 

Rooms
Most rooms at the Thistle Glasgow underwent renovation in 2009 so expect vibrant color patterns, sleek, modern lines and bold fabrics. Guest rooms that have not undergone renovation still carry the old-fashioned, contemporary style of Glasgow's past with simple, patterned wallpaper and fabric headboards. Guests choose a standard, deluxe or executive room, or a suite with living and dining area. All rooms include Wi-Fi Internet access, coffee maker, flat-screen LCD TV, complimentary toiletries, hairdryer, iron/ironing board, walk-in shower and workdesk. In addition to living and dining areas, king suites include both a bath and power shower. Guests request non-smoking and accessible rooms.

 

Features
The Thistle Glasgow's Otium Leisure Club features a gymnasium, treatment rooms and swimming pool. The hotel also boasts the Annlann Restaurant which serves home-cooked British and continental cuisine, complimented by an extensive wine list. The Cabin Bar pours cocktails and offers light meals and late-night snacks. For night owls, a 24-hour room service menu means never going to bed hungry. Because of Thistle Glasgow's prime location, guests enjoy close access to many of Glasgow's major attractions. The front desk staff gladly offers recommendations for sightseeing.

 

Transportation
  • Glasgow Airport (9 mi/14.5 km)
  • Queen Street Rail Station (0.6 mi/1 km)
  • Glasgow Central Train Station (0.7 mi/1.1 km)

 

Attractions
  • Glasgow School of Art (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • Golden Z (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Ibrox Stadium (3.6 mi/5.8 km)
  • Hampden Park (4.2 mi/6.8 km)

Business­
  • 18 flexible space meeting rooms, accommodating up to1,500 people
  • Full business center and services
  • Wi-Fi Internet access

Hotel Map

55.8661 -4.2599
Area served
Glasgow
Nearby airports
Glasgow International Airport(GLA).
Area description
Whether you're staying in Glasgow for business, shopping, sightseeing, an Old Firm derby or other event at Hampden Park, the hotel Otium Health & Leisure Club has all you need to relax and unwind afterward. Located right in the heart of Glasgow's main shopping district Hampden Park.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Thistle Glasgow Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Thistle Glasgow Hotel Rooms

Standard Double Room
Our Standard Double rooms at our hotel in Glasgow have everything you need for a relaxed and comfortable stay. Quiet, spacious and decorated in warm, welcoming colours, rooms at Thistle Glasgow hotel offer TV and ensuite bathroom with bath and shower as well as BT Openzone wireless broadband connection giving you access to your emails and the internet, making it an ideally located hotel near Glasgow City Centre for business or pleasure.
Standard Twin Room
Standard Twin rooms at our hotel in Glasgow have everything you need for a relaxed and comfortable stay. Rooms at Thistle Glasgow hotel are quiet, spacious and decorated in warm, welcoming colours, TVs and ensuite bathrooms with bath and shower. Our BT Openzone wireless broadband connection gives you access to your emails and the internet, making it an ideally located hotel near Glasgow City Centre for business or pleasure.
Deluxe Double Room
Deluxe Double rooms at Thistle Glasgow hotel offer all the comforts and amenities of our Standard bedrooms, and then some. The hotel is spacious and has plenty of room for a comfortable double bed and a large work desk. And when you've finished checking your emails via our BT Openzone wireless broadband connection, you can relax and unwind in the luxury ensuite bathroom.
Executive King Room
When you fancy a real treat our Executive King rooms at our hotel in Glasgow offer the perfect retreat at the end of a hectic day. Recently refurbished to reflect a more contemporary look, complemented by bold, vibrant fabrics, they're larger than our Standard rooms, providing space for a king-size bed and a large work desk. All rooms at the Thistle Glasgow hotel boast a flat screen satellite TV and ensuite bathrooms with walk-in power showers and complimentary toiletries and bathrobes. You'll have BT Openzone wireless broadband connection and a safe to store your laptop. And with fantastic views overlooking the city, your stay will feel just that bit extra special, making it an ideally located hotel near Glasgow City Centre for business or pleasure.
Executive 2 Double Room
Larger than our Standard rooms, Executive Double Double rooms at our hotel in Glasgow provide plenty of space for two luxury double beds and a large work desk. The rooms at the Thistle Glasgow hotel boast of a LCD colour TV and en-suite bathrooms with power showers and complimentary toiletries and bathrobes. The hotel room also benefits from BT Openzone wireless broadband connection and a safe to store your laptop. With fantastic views of Glasgow city, Thistle Glasgow hotel is perfect for business and pleasure.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Indoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Indoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking

Nearby points of interest

  • Glasgow Chinatown: 0.2 mi
  • National Theatre of Scotland: 0.3 mi
  • ScotRail: 0.4 mi
  • The Lighthouse: 0.4 mi
  • Glasgow Caledonian University: 0.5 mi
  • Mitchell Library: 0.5 mi
  • Glasgow Central Station: 0.5 mi
  • Glasgow Royal Concert Hall: 0.6 mi
  • King's Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • SECC: 1 mi
  • University of Glasgow: 1.2 mi
  • Glasgow Necropolis: 1.2 mi
  • Glasgow Science Centre: 1.2 mi
  • Winter Gardens: 1.4 mi
  • Glasgow Botanic Gardens: 1.5 mi
  • Glasgow Chinatown: 0.2 mi
  • National Theatre of Scotland: 0.3 mi
  • ScotRail: 0.4 mi
  • The Lighthouse: 0.4 mi
  • Glasgow Caledonian University: 0.5 mi
  • Mitchell Library: 0.5 mi
  • Glasgow Central Station: 0.5 mi
  • Glasgow Royal Concert Hall: 0.6 mi
  • King's Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • SECC: 1 mi
  • University of Glasgow: 1.2 mi
  • Glasgow Necropolis: 1.2 mi
  • Glasgow Science Centre: 1.2 mi
  • Winter Gardens: 1.4 mi
  • Glasgow Botanic Gardens: 1.5 mi
  • Celtic Park: 2.2 mi
  • Haggs Castle: 2.4 mi
  • Hampden Park: 2.5 mi
  • Ibrox Stadium: 2.8 mi
  • Mugdock Country Park: 7.6 mi
  • Bothwell Castle: 7.7 mi

Dining

The Annlann Restaurant
The Annlann Restaurant offers a choice of delicious home cooked British and European dishes in comfortable and contemporary surroundings. We also keep an extensive cellar of classic and New World wines to complement your meal.
Cabin Bar
The informal Cabin Bar is the perfect place to relax with a wide selection of hot and cold drinks available throughout the day along with a wide range of mouth-watering snack and light meals.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The hotel's largest function room, the Grand Ballroom, seats up to 1,500 guests, making it suitable for large conferences, gala dinners and awards ceremonies: it's also one of Glasgow's most glamorous wedding venues. The hotel also have 17 further meeting rooms suitable for board and team meetings, training sessions, presentations, interviews and private dining.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (91)

Ratings and reviews for Thistle Glasgow Hotel

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
91 out of 91
Amenities:
4.3
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.3

98% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Thistle Glasgow Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Andrew H
Business
Galloway, Scotland
Jan 19, 2012

excellent overnight location in Glasgow

I only stayed the one night as I needed to get to the passport office for a fast track passport. It is well placed for the office. Hotel staff were very friendly and helpful. Car parking at £5 for the night until I left at 1pm next day was very reasonable. Room was larger than I expected , large very comfortable bed.Good shower/bath room. I was late checking in so had food in the bar. Chips were not "chunky" but typical skinny fries - my only negative but not a big deal. Breakfast at £10 was excellent. Buffet style but an excellent choice and quality. Eggs cooked to order, buffet quantities kept under control so that they were being continuously replenished with fresh food. Staff very friendly and efficient.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Thistle Glasgow Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
ALEN
Lanarkshire, UK
Nov 3, 2011

rooms need re decoration

Has a good location, but dissapointed in rooms. I stayed at hotel about 12yrs ago and room hasnt been updated since then.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Review of Thistle Glasgow Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
trippytoad
Indiana, USA
Sep 6, 2011

Well Worn

My room on the third floor on the backside of the hotel was very worn out and in need of remodel from the bed covers to the peeling wallpaper. Great location but otherwise not a good value for the money

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Review of Thistle Glasgow Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
norman
Not Provided
Jul 27, 2011

great hotel staff where very friendly

great hotel staff where very friendly good service

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
No rating
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Thistle Glasgow Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Los Angeles, CA
Jul 26, 2011

Comfortable room, friendly staff

Me and a group of friends needed to stay a night in Glasgow, and I booked us all at the Thistle. It is located in a shopping district, and a few minutes' uphill walk from the Central train station. The staff was very friendly, and helpful with restaurant suggestions and info on how to find things in town. We all had the breakfast buffet, and it was one of the best buffets I've had in a hotel. The rooms were well appointed with comfortable beds and soft linens. Everyone in the group of 9 was pleased with the hotel, and I thought it was a particularly good value for the price. I'd expect to pay more for similar accommodations in the US.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Thistle Glasgow Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Pablo
London
Jul 19, 2011

Fantastic stay

We stayed at the Thistle over my 30th birthday and we had a fantastic time. The staff were very welcoming and attentive and when we arrived after midnight on the first night were moved from a twin room to a double without a thought. The room was spacious, clean and nicely decorated with no noise coming from either the corridor or outside via the window. Breakfast was absolutely superb with all the Scottish breakfast trimmings; potato scone, black pudding, even haggis. The leisure centre was also a nice extra and was very quiet when we ventured down for a post breakfast swim. I'd most definitely recommend the Thistle to friends and family for future visits to Glasgow.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Thistle Glasgow Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Not Provided
Oct 17, 2010

Great location right near town

Great location right near town and very convenient parking for an inner city hotel. Staff at reception always very busy whenever we were there and it took ages to be seen to which was the only negative.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
No rating
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Thistle Glasgow Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Philip
Not Provided
Oct 7, 2010

First Class - 10 out of 10 - friendly

First Class - 10 out of 10 - friendly staff and great value for money

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
No rating
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Thistle Glasgow Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Not Provided
Sep 24, 2010

The rooms in the hotel were very

The rooms in the hotel were very dated and suffered from considerable wear and tear. The hotel rooms can do with modernisation. However, location was ideal for theatre break and had a key feature of car parking facilities onsite which many other city centre hotels do not have.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
No rating
Location:
5
Value:
1
Review of Thistle Glasgow Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Fab Family
Charlotte, NC
Aug 19, 2010

The Perfect Ending

The hotel provided the perfect final stop on a long vacation through the UK.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Located just a walk away from great shops and restaurants.

Back to menu Return to top

Change search